Injury All things COVID-19 - including the impact on Season 2020

I know it is only a dream and some may not agree but get rid of the 2 party preferred system. If i want to vote for a party my vote should go to them not be passed onto one of 2 options damnit.
The preference system is the only reason there are more than 2 options. First past the post like the US means the two options are effectively selected in the primaries. Having preferences gives power to third options and gives them bargaining power, it also gives major parties hard data on what policies to steal.

ABC reckons cases are doubling every 4 days so every 100 infections gives you another 100 added in that period. Graph below says it all. Even if a lockdown only prevents 10 of those additional infections it reduces the total projection 6 weeks from now by 277k people. If it prevents 50% of new infections then it stops 797k new infections. No action takes us to around 1 million Australians by end of April. Forget footy, time to do your bit for Australia and stay the f%$# home
image001.png

NB: this is literally just that rate applied to current infections so is directionally correct for right now. I took the first 5 days as not changing due to the lack of symptoms in that time period

This was posted by the ABC about 10/15 minutes ago (so not long after 8:30pm):

The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade has issued advice recommending Australians abroad return home as soon as possible via commercial flights.

More to come...

---

Is shit about to get seriously real in terms of either global travel restrictions or is Australia going to announce next level restrictions/lockdown within our borders?

Lockdowns in our borders.

Once that happens we'll be on the right track.

Think it will start on Thursday. Could be longer than 2 weeks.
I know 4 NDD drivers that got sacked today. They all got paid out a fair bit too.
So you'd think paying out around 10 weeks of wages had to be worth it for the place to sack them.
Getting really worried now that everything's gonna be pretty dead for a few months.
Scary shit.

I know 4 NDD drivers that got sacked today. They all got paid out a fair bit too.
So you'd think paying out around 10 weeks of wages had to be worth it for the place to sack them.
Getting really worried now that everything's gonna be pretty dead for a few months.
Scary shit.

I don't have kids, but school holidays is in 2 weeks right?

So it's something happens later this week then would think that it may go through the school holidays also - meaning potentially 3 weeks of impact IF it starts this weekend

Scary shit.

Along with lots of Australians...

The fact that it doesn't have 100% fatality rates means you gain immunity, otherwise no one would recover. The rumours about people getting it twice were just people who hadn't fully recovered finding excuses for having broken quarantine.

On the infection rates maybe you're right but it depends on quarantine. When I say we start you get herd immunity I mean the thing that starts pushing the infection rate down naturally so we're starting to see that effect anytime after it peaks. You've probably seen the Washington post simulation below:

China has had it 3 months but was on lockdown for 2 so that infection rate was basically off one month of spreading. The thing about exponential equations is that once things kick off it doesn't take long to hit incredible numbers. But yeah it depends how successfully we contain it

Let's clear up a few things ( Seeds )

Herd Immunity - ( Basically when a high percentage is vaccinated against a disease )

PhotoPictureResizer_200317_213836493_crop_1062x1351.jpg

How does it work
( Notice the emphasis on not a good alternative to vaccination ) Doesn't give a high level of protection

Screenshot_20200317-214003_Chrome.jpg

Effects after it peaks

You need to let the virus get to 60% of the population for the effect to work. So Australia would infect 13 plus million people

PhotoPictureResizer_200317_214644412_crop_1004x1333.jpg

The Netherlands aren't doing herd immunity, its group immunity protecting the elderly and sick.

PhotoPictureResizer_200317_215017425_crop_1055x1097.jpg

This is why the U.K abandoned any talk at present

PhotoPictureResizer_200317_215702944_crop_904x421.jpg
PhotoPictureResizer_200317_215725881_crop_1080x444.jpg

The fact not 100% fatality rates doesn't even need to be commented on.

Broken quarantine story
( Scientist still working on the science so we shall wait for that before assumptions are made about a mutating influenza) You can catch the flu twice because it mutates into different strains )

PhotoPictureResizer_200317_220019965_crop_1080x343.jpg
PhotoPictureResizer_200317_220258181_crop_1041x1182.jpg

Let's clear up a few things ( Seeds )

Herd Immunity - ( Basically when a high percentage is vaccinated against a disease )

View attachment 841385

How does it work
( Notice the emphasis on not a good alternative to vaccination ) Doesn't give a high level of protection

View attachment 841387

Effects after it peaks

You need to let the virus get to 60% of the population for the effect to work. So Australia would infect 13 plus million people

View attachment 841396

The Netherlands aren't doing herd immunity, its group immunity protecting the elderly and sick.

View attachment 841400

This is why the U.K abandoned any talk at present

View attachment 841406
View attachment 841407

The fact not 100% fatality rates doesn't even need to be commented on.

Broken quarantine story
( Scientist still working on the science so we shall wait for that before assumptions are made about a mutating influenza) You can catch the flu twice because it mutates into different strains )

View attachment 841410
View attachment 841411
Good to get the definitions right. Appreciated

I don't have kids, but school holidays is in 2 weeks right?

So it's something happens later this week then would think that it may go through the school holidays also - meaning potentially 3 weeks of impact IF it starts this weekend
Yeah. I think the plan is to give them the week off after it too. So 4 weeks.
They were setting up Google classrooms in school today.

People realised that if you get sick, test for covid-19 and you test positive, you end up on a Govt database?
Double edged sword now...

And this is just what the region needs at the moment...

Belmont High has warned parents a student at the school has been diagnosed with whooping cough.

In an message to parents on Tuesday afternoon the school requested any child with symptoms of the vaccine-preventable condition see a doctor before returning to school.

“Whooping cough is easily spread, especially between children,” the note said.
I bloody caught Whooping cough at Age 31, because the immunizations wear off around that time... From Melbourne trams. That's why I warned all my relatives stay away from Public transport.

It was an absolute bastard of a thing, as I have minor asthma and the lungs and throat closed up several times in the evenings. It took at least a month to recover. This covid-19 will be a worse experience than that if you get Pneumonia, that I can tell you. But only if Pneumonia develops.

And those "schwab tests" down the nose! Man, don't think its a cotton bud at the tip of the nose. It goes right down the nose, past the eyes (some sensitive nerves there) down the back of your throat. It aint pleasant testing for that, and its the same process of testing for Covid-19 I believe.

(QUOTE="CatToTheFuture, post: 64666825, member: 191151"]
Good to get the definitions right. Appreciated
[/QUOTE]

PhotoPictureResizer_200317_234627118_crop_1060x1672.jpg

Herd immunity is the equivalent to bernard Tomic 2-0 down. Your just giving up or you have already lost. Light years away from just letting 13 million people get infected and thousands die

People realised that if you get sick, test for covid-19 and you test positive, you end up on a Govt database?
Double edged sword now...
That's a good thing, they'll be able to track the outbreak much better and will know who they can call on to volunteer in supply line distribution. I have some serious criticism of the data collection, but this isn't one of them

Mandatory human microchips could be the fallout from this... They tried to push this technology through industry and it more or less failed. They will use the argument its for the safety of humanity.

I'm pretty sure the Australian Health Code written by the Government talks about involuntary human experimentation if its for the better of society... or something to that effect.

Oh btw, if there is riots. There is technology built into the mobile phone towers so they can emit low frequency (EMF) signals which can sub-due mass populations with temporary illness, in order to stop riots.

Maybe I'm telling you too much in advance
:p

Woolies got lambasted yesterday for all the pensioners lining up outside their stores yesterday morning, only to walk in and find heaps of empty shelves. Woolies response? Suggesting customers go online and use the click and collect service so they won't have to line up.

Um, how many pensioners are computer literate, let alone have internet access?

Woolies got lambasted yesterday for all the pensioners lining up outside their stores yesterday morning, only to walk in and find heaps of empty shelves. Woolies response? Suggesting customers go online and use the click and collect service so they won't have to line up.

Um, how many pensioners are computer literate, let alone have internet access?

People are going to have to mug the elderly for supplies :rolleyes:

Only a matter of time until it happens, unfortunately.