Australian cheating at Newlands, where to from here?

Makes sense, Bancroft isn’t someone you suspect. But when there’s ******* millions of people watching live and on heaps of cameras it’s not that simple

Obviously not, makes you think they have got away with something else in the past. Maybe not as bad or blatant but something none the less. Warner being far more experienced was probably better at concealing it

It looks a lot like Warner had a lot to with it: (clearly still can’t handle his grog either)
“David Warner has emerged as the central figure in Australian ball-tampering skulduggery that stretches back to this winter's Ashes.

Sportsmail understands that in a brazen act during the post-series drinks between the teams, Australia's vice-captain revealed his method of altering the ball's condition to a band of England's defeated players.”

“Australia only switched to their eight-cap opening batsman as chief ball polisher for this match after Warner aroused suspicion in the second Test at Port Elizabeth, where a dressing-room attendant witnessed him putting sandpaper into his strappings.”

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/cr...-Aussies-cheated-Ashes-too.html#ixzz5ArTSO3uJ
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook

If that's true then it contradicts Smith's claim that this is the first time his team has been involved with ball tampering, seems to be something that has been going on for a while, first with Warner and then with Bancroft.

This scandal could get even uglier if Australia's ball tampering is proven to be an ongoing thing rather than just an isolated incident.

I
If that's true then it contradicts Smith's claim that this is the first time his team has been involved with ball tampering, seems to be something that has been going on for a while, first with Warner and then with Bancroft.

This scandal could get even uglier if Australia's ball tampering is proven to be an ongoing thing rather than just an isolated incident.
It might explain why Smith was so quick to admit to the ‘error in judgement’, maybe he doesn’t want anybody digging too deep.

I'm totally and utterly shocked that the English press would use this as a springboard to undermine the validity of their team's Ashes defeat.

Pretty much undermining us in general. They get off on this whole moral superiority thing.

Mind you I think if their players were in a similar position they would go hard on them too

Tampering.

Fox Sports, ABC, The Australian, The Telegraph report that Bancroft was using the tape to collect dirt to make a rudimentary form of sandpaper to work on the ball.

NZ Herald and Daily Mail report that Bancroft was using the tape to rub adhesive onto the ball to increase the chances of it gathering dirt.

Just catching up on this horrible story today, been hard to stomach really!....but talk of ‘life bans’ is a little rich isn’t it?

Stripped of Captaincy and Vice Captaincy, suspended for the rest of this series and the next and then forced to regain their spots in the squad for the following summer in Shield cricket. Done.

Bancroft can cop the same ban and also need to regain his spot if possible. He’s a big boy who has been around cricket long enough to know exactly what he was doing.

That more than exceeds the penalties commonly handed out by the games chief governing body and the stripping of the Captain and VC is a massive statement.

Lehmann should also fall on his sword if he is in anyway culpable.

Smith - 24 month suspension, stripped of captaincy.
Warner - never play again.
Bancroft - 12 month suspension.
Lehmann - sacked.

Warner is the big one for me, every controversy this team has involves him. The bloke is one of the most disgusting humans to ever wear the baggy green and I wish him nothing but ill fortune in the future. He’s a pathetic human.

I think the difference between roughing v shining is there is a bit of skill to keeping a ball new, whilst still being in play. As opposed to roughing the ball - anyone can just scrape it along concrete and you'll have the ball hooping around reverse style within about 5 minutes.

But to keep the ball swinging conventionally it takes quite a bit of work - the whole team has gotta be on the same page, don't be throwing the ball into the ground, or dropping it on it's way back to the bowler etc. Then to get it legitimately reversing the call has to be made that it's too far gone to swing conventionally and it's time to rough it up, keep the ball going through the sweaty guys on the way back to the bowler (I don't ever recall this being a thing till the poms mentioned it in the middle of last decade) and making sure you work on the ball every after delivery.

I saw a few people questioning whether you can get the ball reverse swinging without ball tampering and you definitely can but it requires everyone on the field to be active in ball management. You only had to get tired and drop off for a couple of overs and it would set you back at the end of the day. I would say at an average it would take about 30 overs of working the ball (after trying to use conventional swing for about 20 to 30 overs) to get the ball to start reversing late in the day. Less time if it was a humid day. More time on drier days, especially if the batsmen were belting the ball around a bit. Some days it just wouldn't happen.

But I do remember having a bit of fun in the nets and taking near new balls and giving them a run along the concrete and watch the batsmen have a bit of a jump around. Good times. Wouldn't ever do it in a game though.

I don’t think smith thought it out very well at all at the presser, but maybe the logic was if they cast a wide enough net on this vague leadership group it would protect the real guilty parties?

Or maybe he just thought that it would blow over reasonably quickly as it has with other ball tampering issues around the world. There hasn't been the outrage in other countries (England, India, South Africa, Pakistan) where players / teams have been found guilty. I think he may have underestimated the outrage of the Australian media and public.

Two things I want to happen:

James Sutherland has to go. No one should lead a sports body for almost 20 years. We need new fresh blood with a new mandate, a new culture.

Cricket pants to not have pockets. Why do they have pockets anyway? You want a lolly? Wait for a drinks break.

I'm guessing you've never played team sports
So completely wrong.
Played cricket and was involved in a controversy of sorts that made media and bought continued mirth aimed at out representatives.
Being a senior figure at the time ut took many meetings and we copped much sledging(still get it today)but got through the problem with many years of hard work and rebuilding.
The ghost of what happened still raises its ugly head and current players at our club pay the price.

Email from CA, received just now, shit to hit the fan on Wednesday.:

To our Australian Cricket Fans,

I would like to provide you with an update on the situation with the Australian Men’s Cricket Team and the investigation currently underway into what transpired at Cape Town.

Our Head of Integrity will arrive in South Africa shortly to continue his inquiries around the specifics of the ball tampering incident.

I am travelling to South Africa this evening, arriving on Tuesday morning local time, at which point I will meet with our Head of Integrity to understand the findings of the investigation to that point, and to consider the outcomes.

We are aiming to be in a position to fully update the Australian public on the investigation and outcomes on Wednesday morning AEDT.

We understand the strong interest everyone has in this situation and we are following due process to properly address all of the relevant issues involved.

We recognise how important the fans are to our game, and this process is the beginning of restoring your faith in Australian Cricket.

James Sutherland
Chief Executive Officer - Cricket Australia

He’s the worst.

**** off Sutherland.

Smith - 24 month suspension, stripped of captaincy.
Warner - never play again.
Bancroft - 12 month suspension.
Lehmann - sacked.

Warner is the big one for me, every controversy this team has involves him. The bloke is one of the most disgusting humans to ever wear the baggy green and I wish him nothing but ill fortune in the future. He’s a pathetic human.

A week ago, there was a level of sympathy for Warner, as the Saffer behavior was a bit excessive.

He really ****ed that up.

Interesting that he’d be stupid enough to tell the Poms - and that they didn’t lodge a complaint. Another signs of how common it is?

Or maybe he just thought that it would blow over reasonably quickly as it has with other ball tampering issues around the world. There hasn't been the outrage in other countries (England, India, South Africa, Pakistan) where players / teams have been found guilty. I think he may have underestimated the outrage of the Australian media and public.

In neither England or South Africa does captain of the national cricket team hold the status it holds in Australia.

Cricket is the national game. AFL is largely absent from the traditional East coast sporting culture. Rugby is traditionally limited to that East Coast. Soccer is essentially an immigrant novelty in our sporting culture as is basketball.

The cricket team was for decades the only truly national representative side and it had great national heroes respected by footy nuts in Melbourne and Queensland thugbyites alike....Bradman, Lindwall, Lillee etc etc etc. Being captain means more than it does in England or SA.

So you would have no problems with anything used to shine up the ball, or is there a limit there too?

I believe you've got me in a check mate situation!! LOL. I reckon just the sweat from the players bodies, don't use lollies and such. Still be allowed to shine the ball on cricket whites!

My first thought when I read the morning headlines about him... if he does get dumped and loses millions in sponsorship..... the wife isn't going to be happy!!

Australian cheating at Newlands, where to from here?