chuck it on the old cow boardI'll see what our match day team have to say about this. It may come down to an issue with budget. I'll check.
Hi,
Studying and going well last I heard. Could be a good idea for a follow up story soon (if he is interested). Will see how we go.
Going on from that thought, what do we do out of interest with ex-players in terms of support for example?Hi,
Studying and going well last I heard. Could be a good idea for a follow up story soon (if he is interested). Will see how we go.
Hi Lions insider. I’ve been working on an idea to help reconnect with the Fitzroy fans in Melbourne. I also have no connection to Fitzroy, I followed the bears prior to the alignment. I just have an interest in getting the clubs membership numbers back up. Now the idea is simple really, start using Fitzroy when you travel to Melbourne. Stay in a hotel in Fitzroy, eat in Fitzroy, go and watch the club play in the amateur league on a home game if you can, sign autographs and cheer them on. Give out a best player award and invite a good player to train for a week during preseason. Maybe ask the club if the captains run/sessions can be held at the oval sometimes. Players could sing the Fitzroy song after a Melbourne win after the lions song.
All are just a few ideas to bring the clubs together, bridge the pain and hopefully get them back through the turnstiles cheering us on. The lions have staff members in Melbourne who could start meeting with businesses in Fitzroy and the FFC just for a start. Rebuild the roots for the future.
Going on from that thought, what do we do out of interest with ex-players in terms of support for example?
I have no doubt the AFLPA would play a significant role but do we do much in that space?
Hi Hornet,
All great ideas. Some of your suggestions do you have limitations. E.g. we have to stay in a AFL partner hotel when in Melbourne for games.
It is up to the footy department for most of these ideas. I will pass along them all but I can't guarantee they will all happen. I can assure that the whole Club is committed to our Fitzroy fanbase and maintaining the proud history of our Club. The membership department in particular have a huge focus on our Melbourne members.
Sam in our Melbourne office does a great job at staying connected with Fitzroy fans and promoting the history of our Club. Our Melbourne supporters base this year is in Fitzroy: http://www.lions.com.au/club/events/victorian-events/vic-social-venues.
It is sometimes easy to forget how many Fitzroy fans we have. When we posted up the history of Fitzroy video on social media a week or so ago we were blown away by the reaction to it.
Thanks again for all your suggestions!
G'day Li,
Please pass on our "Fan Appreciation" for Hugh signing & wish him well, on our behalf.
And give Dom a "pat on the back" ...... (with greater salutations to follow once he locks in "Witho").
ps I'm guessing this one may attract some likes
Too late .... removed .... (once I realised it would be taken the wrong way ...... )Likes whore
Too late .... removed .... (once I realised it would be taken the wrong way ...... )
I like it better without.I guess not, now ..... buggar !
Hi guys,
Won't have much capacity to reply to question over the next few weeks.
Keep on asking questions, but just don't expect a reply until mid-January or so
Thanks for your support of the team and hope you all have a great Christmas and New Year!
Hi Lions insider
I know this may be a little controversial but would really like an answer.
How does the club feel about us making money of problem gamblers and any chance ww will follow the lead of North Melbourne and get rid of pokies?
Hi LI, understand you said mid Jan about replies but was wondering what training times and place there are this week?
To be fair, that info wasn't on the site when the question was asked. I checked.
Thus my subtle reply.To be fair, that info wasn't on the site when the question was asked. I checked.
Thus my subtle reply.
Maybe subtle enough for most to get the message the way it was intended.it was probably too subtle. doesn't really translate that effectively into "i checked that yesterday and it wasn't on the site", but maybe its just me