Review Autopsy Thread - Round 10 - Western Bulldogs v Hawthorn

Explain to me how he is struggling big time? Sure he's not setting the world on fire, but he's doing the small things and doing them well.

His stats from today:

20 Disposals, 6 kicks, 14 Handpasses, 9 Contested Possessions, 85% Efficiency.

To put those figures in some sort of perspective, his 14 handpasses was the highest by a Hawks player, and equal 3rd highest from both teams. His contested possession, equal 4th highest of all the Hawks (the others on 9 were Hodge, Guerra, Franklin - nice company there). His overall efficiency of 85% was equal 7th highest of the Hawks with the other being Hodge. His average efficiency in 2011 btw is 76%, so he's had one of his better games efficiency wise.

Like I said, he's by no means carving it up, but he's never been the super high possession getter. What you get from Burgoyne is solid possessions which count. He's not having his best year so far, no arguements there, but he's done enough in my books to keep him in the side. Besides, with Bateman potentially out with injury, why would you drop another experienced midfielder?

+1
was quality stuff from Burgers today,....did some very nice things for the Hawks...
No way in a million years, is he going to box hill

big call here but i think we should bite the bullet and send him back to box hill, is struggling big time and there isnt a genuine excuse for it. We have enough depth in the midfield to cover his absence in the short term, however we need the bloke firing if were going to be a threat this year so send him back to get some touch, break a few lines and get bit of confidence back.

LMFAO You have nfi.

Paid $30 for my seat, feel like asking for half back. The game did not really get to any great heights. A few good individual efforts.

One thing I will say is Will Minson. He does what I believe every ruckman should do and that is runs down to the goal square to be the big man on the spot when we are taking a shot for goal. Rucked all day and still did these things. Most impressed. I only wish our big fellas would not be so lazy and get down there.

Well done to Gibbo. Seemed like Barry Hall was more intent on leaving a mark because football has become to hard for him.

Good work by Whitecross. Really seemed to be everywhere today. Same with Goo and Mitchell.

Murphy was knit one, pearl one. Did a good thing, good strong contested mark and then stuffs up a kick to a player. Still did more positive than negative.

Like Schoenmakers game as well. His overhead work was first rate.

Explain to me how he is struggling big time? Sure he's not setting the world on fire, but he's doing the small things and doing them well.

His stats from today:

20 Disposals, 6 kicks, 14 Handpasses, 9 Contested Possessions, 85% Efficiency.

To put those figures in some sort of perspective, his 14 handpasses was the highest by a Hawks player, and equal 3rd highest from both teams. His contested possession, equal 4th highest of all the Hawks (the others on 9 were Hodge, Guerra, Franklin - nice company there). His overall efficiency of 85% was equal 7th highest of the Hawks with the other being Hodge. His average efficiency in 2011 btw is 76%, so he's had one of his better games efficiency wise.

Like I said, he's by no means carving it up, but he's never been the super high possession getter. What you get from Burgoyne is solid possessions which count. He's not having his best year so far, no arguements there, but he's done enough in my books to keep him in the side. Besides, with Bateman potentially out with injury, why would you drop another experienced midfielder?

Can't help but agree - it's easy to look at simple stats but Burgoyne always pops up when the game needs to be won.

Generally a pretty lacklustre contest tonight - more of a training run, game just didn't have any real intensity for mine.

Happy with the four points for minimal damage and good to see the continued good form of some 'lesser' lights as well as the kids.

Kudos to those that can appreciate a good game from Murphy.

Oh, and the umpiring was deplorable in every aspect - inept.

Good solid win today.

Has there been any mention of the foxtel commentary today? BT was a disgrace.

Yeah BT was pretty average. Seemed to have a massive hard on for the Doggies.

I was more concerned that Roo's liked our game style. :eek: Not sure whether to be happy with the praise from great football brain, or concerned that he was comparing us to the Swannies. :eek:

Good effort against a wounded opponent. Would have been nice if we had buried them by 7 or 8 goals but they are still a quality team despite their form dip. Thought our defence was magnificent again today"

Birchall- I was critical of him a few weeks ago, but man has he stepped up.
Gibbo- would be the AA CHB at the moment IMO. He is just so impressive.
Murphy- was strong at the contest, and that pass to Buddy in the 2nd quarter was awesome
Schoey- improved from last week and hopefully can continue to do this as the season progresses.
Goo- was strong at the contest as always.
Suckers- got a lot of the ball and generally used it well.

Other guys who I thought really played well today were Hodge, Lewis, Sewell, Shiels, Roughie, WX and Rioli. Buddy was also good but should have had 5 or 6 goals. He needs to work on his goal kicking as it could cost us against the Cats and Pies.

Bring on the Dockers next week.

Feel a bit the same Rusty.
Splashed out for 2, L2 resreves seats for $90 just to watch a very dull game.
No highlights, no nothing to talk about actually.
Plenty of posessions that meant nothing.
Dull, boring game,

Just got home from the game. Was pretty happy with Whitecross after his shocking first 2-3 kicks. Really runs hard and presents well. If he can get better and mould into the O'keefe like hit up forward we need... that would be great

Josh Gibson was IMMENSE! he smashed HALL and any other opponents that came his way. He is a star!!!

Murphy made like 2 mistakes... but his positioning, marking and providing an option through the middle was great. I thought he was fantastic today. I think he is getting better too...

Puopolo... damn he has some speed and is a very good hard nut defender. Don't let Gias 3 goals fool you... Puopolo won that dual and i thought showed some real quick dash. He is VERY VERY quick

Schoenmakers... he is getting more confident! i really like what i saw from him today. Positioning and marking today... and spoiling too. I thought that he is beginning to feel more comfortable in the team and beginning to belong. Great work Ryan

Mitchell's first half was sensational... he was everywhere! and kicked 2 goals too which is kind of Un-sammy like. Very happy with his game

Hodge is almost back to his best i think. He was sensational today except for about a 2 minute period in the third where he lost his marbles. But his getting there.

Burgoyne was great when it really counted i thought. The opening quarter and the last quarter when the heat was on, i thought his talent came to the fore. Stats won't show it, but his touch was sublime at stages and i think he is just going to get better.

Roughead... i love him in the ruck/forward role... SO reliable around the ground. He is such a great player to have around. Really beginning to show his true capabilities.

Buddy... if you kicked straighter you would be the greatest player in the game. But damn... we can't have it all... atm

AND CYRIL.... i love his work so much... in close... he is unbelievably delicious!!!!!

Last player i will mention is...

Birchall... really took some strong marks and played really tough today. I don't know what has been said to him in the last few weeks... but he is playing some bloody impressive footy!

Paid $30 for my seat, feel like asking for half back. The game did not really get to any great heights. A few good individual efforts.
One thing I will say is Will Minson. He does what I believe every ruckman should do and that is runs down to the goal square to be the big man on the spot when we are taking a shot for goal. Rucked all day and still did these things. Most impressed. I only wish our big fellas would not be so lazy and get down there.

Well done to Gibbo. Seemed like Barry Hall was more intent on leaving a mark because football has become to hard for him.

Good work by Whitecross. Really seemed to be everywhere today. Same with Goo and Mitchell.

Murphy was knit one, pearl one. Did a good thing, good strong contested mark and then stuffs up a kick to a player. Still did more positive than negative.

Like Schoenmakers game as well. His overhead work was first rate.

The cost of the seat was $60 and you got it for 1/2 price;)
so you must be happy:)

Surely scragers No13 went to great heights for you:eek:

We didn't play particularly well, and seemed to be crusing I'm 2nd gear for a lot of the game yet still won easily vs a fired up dogs side.
The game style seems to conserve a lot of energy - I wouldn't expect a lot of tired or sore hawks bodies tonight. I assume this is one of our strategies to get through a long season in good shape - we'll be able to control a lot of games without putting in a great deal of intensity if our footskills hold up - for the first half today they were sublime.
Only concerning thing was that we weren't as efficent going forward as we should have been - few players being overly cute inside 50, some poor set shots etc.

In terms of players:
Birchall - is a totally different player this year - is winning marking contests - which is amazing given how poor he's been overhead in previous years. Is finally using his big frame and looks comfortable playing almost as a third tall. His imporvement has made a massive difference to our backline
Gibbo - was huge in the first half, absolutely dominated hall
Shoe - really liked his game, coming along nicely - good overhead and good spoiling
Guerra - one of the better games from him, really threw his body in at crucial times
Bailey - competed hard but only an average game, still has a way to go. Not sure if he's ahead of renouf
Hodge - finding form, although made a few shocking decisions (torp attempt from 80m?)
Whitecross - playing the linking role well. Made one glaring error, but also made consistently good decisions and used ball well - has surprisingly good vision at times.
Suckling / savage - both quiet games. Hard to tell on tv if teams are putting extra work into suckling (although guerra is getting free).
Puopolo - even though Gia kicked a couple thought competed hard and showed good dash out of the backline. Skills appear fine.
Rough - not as effective in ruck, but still very handy around the ground - is essentially an extra mid + also a strong marking target as we move ball from defense.
Buddy - worked hard, although contrsted marking skills are going downhill - can't appear to beat an opponent one out anymore, but super dangerous pushing up the ground. Didn't have his goal kicking boots on which is going to hurt us.

Good solid win today.

Has there been any mention of the foxtel commentary today? BT was a disgrace.

Agree that BT was trying to pump up how much the Dogs were in the game, here they come,etc... sounded like Don King trying to promote a fight.

Good win by the boys, really impressed wth how the defence is holding together - Gibson has been great all year, but the maturity Birchall has shown and his efforts in the air are vastly improved, get the feeling he realises he is no longer one of the young guys and has to set the tone.
Guerra was outstanding, his strength at the ball is a credit to him.
Well done to Murph and Shoey who were both very solid.
Loved Poppy's run and carry, really starting to belong.
Seems like the whole is better than the sum of it's parts.

It was a pretty lack lustre affair. We need to get Cyril to have five touches a quarter just to give us something to look at.

Mitchell's kicking was disappointing. Way too many errors.

I am warming to Whitecross. He is taking the game on and has a good level of precision with his kicking.

Guerra is a very good player. His calmness and willingness to run straight at the footy is a joy.

Dogs are in trouble. Reckon they had a real crack today and never looked like getting near us.

most of our players played well...goo having an exceptional world breaking 180 dt points and hodgey at 154 pts..just to name a few..impressed with murphy hes improving every week...keep it up mate slowly...your winning fans over...

the ones that had quieter games..burgoyne, breust, big sav, ossie and rioli we need them to step up more...so we can keep winning...especially against the top 4...

another negative was the goal kicking....we seem to be kicking a heap of points are we the worse converting team?..not sure if we need a new goal kicking..coach..as this has been happening a while...

I thought Burgoynes clearance work in the second half was exceptional.
I'd like to se a bit more silk here and there, but the clearance stuff was great.

My ticket was $45 and had to sit inbetween Dasher and Sydney Hawka.

Worst part was, I pulled out a pineapple to pay Dasher for the ticket only to be told he had 'no change' :thumbsdown:

What it cost ya to sit in kennedy club v the saint bro , ....whats it gunna cost ya too sit in kennedy club for the rest of the yr .....??
NOW.....PLENTY....:thumbsu::thumbsu:
And Syd Hawk , your always welcome any time.....:D

Don't whinge. I took the little lady and forked out a ton for two. See if you can get the club to shell out for free vouchers for the Waverley fish and chip shop to compensate!!

Review Autopsy Thread - Round 10 - Western Bulldogs v Hawthorn