Opinion Best 22 - 2015

bit weightist.....

Not when it comes to professional sport. It's not so much his size, it's his obvious disregard for taking care of his body.
He honestly can barely run and hardly moves from the goal square. He drinks beer like it's going out of fashion and smokes like a chimney. He's not the sort of influence that I think should be around the club.

Casboults value is in how dangerous he is. When he is "on" he can beat the best defender in the air. So whilst he may be inconsistent , he cannot be let off the leash by the opposition. He takes a quality defender every week. If not their best KPD then their second. Which will create real opportunities for our third tall Jones. Very few defences will be able to blanket three talls if they are fit and firing.
Last year we had Henderson (clearly unfit/injured) Waite (injured and inconsistent) Casboult (still learning/ lacking tank) Thus we had an inconsistent forward line, that at times looked a million dollars ( Waite had his great games where he was unbeatable, and then games where he failed to have an impact; Casboult took unbelievable marks and looked unstoppable, but didnt do it every week; Henderson had his days out ie against Nth in round 18 but overall had a disappointing season)
This year We have a fit henderson who is ready to resume his 2013 form. Casboult will have another preseason under his belt, and along with continued improvement in his confidence could have a break out season. And Jones who is training his head off, has the support of MM- should make a much more consistent third tall than Waite who could never be relied upon.

As in defence, a settled line up can make a huge difference. If these three can stay on the park as well as the likes of Menzel and the other forward rotations then we could have a massive boost to our forward effectiveness and productivity.

Casboults value is in how dangerous he is. When he is "on" he can beat the best defender in the air. So whilst he may be inconsistent , he cannot be let off the leash by the opposition. He takes a quality defender every week. If not their best KPD then their second. Which will create real opportunities for our third tall Jones. Very few defences will be able to blanket three talls if they are fit and firing...
This year We have a fit henderson who is ready to resume his 2013 form. Casboult will have another preseason under his belt, and along with continued improvement in his confidence could have a break out season. And Jones who is training his head off, has the support of MM- should make a much more consistent third tall than Waite who could never be relied upon...

+ Kreuzer

May have been referring to early openers - pubs that had special licenses to open earlier than others to cater for shift workers and chronic alcoholics. They were known as early doors. How it came to mean a premature assessment is beyond me.

Close but not quite. It's refering to the guy standing outside the pub gagging for a drink before it opens.

Premature Thirst

Didnt he give waite and henderson a bath when we played them?

I think he went very well though neither of these guys are overly strong or good body on body. I think Jaksch could start in the 22 and there'd be no problems. He's not ready to tackle guys like Franklin, Cloke, Hawkins or Roughead yet but with Jamison (and Rowe) there he won't have to. I reckon he could be a swingman and play off a wing, up forward and as a third tall defender though there may not be a suitable matchup in defence in a third tall role every week where White, who can play on medium sized players, may be more flexible. Wouldn't be surprised to see him play a bit at either end in the VFL for a while but I think he will play at least some footy next year.

Bit O/T but I think the Suns have the opposite problem to us, in that they are do top heavy, don't see how Zac Smith, Charlie Dixon and now Peter Wright can all fit in the same side, in terms of team balance, Swans got torched in last year's GF by having a too top heavy forward line.

Won't happen but I'd love Dixon at Carlton, got a bit of mongrel about him (in a good way) reckon he is going to have a breakout season in 2015.

I think he went very well though neither of these guys are overly strong or good body on body. I think Jaksch could start in the 22 and there'd be no problems. He's not ready to tackle guys like Franklin, Cloke, Hawkins or Roughead yet but with Jamison (and Rowe) there he won't have to. I reckon he could be a swingman and play off a wing, up forward and as a third tall defender though there may not be a suitable matchup in defence in a third tall role every week where White, who can play on medium sized players, may be more flexible. Wouldn't be surprised to see him play a bit at either end in the VFL for a while but I think he will play at least some footy next year.

i think most would expect that he would take the third tall. Most if not all third talls are not gorilla types , which means that given his success on waite and hendo bodes well for a full time spot from round one.

Bit O/T but I think the Suns have the opposite problem to us, in that they are do top heavy, don't see how Zac Smith, Charlie Dixon and now Peter Wright can all fit in the same side, in terms of team balance, Swans got torched in last year's GF by having a too top heavy forward line.

Won't happen but I'd love Dixon at Carlton, got a bit of mongrel about him (in a good way) reckon he is going to have a breakout season in 2015.

Post needs more Nicholls, Lynch & Day.......they are stockpiling as many talls as GWS.

Big Charlie talented and tough on the field. Been sucked in to him too often in the Fantasy Footy stuff. Guy is more injury prone
than Waite. (If we were to trade a tall from GC would prefer Nicholls or the cheaper option Gorringe (also injury prone though))

We might not have the high profile KPPs other clubs do, but following some judicious recruiting have a nice mix of mature and
developing talls. Now developed Watson, rejuvenated and focussed Jones and under developed, but highly talented Jaksch make
a monumental difference to our prospects. Add Giles (when fit), Foster and the unheralded Fields, who's left boot may rival
Watson's.

We can now be very selective who we add to the list. I suspect a young ruck may be the highest priority tall requirement.
Note...real chance of a young Silvagni being added from the next draft.........lets give our young players a go.

should we take any notice of this? Cameron Mooney picks his best Carlton line-up, says the Blues can't make the finals and that Andrew Walker should be played more as a forward.

Read more here: http://sen.lu/1BdTwkc

Mooney picks Carlton’s best 18 & says Blues won’t make finals
Carlton will need to drastically improve their ability to kick goals this season, but even that will probably not see them play finals football, says Cameron Mooney.
SEN.COM.AU

He once said on radio before a match "I think carlton will win but I hope they don't because I don't like them"

This flog says we should play Walker forward as it is his best position.....then lists him in the back pocket......and who's this toohey bloke?
OH boy, and he gets paid for that?

He has ignored all our youngsters and recruits bar Menz and Jones, and ignored the fact that Judd, Thomas and Kreuzer will effectively be recruits next year.

May have got Walker right though, even if he did come second in the B&F and could have been AA off half back in 2013.

Opinion Best 22 - 2015