Apples' Training Reports

Ok so how was kirby looking?
Regarding Kirby, I thought he looked bigger than during the pre-season, but what do you think. I trained the camera on him for quite a time because I thought people would be interested in taking a look.
Has there been any news on Kale since his collapse?

Training: Thursday June 7, 2018
A cloudy and windy morning for training today. The boys didn't enter the park until after 10:30 and it was a light session of freshening up and in-close skill work.
Not Training:
Ben Reid
Alex Fasolo
Tim Broomhead
Monitored Training:
Jamie Elliott
Darcy Moore
Travis Varcoe
Josh Smith
Tyson Goldsack
Test:
Jeremy Howe was tested throughout the morning on the AAMI side of the ground. He started off at 50% and gradually built up to 100m sprints.
My partner suggested he didn't look right and predicts he won't play. I reckon he answered all of the questions put to him and think he'll be selected.
Sier and McLarty must have been passed before entering the ground, because both did full training.

• Taylor Adams received treatment to his right foot early during the session. The trainer was carefully examining the sole of the foot. Taylor didn't appear to be favouring the foot during training.
• Nathan Murphy was one of the first on the track and trained well. Let's hope he settles back into the VFL and now starts his push for senior selection.
• It was great to see Tyson Goldsack back on the track. Tyson started off doing all drills and straight-line running. left the track about midway through the session.
• Crisp and Sharenberg left the track about midway and Crisp returned about 20 minutes later - probably a physio stop. Grundy, likewise, left the track and returned 15-20 minutes later.
• Towards the end of the session Hocking took a group of players for a tackling session. The players were, Oxley, Phillips, Sier and Wills. This led my partner to speculate that Sier might get a call up as his training had been spot on. I must admit that Sier worked well today. My earlier criticism of him "going where the ball ain't" no longer applies. He has improved his presence around the ball immeasurably.

Did some video of the session which I'll upload later.

Training: Thursday June 7, 2018
A cloudy and windy morning for training today. The boys didn't enter the park until after 10:30 and it was a light session of freshening up and in-close skill work.
Not Training:
Ben Reid
Alex Fasolo
Tim Broomhead
Monitored Training:
Jamie Elliott
Darcy Moore
Travis Varcoe
Josh Smith
Tyson Goldsack
Test:
Jeremy Howe was tested throughout the morning on the AAMI side of the ground. He started off at 50% and gradually built up to 100m sprints.
My partner suggested he didn't look right and predicts he won't play. I reckon he answered all of the questions put to him and think he'll be selected.
Sier and McLarty must have been passed before entering the ground, because both did full training.

• Taylor Adams received treatment to his right foot early during the session. The trainer was carefully examining the sole of the foot. Taylor didn't appear to be favouring the foot during training.
• Nathan Murphy was one of the first on the track and trained well. Let's hope he settles back into the VFL and now starts his push for senior selection.
• It was great to see Tyson Goldsack back on the track. Tyson started off doing all drills and straight-line running. left the track about midway through the session.
• Crisp and Sharenberg left the track about midway and Crisp returned about 20 minutes later - probably a physio stop. Grundy, likewise, left the track and returned 15-20 minutes later.
• Towards the end of the session Hocking took a group of players for a tackling session. The players were, Oxley, Phillips, Sier and Wills. This led my partner to speculate that Sier might get a call up as his training had been spot on. I must admit that Sier worked well today. My earlier criticism of him "going where the ball ain't" no longer applies. He has improved his presence around the ball immeasurably.

Did some video of the session which I'll upload later.

Did Kirby train?

Have not for Years. Pathetic Really
Pies media should not only stream the VFL games but the VFLW games and all training sessions....
Eddie............WTF is going on my good man?
Collingwood should have it's own 24 hour media streaming site and go F** the AFL.
Down the track we should have our won digital TV channel.

Pies media should not only stream the VFL games but the VFLW games and all training sessions....
Collingwood should have it's own 24 hour media streaming site and go F** the AFL.
Down the track we should have our won digital TV channel.
Training sessions? Give it a break.

Yes, he did limited training. Ran a few laps and did a few drills. I tried to put some vision of Kirby into the video. He really looks miles away.

Interested, when you go to training, do you see folks there who you suspect may be opposition spies?

VFL games: Totally agree. Collingwood is in the business of fielding a footy team for the entertainment of their supporter base, why wouldn’t they bring the games to that supporter base? Understand that they have tried and they didn’t get sufficient takers, but maybe they were just going about it the wrong way?

VFLW games: Totally agree. It’s a new competition, wouldn’t it be a great way to win the hearts and minds of supporters to actually bring games to them?

Training: I dunno if broadcasting training is such a great idea. I think more people would be interested in just a short (5 minute) summary with a few clips of crunching tackles and laser passes and stuff that makes supporters proud of their team without giving the competition any information of substance.

VFL games: Totally agree. Collingwood is in the business of fielding a footy team for the entertainment of their supporter base, why wouldn’t they bring the games to that supporter base? Understand that they have tried and they didn’t get sufficient takers, but maybe they were just going about it the wrong way?

VFLW games: Totally agree. It’s a new competition, wouldn’t it be a great way to win the hearts and minds of supporters to actually bring games to them?

Training: I dunno if broadcasting training is such a great idea. I think more people would be interested in just a short (5 minute) summary with a few clips of crunching tackles and laser passes and stuff that makes supporters proud of their team without giving the competition any information of substance.
I think that's a reasonable point. I only intend to film content that may be of interest to fans who are unable to get to training. Last week and today Channel Nine was in attendance and so I figure if they can film, then so can I.
Regarding opposition spies, I doubt anybody would know how to spot one. Today there was a conference in the Social Club with heaps of young men everywhere. There were two school groups in attendance, plus Collingwood supporters. The supporters were dotted around the ground and ranged from tradies taking a break, to retirees like myself.

I don't think anything I report or film and post hours later, would be of use to other clubs. Melbourne would already have the info regarding Howe's training by midday in any case.

Get real about VFLW. I’m sick of this politically correct nonsense, and everything needing to be equal.

Nothing PC about it.

Live streaming VFLW would merely give folks the choice of watching games if they want to.

Nobody would be forcing anybody to watch it if they don’t want to.

Do you watch magpies netball on the Telly? Me neither. I choose not to.

But some people choose to do so.

Nothing PC about it.

Live streaming VFLW would merely give folks the choice of watching games if they want to.

Nobody would be forcing anybody to watch it if they don’t want to.

Do you watch magpies netball on the Telly? Me neither. I choose not to.

But some people choose to do so.
I’ve nothing against providing options for people where we have capacity to do so.

The club has indicated it can’t even stream the VFL games due to capacity/resourcing constraints, If this is truly the case, I don’t think VFLW is a priority and I definitely don’t agree with doing it just because we stream the odd VFL game.

If it makes sense to do something commercially or because the collingwood brethren want it then fine, doing it for the sake of being equal when we are capacity constrained is wrong.

Time to release the bull and the bear.
I reckon they can make the transition too.
Give em a go!
Admittedly it isn’t easy for Bucks and the selection committee atm, I’m being a little self indulgent. Just wanna see em both on the big stage in a big match, to see if they cut the mustard.
Buggered if I know who to drop.......
Adams, Mayne, Daicos maybe, thou they all have claims for selection.
Good situation.

What at a minimum Sier and Wills are doing is ensuring other players know their spots in the seniors is very vulnerable.

Healthy competition

Spoke to a player from the AFLW she said 80%of the players are against transgenders playing in the womens comp
Was quite interesting getting her point of view.
Plays for the pies