Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion

Correct.
We beat tiges and swans in 2015

Then lost to the umps in the prelim
Still shaking my head when I see Jacobs legged and he gets nothing. Even the commentary saw how bad it was.

If we went into the granny, I reckon we would've brought it against the Hawks. We let them get to us earlier in the year and it was payback time on the cards.

Still shaking my head when I see Jacobs legged and he gets nothing. Even the commentary saw how bad it was.

If we went into the granny, I reckon we would've brought it against the Hawks. We let them get to us earlier in the year and it was payback time on the cards.
I think we would've lost by 100 lol. But yes I'm still pissed at Margetts regardless

He got something… HTB against him. One of the most egregious decisions ever made by an umpire.

Yep. And I'm pretty sure that 2015 was the last time Geelong missed the finals, and the only they've missed under Chris Scott.

What I'd give for us to have a run like that.
Does everyone here remember the game against Geelong in 2016? I feel like that was the exact moment the downward spiral started to land us where we are now.

We started well that night, leading at half time I believe. But we copped about 4 injuries in the first half. Swallow got concussed, Cunnington got a corkie, Dal Santo some sort of injury. Dangerfield had a billion touches.

I just remember knowing our season was done because of the carnage.

Does everyone here remember the game against Geelong in 2016? I feel like that was the exact moment the downward spiral started to land us where we are now.

We started well that night, leading at half time I believe. But we copped about 4 injuries in the first half. Swallow got concussed, Cunnington got a corkie, Dal Santo some sort of injury. Dangerfield had a billion touches.

A few on this board (including myself) conclude that HT of that game was the beginning of the end. We've been god awful since that point.

Good times!

I remember my daughter was 1 month old and I was getting drunk watching the North/Richmond final and being a little to loud for my partner's liking.
Haha my son was only 3 or 4 weeks old then as well but we took him to the game (his first as a member). We were stuck in afternoon sun and having him attached to my wife made it a tough day for her BUT was worth it _ I am sure... I only had issues domestically when I flew to Perth for the Margetts debacle and left my wife with baby , a 2 year old and my parents who ironically had flown in from Perth! Even though I was home on red eye Sunday morning (still in North gear and raging against the world) she wasnt super pleased.

Back on topic, I really hope that clarko and the club can consider this week 1 of pre season and get some continuity and understanding of each other and finally move forward. We look directionless at times still and hopefully this is the start of that at least being rectified.

Completely agree. Benny Jacobs the 4th one down by 1/2 time iirc.

People raved about Dangers 49 touches. Media never questioned why he ended up with so many though.

Gee Clarko
Good question Souup, one I admittedly don't have a clear cut answer for, given I don't watch enough of the VFL boys.

Strength of opposition, personnel, difference in opposition forward half pressure, difference in opposition defending all probably contribute, but I'll happily defer to someone that watches the VFL closer.

At the ground at half time you just knew. We haven’t really been in it as a legitimate premiership chance since.

Vividly.

Unpopular opinion though - that 2016 run of wins masked some shocking form (in the latter part) and we had opportunities post Geelong to regroup and get back in contention. But the fight leaked out of the group like a deflating football.

Our 2nd game against a depleted dogs side is where you could probably drop a pin and say "there it is". Except for a tease in 2018 and the Shaw sugar hit wins in 2019 we've largely been a crumpled shell ever since.

Vividly.

Unpopular opinion though - that 2016 run of wins masked some shocking form (in the latter part) and we had opportunities post Geelong to regroup and get back in contention. But the fight leaked out of the group like a deflating football.

Our 2nd game against a depleted dogs side is where you could probably drop a pin and say "there it is". Except for a tease in 2018 and the Shaw sugar hit wins in 2019 we've largely been a crumpled shell ever since.

The 9-0 was as much about fixturing as anything else. We had to come from behind against the Crows at Docklands, barely got past Melbourne in Tassie, left it late to pull away from Freo at Docklands, then limped past St Kilda and an awful *. Our first proper test was Sydney away and they did us easily.

That said, the Tigers game in between Sydney and Geelong was one of our best performances since the 90s.

The 9-0 was as much about fixturing as anything else. We had to come from behind against the Crows at Docklands, barely got past Melbourne in Tassie, left it late to pull away from Freo at Docklands, then limped past St Kilda and an awful *. Our first proper test was Sydney away and they did us easily.

That said, the Tigers game in between Sydney and Geelong was one of our best performances since the 90s.

The Richmond win was just a perfect set of circumstances. We were as up and about as we've ever been in the 2000s and Richmond were decimated.

For once we absolutely put a weakened opponent to the sword.

The * win was like a loss. Also a graph point for our eventual demise imo. Scott actually got prickly about journos questioning it but we almost fell to a VFL side.

All I remember about mid-2016 is going down bloody media street about our groin guru and then half the side’s soft tissues collapsing.

A few on this board (including myself) conclude that HT of that game was the beginning of the end. We've been god awful since that point.
I was in Dubai airport connecting flights when I checked half time and the injuries poured in. The moment is scarred on my brain.
Like I remember the day Julius Caesar was assassinated.

WTF is wrong with you people? Masochists?

My son and I went out for kick of the footy at half time and he kicked it over the barrier, onto Wurundjeri Way, never to be seen again. It was a bad omen.

Coach Alastair Clarkson - NMFC Senior Coach - Coaching & Football Discussion