Injury All things COVID-19 - including the impact on Season 2020

Agree for the most part the bushfires were difficult time for the country and new goverment.

Australia has had 7 prime ministers in 10 years

Although we watched it develop in China, Europe, Korea, Iran

Was the government lauded through the bushfires for proactive behaviour ?

Would a recent tragedy make you more responsive to quick action ? or less.

It's just not Morrison and liberal, Abbott, Rudd they were all bad. The leaders of Australia as a group need to align themselves sensible and work towards a goal of making this a better country.

I'm not talking about the recent history of epidemics and disasters I'm talking about a recent history of average political work at federal level.

So am I surprised they were slow off the mark not at all.
I know it is only a dream and some may not agree but get rid of the 2 party preferred system. If i want to vote for a party my vote should go to them not be passed onto one of 2 options damnit.

Well I'm with you if the right leader came along I'm down with that for sure. Everyone is sick of the stupid little play ground backroom dealings for budget money. We don't even really vote for a PM anymore the parties decide if they want someone in or out the steaknives come out quicker than a purge

Exactly right - I get so sick of people complaining when there has been a leadership change, "But I voted for Turnball" or "I voted for Abbott", blah blah; no you voted for your local member

In this country, unless you are in the PM's electorate, you have voted for your local member & their party - we don't specifically vote for the PM, it's the various parties who decide their leaders and not the people

Exactly right - I get so sick of people complaining when there has been a leadership change, "But I voted for Turnball" or "I voted for Abbott", blah blah; no you voted for your local member

In this country, unless you are in the PM's electorate, you have voted for your local member & their party - we don't specifically vote for the PM, it's the various parties who decide their leaders and not the people

spot on 👍

I can't ever remember voting not knowing who would make the victory speech and take over as prime minster for the victorious party,leaders do affect the outcome IMO.Shorten was and is unelectable and cost Labor office.But no we don't vote for them or against them specifically.

Gotta love seeing these messages pop up on Facebook today for various companies that use off-shore call centres

Grr, don't get me started! :mad:

Work was mayhem today, and we've got to put up with it for 4 weeks!

NOOOOOOOoooooooo

First it was onion gate and now it's covid-19 - when will the good ol Bunnings sausage sizzle be left alone

From tomorrow Bunnings will be putting a hold on its iconic sausage sizzles, with the retailer announcing panic sparked by the coronavirus has impacted the availability of supplies.

Bunnings Managing Director Mike Schneider said the “tough decision” was made after speaking to community groups and finding out about the challenges they have been facing in recent weeks.

“Having listened closely to community groups, we’ve learned of the challenges many groups are facing finding volunteers and even supplies to sell given some of the reported challenges being faced by other retailers,” Mr Schneider said in a statement.

“We also want to make sure our team remain focused on helping customers to access the products they need.

“We absolutely understand the important role these sausage sizzles play for thousands of local community groups and charities and that finding alternative fundraising opportunities at short notice isn’t easy.”

Was planning on seeing this on Sunday too...

“After much consideration, and in light of the ongoing and developing situation concerning coronavirus and restrictions on global travel and public gatherings, Paramount Pictures will be moving the worldwide release of A Quiet Place Part II. We believe in and support the theatrical experience, and we look forward to bringing this film to audiences this year once we have a better understanding of the impact of this pandemic on the global theatrical marketplace.”

For those in Geelong, The City of Greater Geelong (Council) has established aCoronavirus Support page, which includes information and details on the impacts to events, facilities and City services across the region:

Something else to note that may have more of an impact on an older generation whom prefer to do things face to face:

The City will continue to provide general customer service, but will no longer offer the services over the counter.

The following services will now be offered by phone and online:
  • Customer Service - including building services and statutory planning services; and
  • Visitor Information Centres.
The decision about the impact on these services will be reviewed by the end of March.

So AFL have delayed their decision on the start to the season until Wednesday now.

It's almost like they are waiting for/wanting someone else to tell them that they can't proceed - they are saying all the right things about wanting to play and to keep going, but the continued delay in confirmation of round 1 proceeding is like they are wanting to be told they can't go ahead and so they can then use that as a reason to postpone things so that they just don't look like the bad person

They want someone else to blame for things stopping

It's almost like they are waiting for/wanting someone else to tell them that they can't proceed - they are saying all the right things about wanting to play and to keep going, but the continued delay in confirmation of round 1 proceeding is like they are wanting to be told they can't go ahead and so they can then use that as a reason to postpone things so that they just don't look like the bad person

They want someone else to blame for things stopping
They are waiting for the gov to say no games for you.
Which lets them keep the Broadcast money without fault since they tried everything possible to play games.

What good is the Great Wall of China if it can't even contain a Chinese virus? Less effective than Trump's wall.
It was only built to stop the rabbits

Can't expect it to stop a virus also

But Trump may get his wall, or kinda - Mexico is looking at stopping/closing their border with the USA to stop them bringing the virus into Mexico

This was posted by the ABC about 10/15 minutes ago (so not long after 8:30pm):

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade has issued advice recommending Australians abroad return home as soon as possible via commercial flights.

More to come...

---

Is shit about to get seriously real in terms of either global travel restrictions or is Australia going to announce next level restrictions/lockdown within our borders?

And this is just what the region needs at the moment...

Belmont High has warned parents a student at the school has been diagnosed with whooping cough.

In an message to parents on Tuesday afternoon the school requested any child with symptoms of the vaccine-preventable condition see a doctor before returning to school.

“Whooping cough is easily spread, especially between children,” the note said.

This was posted by the ABC about 10/15 minutes ago (so not long after 8:30pm):

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade has issued advice recommending Australians abroad return home as soon as possible via commercial flights.

More to come...

---

Is shit about to get seriously real in terms of either global travel restrictions or is Australia going to announce next level restrictions/lockdown within our borders?

I'm expecting a total lock-down announced tomorrow, with all schools, eateries, bars and cinemas to close for at least two weeks starting Thursday, with only supermarkets, bakeries, etc. allowed to open.

No footy.

One medico on the radio said we're on a trajectory to a disaster worse than Italy if we don't get movin'.

Still disgusted it's been left to corporates to 'help out' when the Feds should have had the army helping local councils call and door-knock pensioners and the disabled with essential provisions.

I’ve seen high level data saying August will be the peak month for infections in Australia. If that’s correct, the season is pretty cactus. I can’t see it starting this week. Really think that there has to be some fancy finance work done to see if not playing at all will mean all clubs may survive financially in the long term, as I am a bit worried a half in/ out season cut down but with big costs and little revenue could grind some clubs out for ever.