Other Australian Gridiron Leagues

Hmm. Has Tassie abandoned playing gridiron? Maybe ring around some local footy clubs (soccer and AR), someone in there might know if there's a gridiron team fielded by the same club or if the field gets used for gridiron as well. Also search yellow pages for sporting clubs, there might be a listing for a gridiron club. And also, try calling a few Universities, they might have a gridiron team.

Otherwise relocate to Victoria and you'll have no trouble finding teams playing here. :thumbsu:

I was reluctant to create a new thread on this, and think it is a relevant point to this thread anyway.

Major League Baseball is backing the Australian Baseball League for five years: http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,26390398-10389,00.html, http://www.baseball.com.au/?Page=54637.

This is pretty amazing news. Obviously Australia is providing the talent to the MLB to make it in their interest for Australia to have a proper professional league.

I wonder what it would take for the NFL to throw some dollars our way to create an Australian incubator for American Football talent? Do they spend any money on training punters now?

Thoughts?

Baseball has the advantage of Tee ball being a popular sport for young kids. It's none contact, fast paced and teaches a majority of the fundamentals. Then there is the popularity of softball and a bit in baseball.

However, there is none of that in Australia. NFL could definately throw a few dollars into the Australian market, bring a few players over to the respective teams and leagues, give One and Foxtel access to a few players in the lead up to the season to promote the game and so forth.

Alternatively, channel ten could look into locking a long term deal with the NFL for the television rights (Let's say till 2030) and sponser a league of their own and do it themselves.

The talent is in Australia, there is an advantage for Australians to go to America due to the significantly higher wages and there is a huge market (after the AFL season, there is nothing). If ten wants to get smart, get the rights to LFL - almost genius.

I was reluctant to create a new thread on this, and think it is a relevant point to this thread anyway.

Major League Baseball is backing the Australian Baseball League for five years: http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,26390398-10389,00.html, http://www.baseball.com.au/?Page=54637.

This is pretty amazing news. Obviously Australia is providing the talent to the MLB to make it in their interest for Australia to have a proper professional league.

I wonder what it would take for the NFL to throw some dollars our way to create an Australian incubator for American Football talent? Do they spend any money on training punters now?

Thoughts?

Interesting question you pose mate, the NFL doesnt officially have any invested interest in the development of Australian punters looking to make a career in the NFL, however there are a couple of organisations here in Aus that trains players with the hope of placing them in college or the NFL, Im one of those guys who is training but im not involved with any of the organisations, I have been learning pretty much everything there is to know about the subject of punting in Aus and I can safely say that there are people in the States who are working towards placing programs in place to help guys take there games to the next level, there is one particular special teams consultant that has just recently visited Aus who was pretty impressed with the talent on offer, so to answer your question the answer is no, not at the moment but there is a pretty good chance in the not so distant future

are there many opportunities to play in aus for cash?

in the footy section, the guys are getting paid $1000+ plus each game and that's not even at a state level, that's only in a small area in the suburbs.

Re: Gridiron Victoria

Anyone play in Victoria? I wouldn't mind having a go, mostly for fun, I wouldn't be the best as I have waaaaay to slight a build. Maybe flag football would be better. Anyway, what are people's thoughts on playing Football/Flag Football in Vic?

There are a couple ex-VGFL & SAFGL players as regs on this forum... I officiated for several seasons incl. flag football which was a 'cash prize' summer comp held @ StK beach in January in the late 90's, am unaware of what has happened to Flag Football but I can state that I'll be attending a 25 year re-union in April to get a lowdown of what's going on in the Gridiron League. Also been tipped off that the State Championships will be held in Victoria in April @ the Netball & Hockey Centre in Parkville.

Also been tipped off that the State Championships will be held in Victoria in April @ the Netball & Hockey Centre in Parkville.

Yes they will be played from 9th to 16th of April.

WA Warriors
SA SwArm
VIC Eagles
NSW Wolfpack
QLD Sundevils
ACT Monarchs

should be a good week.

Go SwArm

American Football in Adelaide

Hi guys

I am just wanting to let you know that we have football in Adelaide

I am looking for anyone interested in playing.

Then send us an email at carl@eagles.org.au or call on 0403 609 999 . Players of all ages and sizes are welcome. We will teach you everything you need to know about how to play and provide you with the necessary equipment.

We are always recruiting Juniors and Seniors.

www.eagles.org.au

Don't hesitate contact us now!

Re: American Football in Adelaide

Oooh, Neddy will be on here spruiking for the Chiefs now!!!

http://www.chiefs.org.au/ :D

Any interested players living in the inner south/south west and keen to have a try at either the Juniors (beat the Eagles 46-6 yesterday :p) or Seniors contact us at: southcitychiefs@hotmail.com

Neddy can tell the Chiefs to stop choking.

w***er!!! ;)

Hey, instead of lurking why did you come and say g'day after a game ya snob!!!

This may have already been asked but im being lazy today, i attend Uni at LaTrobe in Bundoora, does anyone know of any clubs around this area?

I go to Latrobe as well and the closest team is the Crusaders and they're in Footscray.

Re: American Football in Adelaide

w***er!!! ;)

Hey, instead of lurking why did you come and say g'day after a game ya snob!!!

LOL.

I didnt play, watched a few games... thinking about taking it up this season.

Just know someone who plays for the Razorbacks, and wasnt too happy there.

State Championships 2010 schedule

April 10th 12.30 Open ceremony
Game 1: Victoria vs ACT 1pm
Game 2: SA vs NSW 5pm
April 12th
Game 3: ACT vs Qld 10.30am
Game 4: WA vs SA 2.00pm
April 14th
Game 5: NSW vs WA 10.30am
Game 6: Qld vs Vic 2pm
April 16th
Game 7: 5th place game 10am
Game 8: 3rd place game 2pm
Game 9: Championship Game 6pm

Venue: State Hockey & Netball Centre Parkville Melbourne

I'll be going to a 25th anniversary re-union on the 7th April to get some lowdown on the State Championships as well as catching up with some of the ol' faces.

Other Australian Gridiron Leagues