AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Interesting news River. I overheard Roger at club racing last night say that as the BDAFL has not put an offer to him, he felt he had no choice but to take the Sydney job.
do the 5 leaving umpires know roger is now leaving,
hopefully we will get them back now.
Was chatting to an umpire of AFL Grand Final day and mentioned that Roger was leaving to coach the sydney umpires. He thought this was strange as there had been no mention of it and thought that there would be much better candidates already running around in Sydney. The conversation went along the lines of - why would Sydney hire someone who is so unliked by the unpires he has under his control in his current position?
- why would Sydney hire someone who is so unliked by the unpires he has under his control in his current position?
"-5 umpires have been targeted by the Sydney Football League for recruitment.
This would not have happened if Roger didn't coach. His knowledge, skills and ability to get the message across in his own way helped." - Borgsta 2006.
So by being a good coach he has done nothing to help the BDAFL because they are all the decent umpires are leaving to follow him.
Sounds like the BDAFL would have been better off without him considering umpires left the fraternity when he came along.
So net effect of Roger's time is that he produced good umpires who have no interest in umpiring in the BDAFL.
I've gotta shake this bloke's hand!
don't see too many other people willing AND able to take his place or those who have retired / left. we are also considered a pathway to the sydney afl by the NSW/ACT so unless there are heaps of people willing to do the job, then it is going to be struggle street for the BDAFL, I'm afraid to say.
People in glass houses.....
Hey Borgsta this is a little off topic but in the 4th quarter of the grand final this year I saw a situation that I have never seen before. A player was awarded a free kick right on the boundary and it was paid downfield which is fine. The only strange thing regarding the free kick was the fact that the kick had grubbered from the boundary and stopped once players contested the ball in front of goal. My understanding of the downfield free kick rule is it is where the ball lands that a free kick will be paid. Im not sure which ump was responsible for this gaff but in the last quarter of a tight grand final it was a monumental stuff up in my opinion.
And it cost Cardiff the game?? Unless it did, I don't think it was that big an error. To correct you, the ball was kicked, a player was felled illegally and then the next thing was the ball landed after travelling about 15 - 20 metres in the goal square area. If it "grubbered" like you suggested, the free kick would have been brought back. It was Roger, and he got it right.
I could name many errors which occurred during the day by players on GF day, but being a respectful person like myself who is retired and couldn't give a stuff I'll keep it to myself.
Cardiff cost themselves the game mate. If you watched the game your completely wrong on what happened in that bit of play, the ball grubbered and if you say it didnt than you are a liar plain and simple. The ball went along the ground at the most 10 meters. If it was Roger he got it wrong and the ball should have been brought back. That was a mistake that even an u/12's umpire wouldnt make. You wont admit it cause you know its true.
Also to all those whining about the likes of Roger leaving the BDAFL. I say thank god and about time. Fairdinkum they cant even take the slightest bit of critisism. I reckon club umpires will do a better job than talentless umpires who cant admit to mistakes.
Am I missing something here. From the comments you are making I take you don't thing highly of Roger.
Didn't the BDAFL name him as the "Umpire of the year" for 2009?
There must be a lot of people who don't share your point of view.
In Sydney we have always regarded him from a technical perspective as a very good (all be it a bit robotic) umpire. The comment used to be when there was a new skill or technique to be learnt "the rest of us have to train to do, with Roger you just have to program him"
I heard that Dietzy missed out on the Warners Bay job can anyone confirm? and who was appointed? whats dietzy's thoughts? be pretty disapointed he has put in a fair amount of work since going to the bay, i would have thought they would keep on building on what they had rather then turn the joint up side down and go again.
I heard from a guy that works closely with dietzy and that also he could have a bit of pull getting Zack Mainly to the bay
The only umpires who don't like Roger Duck, are umpires who you now see doing club umpiring....
As a group, Roger is a pedantic person and we all didn't like that side of him from the fact we always had to umpire in a certain way (none of us followed the trend!), but in terms of his expectations, goals, passion and overall knowledge of umpiring, you could not find a better coach.
I hope he has gone to Sydney to be perfectly honest, because the BDAFL don't deserve his skills and talents.
I'd go with him if I didn't have to travel, and you will find that is why about 5 umpires (who I won't name) are leaving. If Roger leaves, they will leave.
The only umpires you'll get back are the ones who didn't think training, rule knowledge and dedication to the umpiring fraternity were important.
The attitude of the football community up in Newcastle / Central Coast is one where umpires are not part of the league and deserve to be treated like outcasts. We didn't want the headlines, we just wanted to be part of the group so it might help us with recruiting / people's overall knowledge.
We do well with the group we have and I now fear with the recent retirements and transfers, that the NCCUA will not have the numbers to fill all Cup games next year.
As they say, you don't know what you have got until it's gone.
On the bright side for you blokes, I heard 3-4 "Old Timers" are going to make a comeback following news of Roger's departure.
The clubs complained that the umpires didn't have "knowledge of the rules"(when free kicks didn't go your way), "fitness"(most of us could run a game) and the "overall standard of umpiring dropped" during Roger's time.
Absolute crap. During Roger's time:
-2 umpires umpired State Championships Grand Finals.
-1 umpire made the National Carnival, umpiring the Grand Final
-6 umpires are now on the Regional Umpiring Academy list.
-5 umpires have been targeted by the Sydney Football League for recruitment.
This would not have happened if Roger didn't coach. His knowledge, skills and ability to get the message across in his own way helped.
Good luck BDAFL!!! Thanks for the memories