Anyone know who abused Bachar Houli on Friday night? - Apparently John Burns

Steve Price is a tiger...strange that Price has backed up Burns' in saying that he ( price) can't remember either...lying through his nose

Robbo heard it loud no clear though

Price given his rep was probably half cut

That and they are all in "I don't recall" mode

If someone is making a joke about it in private you can bet lots of others are too. That's how the ignorance really spreads. Thinking it is not illegal but it is stupid.
That'll never stop though.

I personally won't accuse both the RFC official and John Burns of lying. Calling Bachar Houli a "terrorist" by all means is offensive and disgusting, but it is only one person who said they heard this from him. If he denies it, and only one person (even if they are an RFC official) makes this claim, I don't think it should be taken as a fact that John Burns said it. In fact, even the person that he was in conversation with said that he doesn't recall that being said.

No matter how shifty something or someone may seem, I think giving the benefit of the doubt is the better choice if there is no concrete evidence available to us.

The fact Burns claims he doesn't know if he said it, disgusts me the most.
He obviously either knows he did say it, or is likely to have said it.
Sack the campaigner, there is enough lazy drug dealing ****wits in the world without good people be shit canned , by a w***er who makes a living out of radio media / his opinion..

Your right Unfortunately racism will never stop and nor will ignorance.
I reckon common sense is needed.
Two people talking whether it's ignorant,politically incorrect,misguided humor,whatever you want to call it is something that'll never change no matter the subject.
It's crossing that line that needs to be shut down.

This is well off topic, but I have heard that Grant Thomas is called "Cornflakes". It all started when Malcolm Blight was coaching St Kilda and Thomas was in the coaches boxes, behaving like a flog.

He was tipped out of the box = cornflakes.

Love it :)

That was Patrick Smiths' joke about Grant Thomas. He was the one who penned that nickname. Used to refer to him as that in his articles.

Good to see Patrick Smith can win a laugh.

That'll never stop though.
It can diminish though. Saw an interview where an Aussie soldier said they were told that the Japanese had tails and he and many others believed it.
With education and exposure things can change in time. It's certainly worth trying as not all, but some will learn.

P.S. I do not have a tail but I am not tailist

I reckon common sense is needed.
Two people talking whether it's ignorant,politically incorrect,misguided humor,whatever you want to call it is something that'll never change no matter the subject.
It's crossing that line that needs to be shut down.

Yer people like that should just stay home and watch Football on TV.

This whole story has gotten to the ridiculous stage.

One person is alleged to have heard this conversation...a conversation between two people that was probably not meant to be heard by anyone else. To the person that heard it, complain to the person that said it and be done with it. It's over. But to then report it to the AFL...give me a break.

If he'd have yelled it so everyone could hear and kept repeating the slur, I can understand but if everyone was to be sanctioned for offensive comments in a private conversation, we'd all be in a lot of strife.

This whole story has gotten to the ridiculous stage.

One person is alleged to have heard this conversation...a conversation between two people that was probably not meant to be heard by anyone else. To the person that heard it, complain to the person that said it and be done with it. It's over. But to then report it to the AFL...give me a break.

If he'd have yelled it so everyone could hear and kept repeating the slur, I can understand but if everyone was to be sanctioned for offensive comments in a private conversation, we'd all be in a lot of strife.

The reason this is a story is because mr burns would be one of the very first demanding Carlton take action against you if you called Houli a terrorist at our game

Media demand blood on these issues with its flogs like you and me, but It's faux apologies when it's themselves

They set the standard, they should live by it too

Yer people like that should just stay home and watch Football on TV.
It's not just football.
And it's not just racism.
I bet every single person alive has had a conversation where a persons background has been discussed including a silly attempt at humor ,
Or a persons weight,or sexual preference or even just the look of a person or their apparent stupidity... Whatever it may be.
I'm not saying that this is what took place but it may have and it goes on every day in every place.
To think it doesn't or that you've not been party to it is just false.

Just so over the perpetually offended brigade...often offended on behalf of others.

I get that, but aw are the standard bearer for that movement

Do you remember the treatment the pies kid got from their show?

Update:

Friday night Burns was informed by the Richmond person of an offensive comment

Sunday night 3aw management were informed of the incident. Someone in 3aw management MUST
HAVE called Burns on Sunday night to discuss the issue with him

On Monday morning Ross asks Burns if it was him and he categorically said NO, NOT ME!

At 3.08pm on Monday i.e. 24 hours after 3aw management knew of the allegation and 8 hours after Burns said NO NOT ME it is announced that Burns was the person in question.

Then to come on and in an 8 minute interview just completely deny it but if I did then then sorry just continues to highlight what a person he is.

Three loser here

1) Bascher

2) Tom Elliot - Burns deflected the situation from his show in the morning and with the help of management DUMPED the who situaiton onto Tom's show.Tom then became the damage control agent for the station. If I was Tom I would be seeking compensation for the amount of crap he had to endure for protecting an alledge racist collegue whilst the people who should have delt with it failed to do so in a 24 hour period. Management of 3aw are a disgrace.

3) Ross: The guy that sits in front of him every morning categorically lied to him - how can you work with someone like that after this incident. Lied to his face and also to their audience. If Ross accepts this is all ok then he is missing the point.

Time to remove this Old Fossil from our airwaves as he is a liar and makes alledgedled racist remark

It's not just football.
And it's not just racism.
I bet every single person alive has had a conversation where a persons background has been discussed including a silly attempt at humor ,
Or a persons weight,or sexual preference or even just the look of a person or their apparent stupidity... Whatever it may be.
I'm not saying that this is what took place but it may have and it goes on every day in every place.
To think it doesn't or that you've not been party to it is just false.

mate i couldn't give two shits what people look like/how much they weigh/ whether straight or gay/ or race or religion.

No way am I apologizing for him and no way do I think blatant racism is acceptable.
But I'll give you a snapshot of the type of discussion that I and I bet many others have been privy to.
Two blokes at the footy/
Bachar involved in a good piece of play- mate says to mate "geez he's a good player Houli"
Another good Houli moment- "oh he's playing well Bachar"
Makes a stuff up- ".... Bloody terrorist!"
You know it's not fair dinkum, And you know it's your mates ordinary attempt at a gag and is delivered in that tone.
To me personally, that's harmless.
Kept between yourselves.
Is that what happened?
If so then this is ridiculous.
I'm thinking there was a bit more to it however.

Anyone know who abused Bachar Houli on Friday night? - Apparently John Burns