• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Best players in Country Vic

Doona2 said:
Yeah reckon Ive heard that of Sutton, was up around Denilliquin way I think?

Sutton played everywhere kicked 150 for robinvale and is one of only about 3 or 4 to kick a hundred in darwin absolute gun but a loose cannon from all reports

journeyman said:
Consistently over 200 might be extending it a bit but he did kick over 200 on a few occassions
Thats unreal mate. I thought you were exagerating but he obviously has done it. Also to kick a ton in the NTFL is also a huge effort. 200 in a season anywhere is massive. I would love to have seen him play!:thumbsu:

FROGDOG17 said:
Thats unreal mate. I thought you were exagerating but he obviously has done it. Also to kick a ton in the NTFL is also a huge effort. 200 in a season anywhere is massive. I would love to have seen him play!:thumbsu:

Yeh, there's heaps of stories about Sutton - every couple of years he usually gets an article written about him and was on 'up country punt' (radio segment) maybe 2-3yrs ago..enthralling interview, actually, went to mountains of different clubs, kicked mountains of goals and shagged mountains of women, by all reports..Have a great mate who used to play for Strathmerton in the late 80's, early 90's and said in 4 games against Strathy, Sutton kicked almost 100 goals!!:eek: Over 20 goals in each of the 4 games he played against them..kicked the odd couple over his head 'to save time having to go back and line them up...'

By all reports was very athletic, pretty big, and an awesome boxer, but was just a complete nutter..

Saw Sutton play at Toc in 88 I think - in a final
He was coaching Deni at the time
Took a mark 35 metres out directly in front as he was walking back to take the kick snapped the ball over his head for a major
Did not look around at the result just directed his teammates up the ground

One of the best i have seen is Salim Hassan who played with Donald. Was on Port Adelaides rookie list when they won the flag. Is now currently playing for Werribee. Has anyone seen or heard of Sal?

sparra said:
Saw Sutton play at Toc in 88 I think - in a final
He was coaching Deni at the time
Took a mark 35 metres out directly in front as he was walking back to take the kick snapped the ball over his head for a major
Did not look around at the result just directed his teammates up the ground

Sutton was at Deni in the early 80's - 81-83. Kicked 140 and 220. Amazingly though Deni didn't make a GF in his time. Heard if you didn't pass to him you got dragged. He was on 199 and marked in the square and kicked over his head and hit the post, 5 minutes later did the same only to goal to bring up 200.

X Man said:
One of the best i have seen is Salim Hassan who played with Donald. Was on Port Adelaides rookie list when they won the flag. Is now currently playing for Werribee. Has anyone seen or heard of Sal?

Played at Robinvale in 2001.

Yaaablett said:
Played at Robinvale in 2001.

True Yaaablett then went up to Darwin and came back and played for Donald in the 2002 premiership. Did you rate him when you saw him at Robinvale a very angry little player at times???

The Sharpe Man (RDFL GM) said:
Good thread this. I reckon there is a bloke at Darley FC (Ballarat FL) called Rob McMahon who plays CHF. He would have to be the best CHF in country footy - absolute rolls royce !

Is that the same Rob Mcmahon who was a top 10 draft pick with fitzroy a couple of years before the folded and also spent time on the hawks list??
Gippsland boy

ant22 said:
Is that the same Rob Mcmahon who was a top 10 draft pick with fitzroy a couple of years before the folded and also spent time on the hawks list??
Gippsland boy

Roota McMahon is still playing at Darley but is having his season in patches as he has now moved to China with is wife working. He played the first 3 games and kicked 21 goals but in his latest 2 game spell broke his jaw and kicked only 2 goals.

Will be back finals time for the devils and is a grea player when firing.

thekid178 said:
have we mentioned dan jordan in there from east point?

last month he's kicked somehthing like 14, 15, 9 16.

massive unit and just has the dukes working all day.
Great footballer. Had the pleasure of watching him at St Bernards and also in WAFL. Even if he's not kicking goals, he works hard to provide assists. Only his first year in country footy and could definitely be playing in a higher league than BFL.

Bigfan said:
Great footballer. Had the pleasure of watching him at St Bernards and also in WAFL. Even if he's not kicking goals, he works hard to provide assists. Only his first year in country footy and could definitely be playing in a higher league than BFL.

I hear from a good source that Port Adelaide in the AFL are keen to get him over and do a pre-season with them before the 2007 afl season. Will be interesting to see if he has a crack.

Watched Derrek Filo play in a few games. Is an absolute gun. Had opportunities to head down to Melbourne but never took them. Got a brother Shawn coaching Kerang, tough character,would be one of the most courageous players going around. i agree with Johnny Brunner from Murray league...awesome to watch just runs all day. The gemmil brothers were great. jason griffin from Golden square would be a talkable player also. Brendan Shepherd and Stephen Oliver from Castlemaine would be up there also.

CLIFTON WANNABE said:
Watched Derrek Filo play in a few games. Is an absolute gun. Had opportunities to head down to Melbourne but never took them. Got a brother Shawn coaching Kerang, tough character,would be one of the most courageous players going around. i agree with Johnny Brunner from Murray league...awesome to watch just runs all day. The gemmil brothers were great. jason griffin from Golden square would be a talkable player also. Brendan Shepherd and Stephen Oliver from Castlemaine would be up there also.

Shep has been playing with Kerang for the past 2 years with Shawn

BOBCAT said:
..Robbie won 11 B&F and 3 OMFL medals in 13 years at Rovers...a footy freak

He did win 11 Best Fairests in twelve years, And he actually won 5 Morris Medals (OMFL Medals) 1991,1997,1999,2001,2003. Easily the best country footballer i have seen

Just like to throw a guy in for Metro boys. And i know this is a in country Vic B.Ps thread. Danny Campbell from Oak Park. Have watched the guy for 10 weeks now up here in the Riverina and this lad can play. Anyone from down there seen him go round?

roaring tiger said:
I hear from a good source that Port Adelaide in the AFL are keen to get him over and do a pre-season with them before the 2007 afl season. Will be interesting to see if he has a crack.

Wouldn't surprise me if he didn't - doesn't seem to be as serious about his footy as he could be. Plays because he likes to be with the boys.

CLIFTON WANNABE said:
Had the pleasure of playing with shawn for a few years and agree 100% one of the most courageous ive seen.A fearless leader who hates losing

best player in the Geelong And District Football League GDFL is Aaron Broom. plays for bannockburn and has been training and playing a few games with geelong VFL. hard worker and great hands and feet.

koop26 said:
best player in the Geelong And District Football League GDFL is Aaron Broom. plays for bannockburn and has been training and playing a few games with geelong VFL. hard worker and great hands and feet.

They reckon Ex-Esssendon player Marc 'Bulldog' Bullen is killing it for Shepparton Swans. Great player who would be good still at AFL.

Great to see him playing at Maribyrnong Park F.C next year when they hopefully make A Grade.

Matthew Pillios said:
They reckon Ex-Esssendon player Marc 'Bulldog' Bullen is killing it for Shepparton Swans. Great player who would be good still at AFL.

Great to see him playing at Maribyrnong Park F.C next year when they hopefully make A Grade.
Has signed legal document at heidelberg for next year . Robbie walker the best country footballer best metro Jamie spider Shaw :cool:

koop26 said:

What about Jason Fastuca from Werribee Centrals from the same league?
BOG every week a couple of leagur b and f's, in the Vic country team for this weeks championships

chopsewie said:
Has signed legal document at heidelberg for next year . Robbie walker the best country footballer best metro Jamie spider Shaw :cool:

Has Bullen really signed for Heidelberg? Is that where Justin Murphy plays?

Best players in Country Vic