AFLPA Awards

Does anyone else think some players don't understand what Most Valuable means? Saints need Riewoldt to fire more than Geelong needs Ablett, hence more valuable
The award means all that it is: it's a representation of who the players felt was most valuable. Many people will disagree with the decision, but it doesn't affect what the award stands for.
One can argue the importance of the award, but not the result.

TC:eek:

Are there any rules to voting though, for instance surely you cant vote for a player from your team, otherwise every club would just vote for 1 respective player 3 votes...
Yep, can't vote for your own teammates. Each club nominates 3 players for you to choose from.

wtf... Judd? I rate this award more than the brownlow but jesus Judd 200+ ahead of Riewoldt?
Spot on.

FWIW I'm thrilled that Gaz won it, Reidwoldt was a tad unlucky.
But to all people who are going to plain and protest; it's an award based purely on opinion and perception. It's just how the players saw it, whether that shows they have valid opinions or not is for everybody to make their own minds up on.:rolleyes:

Crap only has one p. At no stage have I called Judd crap, I just think Riewoldt has CLEARLY had the better year.

I thought crap was a swear /naughty word so i put an extra p in to be polite.

Just being nice for you.

Riewoldt has clearly had a better year based on your vibe of the situation?
based on St Kilda winning more games this year?
based on what?

taking more marks than Judd perhaps?

Midfielders win awards - forwards finish off the work. When was the last time a forward won the brownlow - lockett in 87?

How many carlton matches did you watch this year as a matter of interest, seeing as Judd was clearly worse than Riewoldt.

Either way, Riewoldt will probably be a premiership player in a few weeks time and not even be concerned about this award then.

I don't think some of these players actually watch the game. I've heard quite a few players (can't remember names) who admit to not watching much footy apart from what they need to.

Martin Pike admitted that the Brisbane players all banded together to rig these awards by bloc voting in the Most Courageous Award the biggest squib in the competition (in their opinion.)

I understand where the players are coming from though... If you were forced to vote for the MVP which you didnt give a crap about and were just looking forward to the offseason youd just put down three names that just come to mind straight away and if I did that id vote:

Ablett, Swan, Judd - due to all the media hype
or
Wheatley, Stevens, Hille - to be a smartass

Martin Pike admitted that the Brisbane players all banded together to rig these awards by bloc voting in the Most Courageous Award the biggest squib in the competition (in their opinion.)

Ryan Lonie wasn't it?

Riewoldt has clearly had a better year based on your vibe of the situation?
What situation? Over 22 rounds Riewoldt has performed in nearly all of them. Has been the captain of the best team this year, plays the hardest position on the ground and forwards should be considered more valuable than midfielders. Judd was on fire in the 1st half of the season but Gibbs and Murphy were outperforming him for the last 6 weeks.

taking more marks than Judd perhaps?
Yep, that is the basis of my argument.

Midfielders win awards - forwards finish off the work. When was the last time a forward won the brownlow - lockett in 87?
Brownlow? This is a different award. The AFLMVP, which Riewoldt has already won and other key position players have won it before. It's not a midfielders award.

How many carlton matches did you watch this year as a matter of interest, seeing as Judd was clearly worse than Riewoldt.
The last 10 minutes of the Elimination final v Brisbane is all I watched of Carlton this year. Great game.

Over the years from the players that I have heard from and from the very few that I have spoken too. I get the impression that a fair amount of footballers are not very interested in watching games that dont involve the club they play for.

Not saying that their is anything wrong with that. I dont blame them. Its important to as a player get your mind away from footy.

I hate that they call it MVP.

Maybe call it something that represents the players just voting for who is the best. But Brian Lake is clearly more valuable to the Dogs than any of those players are to their teams.

That's a good point. Could say the same about Scarlett and Bock for their respective teams and yet the three of them will be flat out trying to poll a combined 20 votes.

Obviously, I'm happy that Ablett won his third straight AFL MVP, but I wouldn't have been too concerned with any of the other three winning it. Having said that, fair dinkum...it seems we don't rate media outlets, the umpires and now other players as astute judges of players' credentials. We're starting to run out of options. Will we only be happy when there is a Bigfooty MVP during the finals series at the Crown Palladium?

MUP Award... Most uncontested player... Congratulations Gary, you deserved it...wait till Riewoldt, the true MVP, kicks 8 in the Grand Final.
Shit, bitter much?!
You're carrying on like he's a criminal; all he has done is gone out and played a season of football and the players have voted who they see fit.

Get over it.

What does it really mean anyway; it's an attempt at a common opinion - pretty hard to find a general consensus.

Many out there would agree with you that perhaps JC didn't deserve it, although I'm sure they show a lot more class than you do.

I understand the weekend hurt, but try and have some grace; your club showed it in spadefulls so take a leaf out of their book.

I understand where the players are coming from though... If you were forced to vote for the MVP which you didnt give a crap about and were just looking forward to the offseason youd just put down three names that just come to mind straight away and if I did that id vote:

Ablett, Swan, Judd - due to all the media hype
or
Wheatley, Stevens, Hille - to be a smartass

Well seeing as the clubs nominate their own entrants, I don't see that happening.

That's a good point. Could say the same about Scarlett and Bock for their respective teams and yet the three of them will be flat out trying to poll a combined 20 votes.

Obviously, I'm happy that Ablett won his third straight AFL MVP, but I wouldn't have been too concerned with any of the other three winning it. Having said that, fair dinkum...it seems we don't rate media outlets, the umpires and now other players as astute judges of players' credentials. We're starting to run out of options. Will we only be happy when there is a Bigfooty MVP during the finals series at the Crown Palladium?
Yeah this.
Please let's not reduce it to an award voted by the flogs and flogettes of BF.

Yeah you can. Do they actually watch the game enough to get an understanding of the best players. The top 10 would say they do but anything that is based on opinion can always be argued.

This is a silly argument. The players actually play against each other every week. Given the voting card you simply say 'which of the players I played against this year was the most valuable when we played?' I reckon if, over the entire population of AFL players 100 more vote for one player then probably he was the MVP.

I really reckon a lot of people on here (and in the media) suffer from a terrible affliction which means they can only remember anything that's happened in the last 2 days.

Riewoldt had a pretty poor start to the season, Ablett could potentially have 20 Brownlow votes by the middle of the year.

No question, as a North supporter, Ablett has been the best player in the comp this year by a good margin.

AFLPA Awards