Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion

Clarko isn’t as good as we thought he was. He’s a disappointment so far.

There’s no dynamic game day changes. Take half the game to put Z in the middle which is the easiest mover ever.

Picks the team like s**t. Poor Larkey. What’s the point of having sellers or other tall forward options.

What our game plan, besides play all our guns on half back with nobody to kick to and no forward structure. Then, just bomb it forward blindly anyway?

Game day moves, lol. Plan B anyone?

He got lucky at hawks and had players that carried the team to success. Neald could have probably got the same.

Yeah, he’s not the messiah unfortunately. He’s barely coached for us for personal reasons. Whatever.

Fairly, he’s good for morale. I just hope he’s empowering others. And if so, they’re no good either really.

I remember both King and Carey saying they would have reached out to Ross Lyon first. Gotta ask why. I did then and I am now. What’s their thinking?

Add to that the ex Hawks such as Hodge, maybe Lewis, basically saying “good get, proceed with caution, surround him with a good team”

Add to that the seniors that I thought would thrive as on-field coaches, who all pretty much left. Same as some of the coaches. Gone.

Add to that the age 24-30 range players we thought would improve and simply haven’t. And the mature players we went and got from other clubs that haven’t done anything for us. The first red flags being the delisting/relisting of Turner and Howe coming in. These players ain’t thriving under any masterplan. They look as soft and lazy as they ever were and their skills still suck.

And the previously mentioned refusal to reward VFL form and address structures in areas of the ground.

The five years at the end of his Hawthorn stint where he was just holding ground not doing much.

Where are the inspired matchday moves?

Why are Simpkin and LMac captains?

More questions than answers so far.

Bump this thread in 5 years time when we have a flag. Please. I want nothing more. I want my doubts about Clarko to be so off the mark that they become the stuff of Bigfooty folklore.

Big chance I’m correct with my doubts on what we’ve seen so far and it gives me no joy to say that.

Christ you're a debbie downer mate.

Any more posts you'd like to make on the matter?

Yeah he’d like to be up and about and happy that into the 5th year of being a bottom 2 side, we’ve conceded an average of 118 points a game for the first 4 weeks and somehow we’re ok and the coach is just gonna click his fingers and we’re going to work it out.

Heaps to be happy about. Not sure why the Debbie downer keeps being down on this.

After the Messiah leads us to the inevitable three peat we can all gang up on the Debbie downer together. Certainly no chance we eventually stop having the wool pulled over our eyes and realise we’re going nowhere fast and get rid of a washed old coach and move on. And no chance the likes of McKercher will be doing a McKay/Zurhaar and looking for greener pastures and obscene salaries elsewhere by then.

It’s. All. Good.

I took that one down, but in the meantime you’d taken in it the right spirit with which it was intended (humour) and shared it.

This is just a discussion about Clarko and whether or not he’s the right dude. Just asking some questions. It’s an elite sport. We all want our team to be better. ‘S’all. ✌🏼

Some of the commentary in here is a bit OTT imo. But fair enough, everyone has their views and we all hate losing like we did today (have been losing for coming on 5 years).

My major concern is that Clarko has the mental/emotional/physical health to see us through the majority of this stage of shitness. He is going to have to take a lot of hits before we’re seeing some success. We haven’t had more than about 2 weeks of clear air for years. We desperately need an extended period of going about our business, even if that includes some horror patches of footy.

If I have a concern tactically (and honestly, how would I or anyone else outside the four walls really know what they’re prioritizing) it’s that I want to see big-time progress in the team defense. I really dgaf about pretty passages of ball movement at this stage. I personally would much rather hear them talking about getting their positioning and zoning and tackling and running right than Northball or whatever.

Presser was fine but talk is cheap.

Too much emphasis on big picture not enough on just winning a f***ing game of football
We were never beating gws, Carlton or Brisbane. We let one win slip away. 1. Those top 4 teams are 10 goals better than us right now. Remember what we used to do to Carlton and Brisbane when we were a top 6 side?

We are coming from a long way back, people say they haven’t seen improvement. Thats bullshit.

Progress and improvement is not linear. Im as proud and passionate as the rest of yas, im burning, I cracked the shits and threw all the toys out of the cot too. But today, I realise we have the youngest team in the comp and its going to be a tough year for em. Still think our 25-27 yr olds are piss weak

Brisbane have smashed us for years. Smashed. 100 point smashings.

We don't match up good at all on them.

Watching it realistically it was probably just under a half of footy we got picked apart and demolished. The other half we were competitive.

Brisbane have smashed us for years. Smashed. 100 point smashings.

We don't match up good at all on them.

Watching it realistically it was probably just under a half of footy we got picked apart and demolished. The other half we were competitive.

Whether it’s 2017, 2020, 2022 personnel have changed

Except Fagan

Is Fages the Master Coach of our beltings?

I remember both King and Carey saying they would have reached out to Ross Lyon first. Gotta ask why. I did then and I am now. What’s their thinking?

Add to that the ex Hawks such as Hodge, maybe Lewis, basically saying “good get, proceed with caution, surround him with a good team”

Add to that the seniors that I thought would thrive as on-field coaches, who all pretty much left. Same as some of the coaches. Gone.

Add to that the age 24-30 range players we thought would improve and simply haven’t. And the mature players we went and got from other clubs that haven’t done anything for us. The first red flags being the delisting/relisting of Turner and Howe coming in. These players ain’t thriving under any masterplan. They look as soft and lazy as they ever were and their skills still suck.

And the previously mentioned refusal to reward VFL form and address structures in areas of the ground.

The five years at the end of his Hawthorn stint where he was just holding ground not doing much.

Where are the inspired matchday moves?

Why are Simpkin and LMac captains?

More questions than answers so far.

Bump this thread in 5 years time when we have a flag. Please. I want nothing more. I want my doubts about Clarko to be so off the mark that they become the stuff of Bigfooty folklore.

Big chance I’m correct with my doubts on what we’ve seen so far and it gives me no joy to say that.
Then don't say it.

We were never beating gws, Carlton or Brisbane. We let one win slip away. 1. Those top 4 teams are 10 goals better than us right now. Remember what we used to do to Carlton and Brisbane when we were a top 6 side?

We are coming from a long way back, people say they haven’t seen improvement. Thats bullshit.
Well said Duck those 3 teams are 10 goals better than many teams not just us and like you say if we haven't seen the improvement this year in several areas they arnt looking hard enough.

Whether it’s 2017, 2020, 2022 personnel have changed

Except Fagan

Is Fages the Master Coach of our beltings?
Look at last 5.

Last 3 smashed.

Before that was 23p then 1p.

Just more hoping they're our "bogey side"... and yes I know we can't beat anyone my point is they smash us recently for whatever reason so maybe this isn't as bad as what it seems... hopefully

In fairness we often used to lose close ones to Carlton and Brisbane under Scott. But yes, agree in general.

Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion