AFLQ Premier Division

Im only talking about the 2 northern coast teams here, and id imagine the goldie as well, but if someone moves here and wants to be cleared to play at Noosa, Maroochy, Goldie or whatever, its a crime to tell them you cant play them because our club has filled there quota of points!! They will leave and never come back, and will be sure to tell any interstate friends not to bother moving to our comp!! It cant work, there is a salary cap, each club is supposed to abide by it. And unfortunately there is no way to police it. I honestly would rather a few players in every club payed under the table and have the best players running round than tell them we cant have you here cause of some fanciful points system.
Any thoughts?

yeah, i have some thoughts. you are an idiot.

the rule is points playing each week, not cleared to the club. if he is that good, you have to make a decision about how you can fit him in, and manage the points. may just mean that the 2 maroochy boys you stole at the start of the season (as an example) don't play in the seniors (which will annoy them and hopefully they leave and will stop clubs from poaching from other clubs eventually), as they would carry maximum points. may also mean that you need to play a local kid rather than an interstater when it comes to the last few spots in the team. i can hardly see that has being impossible to work with.

in regards to the salary cap. if a club is well managed (like noosa), then it doesn't matter what you have written as a salary cap, the salary cap is effectively what the club can afford to spend, whether it be what the league allows, or more or less. i challenge any club with cash to tell me they have actually sent players away or not paid them and risked losing them to stay under the salary cap legitimately.

the problem with clubs that aren't managed well, is that presidents come in with big ideas and think that they can pay players heaps, win the flag and they will get it all back the next year in sponsorship. what eventually happens is that it falls over, and someone else is forced to come in and pick up whats left and try and save the club from financial ruin. thats the problem with the way the league is at the moment.

some clubs are advantaged by having leagues clubs (PBC, Burleigh, Sandgate), some are advantaged to have great histories and terrific local support (grange, maroochy, noosa), whilst others are always battling. it is a waste of time having a salary cap until the league can work out a way to make it a non financial cap, which would make the playing field level for all clubs.

yeah, i have some thoughts. you are an idiot.

the rule is points playing each week, not cleared to the club. if he is that good, you have to make a decision about how you can fit him in, and manage the points. may just mean that the 2 maroochy boys you stole at the start of the season (as an example) don't play in the seniors (which will annoy them and hopefully they leave and will stop clubs from poaching from other clubs eventually), as they would carry maximum points. may also mean that you need to play a local kid rather than an interstater when it comes to the last few spots in the team. i can hardly see that has being impossible to work with.

in regards to the salary cap. if a club is well managed (like noosa), then it doesn't matter what you have written as a salary cap, the salary cap is effectively what the club can afford to spend, whether it be what the league allows, or more or less. i challenge any club with cash to tell me they have actually sent players away or not paid them and risked losing them to stay under the salary cap legitimately.

the problem with clubs that aren't managed well, is that presidents come in with big ideas and think that they can pay players heaps, win the flag and they will get it all back the next year in sponsorship. what eventually happens is that it falls over, and someone else is forced to come in and pick up whats left and try and save the club from financial ruin. thats the problem with the way the league is at the moment.

some clubs are advantaged by having leagues clubs (PBC, Burleigh, Sandgate), some are advantaged to have great histories and terrific local support (grange, maroochy, noosa), whilst others are always battling. it is a waste of time having a salary cap until the league can work out a way to make it a non financial cap, which would make the playing field level for all clubs.

There you go again, so if you guys approached Hicks and he said yes ill play, does that mean we get to say you stole him? No, it doesnt, whatever rivaly 2 clubs have its the individual who makes the decision to leave or stay. Once again, your boys came to us, and were happy to have them. Its not for us to say, mate your from the Roo's go away. And Hicks was either going to play for the Tigers or not play at all. Nothing to do with feeling like a traitor, he just didnt want to play. And your 100% right, its a shame hes isnt playing, and believe me, his friends and fellow players have tried to get him on board but for Mat there's circumstances that are not getting him on the field other than money or other clubs.

In reguards to the salery cap, it is a joke. Every club suffers for it. By that i mean that you can have guys that have spent their junior years at the club, are just as good as imports but the imports are the ones that get the cash. It happens all over Aust. It makes you wonder how clubs like Maine survive, they might pay a few guys maybe not. But the have no local support. There home games are deserted. A shame, they bust there balls each week, and any club would walk over glass to get Housgo.

So ill bury the hatchet and agree to dissagree on Mills etc. Their here now, lets hope you show whoever replaces them a reason to stick around and not jump ship and we wont be having this conversation again. Good luck this year.

Premiers:Sandgate
Wooden Spooners: Mayne
League Medal: Faulkner (Mayne) will get consolation 2 or 1 in every game is that enuff?
Biggest Improver from 10: AFLQ building at Yeronga
Biggest Slider from 10: Magpies carpet
Goal Kicker: Lobb...for some sucker club in country Vic
Most under-rated player: yep Cubby Isles is a legend
Most over-rated player: Adam Stevenson (Springwood) - rates himself very highly and likes to shop around....no takers!!
Most loyal player in the league: Matt Hicks apparently
Toughest bloke in the league: Mayne's high performance manager (tough job)
Biggest Sook in the league: Any umpire that a player talks to
Worst supporters: any bogans that drive their utes up to the fence and bring their own piss (thanks for not supporting the club your at losers) and then yell abuse at senior players who they aren't as good as. Go away.
Best Closet Gay Function: Noosa "Man o Mania" function:
Best spectator venue: yeah GF at Grange was awesome - ampitheatre
Best eye candy: that little asian goal umpire chick
Worst road trip: coming home from Noosa swamp when you've lost
Best visitor Changerooms: Tough one....Magpies or Mayne...baahahahaha...jokes.
Best AFLQ League Administrators: Nil.

If the admin brains can't find a "points system" that is agreeable by the majority (never will get all) then they are failing in their jurisdiction as beholders of the game IMO. Pure commonsense if you want to retain a strong competition that has integrity. At a professional level you may argue that sport is a business, the strong survive etc (but even the great AFL recognise that there is more to the code than this hence salary caps (that are policed!!), drafts, interest free loans etc) but at local level it definitely is alot more than this - it is about creating a place for kids to participate in sport.

Travolta is 100% correct IMO as to his assertions - the strength of the comp is not about seeing ex-AFL players or habitual journey men in footy pass through your Club/League - its about the sustainability of the comp (which is the Clubs really) and if a points system will do this (and I think it would) then why not put it into place?
There will be clubs who are against it (those currently flush with cash) and there will be those all for it. Clubs who will continue to raise excellent revenue may aspire to greater things if they out grow the PHC?

It was only just over 10yrs ago that Maroochydore, thru incompetent administration and some very ordinary decisions, went into extinction as a senior football club.Would suggest there are a dozen clubs in the Premier thru to Div 2 Leagues who are not that far away from it as well.

Bottom line is Qld football admin need to remember they are not running a club in metro Melbourne or Country Victoria where the whole town comes out to watch (and pay to watch) their local team play. Generally 99% of the population couldn't give a stuff in SE Qld about the local footy. $$ just are not generated to maintain ridiculous demands from players. (I would argue a bloke playing for anything more than $150/game in this comp is overpaid considering the expectations demanded and the revenue generated).
Unfortunately ego from many people get in the way of sound decision making though and unlike a "normal" business, if it all goes to pooh they just pull up stumps and walk away leaving their legacy for someone else to clean up (generally those who were against the original decisions in the first place)

I reckon a working committee to design a Points system (going to Leagues who are using a workable one now may be a good start!!!) should be the first mandate of the League's number crunchers.

5 Years must class as local, minus age handicap, minus meatpies = 0 points!

On the sliding points scale you are nearly at 0 points mate - that little sabbatical to wreak havoc with Aspley pushed you up a tad. With Bova and the retired Reece Langan hanging about there is a strong Central Vic flavour going on at Noosa - challenging the spud farmers from the Western District and the lads from the Echuca region as to who holds sway in the club at the moment!! LOL

There you go again, so if you guys approached Hicks and he said yes ill play, does that mean we get to say you stole him? No, it doesnt, whatever rivaly 2 clubs have its the individual who makes the decision to leave or stay. Once again, your boys came to us, and were happy to have them. Its not for us to say, mate your from the Roo's go away. And Hicks was either going to play for the Tigers or not play at all. Nothing to do with feeling like a traitor, he just didnt want to play. And your 100% right, its a shame hes isnt playing, and believe me, his friends and fellow players have tried to get him on board but for Mat there's circumstances that are not getting him on the field other than money or other clubs.

In reguards to the salery cap, it is a joke. Every club suffers for it. By that i mean that you can have guys that have spent their junior years at the club, are just as good as imports but the imports are the ones that get the cash. It happens all over Aust. It makes you wonder how clubs like Maine survive, they might pay a few guys maybe not. But the have no local support. There home games are deserted. A shame, they bust there balls each week, and any club would walk over glass to get Housgo.

So ill bury the hatchet and agree to dissagree on Mills etc. Their here now, lets hope you show whoever replaces them a reason to stick around and not jump ship and we wont be having this conversation again. Good luck this year.
Mayne survive due to a huge effort from players, staff, supporters etc voluntarily helping where they can. They may not be loaded but they are doing alot better than most people think. They just had their car park fixed by the council, dressing rooms extentions I believe are happening soon. I have mentioned before Mayne was one of only 2 teams that paid their fees last season. As for onfield players, football dept. are all busting their balls to do the best they possibly. I know we finished bottom last year but I felt they improved alot their were a number of games we were a chance to win but unfortunately couldn't finish off and I believe we didn't get belted around on the scoreboard as badly as we have in previous seasons.
So I really hope Mayne can have a good season this year.:thumbsu:

Mayne survive due to a huge effort from players, staff, supporters etc voluntarily helping where they can. They may not be loaded but they are doing alot better than most people think. They just had their car park fixed by the council, dressing rooms extentions I believe are happening soon. I have mentioned before Mayne was one of only 2 teams that paid their fees last season. As for onfield players, football dept. are all busting their balls to do the best they possibly. I know we finished bottom last year but I felt they improved alot their were a number of games we were a chance to win but unfortunately couldn't finish off and I believe we didn't get belted around on the scoreboard as badly as we have in previous seasons.

How do you think they will go this year with the loses of brown, ferguson, teale, falconer, mcmahon etc. prob five of their better players. Have they recruited some new guys to fill the void?

If the McMahon your talking about is the I'm thinking about, he is not a bloke I would build a club around, he is terrible or should I say really terrible.

Yeah fair enough, funnily enough, he is now on aspleys list. Not sure what that says about aspley then!

Well any ladder predictions even this early stage here's mine

1. W/Magpies
2. Sandgate
3. Noosa
4. PBC
5. Burleigh
6. W/Grange
7. Maroochy
8. Surfers
9. Springwood
10.Mayne
11.Coolangatta

I am not sure how many State league and PHC clubs have gone through what Mayne have over in the last 12 years, losing Grafton street to a private girls school, then to Kedron as sub tenants and again as subtenants at Everton Juniors, being dropped from State League twice and sitting out of competition for a year and having their juniors at located at Nundah. Mayne's continued involvement in the PHC is testimony to a lot of hard work from within the club and a group of players dedicated to playing for the club. The road back for Mayne might not be easy, but they seem to be heading in the right direction. Also the new change rooms are close to being finished and a new awning is in place.

So Everton seniors have a new awning. I dont think so, Everton Juniors as the lease holder have a new awning.
I remember walking up the stairs of the old Mayne clubhouse when I was about 10 years old and staring at the tiger skin and the personalised diner plates and cups and thought WOW. To know that Maynes juniors play at Nundah and at Everton juniors, there is a senior team that doesnt respect the club that allows them to exist, yet allows them to hold on to a fantasy from the past is amazing. Why arent the Everton junior fc, asking why their seniors are called Mayne. Again I think WOW.

1. W/Magpies Sandgate
2. Sandgate Noosa
3. Noosa PBC
4. PBC MAGPIES
5. Burleigh Burleigh
6. W/Grange Grange
7. Maroochy Springwood
8. Surfers Surfers
9. Springwood Maroochydore
10.Mayne Mayne
11.Coolangatta Coolangatta

Should be interesting.

So Everton seniors have a new awning. I dont think so, Everton Juniors as the lease holder have a new awning.
I remember walking up the stairs of the old Mayne clubhouse when I was about 10 years old and staring at the tiger skin and the personalised diner plates and cups and thought WOW. To know that Maynes juniors play at Nundah and at Everton juniors, there is a senior team that doesnt respect the club that allows them to exist, yet allows them to hold on to a fantasy from the past is amazing. Why arent the Everton junior fc, asking why their seniors are called Mayne. Again I think WOW.
Mayne and Everton have a great relationship, in regards to your point why are seniors are called Mayne, well last time I spoke to the Everton President they wanted to maintain their own indentity and history and was more than happy to co exist and share their ground with Mayne. Mayne wouldn't be there if Everton didn't want them to be big :thumbsu: to Everton,also you got to realise the two clubs didn't merge. As for a senior team doesn't respect the club is far from the truth.:rolleyes:

Every one is quick to write of surfers... They showed there young brigade could match it late last year and have picked up some quality state league midfielders in ryan dienjes from broady and sam folan from labrador plus some tough big men.

...all the while no-one is getting paid eh?? :rolleyes:

Do u not believe this?

Dont get em started on who gets paid what, Sandgate are in the same boat as Surfers as far as players getting paid, but no one will believe blokes will actually play footy for nothing any more. Generally people from clubs where they have to probably pay to attract players there in the first place! :D

1. W/Magpies Sandgate
2. Sandgate Noosa
3. Noosa PBC
4. PBC MAGPIES
5. Burleigh Burleigh
6. W/Grange Grange
7. Maroochy Springwood
8. Surfers Surfers
9. Springwood Maroochydore
10.Mayne Mayne
11.Coolangatta Coolangatta

Should be interesting.

A few names i have heard down at pbc- D. Round, B. Walters, A. Knight, T. Tarrant, S. Vimpani, B. Hewitt, R. Head. plus a few more i think.
might be back up there again this year by the looks of it, few big body's.
should be a good year of footy", noosa still the bench mark you would think?

A few names i have heard down at pbc- D. Round, B. Walters, A. Knight, T. Tarrant, S. Vimpani, B. Hewitt, R. Head. plus a few more i think.
might be back up there again this year by the looks of it, few big body's.
should be a good year of footy", noosa still the bench mark you would think?

With names like the PBC might very well be the benchmark! Have they lost any other than Bloom?

My tips

1. Sandgate
2. PBC (is Zeidler still going to live in the goal square !)
3. Noosa
4. Maroochydore (I wouldn't be writing them off)
5. Magpies (feeding the Lions reserves all year)
6. Burleigh
7. Surfers
8. Grange
9. Springwood
10. Coolangatta
11. Mayne (should have been relegated !!)

Dont get em started on who gets paid what, Sandgate are in the same boat as Surfers as far as players getting paid, but no one will believe blokes will actually play footy for nothing any more. Generally people from clubs where they have to probably pay to attract players there in the first place! :D
I dont know why you find it so hard to believe that blokes actualy play football without getting paid.

I agree with you mate, I know sandgate are the same in terms of not paying players, I was referring to a few on here that wont believe it.

so you can confirm right here, that sandgate didn't make any payments to players last season?

you keep saying it, but i still don't believe it.

firstly, there is a requirement in the rules that a club has a minimum salary cap, so at the very worst you should have spent about 16k (from memory) on player payments.

secondly, although i will agree that yes, a high proportion of players are happy to play for nothing, every club has players that expect to be paid, and if they aren't will move on.