Atmosphere at the soccer better?

I'm guessing that along with other certain high profile AFL personalities you were watching Fox Foody Channel when Aloisi sunk that final penalty? Or when Cahill hit our first ever World Cup goal?
Remember any of those cheers, ya bogan?

Yes, great moment in sport for Australia.
I also remember why I never held the sport in high esteem after we tumbled out of the cup.

Though cant say those obscure moments really were that much louder than your average football match.

Great little personal abuse thrown in there for good measure, lets see what do they call soccer supporters/

Should I abuse you racialy, on your sexuality or both?
I think I'll be the bigger man and do neither.

the insecurity in this thread is hilarious. Yeah that bit where australia got into the world cup, was no more cheering than a regular afl game. hahahaha you have to be joking!

The single irrepeatable moment of release for soccer fans after 32 years is a bit of a novelty isn't it?

When Richmond next win a GF - hammering the Pies on the way to the final of course - we tiges will go ape. Does that mean we are always at full volume? No.

Are soccer games always played at that intensity? no.

Must have been those chunks of Four n Twenty stuck in yer ear, ARF!

And thats why the "international rules" was developed eh? So Australia could "stand on its two feet" <s******> with some sort of AFL reference?
Pathetic.
You need to realise how insignifigant AFL is, you'll become a better person for it!

I'm guessing that along with other certain high profile AFL personalities you were watching Fox Foody Channel when Aloisi sunk that final penalty? Or when Cahill hit our first ever World Cup goal?
Remember any of those cheers, ya bogan?

We'll stick with our indigenous game, thanks. If that makes us 'insignificant', do you think we give a flying ********? We'll enjoy the game as we have for 100+ years regardless.

As if we needed a reminder about all of the inferiority complex-toting soccer fans in this country. Thanks, I'll remember to ignore your diatribe-laden garbage from now on. :thumbsu:

P.S If you think bogans are restricted to following AFL, then take a look at all of the flare and bottle-throwing nuff nuffs at the Victory games. Just because they're not anglos doesn't mean they're not bogans.

I have been to an AFL preliminary final match where the crowd noise was so great that I couldn't hear the siren.

A cousin who went with me said he was suffering from nervous exhaustion after the match.

I have been to a-league soccer matches - heard the singing - realised it was what it was - a whole lot of fakers wishing they were back in England and thought it was second rate. You can sing 1000 sea shanties and little ditties.. but it still doesn't change the fact that soccer is an example of cultural imperialism. If Australia ever wants to stand on its own two feet it must have pride in its own culture...not pander to what the poms want us to do.

oh.. but we can like both sports everyone says.. of course we can..

Few kids play both games at the same time on a saturday.. unless they have a time machine.
In the end - one has to favour one or the other .. the next generation of kids have to choose which game they will support.. oh that's right they can support each code equally i keep being told.

:rolleyes:

I was at the 99 prelim as well if that is what you are talking about. It was loud (not a great moment for me) but did not come close to the noise in Sydney for the Uruguay qualifier.

Let's go *insert club nasme here* lets go :rolleyes:

You missed some

Catters, Catters Catters Oi! Oi! Oi!
Doggies! Doggies! Doggies!, Woof! Woof! Woof!
Clap, clap, clap clap clap,clap clap clap clap, Bombers
Carlton, clap clap clap, Carlton, clap clap clap

The big Freeeeeeooooooooo!, Eeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaagles!, Eeeeesssennndon! etc. chants sound great when they get going though.

Lazlo said:
It was the greateast sporting event in recent Australian memory. It was FILLED with football fans for the most part. Even one of your so called "AFL media army" admitted, on air, it was the most suspenseful passage of sport they'd ever seen.

I think you should just stick with your earth-shattering <s******> Grand Final days!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roddy
So for me, it's a fast, tough, non-stop, athletic, high scoring spectacle versus a totally predictably bouncing spherical ball drifting aimlessly between 2 impenetrable defences for 88 minutes. Bit of a no-brainer, really.....

So for me, it's a fast, tough, non-stop, athletic, high tension spectacle versus a totally predictably bouncing eggball drifting aimlessly between 2 sets of goal posts, and where you are rewarded for failing to achieve your primary objective. Bit of a no-brainer, really.....ARF!

Just a very dumb post.

I have been to an AFL preliminary final match where the crowd noise was so great that I couldn't hear the siren.

A cousin who went with me said he was suffering from nervous exhaustion after the match.

Couldn't have been the Sydney/Freo prelim I went to this year. It was as though the stadium had the life sucked out of it. Never have I seen supporters so less excited to be in a Grand Final. Maybe it was all those bandwagon supporters who were unsure if their team had won, or didn't know the words to the team song? :rolleyes:

I agree that not much beats a sold-out MCG, but the round-ball football is far more consistent and their supporters provide a far better atmosphere

Lol1.jpg

That's what this thread has turned into.

It’s funny how these pEnis comparing threads always seem to start when soccer gets something right, like getting to the world cup or getting 50,000 to a soccer game in Melbourne.
This always prompts some insecure footy fans to knock the game, not realizing that a huge number of contributors to this forum actually get their kicks from both footy and soccer.

After 8000 hits, this thread will die a natural death, until the next time soccer gets something right, like a mega-million dollar sponsorship deal.

******** off its inclusve, why do I get people giving me dirty loosk for being asain at the AFL matches?

I'd dare suggest that your paranoina maybe the issue here, which would also explain your insecurity about AFL. How do you know that's why they're giving you dirty looks? Do you go out in public expecting people to give you dirty looks?

The Socceroos represented a true multicultural Australia.

No, they represented a true European Australia. Where are the Asians in the team, who apart of Australians with UK heratige make up the majority of the population. Where are the Aboriginals?

There is a lot of insecurity among the soccer faithful on here. If you love soccer don't spend all your time trying to argue and 'prove' things to fans of other sports. Just watch and enjoy the game you love without the bitterness :) :thumbsu:

...anyway back to the atmosphere question.

Here's something you don't hear at an AFL game...
Melbourne vs Newcastle - TD crowd approx 28k

[youtube]3K1_PYhvhME[/youtube]

It’s funny how these pEnis comparing threads always seem to start when soccer gets something right, like getting to the world cup or getting 50,000 to a soccer game in Melbourne.
This always prompts some insecure footy fans to knock the game, not realizing that a huge number of contributors to this forum actually get their kicks from both footy and soccer.

After 8000 hits, this thread will die a natural death, until the next time soccer gets something right, like a mega-million dollar sponsorship deal.

Well I started this thread, based on my opinion of my first soccer game witha crowd of 50k

But as I've said since, I'll still go back again, I'll just sit where the action is next time.

Some points.

1) AFL and A-L are played at different times of the year
2) Both sports have their advantages and disadvantages. Both sports also have their 'supporters' who are total morons.
AFL people who can't see any other sport outside of AFL, who reckon that soccer is gay, boring etc. They contain different skills, tennis has different skills to both sports, yet a 5 hour match like the Roddick game a few years ago was as gripping a sport as you could see. Soccer is about building up the game, while AFL is about continual scoring. Both sports have spectacular moments.
Soccer people especially those who support only the socceroos and no other Australian sports teams, have no right to tell other people off who do not want to support 'their team'. If you want to support Australia, support them in all sports, don't go on about loving Australia, but hating sports like Union and Cricket which AU are quite good at, because only a few countries play.
3) Even though AFL is only popular in one country, doesn't make it a bad sport. American Football crowds kill soccer crowds in terms of averages, yet it is only played in one country.
4) AFL is not international- a few expats playing AFL doesn't count.
5) There may have been some crowd problems on friday night, but not the full scale riot that certain media have made it out to be.
6) About races- who cares which races play/watch certain sports. WE ARE ONE PEOPLE IN THIS COUNTRY NOT THIS MULTICULTURAL CRAP OF BEING SOMETHING-AUSTRALIAN.
7) Demographics- the majority at the game were younger people, not just yuppies and immigrants.
8) Soccer may be the world game, but it is also the world's easiest game; very few industralised countries outside of Europe have soccer as their number one sport.
9) Riots etc- maybe it is not soccer that leads to riots but countries' cultures. When there are riots at tennis matches in South America or at basketball games in Europe, this doesn't not make these sports problematic. I have seen fights at the cricket which has a lot more people arrested than the soccer, and there are also fights at other events, sports etc.
10) National matches- this is probably one of the biggest problems, where heaps of trouble begins. These could be reduced in a court case whereby if FIFA lose, international soccer could be gone including the World Cup.

Now thats what im talking about :)

jlc

So long as what? I saw several attempts at a build-up on goal.

I saw that I support two big football teams that insecure cretins love to hate.

Go Pies! Go Victory!

Yes...had there been a video of afl I along with many others would be watching the action and not listening to chants.