BFL Thread

Weatherzone and the BOM dispute your forecast greatly. Unless you know something that they don't. No weather warnings are imminent for Ballarat, so I'm confident of a good day:

BOM Forecast for Ballatat this Saturday:

12-25 degrees

Cloudy. High (70%) chance of showers, most likely from the late morning. The chance of a thunderstorm in the afternoon and evening. Winds northerly 25 to 30 km/h increasing to 30 to 40 km/h in the middle of the day then shifting cooler west to northwesterly 25 to 40 km/h in the early afternoon.

Have a great weekend, keep dry and enjoy the footy.

Screenshot_20170922-210102.png

Weatherzone and the BOM dispute your forecast greatly. Unless you know something that they don't. No weather warnings are imminent for Ballarat, so I'm confident of a good day:

BOM Forecast for Ballatat this Saturday:

12-25 degrees

Cloudy. High (70%) chance of showers, most likely from the late morning. The chance of a thunderstorm in the afternoon and evening. Winds northerly 25 to 30 km/h increasing to 30 to 40 km/h in the middle of the day then shifting cooler west to northwesterly 25 to 40 km/h in the early afternoon.

Have a great weekend, keep dry and enjoy the footy.

You are delusional. Slammer nailed it. The whole joint should have been bulldozed

No worries, I hope for the BFL's sake that you are wrong and that everybody associated with the game has a great day. Enjoy the remainder of your weekend. :thumbsu:

I sort of hope I'm wrong too, but then part of me wants it to blow the roof off and make it a crap day to teach Saxon House a lesson and make them think twice about the choice of venue in future.

I think that they are resurfacing the city and eastern ovals ATM and the eastern oval is getting new and much brighter lighting soon. So they will certainly have a choice.

Make no sense slammer. Why would anyone laugh at a club that has lifted itself off the bottom of the ladder, increased membership and is looking better for next year. Your comment is laughable at best. With that mind frame we all may as well laugh at Bacchus for dominating this year. If we want to really laugh, let's all have a giggle at Darley, powerhouse start to the year then went titts up. Not laughing now. They won't make the gf. Before you say it, nor will the panthers but we will have a red hot go. Lastly, come have a beer at bay 13 for the last game, gladly give you one
Well Darley are the premiers for 2017. Don't think many saw that coming after the Marsh spanked them in round 15 by 64 points. After watching the 2nd semi and the Granny I can't believe how far Darley have come in the last 6 weeks. Full credit to Scotland for turning their season around. The Marsh seemed to be a shadow of the team they were in the home and away. Hodgson would be extremely disappointed with there finish to the year.

Well done to all people involved with Darley on winning the flag. The way they setup forward of the footy was the one of the major reasons for winning so easily. As an impartial supporter the Marsh relied on too few to get the result. Sherlock was one of the better players especially in the winning the ball from the stoppages. However moving him to Centre Half Forward in the last quarter was puzzling. Marsh didn't really engineer anything from the coaches box to stem the momentum during the second and third quarters. Which meant the game was well and truly over by the 20 minute mark of the third. The Graham brothers were good contributors but the game was win was setup by the steadfast back 6 of Darley.

Deserving win to Darley. The best coach in the league got it done when it mattered in September. Also handy in that he is still one of the best players in the league.
To win both seniors and reserves is a great achievement.
Now on to next year. Can't wait for all of the Melton South talk over the next 6 months. Tell us all how good you are going to be all over again.

Deserving win to Darley. The best coach in the league got it done when it mattered in September. Also handy in that he is still one of the best players in the league.
To win both seniors and reserves is a great achievement.
Now on to next year. Can't wait for all of the Melton South talk over the next 6 months. Tell us all how good you are going to be all over again.
Give it a rinse slamma

Yeah I might.
Wonder now North not being in the VFL will impact this league. As I guess you would expect the Ballarat teams to benefit next year.

Not necessarily. I think 7 or 8 are Sebastopol listed so they would be hoping a few of those drop back but realistically you'd expect the better players would be picked up by other VFL clubs and stay in that system. A lot are from Colac/Warrnambool area, Mallee region etc as well so may not stay in Ballarat. A couple of Marsh boys there too.

Which is exactly what happened when Bendigo got the flick

Be nice if there was a club to benefit that it is Sebas.
Wonder if we will see any big improvers next year. Can't see Marsh or Darley dropping off. Lakers will probably finish top again then disappear come finals, Redan and Sunbury always play finals. So maybe again only one spot up for grabs.

Yeah I might.
Wonder now North not being in the VFL will impact this league. As I guess you would expect the Ballarat teams to benefit next year.
The better Roosters players like Rippon, Kiel, Hooper probably end up at another VFL club. Some of the younger ones would still have AFL aspirations so would also be looking for another VFL club. There were quite a few players studying at Ballarat Uni, so that may keep some of them around Ballarat. I doubt that Sebas end up with many unless Lockyer takes on the coaching job there, him being an ex-Sebas junior. I’m guessing Lakers and Redan will be the big winners from this with so many ex-roosters on their lists already, Clifton, Peters, Anderson etc at Lakers, Stephenson, Horbury, Giampaolo etc at Redan. Don’t know that North City pick up many. These are 4 or 5-pointers too, if they don’t go to their home club, so no club will take more than 3 you would think??

I wasn't able to get to the Roosters member's Information Night last night due to not being able to get away from work early enough, I would be interested to know what transpired. Ther's been nothing posted on social media or in the The Courier yet.

HOORAY!!! :partypooper: :partypooper: :partypooper:
From today's Courier

CITY Oval’s fire track is gone with reconstruction works at the ground well underway. Removal of the track, unpopular with many sporting crowds, was one of the first moves in the City of Ballarat upgrade project.

This will bring a realigned football ground closer to grandstand spectators and club rooms. The turf wicket has also been removed and remaining grass killed off in preparation for a new high-quality surface that will bring the venue in line with surface works already complete at Alfredton Oval, Marty Busch Reserve (Sebastopol), CE Brown Reserve (Lake Wendouree) and Mars Stadium.

City of Ballarat mayor Samantha McIntosh said new turf was expected to be laid later this year. “It is anticipated the project will be completed and ready for use by the start of the 2018 football season,” Cr McIntosh said.

City Oval is home to Redan Football Netball Club, Ballarat Football Umpires Association and Ballarat Football Netball League headquarters Saxon House. Cricket tenant Ballarat-Redan moved its firsts back to a new turf wicket at its club base Alfredton last season.

Hopefully, when the Eastern Oval gets its major lighting upgrade soon, the Council might relocate the old lights to the City Oval to give Redan a decent floodlit ground.

You can't gave a council spend what they have at Eureka and then not play the gf there...especially now the roosters are cactus
The Roosters aren't dead and buried yet. They will likely come back into the VFL but not as a North Ballarat franchise. Their proposals involve splitting the VFL franchise away from the club as a separate administered entity under a GWV name. There are other things that they also have to do (or prove) before they will convince AFL Victoria. I still think that John Nevett is sticking his head in the sand in terms of his perceptions of the relationship between the Board and the Team and Coaching Staff. There is his version where he reckons that the relationship is good and then there is the player's and coaching staff's version where they tell a very different story.

Their re-admission to the VFL won't be easy by any means as they will likely have to sign-up a largely new player list and coaches as many of their existing players and coaching staff are likely to be gone by 2019.

Time will tell.

HOORAY!!! :partypooper: :partypooper: :partypooper:
From today's Courier

CITY Oval’s fire track is gone with reconstruction works at the ground well underway. Removal of the track, unpopular with many sporting crowds, was one of the first moves in the City of Ballarat upgrade project.

This will bring a realigned football ground closer to grandstand spectators and club rooms. The turf wicket has also been removed and remaining grass killed off in preparation for a new high-quality surface that will bring the venue in line with surface works already complete at Alfredton Oval, Marty Busch Reserve (Sebastopol), CE Brown Reserve (Lake Wendouree) and Mars Stadium.

City of Ballarat mayor Samantha McIntosh said new turf was expected to be laid later this year. “It is anticipated the project will be completed and ready for use by the start of the 2018 football season,” Cr McIntosh said.

City Oval is home to Redan Football Netball Club, Ballarat Football Umpires Association and Ballarat Football Netball League headquarters Saxon House. Cricket tenant Ballarat-Redan moved its firsts back to a new turf wicket at its club base Alfredton last season.

Hopefully, when the Eastern Oval gets its major lighting upgrade soon, the Council might relocate the old lights to the City Oval to give Redan a decent floodlit ground.

The investment that the City of Ballarat puts into its facilities is incredible

Yep. This is only recently though. Not much done in the prior 10 to 20 years. Players used to leave the league due to having to play in Ballarat. Was hard for the eastern clubs to not only recruit but to maintain good players. Now all are playing on great surfaces.