Opinion AUSTRALIAN Politics: Adelaide Board Discussion Part 5

On a different topic...

Remember a while back, our resident neanderthals were arguing that roadside assistance vehicles wouldn't support EVs, by giving them a charge in the event of a flat battery? Turns out they are/were completely wrong:
Does roadside assistance cover electric cars?

The article quotes from the RACQ and RACV, though I'm sure the equivalent organisations in other states would do the same thing.
Just on that, this was only the other day. Lucky we don't have very cold weather eh

As always its about infrastructure

Drivers said there were not enough working chargers at that location.

On a different topic...

Remember a while back, our resident neanderthals were arguing that roadside assistance vehicles wouldn't support EVs, by giving them a charge in the event of a flat battery? Turns out they are/were completely wrong:
Does roadside assistance cover electric cars?

The article quotes from the RACQ and RACV, though I'm sure the equivalent organisations in other states would do the same thing.
I think like the attack of renewables it was just saying enough things to give it weight to sound like they had an arguement.

Currently looking at a new car looking at EVs, there are so many more models than I thought there were.

I think like the attack of renewables it was just saying enough things to give it weight to sound like they had an arguement.

Currently looking at a new car lookijg at EVs, there are so many more models than I thought there were.
There are a lot of new companies entering the market - mostly Chinese, and mostly selling EVs. To be honest, a lot of the legacy car companies have been caught flat-footed, and are rapidly being left behind - particularly the Japanese and Korean manufacturers. Tesla is now Australia's 2nd highest selling manufacturer, behind Toyota.

This article talks about how Chinese companies bring their cars to Australia, before launching them in other markets because "Australia is an important market as it is highly competitive and lets them test the waters before expanding to other larger western markets."
https://www.news.com.au/technology/...a/news-story/73d1df36fef1435d0b285c65ed16b8c0

It's also about temperature. Batteries don't like charging or operating in extremely cold conditions. That goes for mobile phone batteries, just as much as it does for EV batteries.
Absolutely, the same problem happens to ICE cars with their batteries.

But sitting around waiting to charge would have made up a lot of the problem.

Absolutely, the same problem happens to ICE cars with their batteries.

But sitting around waiting to charge would have made up a lot of the problem.
The reason they were sitting around is because the charging was taking 3x longer than usual - because of the cold.

... and yes, ICEs are also affected by cold.

The reason they were sitting around is because the charging was taking 3x longer than usual - because of the cold.

... and yes, ICEs are also affected by cold.
Yep. I'm not suggesting the cold isn't having an impact here.

I'm suggesting Chicago is a cold place and the impact of battery charging is a known issue...so you have the appropriate infrastructure for both those things.(be that more chargers, chargers located in doors or under cover ).

Dictator Dans legacy continues.

The Allan/Andrews.govt crying poor when the Morrison federal govt provided Victoria with more than $45 billion in direct economic support. What did they do with that?

The state government has started clawing back its huge Covid debt, with a land tax to hit hundreds of thousands of Victorians.

The Victorian government, under Premier Jacinta Allan, has started clawing back debt from it’s “Covid emergency credit card” with a land tax set to hit about 380,000 Victorians. This is how it works, why it’s been introduced and who will be stung.

What is the tax?

The state government last month said a Covid debt levy would be implemented that resulted in “temporary” changes to land tax rates and thresholds for taxable landholdings, from the 2024 land tax year.

Will it affect all Victorians?

No,the family home remains exempt from land tax.
The land tax levy applies primarily to those who own a second property or multiple properties.
About380,000 newly liable properties are each expected to cough up $878 on average each year.

How much extra will some Victorians pay?

For land worth between $50,000 and $100,000, a $500 flat surcharge applies.

For land worth between $100,000 and $300,000 (or $250,000 for trusts), a $975 flat surcharge applies.
For land worth more than $300,000 (or $250,000 for trusts), a $975 flat surcharge applies, plus an increased rate of land tax by 0.10 percentage points.

They voted for the maniac. You reap what you sow.

Just on EVs which for some reason seems topical. My next 'city' car will most surely have some form of 'alternative' power plant as opposed to petrol and diesel ICEs, but by then probably a hybrid hydrogen-electric, or if I live long enough, (doubt that) even nuclear.

But until then, adjacent to the family truckster runabout, each morning I look forward to firing up this beastly thing ...

IMG_0460.jpeg

...just so I can picture Greta and the climate crisis exaggerators crying over brekky every morning :)

Warning: possible trigger bait ;)

Yep. I'm not suggesting the cold isn't having an impact here.

I'm suggesting Chicago is a cold place and the impact of battery charging is a known issue...so you have the appropriate infrastructure for both those things.(be that more chargers, chargers located in doors or under cover ).
Nobody builds infrastructure like that for temperatures they experience on (maybe) 2-3 days per year.

... and putting chargers under cover isn't going to help. The problem is the temperature of the battery being charged. Batteries are big, heavy, and dense - they take a long time to heat up or cool down. Don't get me wrong, putting chargers in the basement is a good thing, it's just not going to solve this particular problem.

** Chicago is a cold place... but the current conditions are much colder than usual for winter, given that they're currently being affected by an "Arctic blast".

You dimwit..some are on working holidays and some are students. They don't need to live in houses then?..do they live like a few of you guys..under rocks?..lol.

I knew the bindy paxton reference would get a response. I remember at the time thinking..what a mouthy twat then i thought she reminds me of a poster here😉
You really dont get out much do you..

With every comment you make you prove just how out of touch with reality you are..

Most of those on working holidays would be backpackers living in hostels, living out of campervans, living in farm accomodation whilst fruit picking etc etc..

And the majority of the students would be living in student accom with many even living with Australian families who rent out rooms to them in their own homes..

These people arent exactly coming over and buying fxxkn houses and none wouldnt be renting out entire houses to themself either.. they’d be in share housing..

Oh yeah and of course your ALP would never and has never used wedge Politics ever...yeah and I'm the Pope.

No Political Party is different in that regard, they're all just as bad as one another.....All use "Whatever it takes" tactics.
Fair call.

The only thing I would note is that the stage 3 tax cuts were always scheduled well beyond the lifetime of the Govt which legislated them. They were a time bomb, waiting to blow up in the face of whichever side happened to win the 2022 election.

You really dont get out much do you..

With every comment you make you prove just how out of touch with reality you are..

Most of those on working holidays would be backpackers living in hostels, living out of campervans, living in farm accomodation whilst fruit picking etc etc..

And the majority of the students would be living in student accom with many even living with Australian families who rent out rooms to them in their own homes..

These people arent exactly coming over and buying fxxkn houses and none wouldnt be renting out entire houses to themself either.. they’d be in share housing..
I wonder why all these multistorey apartment towers here and in every major city are going up - not to try to cater for and house the large number of overseas students by any chance!! - rhetorical question as thats exactly why many of them are being built

Bit like Labor's original costings of funding the NDIS?
No at all.

The NDIS started operation under the Govt which legislated it. The stage 3 tax cuts were never going to start until after the election - they were always a time bomb for whichever side happened to win the 2022 election.

Note that I'm not saying they were a time bomb deliberately left for Labor. They would have been a time bomb for an LNP Govt too, if they had won the last election.

NDIS projected costings were ridiculously inadequately funded as future Governments have found. Noble idea but very little initial thought went into what the future costings were going to be going forward and how it was to be funded as is often the case with Labor Governments...i.e. the Victorian ALP Government under Dictator Dan and his treasurer Tim Pallas with their myriad of project costings blowouts.
I'm not arguing that the costings weren't wrong. You have a valid point... but it's still not comparable to the Stage 3 tax cuts, which were always planned to kick in under the subsequent Govt.

NDIS projected costings were ridiculously inadequately funded as future Governments have found. Noble idea but very little initial thought went into what the future costings were going to be going forward and how it was to be funded as is often the case with Labor Governments...i.e. the Victorian ALP Government under Dictator Dan and his treasurer Tim Pallas with their myriad of project costings blowouts.
I wonder what the final cost of Melbourne's Suburban rail loop will be.. lets see how 'accurate' Vic Labor's costings are;)

Pffft..

Coming from the bloke who wouldve definately believed Howard and Costello were geniuses..

The two muppets that sold off over 100 billion dollars worth of productive public assets. These included airports, the National Rail Corporation, Dasfleet, Telstra, the remaining share of the Commonwealth Bank and many other valuable enterprises.

They had what was discribed as “rivers of gold” flowing into the federal coffers from the greatest mining boom in history though nearly the whole time they were in government.

Then Costello, the supposed “greatest treasurer ever” sold off the countries gold stocks at rock bottom prices which cost the country a few years later when gold prices rose significantly.

The two of them spent next to nothing on big infrastructure items. Go on, if you think this is BS dont just scoff… name the supposed howard built infrastucture items.

in 1996 they had been handed an economy from Hawke and Keating that had risen to be ranked 6th best in the world..

When they left in 2007 they left an economy that slumped back to 10th in woild rankings… a measly $20billion dollar surplus and a MASSIVE structural deficit thats been locked into the budget ever since because they locked in middle class welfare rorts in a desperate attempt to win votes..

Howard and Costello.. easily the worst PM and Treasurer combo this country has ever seen.

No worries. The Belt and Road financed by Chi... no wait. :D:D
“Belt and road.. belt and road” the LNP voting luvvies squeal..

Ignoring the fact that the federal liberals signed us onto it..

Actually.. Wasnt it around the same time they leased Darwin harbour to the Chinese.

The LNP luvvies love to point to labor and china but completely ignore the chinese suckholing from thier own side..

A short history of the LNP China love fest:

The relationship between LNP and China was at its most cosiest probably around 2017/18. A decade after they should have known better:

Pro-Tibet protests continue in Australia

Following the great sycophant Andrew Robb retiring his apprentice Steven Ciobo appeared and proved he was the true master of the kow tow.

The LNP Federal Government then signed up to Xi’s Belt and Road agreement in secret.

Foreign Affairs ministry opts for secrecy over China infrastructure agreement

As you all must remember?, Steve Ciobo forgot it was secret agreement and went on Sky News telling them all about it. This interview with Keran Gilbert was probably the greatest China and Xi love fest ever aired on Australian media. With a kow towing Trade Minister and a Chinese sycophant media asking the questions.

https://www.trademinister.gov.au/minister/steven-ciobo/transcript/sky-news-am-agenda-interview-1

I particularly like this answer by Ciobo, i doubt Xi’s propaganda unit could have scripted it better:

“STEVEN CIOBO: Well, there’s certainly scope for Australian businesses to be involved in the Belt Road Initiative. The Belt Road Initiative is part of President Xi’s vision for China throughout the region. President Xi, when he spoke, I think it was in Davos, but also when he made comments in relation to Belt and Road at the Belt and Road Forum last year in China. I made the point that, if you look back over time and you look at the history of China’s engagement, it’s been through these pathways for trade that they’ve been able to drive prosperity and to drive peace. And that lay at the core of this Belt Road Initiative. So strictly from a commercial point of view, of course there’s opportunity for Australian businesses to be involved here. We have really strong trade-”

Though this answer was particularly good too. As Ciobo with his Sky News mate attack both Labor and the unions for not being pro-China and Xi:

“STEVEN CIOBO: Well, you know, I find it a little ironic, frankly, that the Labor Party would lecture people about megaphone diplomacy when they’re actually doing a major speech, themselves. But you know, you can sense the irony there. But look, ultimately if you look at the relationship that we have with China, on a trade investment front this is a very broad, very deep relationship. We’ve seen really strong growth, strong exports. And let’s never forget Kieran, the Labor Party, frankly, think that everyone has a five-second memory. When we did the free trade agreement with China, Labor called it a ‘dud deal’. When we were doing this deal with China, which is driving exports, driving growth, driving jobs, the Labor Party was condoning the most disgraceful multi-million dollar campaign by Australia’s union movement, who were running around saying this was gonna see a flood of dodgy Chinese workers coming into the country. So, you know frankly, the last people that we’ll be talking advice off in relation to our dealings with China is the Australian Labor Party.

But, but, but…. Labor… Dan… “belt and road”, “belt and road”!!!..

LOL for another claimed centrist you sure do go to great lengths to defend your beloved ALP
Your grasp on political reality is completely backward..
The teal independents and the labor party are the “centre” these days

The left is the moronic greens and the right/hard right are the Coalition who have been taken over by hard right, deeply christian conservative soldiers like Dopey Dutton and scomo and fast following in the footsteps of the US Republican party..

There is nothing “liberal” or “centre” about any of the LNP coalition party’s in this country at all these days..

Thats why traditional LIBERAL voters refuse to vote for them anymore.. prefering to vote for the moderate centre “teals” or labor..

Exactly as expected from a classic rabid ALP supporter, wouldn't have expected any other response from you.
I'm mean I think everyone agrees the response doesn't matter with you.

Everything you aren't smart enough to understand is some left wing plot to destroy the world.

Edit - not conspiracy.

Opinion AUSTRALIAN Politics: Adelaide Board Discussion Part 5