Benny Gale to the NRL

Again, don't disagree...

But do any of those things interest BG?

who knows, not you or I.

Setting up a Tassie team would get him out of Tigerland I reckon.

Benny Gale being tapped hard by the NRL to take over the helm and dig them out of the coronovirus hole.

NRL has form on targeting AFL types - Gillon was their first pick before they appointed Greenberg.

Benny fancies himself as AFL boss one day, and this could provide a great launching pad.

He's done tremendous work with the Tigers, you'd say pretty much job done there, this would provide a great new challenge.
Got a source for that? Didn't think so. Richmond lives in your head.

weheyy yeah mate BENNY been tapped on the shoulder. he's my mate, that's why we call him BENNY. we're all friends here fellas, benny especially.

This is hardly something I've invented, he's routinely called that.

Yes originally a Tasweigan but long played/lived/worked in Melbourne is what I'm referring to. I don't see him shipping off to Sydney. If Richmond lose him I reckon it's to an AFL HQ job.

I don't think he'll go either.

Can you imagine the abuse and scorn from Sydney RL types when this ship eventually starts to sink? From an AFL background he would be on a hiding to nothing.
Like when Eddie Everywhere took over Channel 9? The Sydney establishment wanted nothing but for Eddie to fail. It was the only time I felt for him

I think we should just have a Richmond mega thread for you to dump all your Richmond threads into. Could be a time saving.
We already do it's called the Bay.

Why would Benny want to take a step down in size, Richmond can just buy the NRL for him instead.
Any other clubs want to chip in they'll be marked down to bargain prices after 6 months with no pokie money?

Speculatively speaking... the final goal of his 3-0-75 5 year plan was to win 3 flags by 2020.
The whole situation right now might rob us of an opportunity to achieve that but given we’re so close, he’ll probably want to stick around to be part of it if we do get another one. Either we win a flag or our window closes, and he’ll be off somewhere I think. But probably not before that.

I think most people would refer to him as Benny. He was Benny when playing, still is. You sound like a real tool talking down to people like this, please be civil.

An Essendon supporter who I'm sure never talked about "Hirdy" hey.

Speculatively speaking... the final goal of his 3-0-75 5 year plan was to win 3 flags by 2020.
The whole situation right now might rob us of an opportunity to achieve that but given we’re so close, he’ll probably want to stick around to be part of it if we do get another one. Either we win a flag or our window closes, and he’ll be off somewhere I think. But probably not before that.

He's not going to up sticks and leave tomorrow. I doubt he's going to leave at all.

Yeah - nah - that aint gonna happen.
With this years crisis Gale suddenly has a whole lot of new challenges at Punt Road to navigate through the next 6 months, year, 2 years - to keep Richmond as unaffected as possible (and there will be many affects)

After that Gil might actually call time and Benny will be ready to step in.
(hope not though...)

Yeah - nah - that aint gonna happen.
With this years crisis Gale suddenly has a whole lot of new challenges at Punt Road to navigate through the next 6 months, year, 2 years - to keep Richmond as unaffected as possible (and there will be many affects)

After that Gil might actually call time and Benny will be ready to step in.
(hope not though...)

Agree, he'd undo his fantastic legacy at Tigerland by bailing now.

The thread isn't Gale leaving though, it is the NRL after him.

I dont really care about all the speculation, and I agree somewhat with your sentiment around CEO's in general

BUT,

If there's one executive that has earned their keep, it's BG. Taking us from a basketcase, in debt with little cultural standing or on field success... to a very well structured organisation, a reputation for the best culture in the sport (not saying others dont also have good culture), no debt (before COVID19), the largest membership base in AFL history, sustained onfield success and arguably the biggest sporting club in the land (and no I am not getting into that argument). It's fait to say he's easily earnt what hes been getting paid.

IMO Dimma gets too much credit. Gale changed the whole culture at Tigerland.

Benny Gale being tapped hard by the NRL to take over the helm and dig them out of the coronovirus hole.

NRL has form on targeting AFL types - Gillon was their first pick before they appointed Greenberg.

Benny fancies himself as AFL boss one day, and this could provide a great launching pad.

He's done tremendous work with the Tigers, you'd say pretty much job done there, this would provide a great new challenge.
“Bad call Caro”
What about James Brayshaw? He’s got the platform and he managed to turn North around, and did alright at the Melbourne Renegades not bad for a bloke from SA.

Benny Gale to the NRL