Bendigo FL discussion 2025

Been told that the Council head blocked Broadford fielding any teams this year. I'm sure you'll all think hes a genius knifing Broadford.

Also heard from a very reliable source Ballarat have asked Gisborne to join, got told no.

Been told that the Council head blocked Broadford fielding any teams this year. I'm sure you'll all think hes a genius knifing Broadford.

Also heard from a very reliable source Ballarat have asked Gisborne to join, got told no.

He’s more like a realist stopping Broadford. Gisborne will be gone by 2027

Rest assured whilst Gisborne FNC will be around in 2025, my sources keep telling me (as they did when we played them this year) that it is only a matter of time when they will be heading to the Ballarat FNL.

Same situation as Moama is the thought of local derbies against Sunbury and the Bacchus Marsh clubs is very appealing. The loss of Kyneton from the league really changed the thinking about the clubs future and where they are best placed.

I would be disappointed if they moved on as they have been a terrific support to us here at Maryborough FNC.

They are exploring options Trent the flight Steward but I can assure you the Goulburn Valley is the preferred choice for Moama FNC. The local derby against Echuca FNC is very appealing to all.
I hear that they're more aligned in regards of travel and recruiting and retention bendigo. I think if the bfl was as healthy as it was in the 90s or early 2000s it'd be a certainty to go bendigo.

I'd go as far to say if Moama come in gisborne will stay in 2026

I hear that they're more aligned in regards of travel and recruiting and retention bendigo. I think if the bfl was as healthy as it was in the 90s or early 2000s it'd be a certainty to go bendigo.

I'd go as far to say if Moama come in gisborne will stay in 2026
Echuca United has apparently expressed interest in joining Moama in BFL .

I can't see how it could be true, they'd send a memo to all clubs like this year what their points are, I'm sure someone could google it and have a press release as well, the fact its gone through a whole season is impossible that no one picked up

Bendigo addy October last year states, south has 43 points, did they apply for more points?

Another question is how can a team as bad as south last year use 46 points.

It means the system is broken

Attachments

• Screenshot_20241122_231701_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20241122_231701_Chrome.jpg
    144.7 KB · Views: 26
How can a team as bad as south also only have 3 more points than sandhurst? System also broken
Think it is pleasing and a step forward that tiered systems are now readily being implemented .
Only two years ago agreeing to fixed points system was a pre - requisite of affiliation or should I say pre -requisite to commence negotiations on affiliation .

They are exploring options Trent the flight Steward but I can assure you the Goulburn Valley is the preferred choice for Moama FNC. The local derby against Echuca FNC is very appealing to all.
Depends who you speak to , there appears to be roughly a 30% chance of them moving leagues . Of the 30 %, who are in favour of a move, the greater percentage at this stage favours GVL .
However of the 70% who are in the stay camp, the gross majority appear to favour Bendigo , if there were to be a move .
Both being AFL administered appears to be a major roadblock with many .
It’s a full club decision which encompasses netball and open age footy not just junior football which it appears the most noise for change is coming from and is seemingly on the back of parents wanting their kids to play GVl but can’t get into Echuca .

Edit : Moama’s had a rivalry with Echuca a United . personally I think ‘ rivalries are a thing of the past . The days of players and members of footy / netball clubs not socialising with those from ‘rivals’ is long gone .

Depends who you speak to , there appears to be roughly a 30% chance of them moving leagues . Of the 30 %, who are in favour of a move, the greater percentage at this stage favours GVL .
However of the 70% who are in the stay camp, the gross majority appear to favour Bendigo , if there were to be a move .
Both being AFL administered appears to be a major roadblock with many .
It’s a full club decision which encompasses netball and open age footy not just junior football which it appears the most noise for change is coming from and is seemingly on the back of parents wanting their kids to play GVl but can’t get into Echuca .

Edit : Moama’s had a rivalry with Echuca a United . personally I think ‘ rivalries are a thing of the past . The days of players and members of footy / netball clubs not socialising with those from ‘rivals’ is long gone .
I agree roar, I hear similar and clubs are looking past traditional rivalries for 1 round to see where it's better long term for the club, in retaining juniors that move later on for work and school and recruiting.

Tiered points seems to be in vogue finally through the state, needs to go further metro league premiership should be on 5 less points than gv, oandm, bendigo, Ballarat premiers as a minimum.

If aflvic are fair dinkum about trying to increase participation from juniors to senior grades

How can a team as bad as south also only have 3 more points than sandhurst? System also broken
South used to have strong juniors, there's being a real move where kids think to make it they have to play at sandhurst, square or strath. Reckon there needs to be zoning now to help clubs. The bfl was the most lopsided major league in the state, to fix that the board thinks broadfords inclusion is a good idea.

I’m hearing there’s a fair bit of fire where there is smoke on this points blunder for 2024. “They aren’t going to challenge for a premiership so let’s jus leave it” thought process behind it when mistake was realised

Gisborne will be gone by 2027

I've been hearing this from people, including on this forum, for years. Going, going, going.
Just baffles me.
Mixing with plenty of Gisborne folk, it's not something that they don't talk about much, if at all.
A lot of Gisborne people want to know where the rumours are coming from.
Was told to me in no uncertain terms - now this may change with a recent change in president - but under the immediate past president, there was no desire to switch leagues and they relish and love being a part of the BFNL. Entirely happy.
Have spoken with plenty on the footy side of things and they are happy to be part of the BFNL and are keen to remain, while I know the netballers relish being a part of one of the state's top two footy-netball leagues, which suits their high-calibre talent In fact, the BFNL's top three netball sides would be among the best half dozen in the state and there's a fierce and healthy rivalry between them).

I've been hearing this from people, including on this forum, for years. Going, going, going.
Just baffles me.
Mixing with plenty of Gisborne folk, it's not something that they don't talk about much, if at all.
A lot of Gisborne people want to know where the rumours are coming from.
Was told to me in no uncertain terms - now this may change with a recent change in president - but under the immediate past president, there was no desire to switch leagues and they relish and love being a part of the BFNL. Entirely happy.
Have spoken with plenty on the footy side of things and they are happy to be part of the BFNL and are keen to remain, while I know the netballers relish being a part of one of the state's top two footy-netball leagues, which suits their high-calibre talent In fact, the BFNL's top three netball sides would be among the best half dozen in the state and there's a fierce and healthy rivalry between them).

That may change when they beat 6 of 8 teams by over 200 each week. Remember the struggling teams will get worse not better under the current regime. Small wins / improvement may occur when ridiculous money is spent. This is a short term sugar hit that is not sustainable and to be honest robbing the community of hard earned $

Applied correctly and logically, points systems are the best measure for equalisation. Unfortunately, the application has been poor by AFLV right from the outset with so many confusing factors, such as points added for placings in club B&F awards and "loyalty bonuses" after only one season.

The confusion over a player's points is evident on many league threads. Posters arguing for a page, even more, over how many points a player should be. The system should be simple enough so that anyone can work out a player's point value without confusion in a matter of a minute.

A player should have an assigned point value based on their history and where they have played previously. The only three changes to this figure should be an addition of 1 point for playing for a third club in three seasons, an addition of 2 points if the player is recruited from a opposition club in the same league and the other is a deduction of one point per year from the fourth season (and subsequent seasons) that a recruit plays consecutively at that club until they become a 2 point player.

The application of club points is embarrassing for AFLV. The imbalance between metro leagues and country leagues and also no decent consideration for clubs (small clubs up against teams from regional centres, issues with junior numbers in towns, recognising long-term struggling clubs with points assistance) ensures that the imbalance will remain. Especially if successful clubs can recruit seven three pointers to their club and then lose seven of those points at the end of one year so they can continue recruiting big each summer.

The intention of equalisation measures is seeing clubs go up and down the ladder without clubs making finals 10 years in a row or finishing bottom three 10 years in a row. Looking at the ladders around the state in recent years, AFLV's plan is definitely flawed.

Bendigo FL discussion 2025