Bluemour Melting Pot XXIX

I think Teague (and assistants) and Lloyd is a good starting point. To me, getting rid of Austin so soon would be a massive mistake. Although when we hired him I thought it was a little risky to het yet another first timer in their respective role (to go with Teague, Liddle and Lloyd) I have no issue with his efforts so far. As we all likely agree, we paid overs for Saad - but that was always going to happen when dealing with old mate Dodo.
Getting some experience in the HC and footy manager roles will be massive in the general direction and structure of the place.

Is there any truth in the suggestion that Liddle told Austin to get the Saad deal done, even if it meant overpaying?

Identifying problems is one thing, fixing them is another.

It gives us hope and something to look forward to.

I feel sorry for Teague because he, like so many before him are under equipped and setup to fail. He seems like a good guy.

I like how good tactical coaches and mentors want to come, this seems huge in football these days.

A lot to look forward to it sounds!
Teauge definitely seems to be a good guy and much liked by the team but that ain’t going to cut it.
After what this club has been through, a major directional change is need , our administration should apologize to Chris Judd , he had clear picture a long time ago.

RoyalBlues how do you think on field leadership will fare in the review? From what I see from our games, regarding standards, what players get away with, how we play in meaningful games and how we compete, leadership appears non-existent. Might relate to players being too empowered as you said?

I just see a group not pushing and not pulling each other up.

RoyalBlues how do you think on field leadership will fare in the review? From what I see from our games, regarding standards, what players get away with, how we play in meaningful games and how we compete, leadership appears non-existent. Might relate to players being too empowered as you said?

I just see a group not pushing and not pulling each other up.
Probably not well: too much is left to too few - so Doc being out and Weitering being young, with Cripps being injured there might just be too much confusion.

as for assistants, if O’Keefe is classed as an assistant than I guarantee he has either been told he is staying, or hasn’t been told he is leaving yet. I would have 100% heard about any changes to his employment at the club.
He should also remain. I like how he and power were looking after the VFL

Probably not well: too much is left to too few - so Doc being out and Weitering being young, with Cripps being injured there might just be too much confusion.

Heaps needs to be done here, we look like a team with no leadership, keep seeing stuff that should be non-negotiable happening time and time again. I think our leaders need some serious training. Was something Clarkson had nailed with Hawthorn, there is no way their leadership group would let go what ours do.

Imagine if we had a Luke Hodge type leader.

Wear a Mask do you KohPhi?

Not usually...only when I visit the ice wall that stops us falling off the end of flat earth.
The virus is a bugger up that way..

Austin has been in the job 5 minutes, if the review suggests he needs to be moved on after such a short time frame then that really is an indictment on those who appointed him.
The jordan Boyd recruitment has to be questioned. By no means a good VFL player let alone AFL. Nepotism at play?

Injured or not, Cripps is a massive part of the problem. Has taken his game in a ridiculous direction. Rarely used to make a single mistake, now he takes the wrong option so frequently it beggars belief. Saps the life out of the team with his momentum killing fumbles/turnovers/playing for frees/total lack of respect for his opponent.

It's not good enough.

100%. Very Finbar-esque for me. Only time will tell though.

I'm confused how is Boyd's recruitment an example of Nepotism, who is he related to?

Injured or not, Cripps is a massive part of the problem. Has taken his game in a ridiculous direction. Rarely used to make a single mistake, now he takes the wrong option so frequently it beggars belief. Saps the life out of the team with his momentum killing fumbles/turnovers/playing for frees/total lack of respect for his opponent.

It's not good enough.

and he’s allowed to, because of over empowerment and weak, inept coaching and development. He’s not an island!

Totally agree. It's beyond farcical how his game has been allowed to spiral like this.

The thing that boggles my mind the most about this team is how good Weitering and Jones are. Jones being outmarked ONCE in over 100 one-on-ones, Weitering an absolute beast, and we still put up performances like this.

But imagine if those two WEREN'T there? That is why this is on the coach, he's been propped up (if 8 wins can be called propped up) by having two star intercept defenders saving the day time and again.

I've got a rumour. Can we put it on the rumour thread. The rumour is Teague won't be coach next year. It comes from a good source. You have to trust me. LoL fair dinkum this place is a so full of shit it's hilarious.

Totally agree. It's beyond farcical how his game has been allowed to spiral like this.

The thing that boggles my mind the most about this team is how good Weitering and Jones are. Jones being outmarked ONCE in over 100 one-on-ones, Weitering an absolute beast, and we still put up performances like this.

But imagine if those two WEREN'T there? That is why this is on the coach, he's been propped up (if 8 wins can be called propped up) by having two star intercept defenders saving the day time and again.
The way Cripps goes about his game is such a disappointment. He will run into the opposition player on purpose as if to show how big and strong he is, while taking on contact he is off-balance and majority of the time his handballs are ineffective, turnovers or go to one of our players who is already under pressure themselves. Yes, it looks pretty impressive what he did to Rowell, taking him on shrugging him off and delivering to Honey. But that was one time it worked out compared to how many times he's stuffed it up?

What happened to taking the first option with a well-directed handball. For some reason he thinks he has to take on the opposition tackler every single time.

But they are there. That is like saying imagine if Richmond did not have Dusty and Cotchin or Geelong did not have Dangerfield and Selwood. The coaching is not perfect i agree but how the hell do assistant coaches outlast a senior coach and they might outlast 2 senior coaches. That in itself is ridiculous. How can a senior coach get sacked but then keep assistants on. Who is responsible for that decision. Brad Lloyd the phantom where the hell is he? How come we never replaced Neil Craig when he left? Why did it take 5 years to get a good development coach? All those decisions are mind boggling and they all go back to 1 place and that is the board. The system at Carlton is set up for instant failure and has been for a long time. But any review always stops short of the people responsible for all those bad decisions. This review is just to throw attention away from them as usual. Teague is not perfect by no means but those assistants were already proven failures before Teague even got the head coaching job.