Alberton Footy League

The VCFL's "South Gippsland Review 2008-2009" has been released with their recommendations for the 2010 season. The main points are:
  • Wonthaggi to the WGLFL
  • Phillip Island to the MPNFL (Casey Cardinia)
  • AFL to become a 12 team comp
  • EDFL to remain as is
  • WGLFL to change it's name
  • Korumburra-Bena to remain in the AFL (may be subject to review in the future)
Looks like the rumours in the Sentinel Times a little while back were off the mark.

I understand Phillip Island are happy to move to Casey and once again clash with Beaconsfield, Pakenham, Roc & Tooradin would have thought the only other logical move would be due to the population growth NNG should also join Casey with Kilcunda Bass joining Ellinbank.
Would make sense geographically for them they would never be strong enough for Casey.
From what I have read Garfield will remain in the WGFL for 2010 would expect they would also like to join EDFL perhaps a spot will open up when Ellinbank fold or join Mid Gippy. May then need another League name change.

ISLAND FOOTBALL 'COULD' COLLAPSE Sentinel-Times

The Phillip Island Football Clubs viability will be threatened if it is forced from the Alberton League, members were told at an angry meeting on Sunday.
And the same applied to its netball sector, particularly junior players. About 60 members attended the session, called to gauge a general reaction to the VCFL recent review.
They heard several committee names detail the document, which suggests that the Island join Casey Cardinia from next year. Members vowed to fight that move, stressing that the club could collapse if it eventuates. Speakers were led by Noel Burrell, the president, who outlined grim prospects.
Mr Burrell said many footballers, including senior aces, would leave for other nearby clubs. They would refuse to travel to another league. That would make the club "untenable".
And the Island netball president, Korral mainly cited junior girls seeking other clubs. Mr Burrell said that the experiment of Phillip Island joining the region's western sector several years ago had failed miserably. That was part of the former West Gippsland League.
The president said: "Clubs in that district didn't want us. "They shunned us, bashed us and beat us. "They refused to mix with us socially. "We were treated as outcasts. "Yet here we go again". "this must not happen"
Mr Burrell then took questions, none which favoured the decision or the VCFL.
Several members questioned the reviews contention that Phillip Island could become a football powerhouse. They emphasised that is cited 8500 population consisted of many holiday owners, other casual vistors, and elderly. Members wondered whether some of the area's nursing homes should be plundered for potential football recruits. And they stressed that Phillip Island was a country football club, not suited to Melbourne periphery.

Lawyer
A guest speaker, leading local lawyer David Luscombe, urged the club to remain committed, do its homework on this issue and prepare a "clear, potent" case. The mood was defiant and determined. Members were told that they must be united in the campaign so that the club spoke "with one voice". A special meeting will be called next month, on a date to be set, to formulate an official response to the VCFL.
The date conflicts with the league's directive that arguments must be lodged by March 27th. Meanwhile members will canvass more support from local residents and businesses to boost their campaign. They left the club slowly, speaking among themselves. One described the league's decision as "insane". Another wondered whether the VCFL understood country football.

Power Delay
Wonthaggi Power has also requested an extension of time in formally responding to the VCFL review. That is mainly because it has called a special meeting of all members, for Tuesday, March 31st, four days after the VCFL deadline. All review details will be aired at that session. The Powers consitituation states that it must give at least 14 days notice of such an event. Wonthaggi also seeks an urgent meeting with the league to discuss the review.
Club secretary John Duscher, said "The committee instructed me along those lines". "It wants members to tell us what direction they want the club to take". "Its odd that the review suggests that only two clubs, in all Gippsland should move to other leagues".
"Korrumburra-Bena will merely be monitored. "What situation. "That will be like having Big Brother looking over its shoulder". Mr Duscher said the VCFL seemed to have an "unhealthy" edict for clubs -do not be successfully, or "you're out". He added: "This is an enormously serious dilemma. "Its hard to understand how it could happen. "I've been around sport all my life and have never seen anything like it".
Mr Duscher, as Bass Coast shire mayor, recently returned from a visit to Perth. He was astounded to be asked details of the local despute "4000km away". The VCFL will not comment on the issue until Alberton League clubs have responded to the review.

Result from the weekend Tarwin beat Lang Lang by 4 goals underlights at Lang Lang. Tarwin playing a side in the Div 2 league on Saturday at Tarwin, not sure of what team but they are in the same league as Ringwood are in.

So can someone confirm where Wonthaggi Power will be playing in 2009 and beyond. A pm would be great. Being a Wonthaggi old boy it is certainly of interest to me, although as it isnt the old Wonthaggi Blues, not as much as previously.

Cheers

So can someone confirm where Wonthaggi Power will be playing in 2009 and beyond. A pm would be great. Being a Wonthaggi old boy it is certainly of interest to me, although as it isnt the old Wonthaggi Blues, not as much as previously.

Cheers

There is an article in the local paper this week about Wonnie becoming two teams again so they can stay in the Alberton League. But the word is they are heading to Gippsland Latrobe or Casey league. Personally if they become 2 teams I believe it would be great and leave them in there. But I would like to see the league re-structure to make things stable and have good financial clubs in it and not much travel.

I have thrown a suggestion down below:

Wonnie Blues - Would be great to see the Power split to bring them back to the field
Wonnie Rovers - as above
Phillip Island - strong town and good numbers and keep them interested
burra - as above with Island and have great juniors
Inverloch - as indicated this year sticking to locals and paying dividends
Tarwin - been a strong senior team for a while but will lack in juniors
Dalyston - going strong and very competitive
K/Bass - will be one of the weaker teams but hopefully pick up
Mirboo North - always been a strong club and make league stronger
Nyora - good rivals with Burra and can get players from there and mirboo too

The way I would see this is the clubs are all strong except for the Bass but would be a strong league and played at a high standard. Take a bit to get Mirboo and Nyora to agree but between kurra, mirboo and Nyora would create great rivary and not much travel.

The rest can make up the other league, maybe even call one league the alberton league and the other the South Gippsland league

great idea mate, my dad wants that too.
hes said how if we have 2 wonthaggi teams, island, bass, daly, invy, burra, tarwin then either have mdu or stony creek if they want or get 2 teams from ellinbank such as poowong, nyora, lang lang etc. is pretty much the old bass valley league and would be ideal with 10 teams and ellinbank would go from 14 to 12 right?

There is an article in the local paper this week about Wonnie becoming two teams again so they can stay in the Alberton League. But the word is they are heading to Gippsland Latrobe or Casey league. Personally if they become 2 teams I believe it would be great and leave them in there. But I would like to see the league re-structure to make things stable and have good financial clubs in it and not much travel.

Wonnie Blues - Would be great to see the Power split to bring them back to the field
Wonnie Rovers - as above

The way I would see this is the clubs are all strong except for the Bass but would be a strong league and played at a high standard. Take a bit to get Mirboo and Nyora to agree but between kurra, mirboo and Nyora would create great rivary and not much travel.

The rest can make up the other league, maybe even call one league the alberton league and the other the South Gippsland league
u have obviously spent a lot of time thinking that one up mercs but with all respect it is a ridiculous plan. u obviously have not seen too much mid gippsland lately, i saw mirboo nth last yr and they were pathetic and would get smashed by most alberton clubs that includes the lowly ones. the real fact is the wheel turns and u cannot always bank on the continued succes of many of these clubs, all clubs of similar size such as tarwin daly mdu stony fishy bass, etc will have there ups and downs, u obviously dont realise that daly went throught without a win in 2006. or that mdu and fish creek are 2 of albertons most successful clubs. or that before the last 5 yrs, tarwin had made 1 finals series ever. what im saying is that u seem to be writing off clubs and talking up others such as yours, and really some of the ones u say should play in the main league have not had sustained success for long periods. the alberton league was one of the best until the 2005 season when power came in, i say get rid of em, keep the rest for now, and stop whinging bout travel, have u ever heard leongatha whinge, and for yrs they travelled to bairnsdale. the only others that could/ should possibly leave alberton is burra and p/i, as with those clubs in no other club will ever have much chance of success in the lower 3 grades. least your thinking bout it mercs but u r on the wrong track

Yes you have good points, I guess I was trying to make so the clubs on the west would be one league and the east would be the other.

You are right if you put Wonnie, Kurra and Phillip in other leagues it makes up the league. Maybe even Yarram into Noth Gippy and then Alberton league is set up. Personally I just wish things would hurry up and get sorted out and we can get on with the footy.

Wonnie Rovers - as above

Fix ya own problems, Nyora will never leave ellinbank for alberton. So we get 1 rivarly burra and travel a lot more and cant recruit players cos the wont travel and lose 3 huge rivalries, lang lang, poowong and catani. Great Idea mate.
And mirboo are in a great league, so they will never change. Travel to moe or cowes? tough decision!!!

Your blokes stuffed the league by letting wonthaggi in, so dont try to wreck other leagues to fix your stuff ups!

Fix ya own problems, Nyora will never leave ellinbank for alberton. So we get 1 rivarly burra and travel a lot more and cant recruit players cos the wont travel and lose 3 huge rivalries, lang lang, poowong and catani. Great Idea mate.
And mirboo are in a great league, so they will never change. Travel to moe or cowes? tough decision!!!

Your blokes stuffed the league by letting wonthaggi in, so dont try to wreck other leagues to fix your stuff ups!

wonni were not let in the league there was no vote to let them in, other clubs weren't happy about it from the start

phillip island hasnt won a senior premiership since 1990 in bass valley, 1995 was last reserves. 2007 was the first thirds premiership since 1992 im pretty sure. how is that dominant at all????? the island should not be put into casey league, it is not suitable at all

You need to settle down a bit mate, I was only making a suggestion so there is no need to bag the idea. You have your opinion and thats fine but it might actually lift the standard of your club. Cause some of the footy I seen in the Ellinbank has been pretty ordinary but I guess Nyora would not be up to the standard of these teams.

No sorry mate just having a laugh with you but I guess just trying to get other ideas to see what other people thoughts were.

I am just sick of the alberton league. For years at school in burra and working in leongatha i have heard how good the alberton league and how its a class above ellinbank and ours is a crappy no name league. Then all the sudden the EDFL is so strong with a great standard of footy and alberton is a rabble i hear alberton wont to steal some clubs.

We are stuggling at the moment but the good thing about our league is we will come back. But i reckon 3 years ago we were as good as wonthaggi. The alberton is so unbalanced and always will be with towns of 5000 people plus playing towns of 500.

alberton league standard has probably lifted if anything since wonni came in. any edfl crew can shed some light on bloke by the name addison, played for ellinbank i think?

I am just sick of the alberton league. For years at school in burra and working in leongatha i have heard how good the alberton league and how its a class above ellinbank and ours is a crappy no name league. Then all the sudden the EDFL is so strong with a great standard of footy and alberton is a rabble i hear alberton wont to steal some clubs.

We are stuggling at the moment but the good thing about our league is we will come back. But i reckon 3 years ago we were as good as wonthaggi. The alberton is so unbalanced and always will be with towns of 5000 people plus playing towns of 500.

Not sure how it will ever be fixed whilst you have the variation in population. The only way to fix is to have the teams Melb side of Leongatha in the Alberton less Wonthaggi join the Ellinbank league and have 2 divisions with a promotion/relegation system unfortunately wont happen too many politics and of course no one will travel from Neerim -Phillip Island even if its once a year.
Oh and for the record whilst Nyora was v good side they weren't as strong as Wonthaggi and never will be. But your point supports my argument take Wonthaggi out not much between the leagues so why not merge and create 2 divisions.The Alberton teams Yarram, Toora, Foster & Allies can join the Nth and Fish Creek, MDU & Stony can join the Mid

I know we can argue but did you ever watch the nyora 2006 side play, we had so much talent. Wonthaggi have been more dominant over the last for years but that season we were awesome.

The problem is alberton clubs have all these ideas about changing league or moving other clubs but if the other leagues dont wont it, it wont happen. They have to fix it from within. Presonally i think Woni and Burra should be in gippy latrobe league and garfield will be gone at end of year. If they both joined the travel would not be as bad with gatha, warragul and drouin all fairly close.

I think the league should be kept as is. Yarrams constant whining is the only problem, don't hear k-bass or P.I complaining about travel, and wonthaggi are coming back to the pack, it will take a while but they are getting there, they have lost some key players this year that have retired.

Teams will just have to accept that wonthaggi will always be up around the mark, burra and pi juniors will always be good, thats just the way it is, makes it better when you manage to beat them.

Only other alternative which is very unlikely but i think would be very fair would be to split wonthaggi back to blues and rovers. The last few years they haven't recruited anybody and with a little bit of recruiting they could fill 4 teams i reckon, as well as juniors and bringing back an old rivalry

saint leo, yes nyora had some very good teams particularly in 2006, and would have matched most premiers in other leagues at that time, but wonthaggi is an exception, i think they were as good a team as u will ever see in a minor league in 2006 and would have also been a top 3 team in gippy latrobe. however the longer they stay in alberton the worse they r going to be when they do make the move to a higher level. and whilst yes the alberton is in disarray, the standard of footy is still very good, in fact probably as good as it ever has been. lets not argue about which is better, they r both very good comps, easily the best 2 minor leagues in gippy. as for go dees, u obviously dont know a hell of a lot bout the wonny out argument, small clubs cannot compete, they would send themselves broke competing, and i dont think we want to see clubs falling over do we. wonthaggi r that gutless, and really they r achieving nothing by beating up the small towns like toora and stony etc.

I think the league should be kept as is. Yarrams constant whining is the only problem, don't hear k-bass or P.I complaining about travel, and wonthaggi are coming back to the pack, it will take a while but they are getting there, they have lost some key players this year that have retired.

Teams will just have to accept that wonthaggi will always be up around the mark, burra and pi juniors will always be good, thats just the way it is, makes it better when you manage to beat them.

Only other alternative which is very unlikely but i think would be very fair would be to split wonthaggi back to blues and rovers. The last few years they haven't recruited anybody and with a little bit of recruiting they could fill 4 teams i reckon, as well as juniors and bringing back an old rivalry

good point mate.
the alberton league was very even last yr, teams that didnt finish in the top 6 beat alot of teams who made the 6. the yarram way team are sooks seriously its not that much travel, its country footy u have to expect abit of travel. and yes ur right the island dont mind travelling, whenever we play yarram or dwwww they are amazed at the crowd they get. so y change a league that is even.

Do the Swift Boys still play for Yarram, when i watched last time they seemed like great up and coming players?

koo wee rup got beaten by bass who can hardly get a goal in the seniors this year wats that saying about ur hopless country bumkin league fella p.s mittas a w***er who cant kick a goal