List Mgmt. Best side for start of 2025

Picked it like a dirty nose on Jan 5. Only change I'd consider at this stage outside of Ford for Scott, would be KDawson for WDawson. But:

B: Archer Logue Corr
HB: CD WDawson Hardeman
C: Powell Parker McKercher
HF: Duursma Comben Sheezel
F: Zurhaar Larkey Curtis
R: Xerri LDU Wardlaw
I/C: Simpkin Ford Phillips Darling

Sub: Harvey

Em: O'Sullivan Goater Urquhart Goad Maley KDawson George Whitlock RHJ Bergman

If 1st XVIII player injured, their replacements: Fisher, Scott, McDonald, Tucker, Stephens, Teakle.

Next: Payne, CCJ

Looks good.

Comben to lock down CHF, no switching, no nothing. Just do.

Jy said in his interview this morning that Comben will be playing mostly back. So you didn't "Pick it".

B: Archer, Logue, Corr
HB: Fisher, Comben, Daniel
C: Scott, Wardlaw, McKercher
HF: Simpkin, Darling, Parker
F: Zurhaar, Larkey, Curtis
R: Xerri, Davies-Uniacke, Sheezel

I: Powell, Phillips, McDonald, O'Sullivan, W.Dawson

Picked it like a dirty nose on Jan 5. Only change I'd consider at this stage outside of Ford for Scott, would be KDawson for WDawson. But:

HB: CD WDawson Hardeman
C: Powell Parker McKercher
HF: Duursma Comben Sheezel
F: Zurhaar Larkey Curtis
R: Xerri LDU Wardlaw
I/C: Simpkin Ford Phillips Darling

Sub: Harvey

Em: O'Sullivan Goater Urquhart Goad Maley KDawson George Whitlock RHJ Bergman

If 1st XVIII player injured, their replacements: Fisher, Scott, McDonald, Tucker, Stephens, Teakle.

Next: Payne, CCJ

Looks good.

Comben to lock down CHF, no switching, no nothing. Just do.
nah refer to my post back in november that is picking it
senior team
HB: Fisher Comben Daniel
C: McKercher LDU FOS
HF: Curtis Darling Parker
F: Simpkin Larkey Zurhaar
R: Xerri Sheezel Wardlaw
I: Wilphil Teakle Powell Duursma
S: konstanty

Seconds
B: McDonald W Dawson K Dawson
HB: Goater M Whitlock Hardeman
C: Scott Urquhart Bergman
HF: Harvey Finnbar Ford
F: RHJ CCJ Payne
R: Goad Tucker Stephens
I: Stevens Pink

Brayden george

Agree. Unless his form is a debacle or injured the only way I don't see him in is if they decide a player like Wardlaw is a small forward to start the year (ie. not going to happen). We can't keep rolling out a mid+ sized forward line.
If we start playing a dedicated small (or, god forbid, two), which we should, we're going to have a major logjam for the medium forward roles. All of Sheezel, Zurhaar, Parker, Curtis, Simpkin, Ford and Duursma will be competing.

Then if we play dedicated fwd/ruck (Teakle/Maley) alongside Larkey and Darling there's probably max four places maximum for that group.

Ford and Duursma might be playing a fair bit as sub this year and would mean there would be no room for a other dedicated midfielder like Phillips.

Example side with a full complement of forward role players:

HB: Daniel Comben McDonald

C: Scott LDU McKercher

HF: Sheezel Darling Simpkin

F: Hansen Larkey Parker

Foll: Xerri Wardlaw Powell

Int: Zurhaar, Curtis, Teakle, Hardeman

Sub: Ford

Emer: Phillips, Duursma, Tucker, Fisher

A Good Problem to have but also a massive logjam for those roles. I think for now we can't play another tall, Phillips will come in and Darling rucks. Duursma's slow preseason takes some selection pressure off also.

Jy said in his interview this morning that Comben will be playing mostly back. So you didn't "Pick it".
The team. Maybe I got 1 position wrong, doesn't mean I was wrong.

That you focused on that particular error says more about you, than it will ever about me or my reasoning. Obviously common sense is not part of your upbringing. We have how many Key Defenders? How many developing?

We have how many Key Forwards you can count on? 1.25? Maybe 2 if you count Zaida Darling.

Better Smarten Up, as you're pretty loose already, if that is your hill on which you wish to acclimate.

The team. Maybe I got 1 position wrong, doesn't mean I was wrong.

That you focused on that particular error says more about you, than it will ever about me or my reasoning. Obviously common sense is not part of your upbringing. We have how many Key Defenders? How many developing?

We have how many Key Forwards you can count on? 1.25? Maybe 2 if you count Zaida Darling.

Better Smarten Up, as you're pretty loose already, if that is your hill on which you wish to acclimate.

Scott will more than likely be playing Round 1 barring injury, so 2 errors.

P.S: Have a cry mate!

If we start playing a dedicated small (or, god forbid, two), which we should, we're going to have a major logjam for the medium forward roles. All of Sheezel, Zurhaar, Parker, Curtis, Simpkin, Ford and Duursma will be competing.

Then if we play dedicated fwd/ruck (Teakle/Maley) alongside Larkey and Darling there's probably max four places maximum for that group.

Ford and Duursma might be playing a fair bit as sub this year and would mean there would be no room for a other dedicated midfielder like Phillips.

Example side with a full complement of forward role players:

HB: Daniel Comben McDonald

C: Scott LDU McKercher

HF: Sheezel Darling Simpkin

F: Hansen Larkey Parker

Foll: Xerri Wardlaw Powell

Int: Zurhaar, Curtis, Teakle, Hardeman

Sub: Ford

Emer: Phillips, Duursma, Tucker, Fisher

A Good Problem to have but also a massive logjam for those roles. I think for now we can't play another tall, Phillips will come in and Darling rucks. Duursma's slow preseason takes some selection pressure off also.
Darling can't ruck. It's either Moose, Teaks or Goad; or Xerri goes alone with Chom and Larks taking rucks inside 50.

nah refer to my post back in november that is picking it
Like it. Not sure about Konstanty but you could be correct. Teakle is the other one.

If Zaida Darling doesn't Ruck a bit then I'm not sure why we wouldn't play Goad or Axe-Maley for a bit of a different look as in someone who can take a contested grab, as that would be nice.

I'll salute you for 21/23 and stupidly early too. You are Nostra after all.

Scott, again shouldn't be in the team as he looks like a runt and plays like one. Yay he can run - so what. He's an ordinary kick and has no physical presence

I haven't cried about footy since '94 Prelim. I'm due.
Will you be saying this when we have our first fourth-quarter fadeout this year and Scott is still going at the same clip he was in the first, whilst his teammates shit the bed?

Yay he can run - so what.
We're talking about a team that's been burned on transition regularly since 2020/21 due to a mix of ball use/poor execution, structure/personnel ahead of the footy, and poor running capacity as a unit. Scott has been one of the few able to put in an AFL standard shift up and down the wing in the blue and white. The game is only going to get quicker this season

Will you be saying this when we have our first fourth-quarter fadeout this year and Scott is still going at the same clip he was in the first, whilst his teammates shit the bed?
Good point. In saying that, would we be out of breath if we didn't have to track back and cover his ordinary disposal in the first instance. I also reckon we're a bit fitter than we have been in previous years.

He'll play but it would be nice to play an attacking wingman which requires attention.

We're talking about a team that's been burned on transition regularly since 2020/21 due to a mix of ball use/poor execution, structure/personnel ahead of the footy, and poor running capacity as a unit. Scott has been one of the few able to put in an AFL standard shift up and down the wing in the blue and white. The game is only going to get quicker this season

Having improved fitness accross the board should help considerably. As should/will hitting more targets and not missing tackles due to being boys against men. We're getting bigger, stronger and fitter, it will help.

Good point. In saying that, would we be out of breath if we didn't have to track back and cover his ordinary disposal in the first instance. I also reckon we're a bit fitter than we have been in previous years.

He'll play but it would be nice to play an attacking wingman which requires attention.

Having improved fitness accross the board should help considerably. As should/will hitting more targets and not missing tackles due to being boys against men. We're getting bigger, stronger and fitter, it will help.
Agree re: point attacking wing(implying a def wingman). McKercher to me screams attacking wing ahead of CBAs; Tucker seems a pure def wing on the otherside in comparison, but Scott absolutely has a role to hold structure and gut run the lines in my view

Give me FOS and mckercher on the wings over bailey Scott

In time, but I think we need to manage the downside risk (i.e. turnovers) near term before we start launching from both wings. Having a def-focused wing on the thin side I feel will be the go. I definitely think we can both in future however given what looks to be a clearance-dominant side going forward

Agree re: point attacking wing(implying a def wingman). McKercher to me screams attacking wing ahead of CBAs; Tucker seems a pure def wing on the otherside in comparison, but Scott absolutely has a role to hold structure and gut run the lines in my view
Not sure I agree on McKercher.

He will be that damaging straight line runner that explodes from centre bounces.

Not sure I agree on McKercher.

He will be that damaging straight line runner that explodes from centre bounces.
Absolutely agree, I think he has the frame for a boomer-type build (shoulders, arms, fast twitch fibres waist down) that can completely blow out stoppages with LDU/wardlaw/phillips sharking/handing off the pill, but in '25 I'm not sure he needs to be there outside of experience purposes. He is still learning to cop the hits which will only get harder the better he gets

List Mgmt. Best side for start of 2025