BigFooty AFL Live Competition Season 1

The bloody game just froze.... ****en thing.
First time its done it, sorry cahillftw.
Fair to say it was pretty much over and you'd one.

P.s peterd needs to be tested for steroids.
He'd kicked 11 or something stupid....

The bloody game just froze.... ****en thing.
First time its done it, sorry cahillftw.
Fair to say it was pretty much over and you'd one.

P.s peterd needs to be tested for steroids.
He'd kicked 11 or something stupid....
Haha no worries mate. It's done it to me once or twice as well.

Yeah I was looking for Petterd everytime! .. Freak

MATCHUP 3: SYDNEY - Gibbsy. (Cyclone_Gibbsy) versus GEELONG - skill1414 (kuma1414)

Game 1:
Sydney: 2.3 3.3 4.7 5.7 (37)
Geelong: 2.0 5.4 10.4 12.4 (76)

Game 2:
Sydney: 2.2 3.2 3.3 5.4 (34)
Geelong: 0.5 1.7 3.9 5.9 (39)

Pretty evenly matched. 2nd match was a nail biter!

Well I've made an early exit... :(

First game I jumped out to an early lead but then Skill1414 turned the momentum in the second half and the game stayed that way for the rest of its course.

Skill1414 (Geel) 12.4.74
Gibbsy. (Syd) 5.7.37

Second game I held Skill back for the majority of the first half; they say bad kicking equals bad football so while Skill probably had slightly more posession his inaccuracy didn't help. At one stage the Cats had kicked 0.7 but then they snuck one home before the half time siren to reduce the margin amazingly to 7 points.

From then on it was closely contested as the Cats jumped out to a two goal lead. The Swans pegged it back to be five points down with six minutes on the clock, but catch up footy is always harder and Geelong put the game basically out of reach with a goal with four minutes left on the clock. A long bomb with 51 seconds remaining gave Sydney a sliver of hope with the chance of getting a quick tap, kick, mark and goal but the players couldn't get a handle on it and the match was Skill's.

Congrats mate.

Skill1414 (Geel) 5.9.39
Gibbsy. (Syd) 5.4.34

MATCHUP 1: ADELAIDE - Mahama (Mahama39) versus ESSENDON - hirdylloydy1 (hirdylloydy)

Game 1
Ade: 2.2 4.2 7.4 10.4 (64)
Ess: 1.1 3.1 3.3 5.4 (34)

Game 2
Ade: 2.1 4.1 7.3 9.3 (57)
Ess: 0.2 0.4 1.4 3.7 (25)

-Knights and Hurley were the major goal kickers, getting something like 10 goals between them over the two games.
-No real standout midfielders, though Douglas did kick 3 goals in the second game along with 12 disposals.
-Centre bounce hitouts were roughly 30 to 5 Essendon's way if I had to guess, with the punch getting a good workout.
-Way too many times my players marked the ball with forward momentum over the mark and got called play on by the umps, even without a tackle/bump. All the more frustrating as I very rarely play on after a mark.
-Essendon's pacey players was an issue. It's not the first time I've said this, and it won't be the last, but I miss Cooney and Griff :(
-And a note for hirdylloydy, those couple of times I got a dodgy free kick in front of goal and handpassed the ball over the man on the mark, that was me trying to give the ball back to you :eek:

-Way too many times my players marked the ball with forward momentum over the mark and got called play on by the umps, even without a tackle/bump. All the more frustrating as I very rarely play on after a mark.

This happens to me a lot too. It sometimes helps if you quickly tap the opposite direction to which your momentum is carrying you (kind of takes you back behind the mark, but doesn't work all the time). Very annoying.

-And a note for hirdylloydy, those couple of times I got a dodgy free kick in front of goal and handpassed the ball over the man on the mark, that was me trying to give the ball back to you :eek:

Lol :p

MATCHUP 1: ADELAIDE - Mahama (Mahama39) versus ESSENDON - hirdylloydy1 (hirdylloydy)

Game 1
Ade: 2.2 4.2 7.4 10.4 (64)
Ess: 1.1 3.1 3.3 5.4 (34)

Game 2
Ade: 2.1 4.1 7.3 9.3 (57)
Ess: 0.2 0.4 1.4 3.7 (25)

-Knights and Hurley were the major goal kickers, getting something like 10 goals between them over the two games.
-No real standout midfielders, though Douglas did kick 3 goals in the second game along with 12 disposals.
-Centre bounce hitouts were roughly 30 to 5 Essendon's way if I had to guess, with the punch getting a good workout.
-Essendon's pacey players was an issue. It's not the first time I've said this, and it won't be the last, but I miss Cooney and Griff :(

i did notice this when i marked in the back pocket, think you accidently tackled and i got called for holding the ball, then you handballed straight to me. Fair play

That sounds all well and good Jorel, but if I may offer a suggestion to the 15 min and 30 min rule;

How about just scheduling an hour period in which the match is to be completed? ie. My match was scheduled for 9pm, so instead it would be 8.30-9.30pm.

So if either participant isn't online and ready to play by the end of their allotted 1 hour period (so by 9.30 pm in my example above), then they forfeit (unless they have notified Jorel and their opponent that they won't make it on time). This gives both participants plenty of time to see each other online and even organize a specific time within their allotted hour if either of them have things to do before/after/during that period.

Just an idea anyway...feel free to shoot it down if it's no good. Just a bit easier for myself and I imagine most others, rather than being constrained to a specific 15-30 minute time period.

I think the clear best way of doing it is to day "Get your games done by time/day X" and allow for some delay if there is communication.

Me and Jorel played our first game at about 12 today (yesterday) and our second two at about 6 and it worked pretty well I thought. No need for any specific hour as its not like people can watch. Saying an ideal time for the game is fine if both people turn up and don't message each other beforehand, but if everyone is talking to each other its pretty easy to play the games whenever IMHO.

Good suggestions. Trouble with the 1 hour period is someone gets there for the start of the hour and the other person doesn't get there until the end of the hour. Then the game starts. If there's multiple games to be played, one person has to dedicate a couple of hours or more to a sitting. For some, this can be unachievable (ie. myself, I have a family who demands my times, so I can't be as flexible sometimes).

I think we're doing it ok at the moment. Most people should be able to give a dedicated time to be online. If they can't, they need to update everyone via the thread. And people are doing that ok. I'm fine if people need to reschedule for whatever reason.

The main issues I wanted to address was giving very late notice to an agreed time. I know things pop up (like overtime at work, or power outages, or other emergencies), so people will have ample oppotunity to explain if there are extenuating circumstances.

So, I think, just to ensure its fair for everyone, these are decent enough guidelines:

1. If you can't make your scheduled time, post to reschedule with at least 24 hours notice (will allow several days for a matchup to be completed by).
2. If you can't make your scheduled time, and your match is within 24 hours of commencing, post to notify but you can only be a max of 30 minutes late.
3. If more than 30 minutes late, your opponent can decide whether to accept rescheduling or take victory via forfeit.
4. If you do not post to notify, victory is awarded to your opponent via forfeit after 15 minutes has passed the scheduled time.
5. If point 4 occurs, you have 24 hours to explain your absence or will be considered not interested and removed from competition.

I feel most people should be able to follow these ok. Unfortunately, to make the competition work and keep it moving, we have to have some concrete guidelines. I know I could allow matches to be scheduled "whenever", but in essence I am giving people that option. I'm just setting a scheduled time based on people's availabilities initially, to keep things structured. I will hold no one back if they need to reschedule to a different time. I plan to give around 3 day period for all matches to be completed, which should be ample to everyone. Fixtures will also be posted AT LEAST 24 hours (probably a bit more) before 3 day period commences (ie. I posted matches on Friday day, games played on Sunday/Monday, allow up to end of Tuesday for people to complete, next matchups posted Wednesday day, games to start probably Thursday, have until end of Saturday to complete).

Hopefully, that should work for everyone. This setup may be a bit more flexible during the H&A season, as we can have rounds overlapping. Unfortunately, in the pre-season cup and in finals, teams are scheduled based on who won the previous games so everyone needs to be at the same pace.

BlackMamba - will be on tonight...have Doc appt at 6pm (CST) but should be on time for clash!

Yea I agree Jorel, I think basically everything will be fine as long as everyone can communicate well.

Have to remember that people may go away etc. and have no access to the internet and so forth so it can be very hard to keep tabs on everything. Hopefully everyone tells at least someone that they will be away if they will though.

It seems everyone here is very good though. Haven't noticed any major issues so far in the preseason cup?

really want to be involved in this..

back from overseas at the end of August...

Jorel, can you make things happen pls?

Hey guys, I've noticed a few times that people are try to be "sportsmanlike" and give possession away if something dodgy happens.

I even did this with Lurk3r once or twice, not sure if he noticed, and I think he tried to do it at least once with me.

I would say it that it doesn't really work, so I am just going to say everyone should just take it as it comes and not give possession away. Hopefully, it evens out and doesn't become a deciding factory in games.

Hey guys, I've noticed a few times that people are try to be "sportsmanlike" and give possession away if something dodgy happens.

I even did this with Lurk3r once or twice, not sure if he noticed, and I think he tried to do it at least once with me.

I would say it that it doesn't really work, so I am just going to say everyone should just take it as it comes and not give possession away. Hopefully, it evens out and doesn't become a deciding factory in games.
I agree...its kinda like sarcasm via text / email... kinda hard to tell when it comes across... i think we can all assume we are playing in good spirits

BlackMamba - will be on tonight...have Doc appt at 6pm (CST) but should be on time for clash!

That's cool. What's CST?
I'm happy to do it an hour later than our scheduled time (making it 10pm EST, 8pm WST) coz I might be working a bit later than expected.

This would also allow for the usual extended wait in the waiting room for your doctor's appointment. :)

Let me know.

AFLLiveBigAntsettCuplogo-1.png

Finished off my first couple of games of the Antsett Cup against Sully_1975.

I took home both games by fair margins, unfortunately didn't grab many details of goals or disposal getters as the screen went too fast.

Quarter by Quarter breakdown of each matches are here:

GAME 1
Got out to a huge start, 7 goals before Carlton could register a score. Sort of put the game out of contention right there and just maintained the lead. Richmond's young midfield ran riot over Carlton's.

RICH---CARL
6.1.37 - 0.0.0
9.3.57 - 1.0.6
11.4.70 - 3.2.20
14.4.88 - 5.2.32

Foley - 4 Goals
Foley - 19 Disposals

GAME 2
2nd game started similar to the first, got out to 5 goals before Carlton could get one of their own, but managed 2 before the first quarter finished. Carlton got the first of the 2nd too to bring it to only a couple of goals, but then Richmond kicked away. Again Richmond's midfield were running rampant.

RICH---CARL
5.2.32 - 2.2.14
9.5.59 - 4.2.26
12.8.80 - 5.3.33
16.10.106 - 6.4.40

Riewoldt - 4 goals
Foley - 16 disposals

Yeah got absolutely belted by HBK. As I said to him I think there should be a div 2. You blokes are freaks. I guess it's like real life... Carlton just making up the numbers. (hopefully that doesn't come back to bite me)
:)