I comparison to all other punishments, we were treated extremely harshly.We deserved the penalty we got.
It's just that * deserved much harsher than they got.
I don't see how you can say we deserved what we got, it's the others that didn't.
I comparison to all other punishments, we were treated extremely harshly.We deserved the penalty we got.
Right age bracket for us to use as depth. Could also work with Ed to try and take Dow's game to the next level next year.Doggies have let Mitch Wallis go.
Any value to us if he comes cheap?
I think that Mirkov is another year away from becoming an AFL talent. Considering we took him as a mid-year draft top up, he can go another year before we should start expecting anything from him. One thing that we could use is another older ruckman as cover. IIRC, Pitto is our oldest ruck and he's only 24? Having someone in the 29-30 year range would be good backup for them.I don't get the negativity over our trade period. Setterfield was a little disappointing but looking over the board there were plenty of players who could play a little going to other clubs for bugger all.
We have replaced Setterfield on a wing with Acres on a wing. A player who is below average in that position with a player who this year was one of the best in the league in that position.
We did not need to replenish our onball group! We did that last year. We have Docherty who is able to go in there. If Martin and/or Williams get fit then they can go through there. Durdin and Fisher were going through there a bit at times. We have Dow who is as good a reserve for that position as any going around. We have Carroll coming on in that position who will be hard to keep out of the side. Kemp is likely to start playing on the ball next year at some level. Cuningham should be able to play a bit in the middle next year. Philp is likely to develop there then we have our top end. Cripps, Walsh, Cerra, Hewett, Kennedy are on par with the best going around. We also have a number of prime draft picks we are yet to use, it's not an area we need to go out and blow money on. Oh and the forgotten man Ed Curnow, if he can get fit is no slouch. Heaps of quality, heaps of depth.
Backline, there is no need to spend money on that. Weitering, Young, Durdin, McGovern, Marchbank, Docherty, Saad, Williams, Boyd, Newman, Kemp and Plowman. It's stacked with depth and talent.
Our forward line is the weak area of the ground. Curnow and McKay with DeKoning as backup or 3rd tall is strong. Motlop, Durdin, Silvagni, Owies, Martin, and Honey are a bit young, raw and inconsistent. It's a big group but it could add more talent. Or could it? Young guys tend to have a habit of improving and coming on.
The wings were one of our weakest areas. Can't deny Acres, his season this year, he was one of the best and he stood up in big games. Ticks a lot of boxes. Will the player on the other wing be good enough? Hopefully, there is young talent to chose from with O'Brien and Cottrell. Williams played there in the last round and was good. Cuningham back from injury and Carroll a good chance on a wing as well.
Ruck is fine if Mirkov is AFL ready. If he's not then this is just poor recruiting. 3 ruckmen on a list that's as small as it is is fine.
We have topped up a lot from other clubs over the last few years, we have also invested in youth, we just need both of these things to come together.
Quite happy to fill our biggest hole with one of the best available, back our list and youth in and hit the draft with some premium picks. We still have expected improvement that should come from all areas next year.
Pick him up as an PSSP if we have an LTI over the off-season maybe?Always liked Wallis and thought he’s always been played out of position. But he just might be a little too old now. I’d still take a punt if there’s an available list spot.
Could always use another tall defender in reserve. Just having Durdin, S. in reserve as a KPP defender is a bit worrying really.Was very keen on Wallis a few years back, but that ship has sailed.
Unpopular opinion incoming: I’d very seriously consider signing Josh Walker as a DFA.
Mature tall who can fill a role at either end. Strong pair of hands.
Have always liked him as a footballer.
I agree and disagree with that.
Not sure we deserved quite as harsh a penalty as we got. Is sending a club back to the stoneage for 10 yrs fair punishment for it? I don't quite think so, and ultimately it was probably bad for the competition as a whole.
But Essendon should have been penalised more. They voluntarily put the health of the players at risk using them as doping guinea pigs. That's a whole world above cheating an administrative system, at least imo.
There's a case to be made in that space, for sure. There's multiple angles in this and the answer isn't straight forward.AFL didn't send us back to the Stoneage, that was our doing. After the sanctions, we continued to avoid appropriate list management strategies
Norf want to host a home game for us next year at Marvel (hopefully we never have to play down in Tassie again until the Apple Isle get their own team)
No. The draft penalties were too much.We deserved the penalty we got.
So many lines…Bits are good for steering.
Can you let us know how we could of got Grundy or Dunkley in the trade period real interested in your thoughts of how it could have been achieved ?
I still cannot believe there are those out there who thought Essendon was hard done by. They didn't get a fraction of what they deserved. Turning their list into guinea pigs is bad enough, but to 'lose', or 'never have' a record of what got put into whom ...I agree and disagree with that.
Not sure we deserved quite as harsh a penalty as we got. Is sending a club back to the stoneage for 10 yrs fair punishment for it? I don't quite think so, and ultimately it was probably bad for the competition as a whole.
But I agree Essendon should have been penalised more. They voluntarily put the health of the players at risk using them as doping guinea pigs. That's a whole world above cheating an administrative system, at least imo.
Barilla Bay green. Near the airport. Oysters too, if that’s your thing.Tassie is awesome for a golf trip and a game of footy.
When in Launceston, Barnbougle for two days back Saturday night and get on the piss then game on Sunday.
Cracking boys weekend
Need to work out the same for Hobart if Tassie get their own team, I’m sure the locals can give me some tips on a cracking course down south
As you would know horsey, even the smallest bits can be critical to success.Bits are good for steering.
I still cannot believe there are those out there who thought Essendon was hard done by. They didn't get a fraction of what they deserved. Turning their list into guinea pigs is bad enough, but to 'lose', or 'never have' a record of what got put into whom ...
I think how the 2 clubs reacted to their issues tells you a lot about a club.
[1] When we were guilty, the first thing we did was to get rid of those responsible.
[2] Essendon have never owned responsibility. Some of the people involved back then remained for years, with no action against them taken.
It might have hurt us, but we did the right thing in the aftermath. They haven't.
I know that others will disagree but personally, I don't see the removal of a few first round picks as being the death penalty that others do, rather, our almost aggressive mismanagement until recent times saw to that IMO.I agree and disagree with that.
But I agree Essendon should have been penalised more. They voluntarily put the health of the players at risk using them as doping guinea pigs. That's a whole world above cheating an administrative system, at least imo.
This. 100%I know that others will disagree but personally, I don't see the removal of a few first round picks as being the death penalty that others do, rather, our almost aggressive mismanagement until recent times saw to that IMO.
I know that others will disagree but personally, I don't see the removal of a few first round picks as being the death penalty that others do, rather, our almost aggressive mismanagement until recent times saw to that IMO.
People tend to forget that other clubs lost draft picks too. We got hit two years running, for two different offences. Utter stupidity and a complete lack of governance.I know that others will disagree but personally, I don't see the removal of a few first round picks as being the death penalty that others do, rather, our almost aggressive mismanagement until recent times saw to that IMO.
Both Essendon and Adelaide who lost first round picks were allowed to trade back into the first round, we were not.People tend to forget that other clubs lost draft picks too. We got hit two years running, for two different offences. Utter stupidity and a complete lack of governance.
Carlton got properly shafted by Evans Snr and Demetriou his appointed ( and now proven) crooked lap dog. It was a different era. Since then the AFL has learned that you don't go around destroying one of the most valuable Clubs in the competition - just for giggles.Both Essendon and Adelaide who lost first round picks were allowed to trade back into the first round, we were not.
Both Essendon and Adelaide who lost first round picks were allowed to trade back into the first round, we were not.
I didn't complain mate just stating the difference in penaltys.AFL salary cap - Wikipedia
en.wikipedia.org
going by this, we deserved a harsher penalty......
not sure how anyone can complain about the punishment we got for the biggest breach, and by far the biggest break of the salary cap.