6.NoFX-Wall St.
7.Tool-Torquay Oval :eek:
8.Acker Dacker-Meyer Music Bowl :eek::eek:
9.Helmet-Festival Hall
10.The Breeders-Prince of Wales
11.the Buzzcocks-Central Club

Edit:how could I forget

Motorhead-Nunawading skate ranch :eek::eek::eek::eek:

I have not seen many concerts ... so I can pretty much comment on each of them! This list excludes a number of MSO concerts and anything non-music eg a bunch of Rodney Rude features.

Violent Femmes - Metro. Was very drunk on bourbons and had torn old shoes held together with staples. They came apart during concert and when the slamdancing started, people would land on my feet and impale my toes on the staples. The Femmes were probably my favourite concert. They were preceded by the Clouds which were also great.

John Cougar Mellencamp (Lonesome Jubilee) - maybe Melbourne Park? - This was a really good concert, he has very enjoyable music and didn't use any special effects but the band was very vivacious and energetic which made it a lot of fun.

Died Pretty - Corner Hotel, Collingwood Club, Corner Hotel - Lumped them into one number as I was drunk at all of them but I had great experiences of live band music each time. One of the Corner Hotel gigs was preceded by Phil Para. The third concert was my first outing with my (now) wife of 7 years. It was a shame that they every called it quits :(

Nick Cave and Bad Seeds - Palace/Palais. I can't remember which venue as I was very drunk. He was preceded by, umm, Gondwanaland? Not sure. I leant against a partition that formed part of the audio booth and it started to lean over. I and a bloke on the other side stopped it, he glared at me but let me be. By then I was so drunk I was worried I'd be incarcerated for it so I scarpered. I think it was a good concert.

Underground Lovers - Central Club - I was extremely drunk and can only just remember that I really enjoyed this concert!

Raspberry Cordial - John Safran singing "Mr Sheen" and other masterpieces while we, as part of an approximately 15-strong audience, played pool up the back. Very amusing, had no idea who he was at the time. I am still looking for any decent quality recordings of his songs : "Let's Play Matchbox Cars" and "There's No Kangaroos In My Backyard". he was preceded by us getting blind in the public bar. I don't think there was a cover charge. I'd heard him interviewed on the radio earlier that day (or the day before) so encouraged one or two mates to come along and see what it was like.

Bob Dylan - Rod Laver Arena - A lot of fun, he wandered through quite a lot of music. Preceded by Paul Kelly, who my missus remarked is the obvious Dylan cover band.

AC/DC - Rod Laver Arena - Late 90s, which concert was that? We met at ALbion Charles Hotel, Northcote, went to concert, then nailed our butts to barstools at the classy Carlton Club until daybreak. Was a lot of fun, very raucous, though I don't find anything about it overly memorable.

Greenday - Festival Hall. Myself and my two friends were probably the oldest people there. We met at the Savoy Hotel opposite Spencer Street, its closed now :( The concert was quite modest, actually, I attempted to generate some physical interest by attending replete in a Transvision Vamp tee shirt :D After this I made an attempt to get into some pub in Prahran to see 80s Enuff as Futureboy was a mate from the footy who kept trying to get us to go see him play. The bouncer's wouldn't let me in (I reckon it was the Transvision Vamp tee shirt). Luckily got to see 80s Enuff dozens of times later.

80s Enuff - I know its just a pub band, but most of my favourite live band experiences were at the feet of Futureboy and his cohorts. No band that plays Safety Dance should ever go unpatronised. After an unsuccessful attempt to witness them at some pub in Prahran, I saw them first at Transformers, where we had various experiences of fists thrown and police intervention. Fitzroy and Saint Kilda in a room full of alcohol, what do you expect! When they moved to South Melbourne, we followed them, where I was ejected three times by crowd control for excessive dancing, the third ejection unceremoniously removing about 25% of my left hand. Hence a very special place in my heart, 80s Enuff were my favourite live act in music. When Futureboy moved on, so did we.

{dunno who} - Great Britain - Might have been someone like Ned's Atomic Dustbin, I don't fully remember. Nondescript memory of the even, may not have been drunk enough.

Nikki Nicholls/Wendy Stapleton/Lisa Edwards - Fitzroy Club Hotel - As Roys social club members, we were treated to many fun performances by these and other vocalists. We were very, very, drunk, but everything I say about them is true.

The Nazz - Fun cover band we used to see in the late 1980s at the New Boundary in Richmond, before heading down to the Richmond Social Club, and stroking it in various directions. There was another band there at other times, can't remember who they were now. Similar, more covers, can't remember name. Can anyone help?

Mental As Anything - Village Green. At this time, the Village Green was just a great big shed, looked like a VOP grain shed! They were a lot of fun, but I don't think we stayed the whole night. From memory, the preceding act (dunno who) cracked it with the audience for not responding adequately to his music, and gave us all a serve. Or I might have dreamt it.

Weddings, Parties, Anything - Forester's Arms - Had usually only gone here for discos but the WPA were on and a mate and I decided to go and check it out. Not overly memorable, s'ok.

Wow, that might just about be it!

Violent Femmes - Metro. Was very drunk on bourbons and had torn old shoes held together with staples. They came apart during concert and when the slamdancing started, people would land on my feet and impale my toes on the staples. The Femmes were probably my favourite concert. They were preceded by the Clouds which were also great.

there was slam dancing at the violent femmes?

The Nazz - Fun cover band we used to see in the late 1980s at the New Boundary in Richmond, before heading down to the Richmond Social Club, and stroking it in various directions. There was another band there at other times, can't remember who they were now. Similar, more covers, can't remember name. Can anyone help?
Dean & Carruthers?

1.Ministry-Palace
I was at this gig and it was pretty good, but I was so knackered from seeing them front row at the Big Day Out (I was spitting distance from Al Jorgensson the whole time) the day before that I couldn't get into it as much.

For me:

1. Fishbone in '93. Just the most brilliant combination of musical talent and the most phenomenal energy. The two lead singers spent almost as much time in the crowd as they did on stage. I was front row and lost six kilos.

2. Nirvana in '92. Kurt was cranky, it was so hot it rained inside the Palais, the mosh pit was a greased pig contest but it was a cracking gig. I lost five kilos.

3. TISM in '02. The Save Out TISM gig at the Hifi Bar. A best of set list, which included the only time I ever heard them do Morrison Hostel live (and I've seen TISM live nearly thirty times).

4. Queens of the Stone Age in '00. The Rated R tour, I saw them play at the Corner Hotel with about 800 other keen punters and they didn't disappoint.

5. The Dandy Warhols in '00. The Come Down tour, again to a packed house at the Corner.

Add on (in no particular order) the Beastie Boys, Primus, Ministry, the Chemical Brothers, Suicidal Tendencies (with a phenomenally disappointing Alice in Chains) and Roger Waters. I could go on but a top five is a good place to stop.

Dean & Carruthers?

Nope, can't remember name yet. Oh, yes I do .. Captain Spalding. They were a b it more fun than the Nazz.

I also saw Babba at the Angel in Malvern. They were fun. I'm starting to use creative licence as to what constitutes a 'concert' tho, eh? "Joint Heirs" at the local town hall. Kevin Bloody Wilson once at Grosvenor and once at umm some Comedy place.

Oh oh oh!!!! Brian Wilson at Regent .... probably my favoruite!!!

I was at this gig and it was pretty good, but I was so knackered from seeing them front row at the Big Day Out (I was spitting distance from Al Jorgensson the whole time) the day before that I couldn't get into it as much.

For me:

1. Fishbone in '93. Just the most brilliant combination of musical talent and the most phenomenal energy. The two lead singers spent almost as much time in the crowd as they did on stage. I was front row and lost six kilos.

2. Nirvana in '92. Kurt was cranky, it was so hot it rained inside the Palais, the mosh pit was a greased pig contest but it was a cracking gig. I lost five kilos.

3. TISM in '02. The Save Out TISM gig at the Hifi Bar. A best of set list, which included the only time I ever heard them do Morrison Hostel live (and I've seen TISM live nearly thirty times).

4. Queens of the Stone Age in '00. The Rated R tour, I saw them play at the Corner Hotel with about 800 other keen punters and they didn't disappoint.

5. The Dandy Warhols in '00. The Come Down tour, again to a packed house at the Corner.

Add on (in no particular order) the Beastie Boys, Primus, Ministry, the Chemical Brothers, Suicidal Tendencies (with a phenomenally disappointing Alice in Chains) and Roger Waters. I could go on but a top five is a good place to stop.

Would be cheaper, better results and more enjoyable than Jenny Craig!

Cant go past The Prodigy for me. In terms of energy, presence and working a crowd into a frenzy, they were/are kings.

97 at Thebby Theatre for the FOTL tour was the ultimate concert ive been to.

Aussie band...probably Nu Breed.

HM: Fear Factory, Nine Inch Nails, Infusion

pearl jam
radiohead at festival hall.(crap venue but great show)
metallica at music bowl(was front row!)
springsteen at telstra(another ordinary venue but once again i was up close.)

the most memorable for occasion....guns n roses at calder

also faith no more,live(throwing copper tour),something for kate have all been great gigs.
almost forgot the oils

Very envious of the guy earlier on who saw Transvision Vamp.

Just adding a few more remembered gigs :
Black Seed at Sarah Sands.
Beasts Of Bourbon at P.O.W.

There were good bands I used to see at the Intrepid Fox. Cover bands of course, but fun.

Ok that should be all I've seen.

Best for mine was Brian Wilson.

most memorable was probably Slipknot at the Brisbane Convention Centre in 2005 (on their BDO tour). Only because the crowd broke the front barricade and we all had to sit down for 45 minutes and wait for security to extricate about 10 members of the crowd while simultaneously holding the crowd back and fixing the barricade. Corey Taylor came out and told the crowd to cool it, which helped. It was just a surreal experience and an unforgettable one. I'm no huge fan of Slipknot but they are hell enjoyable live, just so intense.

Other good ones have been Dark Tranquility late last year, Opeth and Nile.

Ya slipknot concerts are insane when I saw them I got punched in the kidney from behind by this 210cm monster soon as the mosh pit rushed forward I had to go recover for abit:eek: also there was a girl who had a broken arm a couple more people had minor injuries. The funniest part some druken clown threw a boot on stage, Corey Taylor yelled at him and said Who the f**k throws a boot and threw right back at him excellent:thumbsu:

Yeah I saw Slipknot on their first tour to Aus in 2000. Killer gig. Hadnt hit it that big just yet and it was a medium sized crowd at Thebby Theatre. Was about 45 degrees that day. The heat inside Thebby Theatre that night was ridiculous. The gig itself was crazy. Climbing up the speakers to climb into the booths to jump off and into the moshpit.

Love em or hate em, they put on a great show.

Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds-1987, The Venue
Cosmic Psychos/Hard Ons shows in the '80s The Corner, The Prince Of Wales
Iggy Pop 1989 The Palace
The Stooges 2006 BDO
TISM 1988 The Prince Of Wales
Harem Scarem 1989 The Corner

that Iggy Pop show at the Palace 1989 was in my top gigs of all time. the place should have got heritage protection just for that! damn port phillip city council!

Best Band You Have Seen Live