A lot of talk about points system v. salary cap
I’m curious as to which teams won premier ships this year with points tally under 25 . I believe Golden Square did.
Could someone explain “discounts”
How many years do you want Geary to play before he's a 1 pointer, I thought he was a junior player there
Only because of discounts. Geary 1 point, Toma 1 point, and so on. If you calculated that side on merit it would push their limit.
Discounts make the whole system impotent. If the AFL gave you a discount on the salary you had to count against the cap for every year someone played we would see teams win multiple consecutive flags all the time.
I understand your concerns about the points system and how it may impact clubs like Castlemaine and trying to make it balanced, Castlemaine has struggled not due to points but being unsuccessful for long time due to from the outside poor coaching decisions. You want to reduce other teams to pretty much 22x 1 point players, but allow Castlemaine to do what they want this balanced the league but makes the league irrelevant.I’d give a one point discount for being a junior player and another point discount for playing 5 consecutive years at a club.
And I’d have a restriction on how many discounted points each team could remove.
Why would Jack Geary be anything but 1 point for Square?
You’re making assertions about my opinions that are not correct.I understand your concerns about the points system and how it may impact clubs like Castlemaine and trying to make it balanced, Castlemaine has struggled not due to points but being unsuccessful for long time due to from the outside poor coaching decisions. You want to reduce other teams to pretty much 22x 1 point players, but allow Castlemaine to do what they want this balanced the league but makes the league irrelevant.
So do you make the league irrelevant or do you want Castlemaine to come up. It's likely due to the drop Castlemaine would have bridge the gap not from the recruits they've been able to secure but due to a weaker league.
It's probably good timing as I hope they can launch this in a 5 year plan.
It's important to address the issues that arise from having district leagues with different points structures than major leagues, this is what causes your juniors to seek other clubs, not clubs seeking players.
The intention behind a points system is to promote fair competition and prevent clubs from stacking their teams with highly skilled players from other teams which Golden Square built over a few years hence the low points.
Geary is a junior player, the points system is not intended to punish clubs for having good junior players, but rather to ensure a more balanced playing field across the league.with Henderson and a player returning from Golden Square to castlemaine does this mean castlemaine should be punished because they spent time elsewhere.
The BFL definitely needs a competitive Castlemaine, but it's important to find a balance that doesn't detriment the league as a whole. I agree that talent disparity between leagues may also contribute to the challenges faced by the Bendigo league. Building a strong team through recruiting and developing juniors is a great strategy for long-term success, and I hope Castlemaine starts on that path along with the recruiting strategy.
However what people like you need to stop doing is bagging other clubs, people only bag due to not being able to the same thing, instead of bagging them ask them for ideas most are happy. They stronger each club is the betterthe league and pathway will be.
My question to you forest is why if I had a kid would I send them to Castlemaine? If you can't answer it that's your starting point, find a reason for kids to want to play senior footy for Castlemaine or any footy for the club.
Because he is far too good a player, being a one pointer completely distorts the system.
There’s also the issue of simple demographics which says that clubs in certain areas have access to greater numbers of junior players and are therefore going to have a significant advantage from points discounts.
You’re making assertions about my opinions that are not correct.
The only useful tool the game has is the points system. It is literally the only hope of saving the game.
I want to see the points system used to its best potential to do just that, by removing the compromises and using it to balance the inherent inequities in the game. I’m not about the micro of the win loss results of a particular club on this, I’m about the macro of the game surviving.
Remove the junior and ‘loyalty’ discounts, and adjust points allocations every season to reflect results and we have something to work with.
Club support has nothing to do with it in my eyes. I’m just as happy to say it’s a joke Bailey Henderson is worth one point as I am Jack Geary. The balance is too skewed towards discounting when it should give those players a fair points allocation with a slight discount of a point for being loyal. Do it the other way and protect clubs from plunder by loading them up with higher points if they move in the same league.
Surely anyone can see if you have a points system where you allocate an amount to a club then allow all their gun players to be rated as first year out of under 18s run of the mill footballers then the system is worthless?
I understand your concerns about the points system and how it may impact clubs like Castlemaine and trying to make it balanced, Castlemaine has struggled not due to points but being unsuccessful for long time due to from the outside poor coaching decisions. You want to reduce other teams to pretty much 22x 1 point players, but allow Castlemaine to do what they want this balanced the league but makes the league irrelevant.
So do you make the league irrelevant or do you want Castlemaine to come up. It's likely due to the drop Castlemaine would have bridge the gap not from the recruits they've been able to secure but due to a weaker league.
It's probably good timing as I hope they can launch this in a 5 year plan.
It's important to address the issues that arise from having district leagues with different points structures than major leagues, this is what causes your juniors to seek other clubs, not clubs seeking players.
The intention behind a points system is to promote fair competition and prevent clubs from stacking their teams with highly skilled players from other teams which Golden Square built over a few years hence the low points.
Geary is a junior player, the points system is not intended to punish clubs for having good junior players, but rather to ensure a more balanced playing field across the league.with Henderson and a player returning from Golden Square to castlemaine does this mean castlemaine should be punished because they spent time elsewhere.
The BFL definitely needs a competitive Castlemaine, but it's important to find a balance that doesn't detriment the league as a whole. I agree that talent disparity between leagues may also contribute to the challenges faced by the Bendigo league. Building a strong team through recruiting and developing juniors is a great strategy for long-term success, and I hope Castlemaine starts on that path along with the recruiting strategy.
However what people like you need to stop doing is bagging other clubs, people only bag due to not being able to the same thing, instead of bagging them ask them for ideas most are happy. They stronger each club is the betterthe league and pathway will be.
My question to you forest is why if I had a kid would I send them to Castlemaine? If you can't answer it that's your starting point, find a reason for kids to want to play senior footy for Castlemaine or any footy for the club.
Can’t disagree with you more.
So many reasons and not enough time to put them in writing
Just because a club is successful doesn't mean your kid is going to get better coaching at junior or senior level.No you are spot on
If I had a kid I’d like him / her to play for the clubs who are successful and who make finals year after year.
This is why the bendigo comp is rooted . Too predictable and no changes on the horizon except for battlers to spend $150k over the cap to survive
data is only the story you tell with it. We could have the same data but tell a different story or the story we want told.Given no one is going to argue he is a better player than a one pointer I’m assuming your arguments are about encouraging loyalty and building great junior programs and being a place kids want to play etc etc
I get that but the problem is it not actually addressing the issues.
If you are like me and read the data available on sports participation at a national level and with individual sports, census data and annual reports by the AFL then the picture is pretty clear.
There’s an emotive old school view of footy that says work hard and be a great club, develop juniors and everything will be ok. Unfortunately the reality is there are factors far more important that will never be in any clubs control.
When I have a chance I’ll put together some data to illustrate it.
Paul Hamilton... the guy just slipped out of the AFL system after the Essendon saga without a scratch on him . Wouldn't want my kids near him.Have a look at golden squares 3rds coaches Paul Hamilton and Rowan wharfe, I'd think most clubs senior coaching group don't have that experience mould their juniors, as well as last year brad Eaton coached the under 16s and reserves.
Castlemaine the home club of dusty albeit from the creekerdome, reckon that's a pretty good example of what the club can provide, senior footy opportunity to grow your game as well. Dusty kicked 5 in a half against square, when they were unbeatable
What a senior afl assistant coach for a decade, coached tsl premiership, sanfl senior coach, he'd know nothing about footy, I'm sure rushworth would knock him back if he applied for their senior coaching role
data is only the story you tell with it. We could have the same data but tell a different story or the story we want told.