Atmosphere at the soccer better?

Melbourne should have won last night.

Still next year's asian champions league getting massive media attention when the victory are in it, I wonder if the AFLPA will still be having their boycott considering a large group of the media will be covering that.

I love Simon Colosimo's line at the press conference for the Australia vs Argentina game on Thursday- "Is there anyone here from Channel Seven, because I really want to talk to them". A lot better than taking a TV channel to the supreme court everytime you don't agree with them.

You guys just couldnt resist bumping this topic up could you?

Yes it was a terrible 0-0 draw last night, Id say it was the worst game ive been to so far in the a league and Id give it a 2/10 for entertainment value.

20,000 members and a crowd of 31,500 against the most dire team in Perth, I think we are safe for now and not going to go away, so get used to it and stop trying to bring the sport down.

I love AFL, hence why I'm an active member of this site

But if you compare the atmosphere of a european soccer crowd to afl, i think afl would be put in it's place.

Our crowd need to learn chants and synchronisation to add to the atmosphere, to make it even more electric than it already is

And more people than that go to the average Collingwood match.

Popularity is not an indicator of quality.

REALLY? My God. You've just blown me away there and no mistake :rolleyes:
Also, I know more people than that go the the average Collingwood match, because I'm one of those people.
My point is the same as Mr. Hiddink's. You can mock scorelines all you like, but Victory is not going away any time soonish.

But if you compare the atmosphere of a european soccer crowd to afl, i think afl would be put in it's place.

Our crowd need to learn chants and synchronisation to add to the atmosphere, to make it even more electric than it already is

The chants at the A-League are ghey. AFL is to intense to start chanting. Who wants to start chanting ''Stand up for the Geelongers'' when the game is flowing? Pull your head in son :thumbsdown:

You guys just couldnt resist bumping this topic up could you?

Yes it was a terrible 0-0 draw last night, Id say it was the worst game ive been to so far in the a league and Id give it a 2/10 for entertainment value.

20,000 members and a crowd of 31,500 against the most dire team in Perth, I think we are safe for now and not going to go away, so get used to it and stop trying to bring the sport down.

Perth Glory got huge crowds too WHEN WE WERE WINNING. When we began to lose the bandwagoners jumped on freo/wce. When Melbourne inevitably begin to lose (salary cap system bound to happen) all victory supporters will turn back to afl. How many did you average per game in year 1. Compare the size of Perth to Melbourne in population and despite our lowly performances in the a league thus far we still go okay.

The shed >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> what ever name your little group goes by

This game would have attracted 15,000 in the first year at OP, 25,000 last year and last night 31,000+. So the steady increase is there for all to see.

I am a fan of both sports and admire the different elements both have to offer.

I think the atmosphere at Victory matches will be like nothing seen in Australia when they move into an intimate, rectangular sport stadium.

Telstra Dome or the G are never going to fully showcase the soccer experience.

On AFL, I think the passion levels of the crowd have definately decreased over the last 10 years in line with the way the game is played. There is less contested footy, pack marks and big hits, and instead more 'tempo footy,' uncontested possessions, short sideways and backward kicking.

The great games of the '90s were the height of AFL in my opinion.

The chants at the A-League are ghey. AFL is to intense to start chanting. Who wants to start chanting ''Stand up for the Geelongers'' when the game is flowing? Pull your head in son :thumbsdown:

This Chant is way better that St.Kilda's goal..goal...goal ..woo.... romper room play school thingy or what about Geelong's Oi Oi Oi after each goal?
They are the definition of Gay. :D

This game would have attracted 15,000 in the first year at OP, 25,000 last year and last night 31,000+. So the steady increase is there for all to see.

I am a fan of both sports and admire the different elements both have to offer.

I think the atmosphere at Victory matches will be like nothing seen in Australia when they move into an intimate, rectangular sport stadium.

Telstra Dome or the G are never going to fully showcase the soccer experience.

On AFL, I think the passion levels of the crowd have definately decreased over the last 10 years in line with the way the game is played. There is less contested footy, pack marks and big hits, and instead more 'tempo footy,' uncontested possessions, short sideways and backward kicking.

The great games of the '90s were the height of AFL in my opinion.

An improvement in results is what I see. In year one both Melbourne Knights and South Melbourne fans didn't want a bar of this new team and world cup fever hadn't taken off until near the end of the season.

We make world cup = bandwagoners. We play against Turkey at the dome in our first home game in donkey's years. 28000 with 20000 turks. We play greece who are a team past it 98000 paying a lot more for tickets then the turkey game.

I still believe if melbourne dont go to the top 4 this year they will struggle for 20000 in their big games in 08-09. Likewise if glory goes undefeated in the next 14 games with lazaridis getting back (with a few more goals :p) we will pack out members equity as well.

we will see

I smell the fear "hawka fan".

I sense your profound insecurity. Try selling some more games away from VIC as you can't balance the books before bitching about other codes.

No, no, no. AFL crowds do NOT need to learn chants or songs as the game is fast paced, exciting and high scoring therefore the crowd are actually interested in the game more.

I've been to 3 A-league games and enjoyed the spectacle but it is not within a bulls roar of an AFL game. I also noticed that most of the idiots in the crowd letting off flares and leading the chants don't even watch the game!

No, no, no. AFL crowds do NOT need to learn chants or songs as the game is fast paced, exciting and high scoring therefore the crowd are actually interested in the game more.

I've been to 3 A-league games and enjoyed the spectacle but it is not within a bulls roar of an AFL game. I also noticed that most of the idiots in the crowd letting off flares and leading the chants don't even watch the game!

agree on all accounts. i went to a game for the first time on saturday. enjoyed it as a soccer player. i found at various times during the game people were just chatting away - like a catch up. i can see how non soccer people find it boring.

afl doesnt need chanting. although the reason "because its fast paced" doesnt work. basketball is fast paced but they have chanting. i think we (afl) dont need it because its not in the games culture.

funny thing. went to the tigers-saints game in the arvo, victory in the evening. great day for football fans. got stopped in the street after the soccer by score of people asking how we went. then back in the suburbs that night with victory shirt and richmond scarf on at a petrol station. stranger strikes up a conversation about the victory:

him: how did they go?
me: 0-0 draw
him: crowd?
me: 30 odd thousand
him: gees, the afl should be worried
me: nah, afl has got nothing to worry about, there's room for all codes.
him: yeah, you're right. you can support footy in the winter, soccer in the summer.

the last line sums it up.

I go to both AFL and Melb Victory games, so my comments have more weight than anybody who doesn't go see to both codes.

1) AFL cheersquads are trying to copy soccer chants. Why? Richmand squad calling 'Com'on Richmond, Com'on Richmond' is a direct copy of the Melb Victory chant.

2) AFL games exitment is more constant through game. Soccer the excitment is built up and released at a goal or near goal. Scorelines aren't the total reason to watch the game. Please understand this.

3) Crowd chanting and crowd experience at soccer are brilliant compared to AFL. Anybody who doesn't think so - head down to BWB during the Melb v Syd o Adelaide games and see for yourself, then you can comment on this forum.

4) Crowd violence - who's to say there isn't more violence at AFL games. Weren't 100 people involved in a brawl at Collingwood game 2 wks ago. Wasn't there a brawl in members at MCG a week earlier. No A-league game has had any brawl. That's a fact. Flares yes, you can claim them, but no violence in the same scale as AFL.

5) Wait for soccer to really fire up - interstate rivalries, brazilian imports, Socceroos playing quality international teams like Argentina 4 times PER YEAR, more high priofile A-league players going overseas, more coming back, Melbopurne Victory playing Asian CHampions league in the middle of AFL season next year, record foxtel viewer ratings for soccer, (more than AFL).

6) Bandwagoners don't only occur in soccer and never in footy. It coccurs everywhere. Look at Brisbane's membership numbers - going down every year and the AFL is speding huge amounts up there.

So if you want to keep highlighting how soccer won't survive, go ahead believe what you want and be my guest.

I go to both AFL and Melb Victory games, so my comments have more weight than anybody who doesn't go see to both codes.

1) AFL cheersquads are trying to copy soccer chants. Why? Richmand squad calling 'Com'on Richmond, Com'on Richmond' is a direct copy of the Melb Victory chant. Agree. AFL cheers squads should not copy soccer chants, it just sounds crap.

2) AFL games exitment is more constant through game. Soccer the excitment is built up and released at a goal or near goal. Scorelines aren't the total reason to watch the game. Please understand this. Agree. But the game is still too low scoring.

3) Crowd chanting and crowd experience at soccer are brilliant compared to AFL. Anybody who doesn't think so - head down to BWB during the Melb v Syd o Adelaide games and see for yourself, then you can comment on this forum. Melb Victory easily craps on other clubs supporters. The Adelaide United fans are rubbish.

4) Crowd violence - who's to say there isn't more violence at AFL games. Weren't 100 people involved in a brawl at Collingwood game 2 wks ago. Wasn't there a brawl in members at MCG a week earlier. No A-league game has had any brawl. That's a fact. Flares yes, you can claim them, but no violence in the same scale as AFL. Not entirely true. I personally saw a number of fights & brawls after the Melb vs Adel Utd game at Hindmarsh last year. The police were there in huge numbers so thankfully nothing serious occurred. At AFL the trouble makers are usually drunk, whereas at the soccer it's moreso a small minority who are just there to cause trouble.

5) Wait for soccer to really fire up - interstate rivalries, brazilian imports, Socceroos playing quality international teams like Argentina 4 times PER YEAR, more high priofile A-league players going overseas, more coming back, Melbopurne Victory playing Asian CHampions league in the middle of AFL season next year, record foxtel viewer ratings for soccer, (more than AFL). Interstate rivalry is the best thing about the A-league. Under the old NSL i felt if i wasn't ethnic i had no affinity for either Sth Melb Hellas or Melb Croatia.

6) Bandwagoners don't only occur in soccer and never in footy. It coccurs everywhere. Look at Brisbane's membership numbers - going down every year and the AFL is speding huge amounts up there.

So if you want to keep highlighting how soccer won't survive, go ahead believe what you want and be my guest.

Soccer is very much here to stay and so is AFL. The A-league is a very well run comp and smartly timed to be run in the AFL/NRL off-season.

Go Carlton & Go Victory!

Soccer is very much here to stay and so is AFL. The A-league is a very well run comp and smartly timed to be run in the AFL/NRL off-season.

Go Carlton & Go Victory!

Good on ya mate. One of the growing majority of lovers or non-denigrators of both codes. Pity the dying minority (that is, "there is only one real code in the world- foooodddddyyyyy) still have to renew old threads such as this.

Go you crows/victory this weekend.

Soccer atmosphere for me has always been better The A'leauge Grabdfinal I went to it and granted will lost 6-0 but I've never expericend such a great atmosphere and never had so much fun losing in my entire life we sang and cheered for the full 90 minutes it was great!

Being the away team we pulled a fair effort about 5,000 of us and this sea of red Looks Fantastic!

aleaguegrandfinal2007piln2.jpg

Soccer atmosphere for me has always been better The A'leauge Grabdfinal I went to it and granted will lost 6-0 but I've never expericend such a great atmosphere and never had so much fun losing in my entire life we sang and cheered for the full 90 minutes it was great!

Being the away team we pulled a fair effort about 5,000 of us and this sea of red Looks Fantastic!

aleaguegrandfinal2007piln2.jpg

I actually disagree with you. It was a great game but winning 6 nil there was very little atmosphere.

Two weeks earlier in the first final we beat Adelaide 2 to 1 at the same venue with a similar crowd. James Robinson came on late and got a header in the 92nd minute which resulted in the greatest bit of atmosphere I have ever witnessed at a sporting event.

Beer was knocked over all of us as leapt from our seats, voices were lost and I did my ankle jumping on top of my mates!