• Yes, but he went a little too far

• No, but protecting players is key

• No, totally unacceptable but that is it, move on

• No, totally unacceptable and needs a sanction

• I barrack for another club and just want to see the results

• I am in the media and need my next news story

Results are only viewable after voting.

The narrative around this has shifted massively following todays news. If you go on any social media post to do with the topic, all of the top comments are supporting Bevo.

We’ll probably get a rough run with the media this year though.
They'll get it back from hereon - on social media, at least.
They're fair game now.

Boy, only just found this thread - what I want to know is WHO is leaking stuff out of our club? If Beveridge finds out their life won’t be worth living. A player? It’s deadset sabotage.

Any chance it was the same person who leaked the post PF celebration? Are they being paid, or given some other incentive? Maybe they’re short of friends…
Good news if this particular person's loose lips were directed only to Tom Morris rather than the media in general, given old Tommy boy's audience moving forward won't extend too far beyond his Facebook friend list.

Bevos apology was noble and respectable but unnecessary.

The clubs statement was pathetic. Schoolmasterly is exactly the word, I don’t like the man who is supposed to be the symbolic leader of the club being reduced to a naughty boy being dragged into the office.
Yeh, im a neutral fan, and i do admire Bevo for manning up with his sincere apology, he did well. But, i feel the club statement went too far, was far too condescendng, went a tad too far really. As for Caro Wilson, she wont let up, she will go ballistic over this, she wants Bevo out, with a massive fine, she never lets up with this type of stuff, its her bread and butter, has been for decades. Shes canned the Pies for ages, holds grudges too.

Boy, only just found this thread - what I want to know is WHO is leaking stuff out of our club? If Beveridge finds out their life won’t be worth living. A player? It’s deadset sabotage.

Any chance it was the same person who leaked the post PF celebration? Are they being paid, or given some other incentive? Maybe they’re short of friends…
To be fair the celebration leak has been so blown out of proportion. Lin Jong was sharing it in his Instagram that night too.

The apology (both written and verbal) made me laugh, especially Bevo saying it through gritted teeth. What I didn’t agree with was Wheeler and Bains going out of where to make sure “Tom was okay and we hope he is okay”. Did I miss Bevo threatening his life?

100%. This was an isolated incident. He is a man of tremendous measure and maturity in his conduct. He is refleshingly human and genuine role model. This is the time to stand by your man.

The board has overreacted in fear of external perception, which in turn, creates a worse external perception.

Can't imagine they have considered the football department or the fans when putting this out there.

But lets just hope it's a just "dial a corporate wording" press release and internally, we're united, strong and human.
Feels like a long long way away from backing your people in. It must have been a hard place for the club to be. Understand that. But there are ways you can fight for your people . Bevo did that.

You buggers have had the wood on my team for about a decade and it frustrates the hell out of me. But after watching Bevo’s press conference, I went out and bought a Bulldogs membership. The man said what every football person has been thinking for years but hasn’t had the guts to say. The AFL would have forced him to make that apology, but I hope the club is getting around him, because I have nothing but admiration for the guy after calling out that bottom feeding sh!t stain Morris. If the AFL had any sense they would have let it pass because it was actually an opportunity to hold those media scum accountable. I’m nominating Bevo for Times Man of the Year.

What type of membership did you get?

Ok so, I haven't posted anything since Dogs_R_Us tagged me for thoughts in our Prelim Review thread and didn't have much intrigue to post anything until whatever next good win we had.

I was close to not even going to watch yesterday's presser once I got back from the game but I am quite glad that I did, and now further amused at this afternoon's further developments.

So much so to the extent that with such a big thing going down, I'm willing to put this out there that I'd host a quick Zoom meeting now if there was any other members here that want to have a quick chat all things recent dogs and particularly this incident.

As I'm no baller thus not paying for Zoom Pro Account, it would be limited to just 40 minutes which is actually pretty good so it wouldn't go on forever; but if at least maybe 4 others replied interest in having a live chat, I'd be willing to host; and maybe after many years of membership, see the face behind some other posters.

Anyway, all good if no interest garnered, I've had a full on week anyway and it's just a impulse 1 off occurrence offer for the remainder of this evening unless it takes off in unexpected popularity. Just seems like topics worthwhile for a verbal forum rather than typing out, but the fall out from this today has been great.

Only just seen this, sorry if its old news. Seems Bevo aint the only one with that opinion

FN-M9gZagAUjgGf

Emailed the club this at 11:30am. The AFL have just totally given in to Hutchy’s media $ empire. Allowing the journo’s to pile in and their own website (written by Hutchy’s team now I believe) to pile on to not just Bevo but coaches in general makes me want to puke. Seriously - Quis custodiet ipsos custodes?

Hi There,
I would just like to say I’m going to join up again as a gesture of support for Luke Beveridge. I listened to that flog “Purple” crapping on about how Bevo should be sanctioned. The hypocrisy given the history made me want to throw up. If AFL house tries anything as a result you should get Irene to tin rattle some funds to take them to court. On the one hand they crap on about mental health and coaches and on the other hand they cheer lead these flog media personalities on and do nothing about eliminating the pile on. The AFL executive should frankly be ashamed of themselves and I expect the WBFC board to come out in full support of our coach if this goes any further. Would love to see Chris Grant get out and back Bevo in at the midweek presser next week.
Send me membership options when you get a chance and feel free to send this to any relevant stakeholders inside the club.
I had to give up my memberships during Covid for family reasons…

Emailed the club again at 7pm…

——//—————————————-

What a load of rubbish. Soft executive team. Bevo should never have had to apologise. The AFL process is abhorrent with a boys club protecting Hutchy’s empire and no support for the coaches. I’m ropable.

————————————

The narrative around this has shifted massively following todays news. If you go on any social media post to do with the topic, all of the top comments are supporting Bevo.

We’ll probably get a rough run with the media this year though.
Maybe, but I reckon there won't be more leaks and the journo swill be pretty cautious about running crap on us.

Let’s see what Purple’s Sliding Doors has in store for us this morning. Something enlightening I’d say!

The last 24hrs has probably made him edit it a bit, but he’ll still be having a go

Ok so, I haven't posted anything since Dogs_R_Us tagged me for thoughts in our Prelim Review thread and didn't have much intrigue to post anything until whatever next good win we had.

I was close to not even going to watch yesterday's presser once I got back from the game but I am quite glad that I did, and now further amused at this afternoon's further developments.

So much so to the extent that with such a big thing going down, I'm willing to put this out there that I'd host a quick Zoom meeting now if there was any other members here that want to have a quick chat all things recent dogs and particularly this incident.

As I'm no baller thus not paying for Zoom Pro Account, it would be limited to just 40 minutes which is actually pretty good so it wouldn't go on forever; but if at least maybe 4 others replied interest in having a live chat, I'd be willing to host; and maybe after many years of membership, see the face behind some other posters.

Anyway, all good if no interest garnered, I've had a full on week anyway and it's just a impulse 1 off occurrence offer for the remainder of this evening unless it takes off in unexpected popularity. Just seems like topics worthwhile for a verbal forum rather than typing out, but the fall out from this today has been great.

I'd love that after a stressful week - the karma bus Morris saga is the only victorious thing it has afforded. I'd have my camera off though and would probably say something someone wouldn't like (as I seem to do a lot). It's a great idea though. Report back if it goes ahead.

BTW, ABC Mornings sports journo who bagged Bevo and claimed Morris as a mate of his yesterday handballed the reporting of the saga to a female reporter standing outside the MCG. No mention of the black/female/asian/gay tweet (which I found interesting seeing their connection), just the 'misogyny' one - oh, and the slant on the story was "Morris appeared to be making misogynistic comments" (no, not seemed - he did). AFL media club are ensuring the story is 'Luke Beveridge apologises' (i.e. 'We, the media, were right") rather than 'AFL Journalist is a drop kick'. The whole AFL media have a culture equivalent to the Canberra parliament one that's been uncloaked and journalists like Wilson are complicit in becoming part of it rather than calling it out.

That's my half awake rant of the morning :)

Berko Bevo vs. the former Muckraker Morris in the Round 1 presser