Bluemour Melting Pot XXV

Continued here ...

1. You posit a 'true' meaning of what developing means
2. You then go one to make assumptions about 'work ethic' 'psychology' and relative measures you would have no inside knowledge about - referencing other players in other positions
3. You then repeat your own speculations as fact to conclude

To me it is just another Silvagni - exited. One more to go.

Yeah, not this again. It had just been said to me, and I had just replied.

I said it and then went on to show that he was making progress by referring to reports that were not generic every week. It is not often a KPD is delisted after one full reserves season and some scratch matches. Maybe he was vocal about his Dad's sacking? Maybe there are other reasons besides he was sh*t and never looked like making it?

I'm at least keeping an open mind based on evidence.

Why is this inflammatory to you anyway? It hasn't been done to death if I added more evidence to it, has it?
Okhams razor suggests bsos is simply not good enough. There doesn't need to be innuendo and theorising. It's most likely that he just wasn't showing much improvement and as a speculative pick anyway you have to be constantly improving to keep your spot.

It is the cancer that will eventually kill us all.

its just that small minority that gain pleasure from causing pain.

99% of us think it’s pathetic ... the other 1% derive orgasmic pleasure from it.

go figure

I look at the political landscape and think it's a lot higher than 1%. Is this perhaps the new normal?

Okhams razor suggests bsos is simply not good enough. There doesn't need to be innuendo and theorising. It's most likely that he just wasn't showing much improvement and as a speculative pick anyway you have to be constantly improving to keep your spot.

I like OR's inside info, but let's face it, he's not a coach and he's not in the hub watching scratch matches. He may have been told he isn't good enough but that's a different story. The reports suggest he was stringing a few good games together in a difficult year so ...

Kids in the draft were laughing about us taking him. He gave zero ****s about football.

I understand the romance, but nah. Nowhere near it

I look at the political landscape and think it's a lot higher than 1%. Is this perhaps the new normal?

Unfortunately, it's nothing new. We kinda just didn't see it coming, because some of us were in our own little bubbles with other "normal" people.

The crazies have hit critical mass, and now we're screwed.

In regards to BSOS, regardless of how glowing his reports were, now that the club has decided to cut him, most people will take the following view:

1603083739690.png

Erm I didn't mean the poster. I meant the principal. I just can't spell very well. Occam's razor* 😂😂

The pre-season alone shouldn't allow for conclusive judgement upon a player, but BSilvagni and Finbar showed very little.

There wasn't a single trait that stood out from either.
Honey & Phillips showed a lot more in their first than for anything the other guys showed up in their second.

I did say early this year that BSilvagni was hard to get a read on, as often he just didn't look like he wanted to be there.

The decision was made for footballing reasons, whether or not there may have been other factors.
The feedback I heard was that the coaches quite liked BSOS but were of the view he is realistically not going to be able to contribute for 3 seasons and with the reduced list sizes project players can't be carried.

If he wants it he needs to go and play VFL for 2 seasons to show something and might have a chance to get picked up.

So guys I was given a little bit of information today from a very good friend who deals with afl players a fair bit..

Firstly The Nudist rumour of Viney to blues came from the fact that his manager actively came to Carlton and Geelong to shop him around. Viney never had any intention of leaving But played us to raise his value..

Secondly the rift between Viney and Oliver is 100% true, it’s unclear on how minor or serious it is..
Cripps has been in constant contact with Oliver as reported..

Make of that what you will guys, I’m just simply putting forward what I was told.

'Seemed happy enough to be on the list.' 'Clearly didn't look like' he was pushing himself.'

Are you basing this off a heap of VFL games you saw in his first year?

That's a neutral encouragement type report.

Slightly better. Tough opponent and he stood up well. Fought through injury.

Best game. Has been going well. Didn't get beaten in the air. Positioned well and cleaned up attacks. Great report.

Stringing together impressive games. One on one in the air has been fantastic. Going really well. Using the ball well. Great report.

Fantastic. Read the ball well. One of our better defenders.s Great report.

Neutral report. Encouragement report.

Overall, it doesn't read like he wasn't developing.

Never said he wasn't developing.

Said my impression - and yes, that is entirely subjective, as is everything that gets posted on this forum - was that he wasn't one who was busting his gut to make the most of his chance. Any player who goes from school footy to an AFL club will improve to some degree unless injuries deny them that. That comes with improved coaching, facilities, maturity (physical and mental), etc. But there is a difference between those who come into a club and explore all avenues they can in order to become the best footballer they can be, and those who are happy to go through the motions.

My OPINION. BSOS was one of the latter. I might be wrong. But there were reports to that effect from his junior years, and I don't think it's much a stretch to think it may have been one of a number of factors in his delisting. It's not so much that I've seen him sitting around on his arse instead of working, but more so the absence of reports that he was going above and beyond. Something that I think late draftees need to do.

For the romance of it, I'd have loved to see one or more Silvagnis holding up a cup for us in the next couple of years. But if they're not good enough, or won't work hard enough, that's not the end of the world - just the reality of competitive sport.

Jack's still on the list, and is one of the most hard-working players I've seen come through, so hopefully he gets a chance to impress in 2021 and grabs it.

Ben's not on the list any more, and as much as there may have been some politics involved, I reckon it would have been hard to move him on if he was doing everything he could to hold a list spot. If he was doing extras, approaching the coaches and asking what he could do to take the next step (and then doing it), working on areas of weakness in his own time and on his own dime - no coach would turn away a young player like that (assuming they had the base skillset and athletic abilities required).

You're right. The preseason alone shouldn't allow for conclusive judgment upon a player.

It shouldn't but if one can't glean anything at all from it, they're probably not looking.
I did watch Ben in the VFL last year, also...........there wasn't much to see.

I'm now reminded of Giles who looked very promising early on, for us. Shame about that injury, as he could have been OK.
Now, he looked like a promising young defender.

It's easy to understand the possible conflict that may come about with List Management having relatives involved.
Imagine a situation last year, where SOS may have been looking at a contract extension for Ben, but the coach didn't want it.

Me: We're going to be much better next year
Miss 9yo: Daaaaad, you say that every year!
Me: But we're recruiting some good players
Miss 9yo. Daaaaad, you say THAT every year, too!
Me: But we'll be getting some key players back from injury
Miss 9yo rolls eyes til they look like they are going to fall out her neck......."DAAAAAD......SERIOUSLY?"
Me: Guilty as charged...

So good. Me every year too mate

The coaching reports had everyone playing well. "Developing" is generally code for "poor but hopefully getting better".

When a player gets taken late in the draft, you'd expect that they'd need to work much harder than the high draft picks to forge a career. I'm not convinced BSOS had that attitude. Seemed happy enough just to be on the list and have the "developing tall" tag to buy him some time. If he had the same work ethic as a Cottrell or Williamson or Polson, or even his brother, he'd likely still be on the list.

Ignore the name, he was a project tall who clearly didn't look like he was pushing himself as far as he could.

If I remember correctly, wasnt there question marks over his desire to even be an AFL footballer when we drafted him? Im sure I remember such concerns.

Plenty of second talls who look like they should be third talls these days.

And as always, improve the midfield pressure and the defenders don't need to beat a man one-on-one.

Emergency options aplenty in Marchy, Macreadie, Casboult, Plowman, Gov and JSOS. We can fashion something workable for a few games out of that mob if we have to. Is Payne or Ballenden instead of one of those players going to make a difference to our fortunes in 2021? Doubt it.

Happy to wait 12 months to see if Creads and Marchy can get through a season. If so, we're set. If not, 2021 sees the following out of contract: Brandon Zerk-Thatcher, Charlie Ballard, Ben McKay, Aliir Aliir (RFA), Tom McCartin, Jarrod Brander.

Can we stop mentioning Marchbank, Plow, Gov, Jack as KPD options

Ben is not as serious as Jack on being a professional AFL footballer....delisting could be the wake up call. Tom is said to be the most athletically gifted, but again not sure if he is passionate.. he did love his basketball.