Bluemour Melting Pot XXVI

As per the Bluemour File OP, this is a thread for discussing Carlton related rumours.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/bluemour-file.1085141/

Rumour posters should post their rumours in both threads for those that like just to read rumours and for those that like to have get lost in their rumour files.

Remember ... #Bluemour

Continued from here ...

Continued here:

Last edited by a moderator:
Can someone please sit down with Kane (or any other media moron) and add together all the ridiculous claims made about player salaries from our club. Prove to them that if their claims are correct, the club is either paying 40% of the list an average of $500 each for the year or we are $3+ million over the cap using his wild claims.

It is easy to claim Williams is being paid $900k and Saad $800k if you don’t have to justify how that fits in with all the other salaries at the club.

Moron

Can someone p,ease sit down with Kane... and add together all the ridiculous claims made about player salaries from our club. Prove to them that if their claims are correct, the club is either paying 40% of the list an average of $500 each for the year or we are $3+ million over the cap using his wild claims.

It is easy to claim Williams is being paid $900k and Saad $800k if you don’t have to justify how that fits in with all the other salaries at the club.

Moron
Go on then. :D

Wouldn’t surprise me to see no changes this year now. Clubs have Re-signed players, we’re in the free agency window and trade period starts in a couple of days.
With the failure to announce any changes as yet, I am deducing some clubs are simply incapable of complying with any reductions. Hell, two clubs, Collingwood and GWS are cutting players and still experiencing pain on the existing salary cap. Too many contracts are in place. The AFLPA has significant power and would support legal action from players who potentially have careers curtailed. The fallout could/would cost more than any mooted cuts.

Then we have the Gold Coast dispensation and dramatically increased list sizes. If other clubs and players are put in a world of hurt, how the hell could the AFL justify any special treatment for the Suns? I reckon we may see a face saving 5% to 10% across the board reduction in salaries, but at this late stage would be surprised if list reductions requiring dramatic contract compromise were forced.

The states have the covid epidemic all but under control. Barring a ridiculous opening of international borders, we have it all but eradicated unless a ridiculous level of complacency arises. The AFL is looking at a massive "bounce" next season. Sponsorship dollars may be down a bit, but expect massive crowd numbers
and a hasty return to "status quo".

Fisher may have the best step in the game, and thinks quicker than most. Gibbo is also showing he has the reflexes and the smarts to be a quality small opportunist forward. I like the balance of the following 6 up forward: Martin, Curnow, Gibbo, Fisher, Harry, Gov.

Replace Gov with Cas.
None of them can play the backup ruck role.

*pretends to read the previous pages*

I keep thinking Trade Period starts tomorrow.. why are they starting it on a Wednesday?
haha I got lambasted for thinking it started today, all because some horsies are running tomorrow hahaha, everythings out've whack anyway with rona.

With the failure to announce any changes as yet, I am deducing some clubs are simply incapable of complying with any reductions. Hell, two clubs, Collingwood and GWS are cutting players and still experiencing pain on the existing salary cap. Too many contracts are in place. The AFLPA has significant power and would support legal action from players who potentially have careers curtailed. The fallout could/would cost more than any mooted cuts.

Then we have the Gold Coast dispensation and dramatically increased list sizes. If other clubs and players are put in a world of hurt, how the hell could the AFL justify any special treatment for the Suns? I reckon we may see a face saving 5% to 10% across the board reduction in salaries, but at this late stage would be surprised if list reductions requiring dramatic contract compromise were forced.

The states have the covid epidemic all but under control. Barring a ridiculous opening of international borders, we have it all but eradicated unless a ridiculous level of complacency arises. The AFL is looking at a massive "bounce" next season. Sponsorship dollars may be down a bit, but expect massive crowd numbers
and a hasty return to "status quo".
The only options I can see if they do reduce senior list places is either allow clubs to cut and pay out players outside the cap or ‘transfer’ senior players to the rookie list.

There’s obviously a bit of care that would need to be taken from a legal standpoint regarding player/employment contracts but there’s some potential there.

Also reduce the number of mandatory draft picks required to be used.

I still think now if they announce a change it will be for a years time so clubs can actually navigate through this.

Kane cornes saying Williams is no Chris Judd and on 900k. Lloyd returns with I’m hearing it’s more like high 700s on average which seems fair enough to avoid a matched deal on trade radio. Lloyd is all over protecting blues atm. Kane agreed that the salaries and deals need to be made public to avoid thus conjecture. You’re a ******* idiot Kane, the media create this conjecture. Maybe you should shut the fu** up.
Thus all started when he nominated in September, Gary Lyon laughed in the couch at the 750k price tag, by the end of the following week it was “up to” 900k being reported. Even SOS said he has no idea so where the fu** is the 900k coming from if he doesn’t know the answer.
It would usually get out pretty easily because GWS know the figure and it almost helps them getting the figure out there. The $700k-$900k range is laughable and it seems they are just being disingenuous to create talk.

Playing against his natural attacking attributes by not letting him have any freedom? No. Hes not a defender, stop pretending he is.

Agreed.
I've been saying this for ages. He's our best ball user going inside 50, so he needs to play further up the ground. Getting Saad to the club, and getting Newman back from injury hopefully allows this to happen.

Agreed.
I've been saying this for ages. He's our best ball user going inside 50, so he needs to play further up the ground. Getting Saad to the club, and getting Newman back from injury hopefully allows this to happen.

Given we want to move the ball on quickly out of the backline and given we've taken on Saad, now have Williams when required and have Marchbank and Newman coming back......keeping SPS back.....would be to hold him back.

Half forward with midfield stints, just sounds about right.....it always did, actually.

Kane cornes saying Williams is no Chris Judd and on 900k. Lloyd returns with I’m hearing it’s more like high 700s on average which seems fair enough to avoid a matched deal on trade radio. Lloyd is all over protecting blues atm. Kane agreed that the salaries and deals need to be made public to avoid thus conjecture. You’re a ******* idiot Kane, the media create this conjecture. Maybe you should shut the fu** up.
Thus all started when he nominated in September, Gary Lyon laughed in the couch at the 750k price tag, by the end of the following week it was “up to” 900k being reported. Even SOS said he has no idea so where the fu** is the 900k coming from if he doesn’t know the answer.

This public salary thing is the biggest media circle jerk ever.

They want the salaries to be made public so they can scrutinise what every player earns and decide who is the "best" and "worst" value. And they've decided that the best way to try and get the information made public is to just print bullshit under the guise of "reported" figures "up to" a certain value from "sources".

So they create the problem, then tell everyone the "fix" is to give them all the information they want.

Which they will then use to crucify players who they then determine are overpaid based on their form in any given fortnight.

But the AFL won't do anything about it, because at the end of the day this sort of crap generates interest and, by extension, revenue.

Zac Williams and Saad are both perfect fits for our list. Both age wise and the roles they are going to play.

Whilst the thought of getting Oliver is fun, I just don't think the timing is right. Will cost a kings ransom.

I think we should get Williams and Saad done. Two targeted acquisitions that make perfect sense and fit our list.

Don't want us trading out next years first just yet. Want to have some flexibility once we really know what we are going to need.

Appears at this point we will need another gun mid, and a small forward.

But lets have 2021 to really find out what are the last pieces of the puzzle.

With Ed Curnow coming towards the end we probably need two midfielders for the future.

Lets find out a bit more about the following-

Setterfield- first full year of consistent footy. What level can this guy get to? Can he become an A grader?

Dow- injury hampered year. Want a big off season and some reasonable midfield minutes this year.

SPS- can he translation back onto the ball

Fisher- will he make it as a full time small forward? Personally I think he can be a gun midfielder if given the chance.

LOB- make or break year

Stocker- showed a bit first year. This year was a write off. Big off season please.

Kemp- where does he fit. Will he burst onto the scence.

Philp- has something. Hope he gets plenty of opportunity.

If a few of those guys can lock down spots or take their games to the next level we may not need to target a mid and can just put all efforts into a small forward.

Lets hold onto our future first for now.

This post makes far too much sense.

I really think we missed the mark with Dow, LOB and Cuningham if Im being honest. Would 100% move them on with JSOS and Eddie.

Bit hard to DC I think. Has had a poor run with injuries, and when he has been close to his best he has been pretty good. I'd love to see him get a good run either on a wing or as a high half forward. Dow & LOB the jury is still very much out. Make or break year for both of then imo.

Kingcharles came out the night before I think and said Oliver was still in play.

I think the itk’s being a little quiet atm is a good thing imo, if Oliver was off the table then I’m sure We’d know about it

How much is Charles the Bold paying you to keep spruiking him as an ITK?

Bit hard to DC I think. Has had a poor run with injuries, and when he has been close to his best he has been pretty good. I'd love to see him get a good run either on a wing or as a high half forward. Dow & LOB the jury is still very much out. Make or break year for both of then imo.
Bit hard on DC who's been on the list an extra two years but it's make or break for Dow and O'Brien? Dow was injured all year so he had a poor run with injuries too. Cuningham plays one good game in every 10 or more he plays. Love some of his attributes but he's a rich man's Nick Graham. Don't think long term he's taking us anywhere.

Cunners is one who benefits greatly if we can secure someone like Oliver.

His acceleration from a standing start is incredible, he has phenomenally clean hands at ground level, but his anticipation and reading of the play seem a bit lacking. It makes him dangerous up forward because when the ball falls his way it's just "grab it, get clear and kick it between the sticks". But in the midfield, he can find himself out of position fairly quickly given he lacks that instinct for where the ball is going to go.

Have him as the third mid at centre stoppages though, being fed handballs by Cripps and Oliver...he'd look like Chris Judd Mk2.

Would love to see it, but reckon he'd probably need to up his defensive game/awareness a bit to make a proper fist of it.