Opinion AUSTRALIAN Politics: Adelaide Board Discussion Part 5

We have enough people here - why not train them up to do the trades. Incentivise it so that tradies want to take on apprentices. Less people + less housing stress.
There's elements of this...
The apprentice system has been on the decline for years with both sides of government. Also, I know of people that are applying for trade jobs with dodgey credentials.
But there's also a shortage of workers in general. The Australian unemployment rate is currently 3.9%, which is close to the record low of 3.4% (Oct 2022). We simply don't have enough workers in Australia to do all the work that needs doing. Some areas, with specific skills, have even more problems - and construction trades are among these.

Contrary to your assertion, we really don't have enough people here.

There's elements of this...

But there's also a shortage of workers in general. The Australian unemployment rate is currently 3.9%, which is close to the record low of 3.4% (Oct 2022). We simply don't have enough workers in Australia to do all the work that needs doing. Some areas, with specific skills, have even more problems - and construction trades are among these.

Contrary to your assertion, we really don't have enough people here.
Yeah but thats extremely misleading as you only need to work 1 hour per week to not be considered unemployed. The underemploymnet rate is much higher and that is where the ability to move roles and train up trades sits..we have enough people

Try finding rents below $400 these days even for entry level properties on the suburban fringes - maybe units but thats it and in reality rents are closer to $600 / week and up in the reasonable inner areas. The whole market is unsustainable due to the cost of producing buildings and the holding costs of retaining them. Imagine being on a pension and not being a property owner and having to rent these days. The pension does not even cover the rent and rent relief has been capped at a stupidly low level with no correlation to rent costs.

Shame the government won't open up lots of land right on the fringes where real low cost holiday park style living (converted shipping containers etc) could be provided for those unable to afford rents - would it be ideal? - no, would it help get a roof over people's heads? - yes

I saw a video a few months ago where they were demonstrating 3D printed houses and how they can be constructed within a few days.

I'd imagine there's most probably a stigma because we've become some ingrained with bricks and mortar that people won't consider it, but it definitely could be an option in the future to be looked at to help try and ease the housing crisis.

I saw a video a few months ago where they were demonstrating 3D printed houses and how they can be constructed within a few days.

I'd imagine there's most probably a stigma because we've become some ingrained with bricks and mortar that people won't consider it, but it definitely could be an option in the future to be looked at to help try and ease the housing crisis.
Not sure how they could be made to comply with all the standards and construction codes off the top of my head but on the flip side, it might be a very real emerging opportunity

Yeah but thats extremely misleading as you only need to work 1 hour per week to not be considered unemployed. The underemploymnet rate is much higher and that is where the ability to move roles and train up trades sits..we have enough people

It's still indicative of the fundamental problem - a shortage of workers in Australia, affecting many industries (of which construction is one).

Not sure how they could be made to comply with all the standards and construction codes off the top of my head but on the flip side, it might be a very real emerging opportunity

It's a paradigm shift from the traditional way that houses are constructed and will no doubt require some significant changes to regulations, but something that could easily be changed.

From what I have seen and read they're as strong and as durable as traditionally built houses.

Just a question, if you disincentivise property investment enough and like you say all the property investors sold off their investments (remember this is existing stock which is already not enough for the existing population), who is going to build the homes needed for the 2 million new people airbus is aiming to bring in?.

2 million new people? Where is this figure derived from?

Tax the rich
Tax The Rich Met Gala GIF by INTO ACTION

The rich need to pay their fair share.

How are you going to encourage it (building new properties) if you are disincentivising owning investment property period. Less demand means less houses will be built which means less building stock which is no good for a rapidly growing population.

As for the increase in population, it was 500K in 1 year - I just extrapolated

Temporary migration has jumped sharply over the past year — largely driven by foreign students — leading to a record intake. The Net Overseas Migration is expected to have hit about 500,000 over the year to September.

I'll believe its a one off surge when we actually see it

So the 2 million is just a lie.

Yep, typical crap from you.

And yes, it will be a one off surge. You do understand that our international borders were closed for two years and only fully reopened in mid-2022.

Businesses were complaining they couldn’t get staff and where do you think these people were supposedly coming from? We have an current unemployment rate of 3.8%, historically low levels.

Don't the top 1% pay something like 50% of all tax revenue received?

Well those 1% are probably earning multiple millions of $$$$ so when you are earning those $$$, of course it is going to be higher collection.

Do you seriously have a problem with a person earning over say $500k not having to pay substantially more tax than someone on say $50k?

And don’t even bother to go down the ‘trickle down economics argument’ - that has proven to be bullshit.

So the 2 million is just a lie.

Yep, typical crap from you.

And yes, it will be a one off surge. You do understand that our international borders were closed for two years and only fully reopened in mid-2022.

Businesses were complaining they didn’t have staff and where do you think these people were coming from?
Why not lets revisit it down the track - talk is cheap

edit - is your ex Bindy Paxton still looking for a job? we do have people here and stiff sh!t if they don't feel like working

7510260-6502535-Bindi_pictured_also_appeared_alongside_Shane_in_the_movie_Welcom-a-5_1545082240006.jpg

Well those 1% are probably earning multiple millions of $$$$ so when you are earning those $$$, of course it is going to be higher collection.

Do you seriously have a problem with a person earning over say $500k not having to pay substantially more tax than someone on say $50k?

And don’t even bother to go down the ‘trickle down economics argument’ - that has proven to be bullshit.
Thats a logical fallacy argument - just because i said the top 1% pay something like 50% of all tax revenue in no way means I 'think a person earning $500k does not have to pay substantially more than someone on $50K) - even for you, thats a wank.

But good to know I discredited your original comment;)

edit - is your ex Bindy Paxton still looking for a job? we do have people here and stiff sh!t if they don't feel like working

7510260-6502535-Bindi_pictured_also_appeared_alongside_Shane_in_the_movie_Welcom-a-5_1545082240006.jpg

Yes, talk is cheap, something you should be well aware of given you are the master of it and your political mates.

Thats a logical fallacy argument - just because i said the top 1% pay something like 50% of all tax revenue in no way means I 'think a person earning $500k does not have to pay substantially more than someone on $50K) - even for you, thats a wank.

They also earn considerably more than 50% of the country's income (OK - the wording there is probably wrong, but you understand my meaning).

The rich pay a significantly lower portion of their income in tax, compared to someone in the bottom 40%.

Well I give you another analogy which is along the similar lines.

80% of any banks annual profit is generated from less than 20% of its customers.

It's still indicative of the fundamental problem - a shortage of workers in Australia, affecting many industries (of which construction is one).
I reckon we can blame a few different levels of Govts for what's going on.

Shortage of skilled workers being a result of a few.

Bahahaha… so.. you just say we’ve all gotta revisit the nonsense you spew forth on here at some unknown point in the future to see if it comes true?.. and that somehow instantly gives it credibility?.

you would be perfect in one of those comical “trump supporter” videos..

then you use an example of a chick that made a name for herself on “A Bogan Affair (‘educating’ ignorant bogans for decades)” for being a dole bludger all the way back in 1996 to justify your idea that anyone that relies on Centrelink is clearly someone who doesnt want to work!

you don’t get out much do you..

They also earn considerably more than 50% of the country's income (OK - the wording there is probably wrong, but you understand my meaning).

The rich pay a significantly lower portion of their income in tax, compared to someone in the bottom 40%.
You got me intrigued so I looked at the ATO simple tax calculator and put in someone earning $50000 and someone earning $1000000 and looked at the tax they pay as a% of their earnings

here is the figures for someone on $50000 - they pay $6717 or around 13.5% of their income in tax

Someone on $1000000 pays $420667 or around 42% of their earnings

sure, this is the simple ATO tax calculator and the people earning $1000000 would be insane if hey didn't have investment strategies in place to mitigate their tax burden a bit, but on a raw calculation, the person earning more seems to pay significantly more of their income in tax as a % than the person earning less - as it should be and as it seems it is

Edit - the figures I inputted don't seem to have saved in the calculators attached but you can easily input those figures in and it will spit out the same figures I mention

Bahahaha… so.. you just say we’ve all gotta revisit the nonsense you spew forth on here at some unknown point in the future to see if it comes true?.. and that somehow instantly gives it credibility?.

you would be perfect in one of those comical “trump supporter” videos..

then you use an example of a chick that made a name for herself on “A Bogan Affair (‘educating’ ignorant bogans for decades)” for being a dole bludger all the way back in 1996 to justify your idea that anyone that relies on Centrelink is clearly someone who doesnt want to work!

you don’t get out much do you..
Yes - as at right now, we have had 500k immigrants lob in at the pleasure of this government in 1 year - until those numbers changes, convince me otherwise it will change!!

And yes, I thought Bindy was quite appropriate and it seems you know exactly who she was and why she was famous:cool:..I also recall her on tv taking like you write - no relation is she?

Opinion AUSTRALIAN Politics: Adelaide Board Discussion Part 5