Coach Alastair Clarkson III - new NMFC senior coach until at least end 2027 - NMFC board approved AC to start 1/11 amid ongoing HFC racism investigation

You could be onto something. I’ve often wondered how someone so obviously lacking in decent taste could write a song as good as Penny Lane. Makes sense that he actually didn’t.
His brothers "we will drink to lilly the pink" spent time at number 1. But i think pauls got him by the length of the Flemington straight.

I wonder if Kennett is annoyed by the ToR - on my reading, they're wide enough to investigate his behaviour as well, i.e.

“HFC” includes, unless otherwise indicated, any current or former employee, independent contractor, director or other officer of the Hawthorn Football Club.

A reference to the ‘Relevant Period’ means the period from 1 January 2008 to 31 December 2016 inclusive, or such further period as appears to the Investigation Panel from the information provided to it to be appropriate.

Now, given this all kicked off due to Kennett insulting Cyril's wife, then surely for completeness that incident would be part of the "inappropriate treatment" that is being investigated?
People in this thread are delusional.

Telling someone there jeans are ripped and here is a few dollars to buy a new pair has nothing to do with racism.

Sent from my CPH2197 using Tapatalk

Telling someone there jeans are ripped and here is a few dollars to buy a new pair has nothing to do with racism.

Not sure how you interpret my post as alleging racism.

You're ok with insults as long as they're not racist, is that it?

I played footy against Michael Mansell back in the day. He was a playing full forward and the first time the ball came down, he took off at glacier like pace and I had him easily covered for the spoil. What I wasn't expecting was him swinging his elbow out and copping me right across the bridge of my nose. Result: me dropping to the ground like the proverbial bag of, an uncontested mark and goal.

The next time the ball came down, I decided to extract retribution by effecting what would best be described as a "crude spoil". I got him a ripper right across the jaw and he didn't even flinch. As we were jogging back to the goal square, he winked at me and said "you'll need to do better than that".

Had a couple of beers and a chat with him after the game. He told me a few stories about when he and Eric Abetz were studying law together at Tas Uni. It'd be fair to say that he wasn't Eric's biggest fan. Nice bloke.
see see I can’t help wishing you’d played on Eric Abetz 👹

So here we are in 2022, and without further ado, a bloke is appointed an AFL coach, having walked around a function at his previous club after a few too many sherbets, sexually harassing a pregnant member of staff, resulting in a confidential financial settlement but no sanction from the AFL Integrity Unit (a loosely named organisational unit, if ever there was one). Not a word said.

Meanwhile, six weeks after racism allegations were made against two senior coaches, following which they stood down on their own account, we have a 'review panel' scheduled to run for another two months, after which, should there be any disciplinary action required, the process will start again.

Champion, just champion

Have you ever studied the Mabo ruling?

Lots of indigenous people don't view Australia's government as legitimate. And every non indigenous Australian can't fathom why or how.

And so many arguments about this stuff come down to the same thing.

As far as two laws in one country - you know that saying "If you don't like it go back to where you came from"? Quite a few blackfellas I know have that attitude. One of Tarryn Thomas' uncles has it so bad he set up this thing called the Aboriginal Provisional Government. They used to offer seperate passports and asylum to people in Australia. I think Iran (maybe Cuba as well) actually used to recognise those passports but I'd need to check that out to be sure.

When only two murderous regimes like Iran and Cuba back you, it is probably worth asking yourself why.

It is regrettable what happened in the past, but the past will never be undone. It is as sad as seeing people of my own genetic heritage cling to the hope that they will regain the lands lost to conquerors in the past, it is delusional to the point of being self-destructive.

Putting aside the investigation, just wanted to get people's thoughts on 2023. If Clarkson is to coach us next year, which it looks like he will be, how much of an effect do you think it would have on him? There's a decent chance it could drag on in the courts, and if that was to happen, do you think he would be able to fully focus on footy and be at his best? Is there a chance this is all too much for him now? Especially if he isn't able to fully clear his name.

Just hadn't seen this brought up yet and I wanted to see what people thought.
My worry is that he will second guess everything he says in case someone takes it out of context!

Hope he truly backs himself in which is in his character but you can’t underestimate the effect this would have had on him.

I hope he has a welcome party of supporters on his first day! If I could be there I would!

Here’s to new beginnings 💙🤍

Putting aside the investigation, just wanted to get people's thoughts on 2023. If Clarkson is to coach us next year, which it looks like he will be, how much of an effect do you think it would have on him? There's a decent chance it could drag on in the courts, and if that was to happen, do you think he would be able to fully focus on footy and be at his best? Is there a chance this is all too much for him now? Especially if he isn't able to fully clear his name.

Just hadn't seen this brought up yet and I wanted to see what people thought.

I can only see it going to court if they try to pin any blame to Clarkson or Fagan. Hard to say what will happen. I don't think either can afford to bow out of football, it will be seen as admitting to guilt.

When only two murderous regimes like Iran and Cuba back you, it is probably worth asking yourself why.

It is regrettable what happened in the past, but the past will never be undone. It is as sad as seeing people of my own genetic heritage cling to the hope that they will regain the lands lost to conquerors in the past, it is delusional to the point of being self-destructive.
Whatever you think of Cuba you have to acknowledge that since 1959 their regime has at least been functional. Before that, when the US supported it, the country's biggest employer was the underage sex industry there was no medical system and literacy was under 10%.

If ypou'd prefer it like that maybe you want a hand busting Jeffery Epstein out of jail. Oh wait....

Good morning KIAW34 any news when Clarkson gets back from Scotland and any whispers on ass coaches ,ceo ,recruitment team coming in .

So here we are in 2022, and without further ado, a bloke is appointed an AFL coach, having walked around a function at his previous club after a few too many sherbets, sexually harassing a pregnant member of staff, resulting in a confidential financial settlement but no sanction from the AFL Integrity Unit (a loosely named organisational unit, if ever there was one). Not a word said.

Meanwhile, six weeks after racism allegations were made against two senior coaches, following which they stood down on their own account, we have a 'review panel' scheduled to run for another two months, after which, should there be any disciplinary action required, the process will start again.

Champion, just champion
Strongly agree with your take on the AFL Integrity unit, for example, how many strike 3's have been swept under the carpet ?

I thought ripped jeans were a fashion statement these days ;)

People with more dollars than sense pay good money to look as though they just walked out of Saint Vincent De Paul. Take Brad Pitt as a case in point. :)

You might want to look a little deeper into cuban history calling them a murderous regime. Particularly why the cuban revolution overthrew Battista. Unless you were referring to Battistas reign which is irrelevent now.

100 percent. My italian grandparents would say that to me all the time. You’re dealing with a very different type of Australian with an old school sense of humour. Kennett isn’t stupid enough to come from a racist angle, but more of a ‘hey, kool kats, I’m not up to date with this new school hip style of dressing - I dont approve of it, and I’m going to point that out the best way I know how’

Have you ever studied the Mabo ruling?

Lots of indigenous people don't view Australia's government as legitimate. And every non indigenous Australian can't fathom why or how.

And so many arguments about this stuff come down to the same thing.

As far as two laws in one country - you know that saying "If you don't like it go back to where you came from"? Quite a few blackfellas I know have that attitude. One of Tarryn Thomas' uncles has it so bad he set up this thing called the Aboriginal Provisional Government. They used to offer seperate passports and asylum to people in Australia. I think Iran (maybe Cuba as well) actually used to recognise those passports but I'd need to check that out to be sure.
Lots of indigenous people don't view Australia's government as legitimate. Sorry to say it mate but it's mainly the white ones and the kids who have known nothing of the hard times that their elders genuinely endured in the past. The kids today are very educated, well resourced and being egged on by the privileged Champagne Socialist class and the media to be agitators.

Considering that there are actually only 69,000 full blooded Aboriginals left in Australia out of 800,000 who claim to be aboriginal it makes one think. You can claim Aboriginality believe it or not having as little as 1/64th ancestry, hence the 800,000 who claim. If we really think about it, my mother was Austrian and my father German, despite my being born in Australia, by the definition of what many claim makes them Aboriginal must make me and my children, and eventually my grandchildren and my Great-grandchildren German/Austrian???

I mean come on? Where does this end? At what percentage of DNA do we draw the line? It's certainly never the 69,000 that you see burning flags and demanding that everybody pack up and get hell out of their country.

Where does it end with claims of racism, claims of social disadvantage, demands for a special voice to Parliament, demands for a Treaty, denial of non-indigenous persons to whole tracts and regions of the continent? When Kevin Rudd made his Apology speech back in 2007, I said then that this was only the beginning, that the demands would increase and the more that we offered in reconciliation the more that the vocal agitators who are predominately very white would demand.

We have come a very long way in Australia since the 1967 Referendum. Aboriginal Australian's were funded $43 billion in the last (May) Federal budget (as much as we spend on Defence) to fund welfare programs, education, health care, social housing, community organisations and so on. Today they enjoy 20 national days of recognition including programs like Sorry Day, National Close the Gap Day, Harmony Day and NAIDOC Week just to name a few. Welcome to Country Ceremonies have become the norm for most significant public gatherings in particular the footy (if anybody has been living on Mars). Every effort is being made by Governments to include the cultural component into all festivals and official ceremonies. There is acknowledgement of Traditional Owners before most public events. We now display three flags side by side (The Australian National Flag, the Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Island Flag) in all public places. Additionally there is a National TV network (NITV), numerous community FM stations, 11 MPs in Federal Parliament, and finally every indigenous person in the country has 1 vote in all elections and direct access to their State and Federal MPs. So yes, they have an effective voice, we notice them because they are now front and centre in many aspects of our lives, and by and large there is a high level of empathy for the sufferings of their ancestors and respect for their culture today by the broader community.

It's not perfect or all good news as deep social issues prevail, including high levels of domestic violence (about 12 times the average of the remainder of the population) which means that Aboriginal men are proportionally over represented in the prison systems of WA, SA and the NT. Alcohol and substance abuse is an ongoing issue for some remote communities (But not all).

I'm sorry in advance because I know that my views expressed above will offend some, but this is a forum and everybody is allowed to share their views respectfully.