Ashamed to be wearing '2'

Originally posted by kmartkid
I thought Colby did an excellent on Holland - contested everything and frustrated him. [/B

After watching the game twice on FOX I think that Colbert did very well. I am a critic of Colbert and feel he hasn't earnt his place in the side.

I don't think Colbert is ever going to to get back to the level that he had prior to the injuries that have plagued him, but perhaps his role is going to change, most probably as a tagger.

The one thing that cannot be doubted is the guys courage when the going gets tough and a couple of others would do well to follow his example.

In judging any of Nth's performances, I now wait until I see the replay to compare it to being at the game. It's amazing the things you miss the first time around and it gives me a different perspective as you get to see those "little things" that you don't see from being so far away.

colbert

i always wait to watch the reply if the game was played at the mcg. only cos i was on the top tier of the southern stand. have now seen the replay, and take back what i have said about colbert, but my mind is still the same on watt.

we will need to bring in these players like petrie and bring back harris game time is imprtant colbert is proving that

I think it is time some of the Colbert critics are prepared to give credit where credit is due. Yesterday was his best performance for the season. To nullify a player of Hollands class, when the ball was coming in to Hawthorns forward line so often and so fast, was no mean feat.

If every payer had performed to Colbert's level the Kangaroos would have been in with a real chance of winning.

In my opinion he was one of about 4 who could walk off with their heads held high.

But why do we always have to bag players with such intensity and ferocity when we have a defeat? Of course it is bitterly disappointing to see them beaten so badly.

However, yesterday was their first real downer for the year. In todays intense football environment it is extremely difficult to be up week in week out. Further I suspect that Hawthorn had a day out yesterday and they might struggle to maintain that level of intensity as the year goes by.

Re: colbert

Originally posted by mighty mick
we will need to bring in these players like petrie and bring back harris game time is imprtant colbert is proving that

I agree with Petrie. I think Harris needs to build himself up more physically. I stood next to him at the cocktail party and I was surprised at how little the guy is.

I think at this stage of his career he'd get brushed aside too easy no matter how hard at the ball he goes.

Originally posted by Horace

I think it is time some of the Colbert critics are prepared to give credit where credit is due.

He tried hard. Holland had little impact. But did he need to? They weren't really playing through him. While Leigh did actually take some reasonable marks this time around, there was no creating. Even Mick will storm forward and bomb the ball out - Leigh is so down on confidence on his kicking he handpasses backwards or kicks limply only to get smothered.

On that game he deserves to stay in, but with our tall stars being non-existent it'd be nice for him to be able to reliably fill a spot every week - ie CHB, ruckrover - whatever, with an occasional run elsewhere.

He did a great job on Holland but I think we would all like to see him get a little creative occasionaly. He's a good player when he hasn't got the ball but his problem is he doesn't want the ball.

On a positive note he was the only player to stay on his man and be accountable.
Their forward line had a training drill.

Leigh was servicable. I wouldn't use term "outstanding" or "brilliant" as some have, but a backman's effectiveness is usually judged by his opponent's output, and on that you gotta say Leigh did his job.

I agree though that Holland was playing more as a decoy than a genuine target, something which enabled the Hawk's to really open up their forward line for their numerous running players to bring the ball through in numbers, which was one of many thing to kills us.

Leigh was still lead to the ball on occasions, something i think we just have to live with due to his lack of pace. This lead to at least 1 free kick for "too High" due to Leigh not being able to get into position to spoil properly, something which has happened every game he has played this year. But in stationary one-on-ones, he was competitive and provided his usual bravery at ground level contesting the 50/50 ball.

Still doesnt provide enough drive or classy disposal off half back, which is my answer to those that ask "what do you expect from him?" by the way. But he was honest and far from our worst this week.

Originally posted by Carlos
I agree though that Holland was playing more as a decoy than a genuine target,
I've noticed this comment also from Darky and King Corey. I have to say, it's not how I saw it. There were a few occasions I remember where the Hawthorn player running through the centre was looking for an option, and my eyes instinctively went to Holland. He would have been in a decent position, but Colby was playing him so closely the ball was delivered to one of the other (usually loose) players instead. I really do think Colbert hampered Holland's opportunities to be creative and make space.

I'd like to watch a replay because the sun made me need a few too many refreshments to say this with great confidence, but I left the ground thinking Clayton and Colbert were our two best players by quite a way.

Mind you, I was sitting in the same row as Gasometer, and it seems that we were watching two different games!!!!

Each week(over the last 3) this bloke gets better, each week more people(on this forum) call for him to be axed.

He would have got the votes for the B&F this week easy.
How about having a look at the whole side

Pickett should be dropped on his performance, torp's, no chasing
Great player he is, needs a kick up the bum, lazy!!

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Opposition supporter view who has only seen him play one game this year, so make of it what you will.

Colbert played on a very good footballer today, who came off a best on ground performance the week before. In a 24 goal performance, Nick Holland got one. Last week, Dutchy got 11 marks. This week, one.

Good post Danny. I betcha Gassometer didn't realise that.

Bloody hell!
I'd hate to have read this thread if Holland had kicked 5 or 6 which he was entitled to do given that the football was arrested for squatting permanently in the hawthorn forward line.

I have been critical of his performances early in the year but he played a terrific defensive game on the weekend. perhaps if all other players had paid similar attention to their opponents things might not have gone so badly.

As for being more creative....heck, we didn't have a creative fibre in our team on Saturday. Our runners weren't, our marking players weren't, it would have take a genius of Spielberg proportions to have made something creative out of that mess!

Ok.. happier now, my spleen has been vented.

Credit and critisism where it is due folks.

go colbert

cmon colbert prove us all wrong

id love to see that, and i think many of us here including myself are starting to eat humble pie.

enjoy your footy son:cool:

he can wear no. 2 with pride

I agree with the thinking members of this forum - Colbert did a great job on Holland and I thought he did a job on Whitnall too.

Granted there isn't much creativity from him at the moment but then I remember ian Fairley played a very similar role in his first years as a CHB - he was a negater and a good one like this bloke at this point.

You know he can play injuries notwithstanding - he'll come back not to be a superstar i think but a very good player.

..ok ok ok...enough already! I made a mistake. I shouldn't have bagged him out so harshly! I just loved Schwatta and that no 2 guernsey & the way he went about his game at North. It's like that last turkey (???forget his name))) who wore the great 20!

Geez, three days later & this string is still going on!

Funny how when I write stuff about the important off field stuff at the club ie FINANCES, noone cares to write anything. Without MONEY, we won't be whinging about what happened on Saturday but what we did on the weekend instead of going to the FOOTY!

End of thread!

Go Roos V West Coast!

Gasometer!:D

Originally posted by Rooboy 96
Carlos... I still find this subject boring....;)
Mate i'm actually beginning to hear ya loud and clear! I'm a little "Colberted" out myself!!
I'm quckly coming to terms with the fact that he wont deliver what i thought he might have been capable of when we drafted him. And perhaps that is MY problem. I thought he was meant to be capable of being a versatile gun, not just a dour backman.

Mate i'm actually beginning to hear ya loud and clear! I'm a little "Colberted" out myself!!
I'm quckly coming to terms with the fact that he wont deliver what i thought he might have been capable of when we drafted him. And perhaps that is MY problem. I thought he was meant to be capable of being a versatile gun, not just a dour backman.

That's the way the cookie crumbles... sometimes when you get the player every other club wants... it just doesn't pan out how you think... but I still think he will be of value to our club... and if we could all make decisions on what we know after... we would never make a mistake...

but that is not saying I think it was a mistake... just give it time...
RB96, i'll take your word for it!!
Dunno if you've read my other posts this week stating i reckon he wouldnt be a bad option as a permanent forward, close to goal. Firstly, have you? And if so, thoughts?

RB96, i'll take your word for it!!
Dunno if you've read my other posts this week stating i reckon he wouldnt be a bad option as a permanent forward, close to goal. Firstly, have you? And if so, thoughts?

Well to be honest no I have not read them... as I have not been on except for an hour or so to read some PMs and have a laugh at rohan (i am such a little boy)...

couple of days and three page of threads to read (and we have no supporters???)... fuc... some days are just too hard... so I gave up... read a couple of threads and called it quits...

anyway yes I do agree... I think he plays his best footy close to goals... in a sort of Craig Sholl role... pity we no-longer have a Longmire Carey or McKernan to make him the fourth tall...

couple of days and three page of threads to read (and we have no supporters???)... fuc...
Ha! It can get a bit willing can't it!?

We either have alot more supporters than we're given credit for or we have the highest ratio of bludgers at work/unemployed/students who cant get motivated to do their studying/retired and bored supporters in the league!!

Anyway, back to work (until another response worthy post or thread hits BF that is!!)

I thought he was meant to be capable of being a versatile gun, not just a dour backman.

Common ground....I've always wanted to see Colbert play either on the wing or on the half-forward flank...and these can be positions where he can set up the play. Perhaps with his physical limitations, Pagan feels that the backline will be less stressful on his body (remember how often people wanted Carey to play in defence to give his body a break...and now Sheedy is thinking of using Hird as a defender for the same reason).

I saw some of the things Colbert did as a midfielder for Geelong - if it wasn't for his knee reconstuction, he was a very good chance of becoming a player in the same class as a Voss or a Hird.

Ashamed to be wearing '2'