Ben Cousins to auction off his 2006 Premiership Jumper for charity

Announced it on 6PR this evening that he will be auctioning off his 2006 premiership jumper + the jumper he wore in 07 for his comeback game against the Swans, both will be signed and framed

All proceeds will go to a charity for drug rehabilitation, I missed which one it was.

The event info:
http://www.neatideas.com.au/images/stories/BenKevins_Lunch.jpg

Interesting given the '06 premiership jumper signed would fetch a fair price you would think.

is benny really that hard up that he has to sell history

Hard up:confused:, he's donating the proceeds to charity so how does that make him hard up?

Good on him for doing it, he could have been selfish and kept them himself but instead of them collecting dust somewhere they will be put to good use.

I wonder if any museums would bid or if a private collector will land them?

How much do we think the GF jumper will fetch?

I'm guessing around the $25k mark, maybe more!

Next he'll be setting up a Shane Warne style foundation. :rolleyes: The cynic in me sniffs an image makeover consultant.

My thoughts exactly, setting himself up with the first of many steps (Im sure) to improve his image for life after footy. But in saying this, very noble gesture to part with what should be one of his most prized possessions.

I wonder if any museums would bid or if a private collector will land them?

How much do we think the GF jumper will fetch?

I'm guessing around the $25k mark, maybe more!

Yeah i reckon the Natural History or Science Museum would be bidding in lots of $10k, to secure these artifact's .

It's called an agent. But either way, giving up your premiership jumper is surely more than just a token gesture.

Anyway I hope the club buys it for $50 000, $1 from each member.

If Don Bradman gears sells for 10's of thousands of dollars, then I would have thought that any current day player's premiership jumper would only be "worth" about $10K.

Seeing it's Ben Cousins it may go for $15K but seriously - $50K? I hope it does go for that given it's for charity but I wouldn't have thought so.

It would have been a much nobler gesture if he had told the police what he knew about a certain nightclub shooting incident and helped remove a dangerous criminal element from Perth streets.

But go right ahead and get swept up in the hype by all means.

If Don Bradman gears sells for 10's of thousands of dollars, then I would have thought that any current day player's premiership jumper would only be "worth" about $10K.

Seeing it's Ben Cousins it may go for $15K but seriously - $50K? I hope it does go for that given it's for charity but I wouldn't have thought so.
Yeh that's paying way over the odds, but the club could afford it.

It would have been a much nobler gesture if he had told the police what he knew about a certain nightclub shooting incident and helped remove a dangerous criminal element from Perth streets.

But go right ahead and get swept up in the hype by all means.

Would hate to have you as a mate. You don't dob ya mates in. Also, you don't dob on underworld crew / bikies etc if you plan on living or walking.

Ben Cousins to auction off his 2006 Premiership Jumper for charity