Traded Ben Brown [Traded to Melbourne with #28 and Future 4th Round Pick for #26, #33 and Future 4th Round Pick]

Who won this trade?

• North Melbourne

Votes: 2 25.0%
  • Melbourne

Votes: 6 75.0%

How do you plan to replace the 10-12 players you've lost?

All rookies with half of them being late picks or mediocre players, you choose.

I mean you could be well set up for a proper rebuild had you traded Brown/Goldstein/Higgins last year, but you didn't. And now you have lost 3-5 1st round picks you could've had haha

Stop regurgitating Matthew Lloyd’s dribble.

This thread is about Brown, and as mentioned by various North posters, we aren’t interested in a fringe player like Phillips.

How do you plan to replace the 10-12 players you've lost?

All rookies with half of them being late picks or mediocre players, you choose.

I mean you could be well set up for a proper rebuild had you traded Brown/Goldstein/Higgins last year, but you didn't. And now you have lost 3-5 1st round picks you could've had haha
Sure sounds complicated. I hope you'll be around if we need advice?

Phillips? If you mean the Collingwood player, he has no value in any trade at all unless it's as a cap dump. Maybe give us a 2nd for him.
If you mean Will, find a way to get him and it's a deal.

24 year old winger who has played close to 100 games in a team that has played finals 3 years running...

Get a clue mate.

Weird that the posters throwing up Phillips in potential trade scenarios are Collingwood posters.. especially when he apparently has so much value.

North will want pick/s for Brown. North will have no interest in Phillips.
He’s put up for potential trade because despite being a best 22 player, he’s regarded as expendable due to Daicos taking his best position on a wing. I’m not saying North would be interested in him per se, but he definitely has value to a team that is in need of a decent wingman.
He has a value, all contracted players do. His isnt to play footy, you know that.
Always amusing seeing supporters of one of the worst teams in the league trying to shit talk players who are best 22 at finals clubs. Keep it coming champ.

This thread is about Brown, and as mentioned by various North posters, we aren’t interested in a fringe player like Phillips.
Lol he played 80+ consecutive games before getting injured. He’s not a fringe player.

He’s put up for potential trade because despite being a best 22 player, he’s regarded as expendable due to Daicos taking his best position on a wing. I’m not saying North would be interested in him per se, but he definitely has value to a team that is in need of a decent wingman.

Always amusing seeing supporters of one of the worst teams in the league trying to sh*t talk players who are best 22 at finals clubs. Keep it coming champ.
And yet your supporters keep trying to flog him off whilst nobody else shows any interest. CHAMP.

Well he's not wrong.

There are very few players wanting to go to North, and even less for the quality ones you can obtain cheaply.

Chances are more than half of your vacant spots will be given to fringe players who have no right being on ANY afl list but North's. And those players are likely to be far worse than phillips, who is not only better than most of your options, but also in a suitable age bracket.

Well he's not wrong.

There are very few players wanting to go to North, and even less for the quality ones you can obtain cheaply.

Chances are more than half of your vacant spots will be given to fringe players who have no right being on ANY afl list but North's. And those players are likely to be far worse than phillips, who is not only better than most of your options, but also in a suitable age bracket.

You should start a Phillips Trade thread if you want to trade your hacks so bad. If he’s as good as you say he is, I’m sure you’ll get a lot of responses.

Phillips won’t be involved in a Brown Trade so it’s irrelevant to this thread.

Why the hell would North prefer a lower draft pick + Phillips for Brown over a higher draft pick and a free agent pickup?

Collingwood fans also going full used car salesman as well, Phillips is a running machine that can't kick. It would be pointless for North to pick him up and play him on a wing over Bailey Scott or Tarryn Thomas.

We'll have a ton of cap space this off season that we have to use, no doubt there will be other fringe players at the level of Phillips out there that would be keen to come to North on extra 100k a year without being traded for.

And yet your supporters keep trying to flog him off whilst nobody else shows any interest. CHAMP.
There have actually been quite a few posters from other clubs coming to our board asking about Phillips. Just because you’re unable to identify decent players from rival clubs doesn’t mean everyone else can’t either 👍🏻

Fair enough, i thought I'd have a look at the Pies FA thread and see if there's any truth to that.

Looks like one Dees poster recently asked about Phillips, the pies fans responses in that thread are fascinating though.

"Melbourne do seem to like players who butcher the ball. He’s all yours. Please take him."

"Take him.please just take him"

"You could give us a bag of chips already half eaten by max gawn and id give him to you.
Slow and just runs up the wing all day, either gets tackled as soon as he gets it or kicks it straight to the opposition."

"Take him. Take him now."

"Please take him we will swap him for the washing machine in your changerooms"

Fair enough, i thought I'd have a look at the Pies FA thread and see if there's any truth to that.

Looks like one Dees poster recently asked about Phillips, the pies fans responses in that thread are fascinating though.

"Melbourne do seem to like players who butcher the ball. He’s all yours. Please take him."

"You could give us a bag of chips already half eaten by max gawn and id give him to you.
Slow and just runs up the wing all day, either gets tackled as soon as he gets it or kicks it straight to the opposition."

ha

He’s a polarising player. Good of you to cherry pick every negative you could find though.

Daniher to Brisbane, so they're out of the race too.

Who's left? Collingwood and Essendon?

Would be foolish for them to still consider themselves a genuine premeirship chance next year with their only decent KPF leaving, a top 10 player in Saad gone... They will probably hit the draft hard with roughly 3x 1st rounders, leaving us as the only suitor for Brown :)

Just saw this on the North forum:

" Essendon's (likely) 7 + 8 + Fourth Round for Brown, 25 and next year's 2nd round. "

:tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy::tearsofjoy: good luck essendon

Saints? Dogs? Sydney?

This obviously just states that Collingwood, Hawthorn and Gold Coast were the 3 clubs they first approached, and later on there's been some mentions of Essendon and Brisbane down the track (although there's rumour that Brisbane thinks Brown doesn't fit their game strategy, hence the interest in Daniher).

Hawks and Gold Coast already said they're not interested. Brisbane got Daniher. So it's between us and Essendon most likely, and with Brown's prime being the next 2-3 years, he doesn't make any sense for Essendon's list and age profile.

Saints has King, Marshall/Ryder as the resting KPF/ruck, Membrey, Brown is just overkill, even their supporters think they're far better getting more speed around the minute.

Dogs have the #1 draft pick KPF coming through this year, they have Naughton, Bruce, Schache, Bont/English resting. Sure Brown is arguably an upgrade on Bruce, but given the salary they're paying Bruce, can they really afford to not play him? Otherwise, is this marginal upgrade efficient use of trade/salary capital?

Well Sydney hasn't even been linked at all, Ben Brown is as much of as a chance to join Sydney as any other club.

Not sure Phillips is the player type that we would/should be targeting, particularly if Polec stays.

that's 23yo brownlow contending midfielder money

Assuming both clubs finish in the same position next year, that trade puts Brown’s worth at Pick 7 using the Draft Calculator.

aca5dbd97d72da0a2c7aba900f6f1962.jpg

Traded Ben Brown [Traded to Melbourne with #28 and Future 4th Round Pick for #26, #33 and Future 4th Round Pick]