List Mgmt. Best side for start of 2025

Based on recent history, I would say that - in this instance - you are objectively wrong. Teakle’s inclusion was one of the main reasons we could begin kicking competitive scores. His 6 or so possessions, 1-2 contested marks and goal were actually vital for us to get the ball beyond half-forward.

Whether or not he is displaced by Darling is another thing, but to say North is a lesser team with his inclusion is inaccurate.
Teakle did give us some structure up forward but he was uncompetitive in the ruck. Comben is far better as a relief ruck. With Teakle's forward role taken by Darling, he should just be a break glass option now.

Is this something that can't be worked on? Remember most of our thoughts on X this time last year?

A lot of things can be worked on. I reckon it's about time we got back to the VFL being the place to work on most of them.

I didn't share those thoughts on X. But you're right, he could improve, though Port tried for a while and didn't get anywhere either. It might click for him this preseason, though to me, both Comben and Maley look better relief ruck options at the moment and have greater potential for improvement in both the forward and ruck roles.

Best 22 round 1

B: Archer - Logue - Corr
HB: Daniel - Chom - McDonald
C: O'Sullivan - Wardlaw - McKercher
HF: Parker - Darling - Powell
FF: Curtis - Larkey - Zurhaar
R: Xerri - Sheezel - LDU

Int: Duursma, Scott, Simpkin, Teakle
Sub: Tucker

Ideally we'd have Goater for McDonald but I reckon Clarko might want to get him up to speed in the 2's for a few weeks.
Teakle is purely in to give X a chop out when he needs it.

I'll give it a try

B: Archer - Logue - Corr
HB: Daniel - W. Dawson - McDonald
C: Scott - Wardlaw - McKercher
HF: Parker - Chom - Zurhaar
FF: Curtis - Larkey - Darling
R: Xerri - Sheezel - LDU

B. O'Sullivan, Powell, Teakle, Simpkin, Z Fisher

E: Duursma, Tucker, Bergman
We are not moving/progressing up the ladder if that ****ing spud plays. He is the biggest ****ing liability with ball in hand. He cannot play. We should be in closer games in 2025, if Happy meal is anywhere near the pill in those clutch, key moments.. we lose the games. No more!

Yeah reckon Teakle gets a bit more time in the guts and ties us over for the next 18 months until Goad goes tandem with X as a full time ruck tandem.

You might be right. It's a given that we continue to play our young stars out of position for as long as possible.
Im not sure Kerch is a wing. He’s arguably our best ball user, its almost a must to have that skill on half back. 2 of em. Daniel and Kerch and eventually will wind up in Mid rotations.. its a serious weapon

Wouldn’t make any changes, but McDonald is on thin ice
skating next to him on the same pond is Fisher and Stephens.

This list is so much better to look at than this time last year. People screaming to play Sellers (poor fella) and expecting chocolates from Pink and Biggy, when only boiled lollies were on offer. Pink has at least made it to the 2025 list and is giving it his best shot. Seems a great clubman and is dedicated to the cause despite his limitations. Can’t ask for more than that.

Has there been any hint from training that Fisher could be used forward this year? I've seen a few teams with both him and Daniel. If they are both meant to be in as HBFers, I don't think we can do that. Simply too easy for oppo teams to find mismatches on the way to goal if they are both on the field.

If Wilson plays we can't play Teakle as I think we get a bit tall. Hoping to see Wilson R1.

I'm happy with the idea of starting with Ford and having Duursma let us know on the park when he is ready.

I'm sure we'll see plenty of FOS next year but it won't be a bad thing if isn't in R1. Especially if we do end up running with Fisher and Daniel through hbf, adding a lightish first gamer to the rotations is a concern.

We are not moving/progressing up the ladder if that ****ing spud plays. He is the biggest ****ing liability with ball in hand. He cannot play. We should be in closer games in 2025, if Happy meal is anywhere near the pill in those clutch, key moments.. we lose the games. No more!
Don't stress old mate, I've heard from a very reliable source that he is going to retire so no worries with that one.

Im not sure Kerch is a wing. He’s arguably our best ball user, its almost a must to have that skill on half back. 2 of em. Daniel and Kerch and eventually will wind up in Mid rotations.. its a serious weapon

Not sure you can have both Daniel and McKercher in the same backline. They're one on one defensive capability could be costly.

Has there been any hint from training that Fisher could be used forward this year? I've seen a few teams with both him and Daniel. If they are both meant to be in as HBFers, I don't think we can do that. Simply too easy for oppo teams to find mismatches on the way to goal if they are both on the field.

If Wilson plays we can't play Teakle as I think we get a bit tall. Hoping to see Wilson R1.

I'm happy with the idea of starting with Ford and having Duursma let us know on the park when he is ready.

I'm sure we'll see plenty of FOS next year but it won't be a bad thing if isn't in R1. Especially if we do end up running with Fisher and Daniel through hbf, adding a lightish first gamer to the rotations is a concern.
Make 'em both mini swingmen I say. Like Chom, notch 'em up as assets you can deploy anywhere. Daniel is a gun small forward. Make their positional unpredictability a tactical advantage.

B: Corr Logue Archer
HB: Goater Comben Daniel
C: McKercher Davies-Uniacke Scott
HF: Ford Darling Parker
F: Curtis Larkey Zurhaar
R: Xerri Wardlaw Sheezel
I: Duursma Simpkin Powell O’Sullivan
S: Phillips

This really should be the round 1 side. If we’re serious about climbing the ladder and making progress then we need to continue to put games into Goater, Ford, Duursma, etc

We need to start looking past Tucker, Fisher, Pink, McDonald, Stephens, Coleman-Jones and use them as depth.

I've gotta say, seeing Darling as the only other key forward in everyone's teams is not filling me with confidence. There was cope at the time from everyone, myself included, but I can very easily see him being an on-field disaster

This really should be the round 1 side. If we’re serious about climbing the ladder and making progress then we need to continue to put games into Goater, Ford, Duursma, etc

We need to start looking past Tucker, Fisher, Pink, McDonald, Stephens, Coleman-Jones and use them as depth.

Agree that we must be serious about climbing the ladder. To do that we need to win games.

Im not sure that your team will be ready round 1.

Goater - can’t see him being ready to go round 1 unless it’s as a sub. I’d bring in Tucker and by years end, hope Goater is back to one of our most promising youngsters rebounding off half back and defending well.

Dursma vs Ford imo. I like both and would like to see ford given plenty of opportunity in a make or break year. Durs is coming from that far back running wise, his sheer talent doesn’t surpass “win now”. If ford is quiet then make durs earn his spot. I’d have fisher or Lmac in for durs. Realistically Lmac will play round 1. You just know it.

Phillips sub is my last query. A centre square mid is just not needed when you have

LDU
Warlord
Sheez
Powell
Parker
Simpkin

Kerch?
FOS?

So my sub options given everything I’ve said above would be

Goater
Fisher (potentially playing forward)
RHJ (if he continues to improve over the pre season)

Totally agree about Stephens, and obviously CCJ. Those guys are playing every game in the vfl. Pink shouldn’t play unless there are a heap of injuries.

Archer - Corr - Comben

Goater - Logue - Daniel

McKercher - Parker - Scott

Sheezel - Darling - Duursma

Zurhaar - Larkey - Curtis

Xerri - LDU - Wardlaw

Simpkin - Powell - O’Sullivan - Ford

Sub: Phillips

Emergencies: Hardeman - McDonald - Teakle - Fisher

That’s a depressing list of depth.

Made even worse when you consider their ages.

They should be in their prime years, leading this club.

Where's this Colby on a wing stuff come from? I think we'll see this differently when the intra club stuff starts.

List Mgmt. Best side for start of 2025