BigFooty Official Big Footy Phantom Draft

Pick : 46 :westcoast: West Coast.

Picking : Riley Garcia. 176 cm. 70 kg. Midfielder. Swan Districts.

download-30.jpg

Going to visit the Infirmary for this pick.

Injured yes I know, he will miss the better part of the 2020 season ..... but if he overcomes the knee I have no doubt that he can play at the next level.

This is where I found the choice of players gets a bit tricky, as I pondered do I take a less talent player with no injury cloud hanging over them, that may or may not have the talent to make it at the next level.

Or.

Do I go a player that has already played senior football for Swan Districts and had a great Under 18 Championship until he popped his knee.
And a player who has already shown me signs that I think will translate at the next level, the kid has undeniable talent.

I decided to go with talent first and foremost.

Garcia is a good balanced mid that is, however better on the inside than on the outside.
You cant help but notice that he attacks the ball with vigour and real grunt and also with some pace.
I just love players that put their head over the ball and are capable of winning their own football.
He does occasionally over run the ball with his ambitious attack, but I have never been too critical of the occasional mistake if the ball is attacked with dash.
His style very much reminds me of Daniel Kerr ( not saying he is as good as , merely commenting on style ).

He started the year in the League team with Swans before the Championships and impressed as a boy playing against men.
I similarly was impressed with his 2018 Colts Finals performances, always a box ticker for me when players stand up in finals and big games.
As a bottom ager in the Colts Finals in 2018, he announced himself as a player of note and one to watch going forward..

His injury wont go against him long term and, he will not be pressing for selection for a few years with West Coasts current midfield , so plenty of time to fully recover and rebuild his game ... time will be his friend.

He does need to work on his scoreboard impact as for someone who gets so much of the ball he hasn't troubled the scorer as much as I would have liked.

That said IMO he was tracking nicely for serious consideration for AA at the 2019 Championships before he popped his knee, so having seen him perform on the bigger stage over a two year period I am more than happy to take the chance on Garcia.

West Coast FINALLY get to take a pick.

Will do the write up after work.

Picking : Riley Garcia Swan Districts.

Injured yes I know ..... but if he overcomes the knee I have no doubt that he can play at the next level.
Thought there was a chance people had forgotten about him and I'd get him, great pick up

Pick 47 - North Melbourne - Hugo Ralphsmith
188cm 75kg
Wingman/Medium Forward

Ralphsmith typifies most players in this draft outside the top 10 where he flashes in and out of games with his best being really impressive. Hugo has plenty of elite traits to go with his exciting football ability with his speed, leap and endurance in the elite category which makes him a near certain top 40 prospect in my opinion and I’m stunned to see him still available here. Hugo has done some down right freakish things this year with some impressive leaps over packs and goals from all different sorts of spots with one of his goals at the champs down right absurd, when he is up and running he is near impossible to catch with some runs from half back this year for Sandringham really catching the eye.

You read all the good and wonder why he isnt in the same class as Bergman and you could argue he really should be as he averages more disposals, goals and clearances while he is down on inside 50s and marks. Ralphsmith has struggled with consistency not just for the whole year but for whole games where he can turn it on for a quarter and then go missing for other quarters and that will be an area he will need to improve, the other is his tackling and ability to win the ball up the ground as he looks great with the ball but he doesn’t get it enough and as a forward doesn’t pressure enough. Most of his issues I believe could be fixed but consistency will be the main one that could hold him back.

Why North?
Hugo brings speed and x-factor weather as a wingman or a forward as he can play tall and small a swell which means he can fit into most types of forward setups, he is to good to pass up here regardless.

Players considered: Brock Smith, Nick Bryan, Josh Shute

cotter101

West Coast FINALLY get to take a pick.

Will do the write up after work.

Picking : Riley Garcia Swan Districts.

Injured yes I know ..... but if he overcomes the knee I have no doubt that he can play at the next level.

eDPS you are up.

Cool - you took the second last player I was really hoping might last to 50, so matching on Nyguon doesn't seem so bad now....

I can't say I was inspired by the players remaining. After Byrnes was picked and Nyuon matched no players remain that I love or considered top-20 or even top-25.

I still have one top-30 player remaining other than Mahony, but Phillips wasn't that guy.

Phillips is justifiable as he has weapons to him, but there are others I consider better performed, Mahony being one.
I was talking about Pickett, not Phillips. Either way though i’d prefer both over a guy who looks like a Blair clone, but each to their own I guess.

Pick #49 Adelaide - Dyson Hilder North Adelaide 196cm 91kg

Needed a KPD with my final pick for this draft and who better to take here than the local lad Hilder who definitely could go higher on draft day. With Talia being the main man back there and Hartigan not being exactly blessed with ability, plus the loss of Keath, a tall back was a must.

Hilder is a great competitor and is your classic 1 on 1 key back who will take the big forward. He's got the frame (196cm 91kg) to do that and take on the biggest blokes and once he adds a few more kg, he'll prob end up in the high 90's range and be an impressive lump of a lad. Bodywork is where he excels, he knows when to put the little bump on and get the spoil or the mark, he reads the flight of the ball and the ball drop earlier than a lot of forwards, especially those that are bombed in, he's all over it then to nullify the contest. He's strong overhead and also a good kick. But he also has a really good tank for a key back which is fairly rare with a yoyo of 21.1 at the combine. He also can lay a strong tackle and has a good turning circle for a big bloke.

I see him turning into a Alex Pearce (Freo) type of key defender, very strong body who will be a reliable key back for many years to come. Anymore than this would be a bonus but wouldn't surprise me if he ends up being one of the best key defenders in the comp.

Snoop Dog

Pick 50 - North Melbourne - Ned Cahill
179cm 78kg
Small Forward

Cahill is a little ripper and its hard not to like the way eh plays as he is crafty around the ball and is a hard worker. Cahill is extremely clean with his hands especially forward of centre with his crumbing amongst the best in this years draft with the way he swoops on the ball at speed and he usually finishes really well whether that’s kicking the goal or setting it up. Cahill has spent a bit of time through the midfield aswell and he hasn’t looked out of place being able to win his own ball and has the workrate to work defensively and offensively and I believe he could fit into an AFL team seamlessly with his workrate and running patterns and ability to handle the rough and tumble.

Cahill is like Gryan Miers as a crafty forward who relies more on his craft more so than his speed to be a sneaky forward and apart from his endurance he is pretty average athletically compared to say a Kozzie Pickett. I think Cahill is a natural footballer and doesn’t do a lot wrong and although he is small he isn’t too small for the roles he could play at AFL level and I could see him playing a similar role to what Devon Smith does for Essendon if he can add some manic pressure to his game.

Why North?
The best small forward available this late and personally think he is good value aswell, Cahill has performed well this year and didn’t disgrace himself at the champs either and is a safe pick here.

Players considered: Josh Honey, Lachlan Williams, James Rowe, Isaiah Butters, Josh D’Intinosante

Wizard17

AsterixTheGaul

Just went into a meeting and has sent me his pick.

Trey Rusco . East Fremantle.

He will do write up latter.

Thunderstruck your up.
Sydney - Pick 44

Trey Ruscoe
East Fremantle/WA
190cm, 90 kg
Position – utility and midfield

Exactly what position Trey will play in the future is still to be resolved. If that is the downside on him, so be it. What is clear to me is that he possesses many attributes that I think will equip him for a strong AFL career.

What I like is that he is a hard nut, tough in the battle, contested beast and competitive as all hell. From the games I saw in 2019, he makes it a habit of beating his direct opponent – something I rate very highly.

He can play the third tall either up front or down back. Reads the ball in the air and strong hands overhead. Despite coming out of contests, he is pretty decent in disposal efficiency and rarely wastes a possession. He is a thinking footballer at both ends of the ground and seems to know where to be to impact the contest. I have been impressed with what he did in 2019 since the first game against my Claremont colts team. He had a 20 disposal and 2 goal game wich was mainly spent in the forward line. During the year, he has een back, up front and through the midfield.

There is a lot about Ruscoe that reminds me of Patrick Cripps. Not saying he will be that good, but at pick 44, there is a lot to be happy with in selecting Trey Ruscoe.

Sydney - Pick 44

Trey Ruscoe
East Fremantle/WA
190cm, 90 kg
Position – utility and midfield

Exactly what position Trey will play in the future is still to be resolved. If that is the downside on him, so be it. What is clear to me is that he possesses many attributes that I think will equip him for a strong AFL career.

What I like is that he is a hard nut, tough in the battle, contested beast and competitive as all hell. From the games I saw in 2019, he makes it a habit of beating his direct opponent – something I rate very highly.

He can play the third tall either up front or down back. Reads the ball in the air and strong hands overhead. Despite coming out of contests, he is pretty decent in disposal efficiency and rarely wastes a possession. He is a thinking footballer at both ends of the ground and seems to know where to be to impact the contest. I have been impressed with what he did in 2019 since the first game against my Claremont colts team. He had a 20 disposal and 2 goal game wich was mainly spent in the forward line. During the year, he has een back, up front and through the midfield.

There is a lot about Ruscoe that reminds me of Patrick Cripps. Not saying he will be that good, but at pick 44, there is a lot to be happy with in selecting Trey Ruscoe.
Have not seen him much as a forward or mid but have heard from long out that he is very good there

I was talking about Pickett, not Phillips. Either way though i’d prefer both over a guy who looks like a Blair clone, but each to their own I guess.

Pickett I have outside my top 40. Nice athlete - speed/agility/leap. Brings the forward pressure like no other in the draft. Nice finisher and ball user. Can be dangerous aerially. High impact per possession. So he's draftable. For someone so short he needs to find more of it and hit the scoreboard more which is why I view him as more suitable for selection late/rookie if I'm picking, though I wouldn't be at all surprised to see him go anywhere 30 onwards with how even the draft is. I can't justify taking a small who can't find enough of the footy as there rarely is all that much improvement in sub 180s and a lot less the shorter we're talking.

Pick #49 Adelaide - Dyson Hilder North Adelaide 196cm 91kg

Good value at that pick and really should be a target for Adelaide.

There’s 2 players left who I’m quite keen on, and who I would’ve drafted over matching mead. Interested to see how much longer they slide.

I would have ports 2020 late picks on the table to trade into the next few picks to take both.

Have not seen him much as a forward or mid but have heard from long out that he is very good there

He is a certain bust eDPS.

You would be best to put a line through him on your white board.

One trick pony.
Would be best left on the board for a pick somewhere about 46.
Otherwise he will be a massive reach. ;)

I have nobody really on my list anymore that I would pick with any form of confidence, this is when the draft stocks are over for me.
Still plenty of players I like still on the board, plenty of players with upside

Pick 53 - Hawthorn - Jake Pasini
Swan Dist 192cm 81kg

we're in the market for a KPD and seeing McAsey, De Koning, Finlay and Hilder are gone, the last remaining good option was Pasini, he was a strong tall defender for WA in the champs this year and has good agility for a KPP, i think he and Kosi will develop into a good pairing in a few years and give us some stability in the tall defender position, i noticed he is very good at feeding a team mate and rarely wastes poss, plays taller than his 192cm but also has the versatility of being good with the ground ball which im a huge fan of in KPD's moreso than a couple of extra inches in height.

Pie 4 Life you're up