Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne

Boney always feels empty then suddenly everyone rushes in and the place is packed. Can happen at 11:30 or even 2am, but it always happens. I haven't lived over there for nearly a year though and my last visit was last winter, so no idea what the go is these days.

I don't even feel like 18 or 19 year olds go to clubs in massive numbers anyway. They all just do the 'I'm gonna attend this event just so I can say I am on facebook' thing, which is lame but hey most people do it. It's more about saving up for a few weeks in southern Europe during your uni break then going to a heap of festivals here in our summer. I mean it's not the worst thing but the nightclub is basically dead; feel I rode the last of it. I still remember joints like the Liberty Social being busy on a Tuesday or promoters trying out short lived nights on Mondays and Tuesdays. There just isn't a market anymore. It wouldn't shock me if a hell hole that appeals to almost everyone ala Anyway is dead at 12am now.

Boney always feels empty then suddenly everyone rushes in and the place is packed. Can happen at 11:30 or even 2am, but it always happens. I haven't lived over there for nearly a year though and my last visit was last winter, so no idea what the go is these days.

I don't even feel like 18 or 19 year olds go to clubs in massive numbers anyway. They all just do the 'I'm gonna attend this event just so I can say I am on facebook' thing, which is lame but hey most people do it. It's more about saving up for a few weeks in southern Europe during your uni break then going to a heap of festivals here in our summer. I mean it's not the worst thing but the nightclub is basically dead; feel I rode the last of it. I still remember joints like the Liberty Social being busy on a Tuesday or promoters trying out short lived nights on Mondays and Tuesdays. There just isn't a market anymore. It wouldn't shock me if a hell hole that appeals to almost everyone ala Anyway is dead at 12am now.
Anyway is dead completely. Goneski.

True. Although it has been a decade since my clubbing days I do notice places are full earlier and empty later when it used to be the opposite. e.g. Pubs after the footy/event in summer used to be packed after night games dead after twilight/arvo. Now it is the opposite. People tend to go early/not bother/just go to someones house.

Night games used to shit me a bit as if there was a good game on Friday and Saturday, I'd basically be off the beers all weekend.

As a 19-year old it was always pretty tough.

should be a few select joints open on the weekend that will all be pretty packed
Yes there are usually venues open on the weekend.

However the weekend is like four, five nights long this time around and he’s wondering what specific places will be happening specially on Thursday.

If you mean the actual Friday night, Revs will be. I haven't seen many other places open on the Friday night, most are Thursday, Saturday, Sunday.
Dude I haven’t seen you post for years. You still go out? I know you used to head to Wahs and TFU. Do they still operate?

Wah closed down in 2016 and is now like this Alice in Wonderland themed bar, TFU has moved to Brown Alley on a Sunday. Not sure whats happening to the venue that TFU used to be which was next door to Wah. TFU is still going strong as far as I know, the club scene has died pretty badly since places like Wah, Korova, TFU Saturdays etc. closed as it's pretty much just Cloud Nine/Levels and the variety just isn't there like it used to be.

I went out last weekend for the first time in probably 6-7 months, to Revs. Pretty much stopped going out after stumbling out of Jungle at 12pm Sunday afternoon and looking around and just thinking wtf am I doing haha.

Wah closed down in 2016 and is now like this Alice in Wonderland themed bar, TFU has moved to Brown Alley on a Sunday. Not sure whats happening to the venue that TFU used to be which was next door to Wah. TFU is still going strong as far as I know, the club scene has died pretty badly since places like Wah, Korova, TFU Saturdays etc. closed as it's pretty much just Cloud Nine/Levels and the variety just isn't there like it used to be.

I went out last weekend for the first time in probably 6-7 months, to Revs. Pretty much stopped going out after stumbling out of Jungle at 12pm Sunday afternoon and looking around and just thinking wtf am I doing haha.
Excellently put.

Why did Korova stop? Lease expired?
Also pretty sure the TFU next to Wah closed down cause of the raids and negative media.

j0rdy1 do you do drugs or did you towards the end? Or drink? I remember you were sober all your nights out and I actually really respected that you were just a young guy into music and the vibe of heading out, rather than getting really cactus.

Sort of sad to hear about Wah; wild. I used to go there a little bit in about 2013-2014. I think on a Wednesday? It was never my or my mate's scene whatsoever and we were the only blokes in shirts – in fact even a t-shirt, with sleeves and all, was a rarity – but I still have memories of them, even if they aren't totally romantic.

Excellently put.

Why did Korova stop? Lease expired?
Also pretty sure the TFU next to Wah closed down cause of the raids and negative media.
I believe Korova stopped because the guys behind Mischief Makers had a huge falling out over something which I'm not entirely sure what exactly it was but there was some huge negative backlash towards one of them, and who do you think took Mischief Makers the guy everyone now hated. Which I think led to everyone pretty much deserting anything related to Mischief Makers.
Oh yeah I remember the raids and arrests but I wasn't sure if that was the reason the venue ceased to operate at all, as I actually really liked that venue even if the top floor became a sauna, probably had one of the best nights out tripping balls at that TFU venue and just staring at the disco ball while Keesh was playing.

Vic Best nightspots to go in Melbourne