Not-a-cluey Best FOOTBALL RELATED RUMOUR you have heard from someone you trust Part Deux - Many lies and bullshit in here. Please read OP before posting.

Not helped by Jeff Browne coming out saying they will fight and won't settle.

His exact words were "I'm not prepared to compromise the proceedings by paying any amount of money to make it go away"

I wonder what changed?
Common sense. Sometimes if there is a 50/50 or even 10% chance you will lose, it’s much cheaper to settle. Lawyers make a fortune either way and if the claim is not just completely made up, the judge isn’t going to award the company / club damages & legal bills on top of the Victory. Propensity to pay comes into it.

Not a rumour, but I was reminded by a friend on the weekend of an incident we witnessed in the beer garden of the Apollo Bay pub back in the late 80's on a very busy January arvo.

I was sitting at an outside table with a bunch of mates, and on the table next to us was a group of about half a dozen Hell's Angels bikies, enjoying a few jugs and a counter lunch each. Totally minding their own business, not bothering any other punters.

Sitting on another table near them with a bunch of his hangers-on mates was ex-Fitzroy (and Sydney and Collingwood) player Richard Osbourne, in a white singlet to show off every muscle on his sizeable torso and guns. Really vocal, very very pissed, and plenty of "look at moy" behaviours.

Pretty soon Osbourne started flicking peas from his counter lunch at the table of Hell's Angels blokes, making contact a couple of times, before the smallest of the gang (still about 6ft tall but dwarved in body shape compared to the ex-VFL player - probably just a Prospect tbh) did the honours and walked over behind Osbourne and got him in a headlock. They wrestled to the ground, and broke even in holds and little punches for about 5 minutes, before a couple of security blokes broke it up and sent Osbourne and his mates out of the beer garden. To the rousing cheers of all in attendance, who admired that the HA blokes had put up with way too much for way too long.

Pride damaged, Osbourne refused to make the smart decision and cut his losses, instead preferring to heckle the HA's from the footpath. After a few minutes of this, one of the larger bikies got up from his table and walked over to where Osbourne was mouthing off, suggesting in no uncertain terms that it would be best if he would "**** off right now".

Osbourne didn't take the hint, and gobbed off even more, clearly just big noting himself in front of the packed beer garden. Eventually the HA bloke lost patience and launched one of the biggest haymakers you'd ever see, sending Osbourne flying 2-3 metres airborne and onto the road outside the pub. One side of his face closing up, one of Osbourne's mates finally dragged him away into a waiting car and they took off.

There were about 4 or 5 jugs delivered to the table of the Hell's Angels blokes straight away, including one from me and my mates. They showed incredible tolerance for way longer than you'd expect.

Not a rumour, but I was reminded by a friend on the weekend of an incident we witnessed in the beer garden of the Apollo Bay pub back in the late 80's on a very busy January arvo.

I was sitting at an outside table with a bunch of mates, and on the table next to us was a group of about half a dozen Hell's Angels bikies, enjoying a few jugs and a counter lunch each. Totally minding their own business, not bothering any other punters.

Sitting on another table near them with a bunch of his hangers-on mates was ex-Fitzroy (and Sydney and Collingwood) player Richard Osbourne, in a white singlet to show off every muscle on his sizeable torso and guns. Really vocal, very very pissed, and plenty of "look at moy" behaviours.

Pretty soon Osbourne started flicking peas from his counter lunch at the table of Hell's Angels blokes, making contact a couple of times, before the smallest of the gang (still about 6ft tall but dwarved in body shape compared to the ex-VFL player - probably just a Prospect tbh) did the honours and walked over behind Osbourne and got him in a headlock. They wrestled to the ground, and broke even in holds and little punches for about 5 minutes, before a couple of security blokes broke it up and sent Osbourne and his mates out of the beer garden. To the rousing cheers of all in attendance, who admired that the HA blokes had put up with way too much for way too long.

Pride damaged, Osbourne refused to make the smart decision and cut his losses, instead preferring to heckle the HA's from the footpath. After a few minutes of this, one of the larger bikies got up from his table and walked over to where Osbourne was mouthing off, suggesting in no uncertain terms that it would be best if he would "**** off right now".

Osbourne didn't take the hint, and gobbed off even more, clearly just big noting himself in front of the packed beer garden. Eventually the HA bloke lost patience and launched one of the biggest haymakers you'd ever see, sending Osbourne flying 2-3 metres airborne and onto the road outside the pub. One side of his face closing up, one of Osbourne's mates finally dragged him away into a waiting car and they took off.

There were about 4 or 5 jugs delivered to the table of the Hell's Angels blokes straight away, including one from me and my mates. They showed incredible tolerance for way longer than you'd expect.
I didn't look at this thread for a week and just read through pages of discussion about the U.S Federal Reserve Bank, thinking this thread had a shark underneath it with Fonzie aloft.

Right on cue, you restore sanity to the day with this. Hat tipped.

I'd imagine the Pies were in a similar situation with this grifter. He'd pull every card available to him and draw this process out, Aboriginal card, gay card, they/them card, etc etc. Give the clown a token amount to **** off and never be spoken of again
We can all imagine our own imaginings. That's what imagination is for.

Being a twat runs in the family..

This isn't a rumour; Tim Watson said it on SEN a few weeks ago.

Channel 7 were filming the Bulldogs at the beach during the preseason. I dunno if it was 2024, or when. They had permission from the club. When Bailey Smith realised they had filmed him coming out of the water, he chucked a massive hissy fit and insisted Ch 7 not show him on the news. Ch 7 eventually gave in and didn't show it, because they didn't wanna piss off the club

Watson's words to sum it up were, "so, there's an indication of the type of person they're dealing with", but it was clear he was suggesting he's a precious w@nker :laughv1:

Now this is what this thread is all about!

This isn't a rumour, because Tim Watson said it on SEN a few weeks ago.

Channel 7 were filming the Bulldogs at the beach during the preseason. I dunno if it was 2024, or when. They had permission from the club. When Bailey Smith realised they had filmed him coming out of the water, he chucked a massive hissy fit and insisted Ch 7 not show him on the news. Ch 7 eventually gave in and didn't show it, because they didn't wanna piss off the club

Watson's words to sum it up were, "so, there's an indication of the type of person they're dealing with", but it was clear he was suggesting he's a precious w@nker :laughv1:
I really have a hard time believing that Smith did not want to be filmed without a shirt on coming out of the water

Must’ve been a cold morning and shrinkage was at play.

Decides Terrence Howard GIF

insisted Ch 7 not show him on the news. Ch 7 eventually gave in and didn't show it, because they didn't wanna piss off the club
Is that a big issue? Someone doesn't want to be shown on the news? Whatever the ultimate reason, it doesn't sound unreasonable.

TV news and sport broadcast people have always seemed to act entitled so, yeah sod em.

I don't think the Watson clan really have a leg to stand on in insinuating anyone else is an "entitled w***er". Except maybe from personal experience ;)

On the surface yes. I think it would also ruin the incredible mystique he has built up. My first impression of Shaun Burgoyne going into media was WTF, but he's shown he can handle himself. If Martin did, it would have to be in a very specific way. I can't imagine him joining in a free flowing live commentary panel. He doesn't have the verbal dexterity or basic intellect.

I’ll take things that didn’t happen for $800, thanks.

Nah I reckon it probably happend. Richard Osborne was a real flog back in the day. Knew people who knew him.
Sure… you reckon he went flying 2-3 meters in the air?

Old mates been watching too many action movies, me thinks.

Not-a-cluey Best FOOTBALL RELATED RUMOUR you have heard from someone you trust Part Deux - Many lies and bullshit in here. Please read OP before posting.