Vidman

Oct 8, 2002
Bulimba
Brisbane Lions
Man Utd, SF 49ers, Englnd
OK, trying to decide what will be my annual melbourne game road trip this coming season. Last year we did the "Mal Who?" Essendon game. This year no one game stands out to me, so I'm wanting your suggestions. Basically if you could only go to one Melbourne game this coming season which would it be and why?

Here are the contenders..
Sat 3rd May . vs Geelong - reigning champs + never been to a game there.
Sat 17th May vs Carlton. Sat night at the dome
Sat 14th June vs Bulldogs - Aker game.
Sun 29th June vs Melbourne - MCG factor , but sun arvo.
Sat 12th July vs Essendon - revenge for last year? night game
Sat 26th July vs Richmond - dome, easy game? Love to give curry

So there you go, what do you guys think?

I'm going down for the Richmond game in round 17 at the Dome, I'll also go to the following matches aswell:

Friday Night: Hawthorn V. Geelong, MCG
Saturday Afternoon: Collingwood V. Essendon, MCG
Sunday Afternoon: Melbourne V. Kangaroos, MCG

I will hopefully be going to all 6 games. Which ever you decide to come down to, let me know and perhaps say g'day.

Aka game would be good, I always enjoy the Tigers and Bombers games as well:thumbsu:

you havnt missed much by not having been to skilled stadium vidman

anyway i will be at all the melbourne games including the tassie game

anyway back on topic.....

obviously the best game to go to would be the collingwood game at the g but that isnt happening next season :(

but in my opinion the bulldogs game would be the one to go to being at the g and aker might be playing would be the best one to go to

As a Melbourne member, the first thing I do when the draw comes out is check if and when we play Geelong down at Skilled Stadium. Nothing better than getting on a V-Line (country) train from the city, heading down there and standing in the outer. If you are after the local football atmosphere, nothing beats it. Unfortunately the last two games down there have been pi$$ing rain and freezing, but that adds that little bit more to the experience. You know what kind of day you are in for as the train heads near Geelong, just look up at the sky and check the clouds out. Anyway, Geelong for mine, its a great trip even if we dont manage the 4pts.

Insert <drink plenty of beer> anywhere above. Story for you - 2 years ago I picked my members cap up from Geelong. It was pelting rain so put it in my jacket, only putting it on my head when we were on the train back to melbourne. Busting for a toilet trip on the train (drank way too much) I went to the loo and felt a bit ordinary, so opened up the door at the back of the carriage for some air. When I stuck my head out my cap flew off and I sadly watched it blow away into a paddock somewhere between Lara and Werribee stations. Nex to me was the emergency stop button.......... Nah, I didnt press it (the fine notice stopped me) but I still havent gotten over that, i'm one members cap short of the collection ;).

Geelong game has been the only 1 I have attended in years, now it is on a Saturday so I will probably miss due to playing commitments. Looks as if the Melbourne game will be my only option this year... Thank god for FOXTEL..

Booked to go down to the Carlton and Bulldaogs games thus far, although the Richmond game is almost a certainty as it is the only weekend we and the Kangaroos both play in Melbourne on the same weekend, and I will head down with a mate who is a big North man.

Might also head down for the All Star game if I can get flights at the right price.

Was hoping to catch some cheap Tiger flights, but after seeing thier record early on with cancelled flights, and happy to say I got in on the Virgin $60 each way deal.

As per usual, can not wait!!

We'll probably go to the matches where there are family activities attached as that way my 7 year old gets to meet some of the players. Also as it takes us approx 6 hours to get to Melbourne it gives him something to talk about for morning talk the next week. I'd also like to go to the Bulldogs match as I still love watching Aka play. ;):D

I would certainly recommend the round 17 Richmond game (26 July) - the Pleasant Sunday Morning activity the next morning (27 July) at Melbourne Aquarium will certainly be a lot of fun and an added bonus for those travelling, to get up close and personal with the players.

OK, now I think I have finally completed my Road Trip Calendar for 2008.

Already been to Melbourne for Round 1 - watched Coll v Freo, St Kilda v Sydney, Footscray v Adelaide, Hawthorn v Melbourne & Essendon v North.

Now I am also heading down for Round 8, will catch the Collingwood v ST Kilda dnd Richmond v Geelong games before our match against Carlton. Since when is there NO games in Melbourne on a Sunday:eek:

Round 12 sees me head down to the MCG for our game against Footscray, Calton and Collingwood on Sunday and I will catch the end of the Richmond v Melbourne game seeing as though it is at the Dome and I will be heading that way to catch the bus back to the airport anyway. No footy in Melbourne on the Saturday night that weekend, lucky enough to pick up a ticket to the Powderfinger gig at the Forum. Quality Queensland band:thumbsu:

Round 17 v Richmond at the Dome. Will catch the Hawks v Geelong game the night before and the Collingwood v Essendon game on Saturday afternoon. Will have to go to the Melbourne v North game as I am travelling with the mate who is a North fan.

Round 19 Well I am on annual leave then and my wife asked if we could go to Tassie some time for a holiday:D Deal done. She still does not realise that the Lions are in town. She actually said, "Tassie will be good. At least it wont be a holiday that is scheduled around football" hehehehehehe:D

Round 22 - Why not head down to Sydney??? It is a long weekend on the Gold Coast (Long live the Gold Coast Show, it actually only goes for two days now and we get one of them off!!) Will drive down Friday and back on Sunday!!

Throw in the away game at my place (North at Carrara)and I must say that I am pretty pleased with my effort this year.

Long live the Lions and Virgin Blues $49 flights from the Gold Coast to Melbourne:thumbsu:

Annual Melbourne Road Trip