Ballarat Football League

To answer your question on coach Oracle, have not heard a solid name mentioned. I know there are a few candidates at moment but they are still in finals at there current clubs.

Esskay we are playing finals while you sit in the stands! Where is the defense of your club, ground, recruiting policy and "Stars".?

Not for long.

I have no defence to our ground, it is small, what else do you want.

Who called them "Stars"?

Recruiting policy - McMahon thats it, could be the only so called recuit, 95% of players are locals.

Our Supporters - they show passion, like to win, enjoy the football. Your supporters are old grannies who knit while the game is on.

Can you post something that makes sense mister multinational? Tennis players etc?
I am making sense Oracene, I am talking about your daughters Serena and Venus. You should be proud of their achievments particularly Serena winning the US Open.
I do have a couple of criticisms though, what is it with the golden cornrows? You should act your age not like some gangsters moll. Also your taste in men is pretty dubious. Richard, what were you thinking? First of all to marry him then to procreate with him. Apart from his behaviour as a person, what is it with the teeth? Surely with all the millions he might have got a few falsies put in his head. I am guessing he has a monster bat and when you were younger you loved the idea of owning a big bat. You have seen the error of your ways and got rid of him though.
I am hoping to see you on tv in feb at Aussie open keep your chin up.

I am making sense Oracene, I am talking about your daughters Serena and Venus. You should be proud of their achievments particularly Serena winning the US Open.
I do have a couple of criticisms though, what is it with the golden cornrows? You should act your age not like some gangsters moll. Also your taste in men is pretty dubious. Richard, what were you thinking? First of all to marry him then to procreate with him. Apart from his behaviour as a person, what is it with the teeth? Surely with all the millions he might have got a few falsies put in his head. I am guessing he has a monster bat and when you were younger you loved the idea of owning a big bat. You have seen the error of your ways and got rid of him though.

What drugs r u on d**khead!

I'm lost great man?

Can't wait for the Chieftont to wake up and see this humour going on with out him!

This guy is sniffing too much petrol me thinks.......... Great man, put the lawnmower petrol tin back in the garage and save some petrol for the weekend.....:eek:

Keep the bounce, as a fellow Redan follower... Don't make excuses on here mate. Coach change made no impact, was probably a better result having snibson instead of Lubeek. Ground, didn't affect us in previous years. Injuries Probably one of our better years with out any major injuries, Blomeley early in the season is only one i can recall.

One positive i have heard that Redan moved quick to re sign there players including J.Field, J.Edwards & Blomeley.

Just stating the facts as I see them and isn't what this forum is for?
We will never really know the difference the coach change made but good on Snibbo for taking it on.
I reckon Murrihy should have done it for one more year (at least on game day _ and he played for most of the season anyway) under the circumstances given the experience and respect he has.
If he didn't have the time to be full time coach he could have passed off some of the training night duties to his assistants who know the routine as well as he does. In the end I respect his decision but I'm sure the board would have approached him.
I believe for next year there have been about 20 applications which will be shortlisted this week. That has to be a good sign.
As for the ground, it is true what you say that it has not worried us in the past couple of years but then we had a stronger senior list which was better able to handle the disruption.
Take players like Dwyer, Peace, Waight, Micallef, Dickinson, Horbury and Jelbart out of a side and expect it to perform at the same level from the start is a bit much. Not that their replacements were bad but what happens is that you then put more pressure on the top players who remain to take up the slack.
It is good that the club tried quite a few new faces _ either as recruits or from the U18s. They have had a good taste of senior footy which will be good for the club in the long term but will cause us some short-term pain. This is what we experienced at the start of the season IMO.
Also the team managers must have thought some of this years' recruits weren't quite up to it early on but those guys did improve well through the season and a few of them could collect second prize next week in the reserves granny. Good on them.
It's a good sign of a bit of depth which is what every club needs. Now if only we could get the U18s to get it together a bit more, we would be on the way again.
As for injuries, you are right when you say Blomely was our main one early on _ and isn't that when we missed his run? Don't you think a couple of the close games might just have gone our way had he been there?
I do.
Anyway I believe that some of our better players, because of the situation, carried injuries which probably deserved a rest which they didn't or couldn't get. All these little things have a cumulative effect on a team's overall performance.
My highlight of the season was the performance of Sam Giblett in the back half and up the ground in the last few games. He should poll well in the B&F along with Pitt and of course Jezza who both had great seasons.
In fact those three are my trifecta for the club medal (in any order) with Field as a smoky.
You would have to think Jezza would win it though. Which is where I started off with the Henderson. The club award doesn't take into account whether the game was won or lost.
The fact that we didn't win enough games just might be the difference for Jezza at the Henderson. I have my ticket and will be there to barrack for him tomorrow night. All the best and thanks for taking the time to reply to what was my first post but not my last!!

All the very best to Redan reserves boys next weekend in the Grnad Final. give 'em hell boys whoever it may be. Would be great to see a few young blokes like Smithy, Monardi, McKninnon, and Brick to get a medal for the trophy cabinet and hold up the cup for the week to come.

Just stating the facts as I see them and isn't what this forum is for?

Gee, and I thought this forum was for people on the eastern fringes of the league to hurl childish insults at each other and talk crap about anything other than the Ballarat FL.
A reasoned discussion about football? KTB, man, have you come to the wrong place.
Good luck to Ballarat next weekend, but I don't think Darley would have seen anything in the match that would worry them. The Devils and Brad Miller are the double. Get on.

Highlights today included Ash George not getting a touch after half time in the two's for East. East not going anywhere again this year after a heap of the spoon supporters singing their praises, MR SHOWTIME- the finals footballer extraordinare and human highlight film Dougy Lee Shaw turning it on and kicking 4 to seal the game for the devils. He plays football like the way Clyde Drexler used to cruise to the hoop in the slam dunk contests in the 90's. he makes it look effortless.

Other highlights include the 3 players that Darley seniors have coming back next week which will force 3 others to play reserves, The state of John Northey's skin was a highlight for me however, has to be a major concern to Ballarat supporters. John seems to have had reverse botox and his face is resembling the rolly dog from the sorbent adds rather than that of a human. Someone needs to sneak up from behing him and tie a knot in the back of his neck with the loose skin so his scalp doesn't droop over his eyelids and prevent him from seeing how poor his game plan is and how flooding wont win you games against the devils (3 times unlucky already this year Johnny boy). I will refrain from detailing the amount of skin surrounding Johns chops but i cant refrain from commenting on how poor the condition of poor old John's skin is. Sand paper doesn't stand a chance against John skin and i would appreciate if the club doctor could refer him to a specialist to treat the dermititis or facial tinea that he seems to be suffering from. While i am on Ballarat- who is the runner? hahaha, that man has a serious suntan problem, a fat guts and a poor sense of humour. I heard a lady at the canteen mentioning that he was a serial pest on the grog but to me he looked like a very uninteresting person and i dont know if anybody in the world would like him. Maybe he was the Oracle? Maybe todays game was just a dead rubber, maybe it was just a battle of who wanted their heart broken today or who wanted it broken next week. Seeings Quinny has had his way with East already and yours truly had a pugilistic victory in the outer in recent times maybe its time to move our focus to ruining Ballarats hopes and dreams and making ourselves known before we venture to this years Ballarat cup and walk away with their women AGAIN!!!!
good luck next week darley,i know u can't make it chief(hope u & ur family have fun) but i hope the umpires don't destroy u like they did every time sunbury play redan in a grand final!!!!!!!!!!! good luck

Gee, and I thought this forum was for people on the eastern fringes of the league to hurl childish insults at each other and talk crap about anything other than the Ballarat FL.
A reasoned discussion about football? KTB, man, have you come to the wrong place.
Good luck to Ballarat next weekend, but I don't think Darley would have seen anything in the match that would worry them. The Devils and Brad Miller are the double. Get on.

Hmmm. Methinks you may be right. Woooosh! What was that? That was the sound of a brief love affair with the Lakers being flushed.
Yesterday's game was THE most lacklustre final I have seen since I have been in Ballarat (almost 15 years). I even asked for my ten bucks back. Not an ounce of emotion from the alleged "crowd". Northey even had to implore his supporters at three quarter time to get behind the boys. They just fell over the line and I'm sad to say this but Darley_ strengthened or not _ will make mincemeat of them next week.
Redan would have cut both yesterday's sides to ribbons on recent form (yes I know we aren't there blah blah)
Darley will get one flag next week because they ain't getting the seconds. Mind you it was good to see East get bowled out in ones and twos. They've tried hard for years and spent a quid but still can't grab the big one. Dan the man will be getting a bit peeved I reckon. Looks like Redan will remain the only western side to take the flag (four times) since the blow-ins from the east arrived.
And you are right about the inane comments.
Some of these people should realise that the internet is still covered by the laws of defamation when they are sitting on their pimply behinds at the computer gleefully giggling at their latest literary masterpiece.
You can't hide behind a pen name. It takes about five seconds to trace an IP address.
Good luck Ballarat and to John Northey (a good friend of Redan) _ don't just come to make up the numbers.

good luck next week darley,i know u can't make it chief(hope u & ur family have fun) but i hope the umpires don't destroy u like they did every time sunbury play redan in a grand final!!!!!!!!!!! good luck

Don't blame the umpires. I seem to remember Sunbury destroying itself in a couple of those finals especially the one when Power and Lupson were sent off for good reason and we all know the problems with Sunbury behaviour nearly got them kicked out of the league. But to their credit they turned that around.
Mind you last year's GF was a great game (probably one of the better GFs the BFL has seen for a while).
Redan now has a great rivalry with Sunbury which I hope goes on for a long time.

Yesterday's game was THE most lacklustre final I have seen since I have been in Ballarat (almost 15 years). I even asked for my ten bucks back. Not an ounce of emotion from the alleged "crowd". Northey even had to implore his supporters at three quarter time to get behind the boys. They just fell over the line and I'm sad to say this but Darley_ strengthened or not _ will make mincemeat of them next week.

Good luck Ballarat and to John Northey (a good friend of Redan) _ don't just come to make up the numbers.

Fair call about the game being lacklustre. It did take a while to warm up as contest as East Point didn't come to play in the first half and yes the crowd could've got into the game more. Here's hoping for a big noisy crowd next week with a great atmosphere, regardless of who plays a great atmosphere is what makes GF day so special. Hopefully the crowd can help lift the players too and give us a good game.

While I think should by too strong I hope the Swans throw everything at them and take it right up to Darley. Do you think Swooper will point to Melton in 2005 as inspiration to show that any side can be beaten in the GF?

Fair call about the game being lacklustre. It did take a while to warm up as contest as East Point didn't come to play in the first half and yes the crowd could've got into the game more. Here's hoping for a big noisy crowd next week with a great atmosphere, regardless of who plays a great atmosphere is what makes GF day so special. Hopefully the crowd can help lift the players too and give us a good game.

While I think should by too strong I hope the Swans throw everything at them and take it right up to Darley. Do you think Swooper will point to Melton in 2005 as inspiration to show that any side can be beaten in the GF?

I havent been posting on here for very long but I have noticed that Swooper comes in for a fair bit of unnecessary and childish remarks . I wont dignify that crap with any further comment but I will say that he is a cunning old fox and will do everything but throw the grandstand at Darley. He may not come home with the trophy but it won't be for want of trying. I can't really see it happening but I hope they kick Darley's backside off the park.

East Point once again put on a very dissapointing finals performance yestdy against ballarat and once again east choke and for the 3rd year straight.

Its fair to say there almost a one man side with dan jordan being that one man. Toby Biggs is the biggest waste of space and should be playing twos. hutchy hasnt had the best year maybe niggling injuries could be the reason for that i dont no.

Pete blanchfield if he could actually kick a ball he might be an okay player.

Take nothing away from ballarat who had a red hot crack and put on a fine performance all thanks to baker

cant see them beating darley tho.

I think a lot of people are underestimating Ballarat, they are coming good at the right time of the year and scared the sh!t out of Darley 2 weeks back, sure they have 3 players coming back but its going to take 21 players to take home a flag boys. Expect the Swans to come out hard after the disgraceful sportmanship shown by a few Darley players last week... Taking a swipe at Northey is a bit low to after everything he's done, sounds like someones a bit scared of losing to me....
Swans by 15 :thumbsu:

IT'S a Henderson Medal three-peat for Redan champion Jarrod Edwards.

The country football All-Australian onballer last night won the Ballarat Football League's highest individual honour with 22 votes at a presentation dinner at the Ballarat Lodge.

Edwards won by three votes from Darley midfielder Rob Cheevers, with Cheevers' Devils team mate Brad Miller third on 17.
It is Edwards' third Henderson Medal in a row, the first time in the BFL award's 75-year history a player has won the award for three consecutive years.

"It was a big shock," Edwards admitted. "I thought somebody from Darley would get it. "I'm thankful to win it but, of course, a better prize is still possible for them on Saturday. "Right now I envy those guys at Ballarat and Darley because it's all about team success."

Edwards had five best-on-ground performances during the season, with Matthew Pitt the only other Redan player to poll a total of more than three votes over the course of the year.

In contrast, the high number of multiple vote winners among the Darley players made it harder for any one player to stand out.

Edwards, now 29, said he felt he had enjoyed a good year indvidually, even though Redan had not contested the finals this season.
"It's been one of my better years on the field, playing in the VCFL team and gaining All Australian," he said. "Certainly it was a better season than I've had over the past two years, but to me it's all about the team."

Bacchus Marsh skipper Tyson Shea finished fourth on the Henderson Medal tally with 16 votes, ahead of Melton South's Ben Peters and Sunbury assistant coach Ben Jordan, both on 15. Saul Grenfell (Melton) also polled well with 14 votes.

East Point full forward Dan Jordan won the Tony Lockett Medal as the BFL's highest goal scorer with 78 goals during the home-and-away season, ahead of Darley pair Adrian Newman (55 ) and Miller (48). East Point's Sam Kitchin backed up his 2007 Under-18.5 best-and-fairest medal with the league's rookie of the year award.

Cobras reserves coach Michael Dodd easily won the George King Medal for the BFL reserve grade best and fairest with 29 votes, ahead of Darley's Jason Clarke, and Tyler Dittloff (East Point) won the Dick Rees trophy for the under-18.5 best and fairest.

Roger Le Grand was the BFUA's best umpire of the year, outgoing Redan and Sebastopol presidents George McIntosh and Darryl Blomeley were named joint administrators of the year, and Lake Wendouree won the Merv & Mary Howard Memorial Shield club championship.

javascript:changeFontSize('story',-1);

Well I didn't think we had won enough games but it's possible the umpires got it right again. Edwards is now truly one of the great all time country footballers. Three in a rwo has never been done in the history of the BFL.
What I want to know is how come Mr Invisible Julian Field can only score 3 votes considering the great work he does every game?
Pitt's great year also reflected in his votes.
Now to make the best of a less than spectacular year we want a couple of netball premierships and a seconds flag this weekend.
Congratulations to Darryl Blomely Redan president for his administrator's award.

Not so much a love affair as a fling.

You should know, it's not cheating if it is in a different postcode.
\
The prediction strike rate is dropping off a bit. Jezza should be very proud and it was very nice to see his gran so excited when she gave him a hug last night (the big fella has a softer side when it comes to her!). She is one staunch supporter.
Not enough votes for Fieldy tho. And how come Squeak didn't get a vote in the game where he kicked nine against North City?
Good to see a spread of winners over the clubs.
I wonder if that Sebas netball girl can kick a footy? 1000 goals in one season is a grand performance. Took Plugger 12 years to get that many.