Are We a Finals Side?

Just to clear up the title, this thread has nothing to do with us making finals next year or not. It's just a straight question of me asking you 'Do you think that we rise to the occasion in finals like situations?'.

Now, I do know that we have never made the finals with the list we received in 2005, but it is interesting to see that we have won 8/9 NAB Cup games, much like a finals series. I do know that the AFL Finals series and the NAB Cup games are completely different circumstances, but when we play the elimination style games, we seem to really lift and play fluent team footy.

Your thoughts?

You don't win 16 premierships without having what it takes to win the big games. Hopefully if we get a sniff in the next couple of years we'll get back to that winning culture.

Just to clear up the title, this thread has nothing to do with us making finals next year or not. It's just a straight question of me asking you 'Do you think that we rise to the occasion in finals like situations?'.

Now, I do know that we have never made the finals with the list we received in 2005, but it is interesting to see that we have won 8/9 NAB Cup games, much like a finals series. I do know that the AFL Finals series and the NAB Cup games are completely different circumstances, but when we play the elimination style games, we seem to really lift and play fluent team footy.

Your thoughts?

Noooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

You don't win 16 premierships without having what it takes to win the big games. Hopefully if we get a sniff in the next couple of years we'll get back to that winning culture.
True, but we havn't won 16 premierships with the list we have at the moment. I probably should have cleared that up.

hmm don't mention that word NAB....i hope we go out round 1 and think about winning the real stuff......the answer to your question is no we aren't a finals side yet, i think last year proved that dont you?
We have to start winning games first....finals teams win games, basic equation.

Not yet. Our overall list still lacks that experience. I reckon 2009 will be the 1st year we really challenge for a finals berth.

We seem to lack self confidence and confidence in other players as well. Hopefully this year, with a coach who backs them and gives them reason to believe in themselves, they'll be a better team full of better individuals.

2009 for sure though :)

Talent wise, top-3, but we have a long long way to go in terms of developing that talent and getting a sensible, modern gameplan in place. We'll finish somewhere between 9th and 6th in 2008. Won't have a serious finals impact until 2009. :)

No chance. You havn't got the maturity nor talent (you have talented youngsters like Gibbs, but he aint up to the level yet) to play finals footy. Don't get me wrong Carlton do have a good future but in 08 no chance sorry.

Talent wise, top-3, but we have a long long way to go in terms of developing that talent and getting a sensible, modern gameplan in place. We'll finish somewhere between 9th and 6th in 2008. Won't have a serious finals impact until 2009. :)

you never know, look at the kangaroos. who would of thought they would make top 4, its just pleasing that in 08 we will have geniune palyers fighting for positions, with a bit of luck who knows, but the main thing is the club is stabilised with staunch business men at the helm and the two most respected people for our footy dept in swan in icke, the superstar fev will benefit enormously with having quality ball delivered to him

PS - wondering if anyone saw after tuesdays AGM eddie macguire polishing DICK PRATT"S shoes on the corner of elizabeth and bourke st, brought music to my ears

THE SEPTEMBER BLUE ARMY IS BACK

Hawthorn have the youngest team in the competition.

WRONG.. From The Age today...

"...official AFL statistics obtained by The Sunday Age this week can end the argument — with an average age of 22 years and 146 days, Carlton will be the youngest club in 2008. But is the label of youngest a good thing? In Carlton's case, young also means inexperienced. The Blues have no player over 30 — Jason Saddington, who just turned 28, is the eldest..."​
The Hawks have a large cohort of oldies, an extreme reliance on Franklin, suspect defense, and have now hit the top-up recruitment button. Hawks will do a Freo 2007 in 2008. :)

WRONG.. From The Age today...

"...official AFL statistics obtained by The Sunday Age this week can end the argument — with an average age of 22 years and 146 days, Carlton will be the youngest club in 2008. But is the label of youngest a good thing? In Carlton's case, young also means inexperienced. The Blues have no player over 30 — Jason Saddington, who just turned 28, is the eldest..."
The Hawks have a large cohort of oldies, an extreme reliance on Franklin, suspect defense, and have now hit the top-up recruitment button. Hawks will do a Freo 2007 in 2008. :)

Crawford is the only player above 27 I think.

And you would know that we are gunna do a Freo.

You just envy us.

When you make the finals with the youngest team in the comp then come to me.

You need to get rid of duds like Cloke, Ackland etc before you can be a success.

3rd then. ....

Lol. You're just making it up on the run now. The Hawks list management has gone a little off the rails in the past year or 2, and Clarkson's bizarre, high-procession, ultra-flood tactics, have been borderline ineffective. The recent finals series told us that minus Franklin, your forwardline is very ordinary. Little wonder why Roughead and Boyle were put up for trade. This could explode and go pear shaped, with the hatred between Kennett and Clarkson simmering in the background. :)

You are an absolute f****** wa**er! I don't care about red cards or anything.

Our list management off the rails? We have twice the talent you have.

Ineffective tactics? That is why we finsihed 5th.

Minus Franklin? We managed to beat you by 100 points without him. And btw he played the finals.

Roughead was not put up for trade! What the f*** are you talking about?

Kennet and Clarkson have a great relationship.

Geez you are delerious you Cartlon supporters.

Hawks 08;9739483... said:
You just envy us. ..

Laughing at you in fact. Your Club is borderline merged with the Dees, and is only surviving with a Tassie Government grant, and now you're topping up with 29 year old 100kg Port small forwards. Hawks 2008 = Freo 2007. :)

Before we made the Tassie investment we were financially stable.

29 (actually 28) year old 100kg who wont play unless he is fit and dropped the weight. he has already lost considerable ammounts.

unlike carlton we dont recruit duds like ackland and cloke etc

Before we made the Tassie investment we were financially stable....

Lol. Wrong again. Without the Tassie Government grant you would have posted a loss. Perhaps you should stop ultra-flooding and your games might attract better crowds and TV ratings. Remember the Hawks V Saints game. Anyone who managed to sit through 4 quarters of that game deserves some financial compensation from the AFL. It was a truly painful spectacle. :)