BFL Bellarine Football League - 2010

No that would be me. Nice of you to remember me though.

First post since Sept 09? I sense a "logout, change username, log back in"...or maybe i am just a sceptic. Either way, pathetic effort not to face the music after spruiking all year about the mighty Ammo's...but i am sure u have a plausible excuse...:)

Anyone think Newcomb will have a win this year?? Have regained some quality players and only lost to Queenscliff by 6 goals (they lost by nearly 200 in round 2). You would think Modda would be there best chance...

Was at the game b/w Barwon Heads and Queenscliff on the weekend. What happened to Eddy Grout. Was very groggy and bloodied nose. It was a pretty physical game with both teams having a crack. A few of the heads boys pulled up sore. Heads had 8 seniors out and fought the game out but the skill of the coutas was the deciding factor.

Does Gibsy get tagged most weeks now?

Who have queenscliff picked up recently. Their depth in the 2's has cleary got better so I'm presuming the 1's have picked up a few. Really liked the way they played on the w/e. Seem to have a lot of faith in each others abilities. The only question would be who would fill the void if Evans was injured?

I saw it as well, cracker of a game, great skills, tough contest and overall the better side on the day got the result. Queenscliff look like being a definate contender especially with the couple of new recruits like Hoodie.

Who do you think is leading the medal after 12 games? Here is my prediction

R Holmes from Dalton, with Shiels in 3rd. Angelsea have been good and Shiels plays well when they win.

Anyone else I missed?

I saw it as well, cracker of a game, great skills, tough contest and overall the better side on the day got the result. Queenscliff look like being a definate contender especially with the couple of new recruits like Hoodie.

Who do you think is leading the medal after 12 games? Here is my prediction

R Holmes from Dalton, with Shiels in 3rd. Angelsea have been good and Shiels plays well when they win.

Anyone else I missed?

It's probably a good time to take stock being the week off and it's an interesting question you pose. Lindsay Smith had the Les Ash Medal wrapped up around this time last year and I wouldn't be surprised if Jimmy Dalton was close to wrapping up his second. In terms of the Medal Count at this stage I'd be looking at:

1. James Dalton
2. Brock Shiels (They have won eight games and he has been good even when they have been beaten)
3. Mitch Scott (Drysdale) - started the year on fire and while form may have tapered slightly, should poll well early.

Realistically, there are now only six teams that can make the finals. From what I have seen of both Ocean Grove and Torquay I think the Grubbers are a better side when they are up and running, but they have left themselves with too much to do to get back inside the top five. Even four or five wins from there last six games might not be enough unless Torquay and Anglesea fall over.

That leaves the team of the year to date:

B Brett Dowie (Drysdale) Clint Williamson (Queens) Nathan Pettigrove (Queens)

HB Rhys Davis (Portarlington) Bernie Lynch (OG) Josh Grey (Torquay)

C Mitch Scott (Drysdale) Tim Clark (GA) Blair Kelly (GA)

HF Tom Limb (Queens) Jason Tom (Geel Ammos) Eddie Grout (Queens)

F Isaac Baker (Torquay) Marcus Smith (Anglesea) Anthony Fagan (GA)

R Eddie Erftemeyer (BH) James Dalton (OG) Brock Shiels (Anglesea)

Inter. Daniel Gage (Drysdale) Roscoe Holmes (Queenscliff) Craig Morrison (Newcomb) Josh Finch (Modewarre) Martin White (GA)

Final Predictions
Top Five:
Geelong Amateur, Drysdale, Queenscliff, Anglesea, Torquay
Premier: Drysdale, but at the moment it is well and truly a race in three

It's probably a good time to take stock being the week off and it's an interesting question you pose. Lindsay Smith had the Les Ash Medal wrapped up around this time last year and I wouldn't be surprised if Jimmy Dalton was close to wrapping up his second. In terms of the Medal Count at this stage I'd be looking at:

1. James Dalton
2. Brock Shiels (They have won eight games and he has been good even when they have been beaten)
3. Mitch Scott (Drysdale) - started the year on fire and while form may have tapered slightly, should poll well early.

Realistically, there are now only six teams that can make the finals. From what I have seen of both Ocean Grove and Torquay I think the Grubbers are a better side when they are up and running, but they have left themselves with too much to do to get back inside the top five. Even four or five wins from there last six games might not be enough unless Torquay and Anglesea fall over.

Inter. Daniel Gage (Drysdale) Roscoe Holmes (Queenscliff) Craig Morrison (Newcomb) Josh Finch (Modewarre) Martin White (GA)

Final Predictions
Top Five:
Geelong Amateur, Drysdale, Queenscliff, Anglesea, Torquay

A bloke called Luke Matthews would have some claims on both an Ash and a team of the year spot.

Might be worth checking how many goals Ryan Gatgens has had kicked on him, too.

How many games has Craig Morrison played so far?

Also, TFE, let your good mate Tim Michell know that Ocean Grove last missed the finals in 2005... not 1991 as he wrote in Monday's paper...

ftb

A bloke called Luke Matthews would have some claims on both an Ash and a team of the year spot.

Also, TFE, let your good mate Tim Michell know that Ocean Grove last missed the finals in 2005... not 1991 as he wrote in Monday's paper...

ftb
i agree with u mate... watched drysdale play a few weeks ago and luke matthews domintated from the first siren to the last... as i said only seen 1 game but he always seems to be in there best, so i cant see why he wouldnt be in contention for the ash medal

ftb

All good points you make mate. And yes, I stand corrected on the 1991 line - massive oversight there. Was flicking back through the archives and must have missed 2005. I tried to include a player from each side. Gatgens and Matthews definitely deserving of spots in a team that to be honest was whipped up fairly quickly

Did anyone listen to Krock this morning.Is that milky mahoney there to spread rumours about peoples personal lives? He was trying to get that guy they were interviewing to spill some gossip bout someone at the gym and something that happened there. Surely he is there solely to talk footy("talk"being the operative word!") or is he there to socialise.Do it in yer own time mate! No wonder the standard of local footy is the way it is when you have people like that half brain around.Kingy must be a really patient man if you ask me.
Nah,I dont waste my time listening to those blokes.Its a wonder that show is still on. Seems the same old people are talking the same shit year in year out. We need some new younger personalities in local footy I think not the same old.Anyone listen to that program on the pulse?

1. James Dalton

Final Predictions
Top Five: Geelong Amateur, Drysdale, Queenscliff, Anglesea, Torquay

Not a bad side ,but leaving out Chris Mamalis is pretty silly, no CHF has got close to beating him this year and if it wasn' t for him Modda would be even more terrible, Adam Bird and Gage would be stiff not too start as the no.1 ruckman, Birdy smashed Erftemeyer on the weekend. Craig Morrison has hardly played, it doesn't go on reputation it should be on form

Here is my Team of the Year on exposed form this year -

b Gorski Gatgens Williamson

hb Lynch Marmalis Breisch

c M Scott Dalton McTaggart

hf T Limb Tom Clark

f S Scott Smith Grout

r Gage Christie Shiels

int from Power, Matthews, Finch, Bird, Evans

Picked this theme up from the GDFL thread, with the season nearing its end what about coaches. Who will stay and who will go.

Drysdale - Chapman - Stay
Ammos - Robertson - Stay
Torquay - Rayner - Stay
Ocean Grove - McGregor - Stay
Queenscliff - Jameson - Stay
Anglesea - Primus - Stay
Barwon Heads - Knights - Stay
Portarlington - Brody - Doubtful
Modewarre - Sproule - Stay
Newcomb - Gone

Interesting both Robertson and Chapman have had 3 years and often it is unusual for a coach to stay a fourth. Dont think Ammos have has anyone for more than 3 years since the 80's.

I dont really know to much inside info but from what i can gather not to many changes. Finals may decide some positions though.

Ammos - Robertson - Stay
Torquay - Rayner - Stay
Anglesea - Primus - Stay
Newcomb - Gone

Not much movement, is this fact or a guess. BH have dual coaches, yet 1 name is listed?? Have Newcomb Power already made a decision? I don't think or agree it is fair to write Gone unless it is a known fact.

Any surprises with this list or reasons why they would stay or leave?

Ammos - Robertson - Stay
Torquay - Rayner - Stay
Anglesea - Primus - Stay
Newcomb - Gone

Not much movement, is this fact or a guess. BH have dual coaches, yet 1 name is listed?? Have Newcomb Power already made a decision? I don't think or agree it is fair to write Gone unless it is a known fact.

Any surprises with this list or reasons why they would stay or leave?

I think if you had of read what i said i stated that i didnt really know to much it was all guess work. As this is an internet forum mate fact is something that is not all that relevant. This was just an opinion to start some discussion. Hopefully there may be some people out there who know more than me that would like to contribute. FWIW i couldnt remember the other BH coach off the top of my head.

The coaching positions seem very settled this season don't they, except in your opinion with Ged Brody (1st year) from Port and the coaching role at the Power. What has happened at Port this year??? I am sure much bigger things were expected from the group than how the season has turned out. Not suggesting premierships but a far more competitive season seemed destined but it has all turned to crap really. On paper they certainly seem to have a better list of players than in previous years but their performances would suggest otherwise. Already lost Dewey to Leopold and another good young player recently so can only hope they can hold their other quality players together for the sake of the team and the club moving forward. I agree with "jiver" naming Matt Gorski in the team of the year too. He has been sensational all year.

Congratulations to Barwon Heads legend Michael boothey making it back into the senior team today. Now the biggest challenge will be finding a jumper big enough to fit him!!! Is carrying a bit more than his high flying days a BFL team of the year member.

Well the big fella showed today that it doesn't matter how many hot dogs are eaten whilst sitting on the couch playing playstatipn you can't beat footy brains . He kicked the first 2 goals of the game and inspired the seagulls to a great win!!!

heard rumours of torquay signing Daine Taylor, and Mitch Montgomery for season 2011?
montgomery has had two solid years at GFL standard and Taylor with 4 and interleague honours. no doubt the old faithfull would love to see these players back out on spring creek reserve.

Positive news for Torquay and not Grovedale, Taylor can be good on his day or the catwalk and Montgomery was a great reliable back pocket. But I don't understand why we would through money at players from bottom sides in the GFL. But a huge plus for the mighty tiges getting back some locals would be better than paying out of town St Albans recruits.

obiously you havnt watched GFL football in a while, esp no grovedale matches. i think u will find that montgomery is a key onballer and not just a reliable back pocket, and taylor's inconsistency is now a thing of the past. both players on there day would be some of the best going around. both will domninate BFL. as far as throwing money at players from lower sides, i agree, however it is a lesser standard, and the boys originated rom the club, so i can see the reasons why they would be approached.
were would u like to see torquay recruit from?

BFL Bellarine Football League - 2010