Autopsy Autopsy v hawks

Well, my doom and gloom post from last week looks a lot more prescient now. We are mentally broken. I still don't see a way out of the death spiral we're in. But at least more people agree with me now, so that's always nice.

(Try not to cry. Cry a lot.)

I’d actually given that some thought. Might look into it a little further!
You won't regret it. All clubs are the same. Its hard to get someone to do the goal umpiring for the seconds. The canteen has to be manned. Yesterday at an away game, they had no tea bags so one of us went to 7 eleven and bought them a packet. They could charge their supporters for a cuppa but Canterbury supporters were free.

Every club is broke and no one will become the treasurer.

The AFL is unreal footy. Local footy is real footy.

A few of many personal gripes atm.

We are so considerate of the opposition, we always take the maximum amount of time to take a kick from a mark or free, never play straight on, to allow time for defensive structures to be set up.

Nearly all kicks, and today quite a few handballs had enough hang time to allow an easy spoil.

How many smothers are we the victims of, but rarely return the favour ?

Practically zero run from behind for the old give and get to put a bit of speed on ball movement.

1st posession at centre bounce should not be a < 1-2m handball to a stationary team mate.

That will do for now.
The bolded does my head in every week

And to think there was a play worse than that. Stephens running out of bounds so he didnt take a tackle and getting penalized for deliberate. No effort to hand ball under over or around him, no nothing but ship running down his leg.
I dont watch other teams anywhere near as close as i do North, but FFS how on earth didnt a recruiter pick up the squib?
I wondered if Stephens was trying to compensate with that 'play' - I think there were two occasions in the first half where he chose to keep the ball in play to disadvantage rather than taking the tackle or ushering the ball across the line. Whatever the intention was, it was pretty dreadful...

Mrs HB said "Brady Rawlings can piss off too" after talking about numerous players on our list.

She isn't wrong, we need to stop recruiting blokes not up to it just for the sake of recruiting someone we have had way to many over priced busts.

I'd drop Biggie, Stevens, Drury, Sellers

I'd bring in Wardlaw, Pink, Archer, Finbar

Potentially instead of finbar you could go mr fixit with greenwood.
Drury you cant be serious???? last week he was in the best of a small lot and at least he got a touch yesterday unlike a few of his mates. There are a few on the drop list before him including a captain or 2

A few of many personal gripes atm.

We are so considerate of the opposition, we always take the maximum amount of time to take a kick from a mark or free, never play straight on, to allow time for defensive structures to be set up.

Nearly all kicks, and today quite a few handballs had enough hang time to allow an easy spoil.

How many smothers are we the victims of, but rarely return the favour ?

Practically zero run from behind for the old give and get to put a bit of speed on ball movement.

1st posession at centre bounce should not be a < 1-2m handball to a stationary team mate.

That will do for now.

We are the nicest club in the afl

Bring back the mongrel and stop being a punching bag. Even port has mocked us in relation to JHF before and we just took it.

We are a joke to everyone in the comp. Everyone is so weak

Hawks got more scores from stoppages than they ever had since 2008

If that isn’t a midfield and a team that has checked the * out idk what else to say
I don’t think they’re checked out.

I think there confused and lost.

I could not tell you what we are trying to do at ball ups.

I could not tell you what we are trying to do when we move the ball.

I have zero faith that they could explain it either.

Why did our half back men stand 3 metres behind their opponents at centre bounces? What happened to our running for a handball receive after a mark or free kick? How did Hawthorn read the play better at stoppages and get the ball out while when we got first touch it was usually stacks on or a hack kick?
I was at the match and I don’t know if I’m willing to put myself through the pain of watching a replay.

I feel like that narrative has shifted. Last year the sentiment was very much “great effort, but we need to convert it into wins next year”. (I’m sure Sonja said something along those lines).

Now we don’t even see the effort. Wins are further away than ever. They can spin it however they want, but something reeks at the club.
I'm told Clarko has said he's not worried about the results. Which is not good.

He’s said as much publicly - like admitting to player moves that won’t help in a game but will help down the track. I’m past caring, and I’m fine to believe that like he did at Hawthorn he can execute a longer-term plan with some pain in the early stages.

The part that worries me is that there doesn’t seem to be strategy in how they are playing. Early days at Hawthorn they were losing and they were playing in ways that seemed weird at the time but in retrospect you can see they were learning methods that would pay off. I’m not great at game tactics but I haven’t seen or heard anyone who understands what we are even trying to do. Playing the kids just so they have a front row seat to how good players and teams approach games is inadequate. What are they learning to do that serves a game plan of our own?

Pre-season looked like the birth of a different way of playing that even if they lost would be good to watch. Now it’s just back to pass it around slowly until the inevitable turnover or kick down the line. As Rick says in his analysis this week, do they want to lose from being too aggressive, or lose by being too timid?

Not sure if it has been referenced before but that crowd of 30,000 is quite phenomenal given both teams were winless. More than saints v dogs.

Go figure.

Two teams on zero wins.

one would walk away a winner. The other is North.

The test will be in July when we play Gold Coast.

there is a real possibility we get sub 10k to that game.

Nyuon atrocious.

Yeah there’s a long list of rubbish from the game but I’ve just picked the worst to save time as I don’t have all day.

My mouth was just agape in shock at some of his efforts yesterday.

Really shouldn’t take his match fee if he’s a serious person.

That goal that sailed over the top in the 2nd and Nyuon is just jogging in the foreground not even within a country mile of getting a fist on to force through. Like he could be ****ed even lifting his arms to do so.

Do these blokes realise these games are recorded and these efforts will be there for eternity for all to see.

That’s the same as being checked out lol

They don’t care or listen to any game plan. Players are rogue out there. How can you implement a game plan when most of the team isn’t listening nor respect the words coming out the coaches mouth

It was a brutal watch yesterday. There were many things I didnt like, i will list 2:
- In the 2nd quarter Colby basically decided he was going to try and change the fortunes of the team single handily and went on a brilliant run before chipping to Curtis. It was awesome play, seriously good. I reckon i only saw 1 NM player get to him to celebrate it.

- Durs had to stand under a hospital handpass (3rd quarter i think) and took the footy in the air, got absolutely hamemred in the tackle, took his punishment and didnt cough the ball up. Again, the NM players should have been coming from everywhere to get around him and remonstrate a little with the Hawks guy.

We had the example when CCJ did his Achilles and we are clearly not thinking team first at the moment.

It ended in a goal but the mindset of North was summed up early, when Corr ran past and called for the ball on his non preferred side and then was forced to do a right foot banana into forward line.
I mean, that's under 12s stuff right there.
How does an AFL player make a decision like that?

How has this changed so drastically since pre-season and the first few rounds? The players themselves commented on how the plan is simple and understandable. 'North-ball' seemed to be working with quick movement all over the ground, players seemed fit and firing.

Cut to round 5 and 6 and we're chipping slowly around the wings every chance we get.

Autopsy Autopsy v hawks