Atmosphere at the soccer better?

some good points....like it:thumbsu:

Ahh, you're bit of a girls blouse, eh Lazio. This was posted before, but here's a look again at a fine piece:

Wow, you're both muppets of the highest order. What a surprise
iconexclaimze6.gif

Firstly, how could anyone take this article seriously? Its a complete troll, and a piss poor one at that
iconideanf7.gif

An economist giving his opinion on sport
iconquestionaz7.gif
FFS.

Isn't it ironic that you've got some yankee economist suggesting football is boring, yet at the same time the economic benefits of hosting a world cup are bigger than the olympics
iconquestionaz7.gif

Will the AFL "international series" ever come close to matching that?
ARF
iconexclaimze6.gif

Back in to yer little AFL foody hole, ya bogans
iconideanf7.gif

Soccer hasn't got much going for it??

Boring? To who?

To people with shoot attention spans who want to sit like stunned mullets at matches doing nothing but giving a short clap after goals.:rolleyes: :thumbsdown:

I recall being in the Green & gold army area at the MCG for a World Cup qualifier with two Essendon supporters telling us all all sit down and shut up 'because people don't stand at the footy in Australia".

Luckily at Homebush this was not the case. And we had a standing terrace of 7000 respective Ultras singing their heads off. Best atmosphere in the history of Australian domestic sport, I reckon.:cool:

JF

Look, lazlo and jf bay 22, I am confident that Australians - real Australians - will stand up to Europeans trying to impose their sporting culture on Australia. You can sing as much as you like - it won't change a thing. There will always be a minority of people that support soccer and the rugby codes.

We have withstood rugby league and rugby union - soccer is just another one to add to the list.

Americans have American Football and soccer is no threat to them - you want to know why?
because Americans are confident in their sporting culture being superior. I am confident in Australia's sporting culture (Australian Rules Football) being superior to imported games such as rugby and soccer.

I will say it again - i have been to a-league matches and heard the singing. After a while, the fifth chant or so, it becomes clearly boring and one wants to watch the sport on offer.

I much prefer AFL fans singing their club songs at the end of the match than hearing people who wish they were back in the uk or germany or wherever singing./chanting their imported chants from europe.

but each to their own... if you derive more pleasure from soccer and rugby etc.. then go for it.. this is a free country after all. They have singing at rugby matches too – doesn’t make me want to go and watch it – still as dull as ever.

Soccer is a great game if you care who wins (or gets a useful draw). For a neutral observer it's pretty dull.

I don't get the whole "atmosphere" thing. If I want to listen to drums and singing - or sing and dance myself - I'll go to a concert.

I go to a sporting event for 1 reason only - to watch the sport. I'd be happy if I was the only one in the ground.

The atmosphere is all well and great when your team is on fire and winning game after game like the Victory are but wait till they start losing etc. I guess in soccer the good times are GREAT but the bad times are very bad,

In the AFL while the good times are great I think the bad times are nowhere near as bad. Theres always some light at the end of the tunnel. In soccer you have to create your own path back to the top and it creates a very hostile atmosphere at most venues when a team is failing

Tell that to AFL's problem child!!! You know the one... the merged entity in Brisbane!

Soccer is a great game if you care who wins (or gets a useful draw). For a neutral observer it's pretty dull.
Probably the best summary I've read in this thread.

Neutral observers of League can enjoy the big hits.
Neutral observers of Rules can enjoy the 45m and on an angle goal.
Neutral observers of Union can enjoy the Chardonnay and seafood platters in their corporate suites.

Neutral observers of soccer games are 'generally' bored $hitless. I say 'generally' bcoz there are some obvious exceptions, such as the atmosphere of an FA Cup Final or something.

Probably the best summary I've read in this thread.

Neutral observers of League can enjoy the big hits.
Neutral observers of Rules can enjoy the 45m and on an angle goal.
Neutral observers of Union can enjoy the Chardonnay and seafood platters in their corporate suites.

Neutral observers of soccer games are 'generally' bored $hitless. I say 'generally' bcoz there are some obvious exceptions, such as the atmosphere of an FA Cup Final or something.

I guess the millions of Aussies that watched the World Cup (including the thousands in the streets at 2am) are a bunch of neutrals.

How simplistic can you get.

I guess the millions of Aussies that watched the World Cup (including the thousands in the streets at 2am) are a bunch of neutrals.

How simplistic can you get.

No, they werent neutrals. They were living breathing passionate football fans! Not lifelong week-in week-out one-eyed passionate footballs fans, but for the duration of the World Cup the whole country had a passion for football in bucketloads. Some of them have kept it alive by supporting their local A-League club.

A neutral observer means having no emotional attachment to any of the participating teams. My post was about being a neutral observer to a code you don't (normally) support.

Americans have American Football and soccer is no threat to them - you want to know why?
because Americans are confident in their sporting culture being superior. I am confident in Australia's sporting culture (Australian Rules Football) being superior to imported games such as rugby and soccer.

Yeah. And you'll never hear Americans call Soccer "football".

I would argue that neutrals would find most sports boring at first, as the real enjoyment comes from knowing the nuances of the game.

Incorrect. I remember seeing Ice Hockey for the first time in 1997. I thought it was one of most exciting things I had ever seen. The speed, the physicality, and yes, the scoring. That sport won a new fan then.

But not Soccer. I have played it for years, both outdoor and indoor, and I find it absolutely boring to watch. I mean, when you're able to watch Australia in the World Cup, listen to music and do a school assignment at the same time, but yet still keep up with the score and the scoring chances, you know there's not much to it.

Don't get me wrong, it's a beautiful game, and it's great to play, but I just cannot sit there for 90 minutes of nothingness.

Chanting could work if we could fit a few lines like this in

"Kick the Bloody thing"
"He's gunna hatch it soon umpy"
"Ball"
"Get off him ya mug"
"Oh Give him a kiss"
"Open your eyes ya white maggot"

and so on......

Oh and of course the calssic

"sit down in front"

I personally find it funny how many of the people on here hate the way lloyd apparently only dives for frees then support a game thats full of amazingly talented actors.

We have withstood rugby league and rugby union - soccer is just another one to add to the list.

With all respect to the rugby codes, but they're not in soccer's league in this world today.

Once I had a long chat with some Americans on soccer. They said Americans are obsessed by one thing, being the best. More than anyone else, they can't stand someone else being better than them.

As long as the US doesn't win the world cup, they won't care. Why would they? They're the best at American football, baseball, basketball... No American wants to see how they suck at soccer.

Now everyone's a bit like that (here there's AFL, cricket...), but many Europeans and Australians aren't as fanatic to always having to be the best.

I believe Australia will accept soccer, it's already happening. A good sign is that you see many kids at A-league matches, I believe the average age is 15 years lower than AFL's. I'm quite confident kids love Ronaldinho, Gerrard and Ronaldo, who they can see on tv twice a week or on the internet as often as they like.

I don't believe soccer will ever become bigger than AFL. I don't care and wouldn't know why it's necessary.

As long as the US doesn't win the world cup, they won't care. Why would they? They're the best at American football, baseball, basketball

The American national team is NOT the best at basketball.

Haven't been for a while now.

No, they werent neutrals. They were living breathing passionate football fans! Not lifelong week-in week-out one-eyed passionate footballs fans, but for the duration of the World Cup the whole country had a passion for football in bucketloads. Some of them have kept it alive by supporting their local A-League club.

A neutral observer means having no emotional attachment to any of the participating teams. My post was about being a neutral observer to a code you don't (normally) support.

Exactly - that was my point. During World Cups, Olympics etc, people follow Australia - not neccessarily the sport.

I have played and refereed soccer at a reasonable level (State League) and love th egame in those ways - but cannot watch a full game (as distinct from highlights) unless Australia is playing.

I can watch pretty much any other sport - heck if I'm walking past the local park and a league, union or rules game is on, I'll stop and watch

Exactly - that was my point. During World Cups, Olympics etc, people follow Australia - not neccessarily the sport.
Absolutely. The same thing goes for Victorians supporting the Wallabies in Lord Bledisloe Cups and Cook Cups and Tri Nations and World Cups etc; and the Kangaroos in Tri Nations and Trans Tasman Tests and World Cups etc.

I have played and refereed soccer at a reasonable level (State League) and love th egame in those ways - but cannot watch a full game (as distinct from highlights) unless Australia is playing.
But if your A-League team was playing you could. You probably could if you were watching an FA Cup Final live or World Cup Final or one of the bigger local EPL rivalries. I'm the same.

I would go so far as to say it's the same for many game within your first choice code!

I can watch pretty much any other sport - heck if I'm walking past the local park and a league, union or rules game is on, I'll stop and watch
but not soccer...I dont understand.

Sheesh! This thread is still going? :D

Debating about soccer vs. AFL is fun but ultimately there is never going to be any progress.

Many who have grown up in Aussie Rules will see soccer as 'boring', and no amount of argument will change their minds.

I can understand that because I find both Rugby codes and Cricket an absolute borefest.

But I cannot call those sports 'boring' because there are millions of people around the globe who are passionate about those sports. The same like there are millions of people passionate about soccer.

I went back to Italy for a holiday and brought with me a tape of a great Essendon-Carlton final (was a while ago as you can see :( ) ans showed to some Italian friends.

I explained the basic rules but they saw that it was an awful game. All they could see were big men bashing into each other. No amount of explanation about the skills involved in kicking and marking, running with the ball, the athleticism of the game could convince them.

Why? Because they did not grow up with the game and could not see the beauty of it. I think this is often one factor why if you grow up with a sport, you tend to understand its subtleties and beauty.

Not for everyone of course but it is an important factor.

I think we can respect each other favourite sports and recognise that they may not be their cup of tea in every case.

Why? Because they did not grow up with the game and could not see the beauty of it.

Rubbish. I'm sick of this argument.

Cricket is boring. I've played cricket all my life. I love the game. But I'm sorry, it's boring as bat-******** to watch. Same goes for Soccer, which I also have played for about five years.

Same goes for Golf, which my old man plays obsessively, but will say to anyone that he can't stand to watch it.

It doesn't matter if you "grew up with the game" or not. An intelligent person should be able to differentiate between excitement and boredom. If nothing is happening for 70 minutes in a Soccer game, I'm turning it over to a Football match that has scoring. Simple as that.

It's called individualism. I was brought up around car lovers, but I detest motor racing, and could care less about cars. Obviously if you use this argument, I should be a rev-head. No.

Why? Because I can make my own mind up on what sports I follow, what TV I watch etc. I don't need my parents, or my friends, to tell me. I play Soccer because I "grew up" in an area where all my friends were Soccer fanatics. But yet I don't follow the game as much as they do, and I don't watch it, nor go to games. I play, because it's fun. But there must be a reason as to why I don't follow it, right?

Because I find it boring to watch. If some people find it exciting, that's great, but I don't. You can argue that it's all a matter of personal taste, but moreso I just find that for everything great, there's an undercurrent of supporters for something mediocre (i.e. people who like bad movies, or listen to awful music). And for some reason they love it, and that's great - good for them. But don't come here with this "LET'S TAKE OVER AFL LOL" attitude. I turned off Soccer as soon as that ******** started.

But if your A-League team was playing you could. You probably could if you were watching an FA Cup Final live or World Cup Final or one of the bigger local EPL rivalries. I'm the same.

but not soccer...I dont understand.

Well, I don't have an A-League team. Could never bring myself to follow Sydney - they just strike me as an Eastern Suburbs team (basically a warmed up Hakoah). Have a vague interest in Central Coast, but couldn't name any players.

Also don't follow any English teams - apart from again a vague interest in Coventry and Southampton as I liked the fact that they were so mediocre for so long (goes with being a Tiges supporter ;) ). Being there live would be fun for the atmosphere - but as I previously posted, I am not that into 'atmosphere'.

Well, if I stop for 10 minutes to watch a park rules, league or union game odds are that I will see either a score or a fight - probably both. 10 miuntes of soccer and I'm unlikely to see either.

I'm occassionally mildly interested in the olympics but during the world cup (much like the Rugby trinations I think its called) I couldnt give a rats as I dont rate the sport...so we made it to the whatever round of the world cup? Who cares I am not going to follow a sport purely because its "international" or we do well in it, thats just soft.