Bailey says no to Brown

I'm glad some are agreeing with me. quote]

jonny d, i applaud you for sticking to your beliefs, good to see people on here with their own opinion and not follow the other sheep such as supoermerc, mclean4captain or daveymagic or d*ckhead oops no sorry headless. stick to ya guns chief. but i actually have to say no to brown

Getting a genuine on field leader is something Melbourne needs. I don't know how much you have had to do with actual playing of football but an on field leader like Brown would help the development of the younger players at a rate far greater that what they currently are at.

You are right with Judd going to Carlton. It's upped their memberships and the big sook Fev is having a cry. I'll challenge your comment by saying Melbourne doesn't have anyone of Fev's skill or status so it is not really a concern.

Playing the kids is a joke if all they are doing is getting belted and no serious on field leadership. Bad call Dee's and rest assure this football club will not play finals for years to come.

1) i still played football at senior level in the gfl until two years ago when i had my second knee operation, my brother played reserves for geelong and was bf and vfl full back of the year twice for tasmania, so i hope that answers your question as to weather i actually know anything about playing football.

2) Who's to say brown would help us make the finals anyway?

I myself had started a thread just less than a week ago on here saying i wanted paul chapman from geelong if he was available. So in a way i dont disagree with you saying we need on field leadership. But......... getting jonathan brown (who i love) would help us do what? Be mediocre? finish around 6-12th? wow havent we been down that road enough and what has it got us? NO PREMIERSHIP FOR OVER 50 flipping YEARS!!

The thing you need to look at is not the fact we need an on field leader like brown, its what we would have to give up for him.
Brown would require a 4 million over 5 year contract minimum to even get him considering melbourne. We would have to give up our first pick which would either be pick 1 or 2 in the draft. Theres is absolutley nothing on our list of value, so i would suggest it would be pick 1 or 2 as well as pick 17 or 18 and probaley a young player thrown into the mix as well, maybe someone like ricky pettard who is from queensland.

If you would give all that up to get Brown to the club and improve our postion on the ladder maybe 6 places for the next 3 years your flipping insane.

Brown will have 3 to 5 years of good footy left in him tops before the injuries or bad form starts to hit, when a guy like jack watts (who im not saying is brown) will have at least another 10 years of footy in him, watts' development would match our lists development (most of our players are from the 18-25 range) and we would then see (hopefully) a geelong type of team coming through together.

Your arguement is totally flawed (except for membership numbers), going after a player for the sake of a few extra places up the ladder over the next 3 years and crippling our salary cap for the next 5 years is pointless.

Could I borrow your trainer wheels.

Melbourne could have 20000 MCC members but they do not contribute to the Melbourne FC. Only 7000 MCC members contribute $40 each to the Melbourne Football Club.

But Melbourne includes those 7000 in their membership which overstates the figure. Essendon has MCC members but they are not included.

With your logic Melbourne would have 29000 + 20000 MCC members. If you contribute no $$$$$$$$$$$ you ain't contributing to Melbourne FC.
Again show me where you got this figure of 7000 from.

And also if that figue is correct, im not so sure that they 'contribute no $$$$$$$$$$$'

7000 MCC/MFC memberships = $280,000

I reckon Brown's body is the equivalent to a 30 year old's with the injuries he's had and the crash and bash nature of the game he's played. Brereton was finished as a decent footballer at 26. Lyon's back was stuffed at 28. Brown turns 27 this year. No thanks.

Also, those that think we'd be able to recruit Brown by offering players are dreaming. I challenge any proponent of the idea to put a credible trade that would interest both clubs.

But it's academic anyway. He's currently the wrong fit for the MFC. I'm also pretty certain that we'd hold no interest for him.

Frankly, it's those with a poor handle on footy and where we currently sit as a club that would advocate such an idea.

1) i still played football at senior level in the gfl until two years ago when i had my second knee operation, my brother played reserves for geelong and was bf and vfl full back of the year twice for tasmania, so i hope that answers your question as to weather i actually know anything about playing football.

I myself had started a thread just less than a week ago on here saying i wanted paul chapman from geelong if he was available. So in a way i dont disagree with you saying we need on field leadership. But......... getting jonathan brown (who i love) would help us do what? Be mediocre? finish around 6-12th? wow havent we been down that road enough and what has it got us? NO PREMIERSHIP FOR OVER 50 flipping YEARS!!

The thing you need to look at is not the fact we need an on field leader like brown, its what we would have to give up for him.
Brown would require a 4 million over 5 year contract minimum to even get him considering melbourne. We would have to give up our first pick which would either be pick 1 or 2 in the draft. Theres is absolutley nothing on our list of value, so i would suggest it would be pick 1 or 2 as well as pick 17 or 18 and probaley a young player thrown into the mix as well, maybe someone like ricky pettard who is from queensland.

If you would give all that up to get Brown to the club and improve our postion on the ladder maybe 6 places for the next 3 years your flipping insane.

Brown will have 3 to 5 years of good footy left in him tops before the injuries or bad form starts to hit, when a guy like jack watts (who im not saying is brown) will have at least another 10 years of footy in him, watts' development would match our lists development (most of our players are from the 18-25 range) and we would then see (hopefully) a geelong type of team coming through together.

Your arguement is totally flawed (except for membership numbers), going after a player for the sake of a few extra places up the ladder over the next 3 years and crippling our salary cap for the next 5 years is pointless.

This is a little off topic but I had to ask, did you wear your Craig Nettlebeck headband when you played ?

no i didnt.

Im a big fan of sporting memrobillia and have searching e-bay for years hoping a craig nettlebeck signed headband will pop up.

If you see one let me know, im willing to pay any price.

Brown would certainly give the club a boost, but the cost would be too great. Plus, I don't think it is absolutely necessary to have great on-field leaders in order to develop your young players for the future.

Take Geelong and Hawthorn for example. The Cats are the best side in the league and the Hawks aren't far off. Both sides were built via the national draft. Geelong never had great leaders while the majority of their list were developing. Think 1999-2004; they had Graham, King, Riccardi, Harley, and that's all I can think of right now. All solid players, but no superstars. It didn't hurt Ablett, Bartel, Chapman, Johnson or Corey in their development.

Then look at Hawthorn. They got rid of their experienced players like Thompson, Everitt, Hay and Rawlings, and they built through the draft. Their only star was Crawford, while Vandenberg and Dixon were their other leaders. Not exactly 5-star, was it? However, it didn't hurt the development of Mitchell, Hodge, Franklin, Lewis, Brown, etc...

My argument is that if player development is what Melbourne FC wants to be about, then a player like Brown would greatly accellerate it.

I can see all your points and find them fairly valid. But there is some responsibility to the supporters and the AFL to get this club financially viable. Supporters get sick of promises of success.

Watching Hawthorn and Geelong tonight was great. Hodge and Mitchell are such brilliant footballers but the crowd comes alive when Buddy gets near it. Brown has that excitement factor that only a handful have. I just think he would sell tickets and would be marketable enough to take Melbourne where the club needs to be financially and on field. I'm massive wraps on JB and I really think it would be a wise choice.

There is more than 1 way to skin a cat though and your thinking was sound also.

My argument is that if player development is what Melbourne FC wants to be about, then a player like Brown would greatly accellerate it.

I can see all your points and find them fairly valid. But there is some responsibility to the supporters and the AFL to get this club financially viable. Supporters get sick of promises of success.

Watching Hawthorn and Geelong tonight was great. Hodge and Mitchell are such brilliant footballers but the crowd comes alive when Buddy gets near it. Brown has that excitement factor that only a handful have. I just think he would sell tickets and would be marketable enough to take Melbourne where the club needs to be financially and on field. I'm massive wraps on JB and I really think it would be a wise choice.

There is more than 1 way to skin a cat though and your thinking was sound also.

Buddy was taken in the draft and is 21
Brown would cost a fortune, is 28 this year and will only get worse from here rather than improving. Theres a huge difference between the two.

Buddy was taken in the draft and is 21
Brown would cost a fortune, is 28 this year and will only get worse from here rather than improving. Theres a huge difference between the two.

There is a huge difference between the 2 but the up sides of Brown still outweigh the fact that he probably has 3-4 good years left.

Buddy has zero leadership qualities at the moment. That is what I think Melbourne need to throw the cash at JB for. On and off field he could help take Melbourne to new places.

It's probably not worth even discussing this as the 'brains trust' have already made their decision to go with the kids.

I don't normally agree with what you say deemolision, but I could not agree with you anymore on the matter.

Firstly, Brown won't leave the Lions; just what I think.

Second, if he were to leave the lions, what do we have to offer tht would entice him to our club? On-field success? Off-field stability? Why would JB come to the most troubled club in the league when he can basically jump ship to wherever he wanted to go. (If he were coming home and not to the MFC, would love to see him in a Richmond jumper. Anything other than Coll, Carl or Ess)

Thirdly, what will browns output be in 4 years when our list is primed, and the development of another key forward has been stifled due to lack of opportunity because of JB?

I applaud Bailey for making the statement. Our main focus should be to develop a champion team, one that will see us gain ultimate success. In 4 years time when we are pushing for the flag, that is when our attention turns to whoever the big gun out of contract may be. But until then, stop looking elsewhere for the quick fix and take solace in the fact that we have one of, if not the best young list in the comp.

I don't normally agree with what you say deemolision, but I could not agree with you anymore on the matter.

Firstly, Brown won't leave the Lions; just what I think.

Second, if he were to leave the lions, what do we have to offer tht would entice him to our club? On-field success? Off-field stability? Why would JB come to the most troubled club in the league when he can basically jump ship to wherever he wanted to go. (If he were coming home and not to the MFC, would love to see him in a Richmond jumper. Anything other than Coll, Carl or Ess)

Thirdly, what will browns output be in 4 years when our list is primed, and the development of another key forward has been stifled due to lack of opportunity because of JB?

I applaud Bailey for making the statement. Our main focus should be to develop a champion team, one that will see us gain ultimate success. In 4 years time when we are pushing for the flag, that is when our attention turns to whoever the big gun out of contract may be. But until then, stop looking elsewhere for the quick fix and take solace in the fact that we have one of, if not the best young list in the comp.

Valid points. It is easier to speed up the process of developing a champion team if you have a champion player/leader. Melbourne have none at the moment. There were a lot of lazy footballers yesterday and a guy with the work ethic of JB would not stand for insipid performances that senior players continually punch in.

I agree with BAILEY, youth is the key. We never had a chance in the first place to get BROWN, he'd want to much and he wouldn't want to come to team that won't be challenging for a flag. Its very easy for a president that just got sacked to say that he was chasing BROWN when the information is that this wasn't the case.

We need to let the draft to do what it is was designed for.

I agree with BAILEY, youth is the key. We never had a chance in the first place to get BROWN, he'd want to much and he wouldn't want to come to team that won't be challenging for a flag. Its very easy for a president that just got sacked to say that he was chasing BROWN when the information is that this wasn't the case.

We need to let the draft to do what it is was designed for.

Brown would have to say he wouldn't have talked to Melbourne. He's won flags so it might be time for another challenge.

Stynes even said it was the case and he put an end to it. So lay off the "President" that just got sacked whomever that may be.

I personally have plenty of experience with football clubs and youth is the key. But youth without good leadership rarely amounts to much.

Do you honestly think a guy like Sylvia would have been dogging it like he is in a team with leaders like Voss? I think Brown has the same characteristics as Voss and he wouldn't stand for many of the things we see 22 weekends of the year.

Brown is probaly to old at 27 need to look at a 25 year old that could play to 32 that would be 7 years of service.

The only other gun player available would be Daniel Kerr, but hopefully we
will resign him.

Having said that if he was to leave would rather him go to you than bloody carlton or collingwood.

Getting a gun player would be wonderful for your club, it would send out a message that your a club going places, and would help turn around melbournes perceived image.

As well as marketing and sponsorship opportunities it could provide.

Butt Watts is the answer its just you will have to show patience, as he wont play senior footy next year whoever gets him as he is still at school.

He wont have the same marketability as a established gun player but in 5 years down the track he will.

It also depends where you see yourself next year ?

Someone has to finish bottom and most people think it will be Melbourne,
if thats the case you will still get a good draft choices next year.

So you could go for established this year then draft good kids next year if in bottom 3 again.

It could help Melbourne survive, it should be explored either way, doesn't mean it goes ahead.

Anyway i wish you all the best i know what its like rebuilding round 20 should be interesting.

Bailey says no to Brown