B: Simon White Michael Jamison Dylan Buckley
HB: Sam Docherty Sam Rowe Kade Simpson
C: Dale Thomas Bryce Gibbs Chris Yarran
HF: Troy Menzel Lachie Henderson Zach Tuohy
F: Liam Jones Levi Casboult Clem Smith
R: Matthew Kreuzer, Chris Judd, Marc Murphy

INT: Tom Bell, Andrew Carrazzo, Andrew Walker, Blaine Boekhorst

EMG: - Patrick Cripps - Ed Curnow - Andrejs Everitt

Buckley is a definite for the Tigers game.
Just the thought will send shivers up Ty's spine

I'm not sure whether he's a definite, given a healthy list.
Back-line could start like this:

Simpson Jamison White
Docherty Rowe Sheehan/Tuohy..................and then we have Yarran also.

The interesting thing will be whether Boekhorst and Cripps start and if they do, some more familiar names may not.

There is a lot of Boekhorst in best 22's.

Not bad for someone who has played zero games and had 1 pre season. Poor Cripps and Graham.

I think the reason for this is that the recruiting team were very vocal in bringing outside run, pace and carry into the team this off-season. Also, Boekhorst is not the standard 18 year old draft pick; at 21, he may just be tossed into the fray for round 1 depending on his NAB cup performances which he confirmed he's almost a definite starter vs the Eagles in 4 weeks.

Though I do agree that Cripps and, to a lesser extent Graham, need to be in the round 1 team and the best 22 as well but for different reasons.

That would be down to the difference in playing styles between those three players moreso than a perceived bias towards a draft pick a big portion of supporters were sceptical of to begin with. Cripps and Graham are both predominantly inside midfielders trying to break into a team full of very good inside mids, whilst it's definitely crucial for us to get games into those guys it's also perfectly reasonable for them to have to bide their time in the 2's to earn a gig due to the immense competition for those spots.

Boekhorst was drafted with the vision of injecting some outside run and carry which the club has expressed was area of concern last season, like it or not if he has a solid pre-season he'll likely be starting before either Cripps or Nicky.

I neither like nor dislike Boekhorst being in the 22.

If he is best 22, then I would want him to play. My concern is peoples expectations and selection if it isn't warranted. He looks the goods but early to tell. Took Menzel time to break in to be selected consistently, too.

We ranked 11th in the league for clearances last year, 14th for contested possessions and last for tackles... 2nd for bounces and 7th for rebound 50's. I'd suggest (based on those numbers) contested ball and clearing to the outside players was an issue. On the outside I'd say we did well with the players available.

B: Simon White Michael Jamison Dylan Buckley
C: Dale Thomas Bryce Gibbs Chris Yarran
HF: Troy Menzel Lachie Henderson Zach Tuohy
F: Liam Jones Levi Casboult Clem Smith
R: Matthew Kreuzer, Chris Judd, Marc Murphy

INT: Tom Bell, Andrew Carrazzo, Andrew Walker, Blaine Boekhorst

EMG: - Patrick Cripps - Ed Curnow - Andrejs Everitt

Wow, mate.

No Everitt? No Curnow…? Smith in for Round 1? Tuohy at HF?

Not sure about these manoeuvres, but could be wrong!

I'm not sure whether he's a definite, given a healthy list.
Back-line could start like this:

Simpson Jamison White
Docherty Rowe Sheehan/Tuohy..................and then we have Yarran also.

The interesting thing will be whether Boekhorst and Cripps start and if they do, some more familiar names may not.

Nice one, mate.

Personally, I have Bucks in (just) ahead of Sheehan and Tuohy. I really love the way he goes about his craft - tough, quick, uncompromising - and I'd also watch with interest how Tuohy responds to fighting for his spot back into the team.

Simpson Jamison White
Docherty Rowe Buckley

Personally this is how I would like to see us line up for Round 1, with one eye towards having some of the unproven players getting games halfway to late in the season to give them a foundation for 2016.

B: Zach Tuohy Michael Jamison Simon White
C: Dale Thomas Marc Murphy Andrejs Everitt
HF: Andrew Walker Lachie Henderson Chris Yarran
F: Liam Jones Levi Casboult Troy Menzel
R: Matthew Kreuzer Chris Judd Marc Murphy
INT: Dylan Buckley Tom Bell Ed Curnow Blaine Boekhorst

EMG: Andrew Carazzo - Patrick Cripps - Nick Graham

Definitely the best Round 1 side we've put out in years for mine, but still question marks hang over almost every part of the ground for us. Starting at the back I think Tuohy would be feeling the pressure from Sheehan for that defensive forward spot. 2014 was really disappointing for Zac, especially given how much promise he showed the year before where his explosiveness from the back was a real weapon for us. White IMO will start the season for us as the third tall but will eventually make way for Jaksch who needs some time in the 2's before he's considered a first team lock. Buckley simply has to play for mine though, he showed a massive amount of potential last year and I'd love to see him running straight out of the heart of defence through traffic and bombing it long into the midfield. On a similar note, reckon this is the year Doc breakouts and affirms himself as one of the better back flankers in the game. Hope to see him pushing forward on the wing and doing damage going forward as he did sporadically through 2014, with a full pre-season and hopefully an injury free campaign I reckon this could be the year he finally delivers on his potential.

Down forward there are a massive amount of questions that remain to be answered, I'm personally not convinced with Jones though I'd be happy to be wrong. It's been said a million times before how different it will be for him not being the #1 target anymore but really if we got 2 goals a game out of him consistently we'd be doing pretty well. Cas is somewhat in the same boat too, knowing now that he's firmly in the best 22 and needs to make use of the array of tools he has at his disposal, a player with his marking ability simply shouldn't be anything less than an upper mid-tier forward in the competition, time for Cas to take strides forward this season. Regarding Walker, I personally miss the days where he was a dynamic and explosive leading forward option for us and proving to be a selection headache for the opposition. I think now that our backline has some really promising pieces coming together that we don't need Walker down there accumulating anymore, I'd much rather see him moved forward again and allowed to be the damaging force that he once was.

Personally for me the midfield looks pretty settled and the remaining spots in the 22 are down to the individual players to make a case that they deserve to be there, absolutely can't wait for this season to start. For once I even care about the NAB Cup...

A slight revision for me and I am sold (including Gibbs as everyone has pointed out, you have doubled up on Murph)

B: Zach Tuohy Michael Jamison Simon White
C: Dale Thomas Chris Judd Andrejs Everitt
HF: Andrew Walker Lachie Henderson Chris Yarran
F: Liam Jones Levi Casboult Troy Menzel
R: Matthew Kreuzer Bryce Gibbs Marc Murphy
INT: Dylan Buckley Tom Bell Ed Curnow Blaine Boekhorst*

EMG: Andrew Carazzo - Patrick Cripps - Nick Graham

I have to disagree with you in saying that White will be replaced by Jaksch. White has been a solid performer providing much needed mongrel for us and Jaksch still has an injury to recover from and prove himself in the 2's. In addition he is only 20 and as a KPP they generally cant hold their own until around 23 years old when they are close to fully maturing. He is still a work in progress. I suspect Jaksch will get his chance when there is injuries or players that need to be rested, at which point it is up to him to claim the spot as his own.

The nice position we find ourselves in that we now have balance and depth. For our KPF we have Watson who seems capable after his last performance and allows us to continue with the 3 tall forwards approach should someone go down.

Thomas will most likely move back to the middle now as he was only able to go there in bursts in 2014 which essentially adds another mid to the mix. Kreuzer is back which gives us Wood and Warnock as competition there.

You have Graham, Cripps and Whiley now pushing up to be able to put pressure on the mids for spots, namely Carazzo, Bell and Curnow.

Sheehan to put pressure on small backline spot.

Tutt and Ellard on the small forward post.

The spot we really fall down is on that outside mid spot. Its really between Armfield, Boekhorst and Dick (maybe Viojo-Rainbow but I dont know if he is AFL ready) I would suggest and hopefully between the 3 of them they are all striving hard to be better than the next that we will see someone pop up as the one.

The rest of the team is really in a development phase - Fields, Foster, Giles, Gowers, Holman, Johnson, Russell, Smith, Walsh are those players and I don't expect to see much from any of them this year. We might have 1 or 2 break into the senior side for a game or 2 but I wouldn't expect much from this bunch in 2015.

I count 34 players that I expect at this stage to play at some time during the year. The starting 22 listed, plus 3 reserves, plus the following -

Jaksch, Watson, Wood, Warnock, Whiley, Sheehan, Tutt, Ellard, Armfield, Dick.

Johnson and Holman may also make appearances which would take that to 36 players.

I think it will be a competitive side. Besides our outside mids (not really having that 1 player who is a lock in player) I think we are in a really good spot across the ground.

B: Buckley Jamieson Jaksch
HB: Dick Rowe Simpson
C: Judd Murphy Yarran
HF: Walker Henderson Thomas
F: Casboult (either Watson or Jones) Menzel
R: Kruezer Cripps Gibbs
I/C: Everitt Whiley Graham Docherty

Okay a few pointers with my team:
1. Was impressed with Watson as a forward for a few games last year and think either him or Jones (who I'm unsure of) will battle it out for 1 of the 3 big boy spots in the team
2. Kruezer is No 1 Ruckman at the club by far
3. Young Guys like Cripps, Graham, Buckley must play if we want to move up the ladder
4. Have selected Whiley as our tagger and Dick of the half back line could have gone with Carrazzo & Tuohy but just thought these young guys should be given first crack.
5. Walker can be more damaging for us as a forward in these last few years.

Whatever we may think our starting 22 to be today, could well start changing shape over the course of the next few weeks.
By my last count we had 28 players in the frame and that could well step up with another couple of numbers through quality training and good intra-clubs.
At this stage I'd have the following players out of the picture but wouldn't be surprised should one or two come into it:

Have very little chance to start: Russell, Fields, Gowers, Walsh, Byrne, Foster, Giles, Viojo-Rainbow = 8

Have some chance to stake a claim: Johnson, Holman, Jaksch, Smith, Watson, Warnock, Armfield, Whiley, Dick, Ellard = 10

Exciting to think Giles could still be anything when or if he gets back on the park. Most 22s obviously don't even consider him.

Praying to the Navicular gods that he gets off light and is back in the fold by years end.
It's a shank of an injury :(

This and Menzel's knee are the main things the fitness blokes will be focussed on keeping right.

Touch (Cam) wood!

Whatever we may think our starting 22 to be today, could well start changing shape over the course of the next few weeks.
By my last count we had 28 players in the frame and that could well step up with another couple of numbers through quality training and good intra-clubs.
At this stage I'd have the following players out of the picture but wouldn't be surprised should one or two come into it:

Have very little chance to start: Russell, Fields, Gowers, Walsh, Byrne, Foster, Giles, Viojo-Rainbow = 8

Have some chance to stake a claim: Johnson, Holman, Jaksch, Smith, Watson, Warnock, Armfield, Whiley, Dick, Ellard = 10

Tutt tutt Harks, I think you forgot someone...

Just a couple of opinions:

Carrazzo is a sure starter if fully fit.

Cripps may well be preferred over Bell.

Don't forget Watson. If he kicks a couple of bags in the NAB he may get a gig before Jones.

MM will give Tutt every chance to claim a spot.

I have to disagree with you in saying that White will be replaced by Jaksch. White has been a solid performer providing much needed mongrel for us and Jaksch still has an injury to recover from and prove himself in the 2's. In addition he is only 20 and as a KPP they generally cant hold their own until around 23 years old when they are close to fully maturing. He is still a work in progress. I suspect Jaksch will get his chance when there is injuries or players that need to be rested, at which point it is up to him to claim the spot as his own.
To me it's pretty important that we start getting games into Jaksch as soon as he's fit and playing well in the 2's. Although he hasn't shown a massive amount at AFL level over the past couple of years which you can forgive in a KPP, I still really like his chances to become a damaging third tall in the backline who exceeds with intercept marking. While Jamo and Rowe are both excellent stoppers (particularly Rowe towards the end of the season), we haven't really had a tall defender down back who consistently cuts out the incoming kick inside fifty. White is a decent player and did some solid jobs for us last season, but Jaksch will ultimately take his spot in the future, I don't see why if he's showing good form in the 2's that he shouldn't be given an opportunity.

Apologies, thought you were working off a 22. Love the idea of a 10 man bench but.

I was just suggesting that there may be 28 players likely fighting for 22 spots at the moment, with others maybe a little further behind

e.g. Tuohy vs Sheehan ............. Cripps vs Graham ............. Boekhorst vs Buckley............Wood vs everyone :)

No real right or wrong just yet and more of an educated guess than anything else.

Looking at some highlight of VFL and AFL sessions with Graham and Cripps involved at stoppages, the two work great together. Gives me some hope for the future.

Hopefully b/w them, Buckley, Menzel and Jaksch we get some great development and really solidify some consistent footy. Those 5 are our leadership group in the not too distant future.

I think the 22 selection this year will be more interesting than the previous. Mainly because we have raw young talent who need games at the expense of older/proven players that won't be around for the next flag. What to do.....

Long Post Warning.

For the last 10-15 years I've watched one Carlton side after another be simply swatted aside like flies and face-planted into the hallowed turf of Australia's most famous stadiums with disdain by bigger, bolder, tougher and more determined opposition that were simply far more prepared to put in the tough yards and run harder in both directions, not just when they had possession of the ball. If Champion Data kept statistics on broken tackles or tackles that failed to stick, CFC would lead it against all other clubs to the power of 10. Little wonder we're renowned as "Downhill Skiers". As Kylie Mole would've extolled, "How embarrassment!". Even when we made the finals under Ratten once we came up against the more professional teams with bigger bodies, we were merely pushed aside by the likes of Geelong, St. Kilda, Hawthorn, West Coast, Sydney and Adelaide. For far too long under the likes of Pagan and Ratten the tail was allowed to wag the dog...and I for one, am so glad to see that this situation has now changed and that we now have someone at the helm determined to hold the group to a bit of honesty and integrity and push the boundaries beyond previously accepted limits. THAT, my learned friends, is how one injects a sense of urgency, a mindset of determination, and instills a bit of Culture.

Our starting 2014 list, according to Champion Data, was the 3rd eldest and 5th most experienced...and I wouldn't have a problem with that if the AFL awarded the Premiership to the team that finishes thirteenth, but as Jimmy Barnes once screamed (no he never learned to sing), "There aint no thirteenth prize!!!" I don't want to hear about the injuries excuse. The simple fact of the matter is that the eventual Premiership team probably suffered more injuries than anyone else. They even lost their coach to illness!!!...and they still didn't miss a beat!!! Another thing we need to accept is that every side suffers unfortunate injuries to key players every season at the most inconvenient times. The simple fact of the matter is that if a change is to occur and if 2015 is to be the year of EVOLUTION TO REVOLUTION then we've all got to to be far more adventurous with our our team selections, because simply tinkering around the periphery is not going to produce the desired results if we're to make the most of Murphy, Gibbs and Kruezer while they're in the their prime.

Its not all doom and gloom though, in fact, far from it. Change is afoot...and its coming fast...real fast...trust me. My gut feeling based upon the trades and drafts we've taken this year is that our side is going to look quite different...and as the team evolves so will our style of play. Personally I like the profile and direction of where our list is headed and while I don't believe it is possible to predict a 2015 Best 22 until the end of the forthcoming season, I do have a preferred starting 22 subject to fitness and form. I will provide explanations.

Backs Docherty(21, 184, 84) Jamison (28, 193, 97) Dick (20, 187, 90)

Half-Backs Jaksch (20, 196, 90) Rowe (27, 198, 97) Walker (30, 190, 89)

Centres Yarran (24, 180, 83) Cripps (19, 193, 90) Judd (31, 189, 89)

Half-Forwards Thomas (27, 185, 84) Casboult (24, 199, 105) Everitt (25, 194, 90)

Forwards Smith (18, 178, 78) Henderson (25, 196, 96) Menzel (20, 187, 85)

Ruck Kreuzer (25, 200, 103) Whiley (22, 188, 87) Murphy (27, 180, 80)

Interchange Gibbs (25, 188, 86) Bell (23, 187, 98) Simpson (30, 182, 76)

Substitute Viojo-Rainbow (18, 186, 82)

Emergencies Fields (22, 192, 93) Sheehan (24, 188, 80) Carrazzo (31, 188, 87)

In a number of ways, both individually & collectively, it's a substantially different looking team than the 2014 team. Essentially overall it's a taller, heavier, stronger, faster and a more flexible team. Lets have a closer look.

Backs: I prefer Docherty to SOJ here. The extra height and 5kg should enable him to hold position against his opponent better than SOJ, both over the ball and when it is in transition. If you liked what you saw of him last year, then given he's had an uninterrupted pre-season expect an even better output from him this year. The other thing he provides over SOJ is that he can also be played further up the ground at half-back, in the midfield and/or half-forward as required. Jamison, JAMISON!!! You'd have to come from some backwater like Sydney not to know who Jamison is!!! 'nuff said! We specifically targeted Dick from the Swans. If he comes to us with even just half the typical work ethic instilled into him by being exposed to the Swans Culture for a couple of years then he's sure to prove to be a very valuable asset to our side. He already comes to us with a mature body at the perfect weight to run straight through an unsuspecting opposition forward pocket at full tilt. Hey, isn't there just a little Don Scott in all of us. A defender with a quick turn of foot, Dick can also play through the midfield.

Half-Backs: Based upon Harker's excellent Pre-season training reports it seems evident that Jaksch isn't physically ready to play KPB or KPF, however, given his athletic build and height, I'd be tempted to let him develop on a back flank as that 3rd tall defender taking intercept marks and being that third man up to provide a spoil. Once he reaches 95-97kg and if he develops as hoped, I'd expect him to used as a swingman like Henderson. Rowe may have found his calling at CHB, but this season will more likely than not tell the tale of how he'll fare in his new-found position. Both Rowe and Jaksch can play forward if required and can be readily swapped with Henderson or Everitt when needed. I know many people expect Walker to play up forward this season, but I'd prefer to see him stay down at half-back where he provides his most consistent output. When up forward Walker always seems to lose his defensive skills and if the ball gets behind him, through either poor delivery or missing the mark, he makes Harry Madden look useful. Despite being injury-prone I've left him in this side due to his pace and flexibility and to be able to play at either end of the ground or through the mid-field.

Centres: Yarran, Cripps, Judd.........I'll just post that again! Yarran, Cripps, Judd. Makes me want to ring up the official time, "On the third stroke..." While Yarran will still need to be aware of his where his opponent is and what he's doing, I'd like to see him relieved of his defender-first role. Like Walker, I think Yarran is at his most consistent and damaging when he's not a stay-at-home forward. Being a little further up the ground though should enable him to run, one bounce and then kick it lace out to Menzel, Henderson, Thomas, etc. Too many times from half-back he takes off has a bounce or two and then doesn't know what to do with it. By simplifying the process, the forwards and Yarran will know what to expect from each other in terms running, carrying, leading, running patterns and disposal requirements, which should assist in providing greater positive scoreboard pressure. I agree with many here that it's time to let Judd have more an outside midfielder's role, however, Juddy is still Juddy and I'm sure he'll still want to command a little time in the heat of the kitchen. Cripps, Whiley and Bell herald the arrival of our own breed of midfield monsters and if you put them all into the same team it certainly gives our midfield a no-nonsense look about it. Just as HBF alluded to in another thread, Cripps was far too good for VFL level and I'm another who thinks he should be in the guts come Round 1.

Half-Forwards: I must admit that I can take or leave Mick's not-so-secret lovechild, but I do have to concede that a fit Daisy would easily get a gig in my best 22. An injury-free Daisy becomes an extremely dangerous forward with the ability to dash through the midfield while possessing the ability to occasionally stand upon the opposition's head. Everitt is one I had to have a really long hard think about. His previous stints at the Doggies and the Swans both stagnated after extremely promising starts and given that I'm one who believes "past behaviour dictates future behaviour" would indicate that we could all potentially find Andrejs becoming very frustrating in terms of his output in the near future, but I sincerely hope I'm wrong. In the end he gets a gig in my side ahead of both Jones and Watson due to his flexibility of being able to played nearly anywhere on the ground. For now lets just hope that Everitt is as good this year as he was last year. Casboult is just Casboult and the relief ruckman. He always has a crack and even if he doesn't mark it, he'll bring it to ground.

Forwards: Like everyone else I really like what Menzel brings to the table. While I know the kid harbours midfield ambitions Troy will need to greatly improve the defensive side of his game before Mick will unleash him onto the ball. Menzel also had the most scoreboard impact of any of our players last season (Champion Data) once Mick stopped putting the green vest on him, which is another reason why I'd like to see him chained to the forward line for the time being. Henderson is without doubt one of our most courageous, valuable and flexible players. While I hope to see him up forward for most of the year, I wouldn't be surprised if Mick swings him down back occasionally for a change of scenery and to keep him sharp. Apart from the odd game, we've always been plagued with an inability to keep the ball bottled up in the forward line if we don't mark it. While we don't have the highest percentage of turnovers, we do have the highest percentage of being scored against when we do turn it over (Champion Data). That's where Smith comes in. A bustling small utility who attacks the ball and the man with equal ferocity that we can play up forward, down back and even through the midfield on occasion addresses something we've really been lacking since time forgot. Smith comes to us from the WAFL where he was able to hold his own against men and if he lives up to even half the hype portrayed by the press and our own recruiting department then I'd expect him to start in round 1.

Rucks: The good thing about Kreuzer is that you almost get another midfielder with him once the ruck contest is completed. Let's hope he stays fit and on the park this year. If he does go down, then I'd expect Woods to get the nod ahead Warnock. Unfortunately for Warnock, I think he's staring down the barrel once his current contract expires, because he just doesn't provide anything but hit outs. Just as HBF alluded as to how Cripps demonstrated he was far too good to be playing in the VFL, the same could be said about Whiley in the NEAFL. In his last four NEAFL games Whiley averaged 39 disposals and 10 clearances, but he averaged 30 disposals and 7 clearances (Champion Data) over the course of the entire season. While GWS used him as a tagger, I'd tend to see this as a waste of his potential output and I'd much prefer to see him used predominately as an inside mid and maybe used in the occasional "run-with" role. Of all the players we acquired during the off-season I'm tipping he'll be the "Smoking Gun Special" in 2015. I must admit that I do take great delight watching the highlight reel where Whiley grabs Pendlebury by the scruff of the neck and tosses him aside like a rag doll. While I expect Murphy to be used more as an outside run-and-carry midfielder this year, like Judd, I think the skipper will be more than pleased the weight of the team's fortunes will be a little more evenly spread around among the playing group now.

Interchange & Sub: You could start Gibbs or Bell on or off the ground...or even at half-forward if you wanted to. Both players excel in the area of clearances, tackles and pressure acts. I don't think it matters when you're a midfielder if you start on or off the bench, because you just know that you're going to be "out of the frying pan and into the fire" 5 minutes of the first bounce. I must admit that it would be tempting to occasionally rest Gibbs up in a forward pocket to create the odd bit of havoc and dobbing a goal or two while he's at it. Either way, both players make it into my best 22. The last spot on the bench goes to Simpson, but it could have just as easily gone to Carrazzo or Curnow depending upon the role required or general injury status of the team. I think the days of having two smalls, in both Yarran and Simpson, running off half-back are now over based upon the acquisition of bigger and more conventional type defenders. While it looked good at times, by god did the opposition punish us time and again when the ball came back the other way at speed or was intercepted. No more I say. The sub position goes to Viojo-Rainbow. I think using him as a "burst player" once the heat has gone out of the game after TQT will suit him down to the ground if he proves he's up to senior footy in some capacity during his first season. I'm the first to admit that that's a big if though. If he does cut the mustard then there'll be speed to burn and goals bombed from outside 50 on the run. I'll try to keep a lid on the kid's Brownlow prospects so as not to place too higher expectations upon him just yet and so that this post may just continue to desperately cling to tiniest shred of credibility. While the starting 22 doesn't have a lock-down tagger as such, both Whiley and Gibbs are more than capable of performing a run-with role when and if required.

Emergencies: Anyone who can effortlessly hit someone lace out from 70m away and has shown the ability to play CHB needs further investigation and for these reasons alone I wouldn't be surprised at all if this Fields plays at some point during the season. Sheehan is still a work in progress, but if he keeps up the good form I'm sure he'll force his way back into the side for some more games. Carrazzo still managed the second most amount of centre clearances last season despite missing eight games, which means he's still a pretty important cog in the machine for us. Form fluctuations, injuries, match-ups and suspensions incurred by others during the season will mean that Carrazzo and Curnow will continue to play quite a few games this year.

Of The Others:
Jones...this bloke had six years without any competition for a spot as a key forward at the Doggies and was given every possible opportunity to succeed...yet still failed. There is no flexibility where Jones is concerned, so if he gets beaten you can't exactly hide him somewhere else if he gets the sulks and refuses to compete. Remember that line about past behaviour dictating future behaviour...I'll leave it at that. Having said that I hope he proves me wrong.
Tutt, tutt, tutt!!! Can someone please explain to me why our Recruiting Department seems totally inept when it comes to learning from the mistakes made by others. Surely we make enough of our own without feeling we absolutely must fulfil a desperate desire to confirm every other clubs' recruitment failings!
Armfield is unlikely to see too many games from now on. One needs to be able to do more than simply run fast to maintain a spot on an AFL list now.
Curnow is still likely to see plenty of game time over the next couple of seasons as explained earlier.
Buckley will need to learn to add another string to his bow if he's to remain relevant on the Blues list in the upcoming seasons. The introduction of bigger bodied midfielders and defenders over the past two years have now put his position in jeopardy and based upon how and where Mick is developing our list SOJ isn't likely to find it any easier to break into the starting 22 as time goes on.
If Tuohy can realign the stars and find his best form then there's probably a spot in this side for him. His crash and bash style of play is right up Mick's alley.
I was really surprised to see that both Ellard and White are both 26 years of age. If they haven't been able to cement a permanent spot in what's been a pretty average Carlton side up to this point then I think they're both probably staring down the barrel when their current contracts expire.
Giles will be in a moon boot until July at the earliest. It will be at least the end of the year before he's put some condition back onto the leg and is used to running again. He won't have played footy for 2 years and has missed the same time of natural development and therefore will need to spend at least a year in the VFL at the very minimum. The absolute earliest you can expect to see him in the seniors will be 2017 which is a full two years away and it'll be an unknown if the club will be prepared to persist for that long.
Holman and Graham have already been passed by the influx of traded players and draftees. Docherty, Dick, Sheehan, Cripps, Thomas, Whiley, Viojo-Rainbow and Smith are all proof of that. I'm sure its not what many here would like to read, but the simple reality is that they're the facts.
We had a bloke who carved out something like an 8 year career based upon a single pre-season game against one G. Abblett. Please don't let Watson be another.
Boekhorst comes across as a bit of an enigma to me. Our Recruiters have supposedly had their eyes on him for 3 or 4 years according to Shane Rogers, yet last year was his first serious year in footy if we're to believe what we're told. Prior to last year he'd only played 25 games over three years in the WAFL and done absolutely nothing that would've caused a recruiter or player-manager to sniff the air and for anyone whose ever seen Liam Picken's nose knows he can detect the scent of fresh recruitment meat from over a continent away. I smell a rat. Boeky is as tall as Viojo-Rainbow yet weighs a full 7kgs less. Stepping up to AFL level elevates one into a completely different class where even the slowest players are generally reasonably adept at closing down exposed real estate. I have doubts about Boeky's strength around the core and therefore may struggle to break clear of the weakest tackle, let alone lay one that may actually stick. I think he'll get found out pretty quickly at AFL level, especially if he doesn't get rid of that bloody top-knot. Wonder if I could use it for target practice lol. Having said all that, if he puts in the work to increase his core strength, put on some weight and he has the determination, Boeky does have all the skills to succeed at AFL Level and potentially be a good player for us.

I'd expect that we'll finish somewhere towards the middle of the ladder this year. It'll take a little time for the team to gel together and work as a unit with so many new faces. I won't lie though, I would expect this side to absolutely decimate Richmond, and I'm talking about by 10 goals plus. I don't think the Tigers will know what hit 'em...but hey, we'll save that preview for another day. If nothing else, I hope the reply has kept you entertained for a few minutes and you've enjoyed the read.

The Smoking Gun... I commend the effort in your post to explain your selections, even though, in my opinion, I would disagree with a few.

SOJ in particular... This fella won't struggle to break into the 22. He is the ideal player for MM. Effort is unquestionable, plays his role, will do anything for the CFC, is respected and liked by team mates, and wants to win. Certainly a chance, if not guaranteed, selection each week.

Just on Smith, I will admit I know very little about the guy, but WAFL is not VFL and VFL is not AFL.

Opinion Best 22 - 2015