Amongst fellow Brownlow recipients where does Jimmy Bartel stand?

The sooner people realise that the Brownlow isn't a career achievement award, the better.

Bartel had a long period of being a very good player, but he also never had another season where he was as good individually as he was in 2007. He was a worthy winner that year, which is all that really matters.

I’ll always rate him as elite, but just on the level below Gaz/Judd. He could’ve been a top 5 midfielder in the comp for a decade but sacrificed his role for the team.

Should be a duel norm smith medalist. His tagging job on Hayes in the last 3 quarters of 2009 is the most underrated gf performance of all time.

In recent memory I think players like Cotchin, Bartel, Mitchell and Cooney are not quite at the level of the other Brownlow medalists. I mean they are all very very good players, but not quite as good as the other recent Brownlow medal winners, at least over a single season. Mitchell's and Bartel's careers have so far been better than Fyfe's, though Fyfe's best season has been better than Mitchell's and Bartel's best season.

I think Mitchell is a player who has never received the respect his career deserved. Five time Hawthorn Best and Fairest and finished his career second behind Gary Ablett for all time Brownlow votes - that doesn't happen when you are an average player. If I recall he finished top 5 on more than one occasion.

I rate Bartel, but come on James, what kind of adult still demands to be called Jimmy as an adult? Does he still beg mum for paddlepops in the supermarket?

Jimmy Page, rock god.
I hate Geelong but love Bartel. Loved his versatility and his ability to turn a game - even against us!

I also reckon he’s a super bloke too. That article about his dad a couple of years ago paints a picture of a tough, resilient and sensitive bloke who can turn the shittest of situations around

Favourite Cat player of the last while

pretty much my thoughts too. Bartel was a ripper

I feel his last 4/5 years of footy really let him down, went to a few Geelong games and was shocked to see he would be in the back/forward pockets without a man getting cheap kicks.

2 year period he was at an elite level, The stars such as Swan/Judd/Ablett/Bucks/Hird/Voss/Cousins did it for a lot longer

I would even have Danger/Fyfe/Martin in front of him.

Ranking the brownlow medalists since 1990 imo would be as follows

1 Gary Ablett Jr. Gold Coast/Geelong
2 Greg Williams Carlton
3 Mark Ricciuto Adelaide
4 James Hird Essendon
5 Chris Judd West Coast/Carlton
6 Michael Voss Brisbane Bears
7 Sam Mitchell Hawthorn
8 Jason Akermanis Brisbane Lions
9 Nathan Buckley Collingwood
10 Ben Cousins West Coast
11 Patrick Dangerfield Geelong
12 Dane Swan Collingwood
13 Simon Black Brisbane Lions
14 Dustin Martin Richmond
15 Nathan Fyfe Fremantle
16 Robert Harvey St Kilda
17 Shane Crawford Hawthorn
18 Jim Stynes Melbourne
19 Jimmy Bartel Geelong
20 Adam Goodes Sydney
21 Gavin Wanganeen Essendon
22 Scott Wynd Footscray
23 Paul Kelly Sydney
24 Trent Cotchin Richmond
25 Matt Priddis West Coast
26 Tony Liberatore Footscray
27 Adam Cooney Western Bulldogs
28 Shane Woewodin Melbourne

He sits just below mid pack which is pretty good. He isn't/wasn't in the same class as say the top 15 though

I think Mitchell is a player who has never received the respect his career deserved. Five time Hawthorn Best and Fairest and finished his career second behind Gary Ablett for all time Brownlow votes - that doesn't happen when you are an average player. If I recall he finished top 5 on more than one occasion.

At no point would I ever think Mitchell was an average player, I just don't think he was quite at the Brownlow medalist level.

Was arguably BOG in the 2011 GF playing in the forward pocket.

One of the most versatile players ever, better than fellow utilities Green, Deledio and Goddard by far because of his ability to play as an inside midfielder on top of the success at half back, half forward, wing etc.

Bartel and Jelwood would be just below Gazza and Scarlett in my ranking of the best Geelong players since 05.

At no point would I ever think Mitchell was an average player, I just don't think he was quite at the Brownlow medalist level.

We beg to differ then - his stats reflect that he was unlucky to have not won more than one

Jimmy Bartel has an often overlooked trait - he influenced games of football favorably for his side.

Bloody gun, bordering on underrated by the wide community.

Great player.....but if we are comparing him to that ‘next level’ elite talent then his absolute peak was quite brief and the back end of his career quite under stated.

So he’s probably not in the top half of recent Brownlow Medalists...pretty tough competition there though.

Amongst fellow Brownlow recipients where does Jimmy Bartel stand?