Big Fish ?...Hawthorn trade news and targets thread(not for trade hypotheticals)

Which leaves my 2nd theory as to why we are after Impey which is we are looking at going with a Tigers style small forward line.

I'm thinking the other way.......in needing to combat what may be a trend set by the tigers, small very quick tough tackling defenders may be a real premium in negating the Richmond tactic.
Again, Clarko may simply be ahead of the curve, and certainly the thinking of most BF posters.

Impey you little imp you, come on down!

Coach Clarkson coaxed Impey, says Petroro

The AFL aren't even trying to hide their hatred.
http://www.afl.com.au/news/trade/trade-talk
Nothing in the article mentions coaxing
Impey impressed by Clarko and noted that Clarko has a really good way with indigenous boys

Is it just me or am I headf&$%ed by the media who are headf&$%ed by us

Pop is apparently not overly keen on leaving.

That’s the problem with runninng a club so well, no one wants out.

The Puoplo trade talk came as a result of genuine interest from GWS and in recent times, Sydney. Puopolo doesn't want to leave the Hawks (won't go interstate), so any further talk of him being traded is false.

There is another layer or two to the desire to bring in Impey. First is the age of Puopolo plus the wear and tear his body has had to endure in his role. Not as durable these days. So the need for speed is relatively urgent. Impey provides coverage for Puopolo.

Another layer is Hartung most likely being traded. Whilst Impey is quicker than Hartung, his endurance isn't as good, but he will provide some outside run that we will lose when Hartung goes. Except, Impey's game brings a lot more of a physical edge.

Impey impressed by Clarko and noted that Clarko has a really good way with indigenous boys

Its you.

This is one of the more creative efforts at finding a way to be outraged by a nothing article.

Come on mate.

The Puoplo trade talk came as a result of genuine interest from GWS and in recent times, Sydney. Puopolo doesn't want to leave the Hawks (won't go interstate), so any further talk of him being traded is false.

There is another layer or two to the desire to bring in Impey. First is the age of Puopolo plus the wear and tear his body has had to endure in his role. Not as durable these days. So the need for speed is relatively urgent. Impey provides coverage for Puopolo.

Another layer is Hartung most likely being traded. Whilst Impey is quicker than Hartung, his endurance isn't as good, but he will provide some outside run that we will lose when Hartung goes. Except, Impey's game brings a lot more of a physical edge.

i agree will be a solid replacement for poppy if played forward. good speed, mark, and finisher.

the last layer i cant see him playing on the wing unless clarko can someone fix he disposal which is worse than hartung.
would be a bad move losing billy, i see burton filling that role

Which leaves my 2nd theory as to why we are after Impey which is we are looking at going with a Tigers style small forward line.

No-one wins a flag by copying last year's winner. It may boost you a few spots but it wont win.

My bet is he is more an explosive HBF with run and carry to kick to 1 on 1s or players in the open.

We already have some pretty powerful small forwards. They just happened to miss a couple of dozen games.

Hawthorn FC @HawthornFC

Deal not done yet: Port officials say there's more to be considered before an Impey move can be finalised.
1f4ad.svg

$50 says the author doesnt actually know the meaning of the word coaxed, and used it because it sounds good.

No-one wins a flag by copying last year's winner. It may boost you a few spots but it wont win.

My bet is he is more an explosive HBF with run and carry to kick to 1 on 1s or players in the open.

We already have some pretty powerful small forwards. They just happened to miss a couple of dozen games.

That's not really true though, every team uses a version of Pies 2010 the forward press for example.

Most premiers take the current gameplan and add to or change it it.

Going smaller in the forward line doesnt mean we're going to do everything the tigers do.

You could be right but we wil struggle to get Birch, Frawley and strats back into the backline so I adding another back flanker seems strange

The other option is clarko wants to try him in the brad hill role.

Who knows.

That's not really true though, every team uses a version of Pies 2010 the forward press for example.

Going smaller in the forward line doesnt mean we're going to do everything the tigers do.

You could be right but we wil struggle to get Birch, Frawley and strats back into the backline so I adding another back flanker seems strange

Who knows.
no doubt once the deal is done there will be interviews with Graham Wright and Jarman himself where that will be spoken about

$50 says the author doesnt actually know the meaning of the word coaxed, and used it because it sounds good.
Well i reckon you'd lose your money coz he seems to have chosen his known word just for special effects and potential muckraking

Who knows.
I agree he'd play off the wing, with high octane footy

Who knows.

Maybe Impey goes into the centre square with Titch and Jaeger, we do lack the break away speed in the clearances.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

A lot more physicality and a lot less ball getting, hopefully our system gets the best out of him.

You've got to tell me what the difference is between pick 32, 26 or 39?
Seriously, you've picked some arbitrary number pick and said 'that's it! - no more!!!'.
Such silly seasonings.
If we like him and determine he's worth between picks say 20 - 40, the value is incredibly hard to determine for any individual number.
I get the thinking you feel assured of a certain level talent of kid at picks 1-15, but after that beauty is in the eye of each club's beholder and certainly it's impossible to say any imported player is worth pick 32 but not pick 36.

Come on, lets just enjoy an injection of change to the list and be hopeful of what it might mean next season and beyond.

I think its more a matter of hawthorn saying that they want to enter the draft in a reasonable position this year rather than go 2 consecutive drafts without a first or second round pick. I would think that this is a starting point for the discussion. If 42 isn't good enough you start talking 42 and fringe players. But I think keeping a second round draft pick is a pre-requisite. I still think that a straight swap for Shoenmakers is very reasonable to both parties. It's not like he is an utter hack and he offers Port something they don't have a lot of.

Who knows.

So if the Crows win the flag we go and try and play 3 talls? Just rubbish imo.